Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional
Oliver Stone hints at studio problems in the newly recorded introduction, citing that this version is the film he was able to finally put together with 'total creative freedom'. And it's magnificent. The first 45 minutes are breathtaking and almost an epic in themselves as we plunge headfirst into the (extended) battle of Gaugamela before slipping back into Alexander's...
Published on 10 Aug. 2007 by Ian Armer

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Story Never Told
The life story of Alexander of Macedonia, later Alexander the Great is one of epic proportions. If it had been invented for the sole purpose of story telling or to make a film, no one would have believed it. One man risen from the backwaters of ancient Greek society conquers not only his near neighbours, but the might and majesty of the Persian Empire and not satisfied...
Published on 21 Aug. 2005 by D. J. Franklin


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 10 Aug. 2007
By 
Ian Armer (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Oliver Stone hints at studio problems in the newly recorded introduction, citing that this version is the film he was able to finally put together with 'total creative freedom'. And it's magnificent. The first 45 minutes are breathtaking and almost an epic in themselves as we plunge headfirst into the (extended) battle of Gaugamela before slipping back into Alexander's past. The film is stronger for it's total re-edit as well as the inclusion of many scenes that add shades of character to the once faceless soldiers and generals in Alexander's army. Unlike previous versions of the film, the bond between Alexander and his men is palpable. Being allowed to breathe, the film is genuinely affecting in places (the soldier's death after Gaugemela and the last few moments between Phillip and Alexander) where as before it felt hurried, as though we had to get to the next big scene. The big moments are all there, in fact they are even stronger here, but the pacing greatly improves the emotional impact and allows a deeper understanding of the character development and motivation. It also feels as if you are watching an intelligent film taking the viewer on a journey that is both provocative and fascinating.

The India sequences are also extended, and again the battle scene is emotionally involving, creating a genuine moment where we intercut between Alexander the man and the boy, as he talks to Bucephalus before his last charge. The violence in the India sequence is also extremely graphic.

As in any version, Vangelis's score is a bonus and the film looks amazing. The performances are strong and Anthony Hopkins provides, I think, a new voice over for the duration of the film. It works in providing an anchor as the film is very non-linear.

I could go on, but you have to see it for yourself. It is finally an Oliver Stone film, as opposed to the compromise of the theatrical version and the second guessing (although greatly improved) 'Director's Cut'. THIS is the version to own, but with no extras at all, you'd be best to keep a hold of other versions for documentaries, commentaries etc.

An absolute epic. From the critical ravaging of the original release to this glorious masterpiece, it is an essential film for any serious film lover and DVD collector. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLY IMPROVED!, 8 Aug. 2007
By 
Samedi "Ray Favourite" (Ayr, Ayrshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I was always a fan of the original theatrical cut of Alexander; I found it to be a brave, dashing film which looked and sounded exquisite and had a genuine emotional kick to it. However, as much as I loved it, I could concede that certain parts detracted from the overall effect; namely certain dialogue, too much clunky exposition, perhaps not enough of Stone's Alexander showing himself to be 'great' on the battlefield and perhaps too much of Alexander weeping and sulking. With this new double disc DVD Im am very glad to say all of my personal reservations seem to have been addressed amd rectified!

We now get the sense of epic-ness through a greater spectrum of drama: the family scenes at Pella with Kilmer and Jolie are less distracting and domineering, both battles at Gaugamela and Multan benefit from added gore (sorry if that sounds childish but if a battle is to be horrifying and realistic then we should be allowed to watch the suffering. There isn't much more insulting to an audience than a film editor who robs us of emotional impact!) and tactical explanation, to a generally more lyrical and emotionally resonant narrative. All of the craziness is present and correct: the elephants, the infra-red battle, the Persian eunuchs, the dancing girls, Kilmer and Jolie CHEWING up scenery with their entertainingly demented performances, the larger than life (and achingly beautiful) Vangelis score...everything an epic movie should be is represented here with style, swagger and verve.

Homophopics will not be pleased (who cares?)to learn that the male on male relationaships are given more time and space to develop: for me, this serves to make the characters more sensitive and human; besides, the heteosexual relationaships are shown in far more graphic detail. I guess Stone was hoping that after 2300 years we would have gotten used to the idea but reports suggest many viewers (no elbows pointing at bible-belt USA) still have a problem with this kind of depiction.
But for those of us who are more sensible and open minded, Alexander Revisited represents an astounding example of epic filmmaking that topples the petty attempts like Troy.

Hollywood take note! Both Alexander and Ridley Scott's Kingdom of Heaven have been improved ENORMOUSLY by being allowed longer running times. These are stories that require a large canvas to be told properly. Im very glad Oliver Stone didn't let this go and cut his losses; like Alexander himself, he persevered in the face of incredulity and his emerged, finally, with the masterpiece he set out to make. This is the stuff of Titans. I recommend this without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The East has a way of swallowing young men and their dreams", 16 Mar. 2008
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The DVD has a three-minute introduction by Oliver Stone himself, who talks about the radical restructuring that he had overseen for the new three-and-a-half hour version. He says that this is the third cut and is for DVD only. I never saw either of the other earlier two editions of this film, so my review is blind as to how better or worse is this reconstruction. He says that he has had full freedom to do as he pleased, uncensored, and unhampered by the pressures of a cinema release or studio executives. "Those of you who loved the first Alexander will love it more, and those of you who hated it will hate it more. ... [It was] always a difficult film to understand, difficult to do." Alas there is no commentary to help us understand why this was the case and there are no extras.

Being a fan of other Oliver Stone movies (JFK and Nixon) I was at first unsure about his credentials to attack a non-American historical subject, and I feared his Alexander would be just another biopic made according to the Hollywood view of history. And my only previous experience of Alexander in a visual format was Michael Wood's excellent historico-travelogue for the BBC, "In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great". But I noted that the great English scholar and expert on all things Alexandrian (and more), Robin Lane Fox, was the historical consultant to the film.

The result of the restructuring is that, in effect, we have two films running at the same time - Alexander in Macedonia, and Alexander abroad. The (new) film opens on Alexander's deathbed, and then we move forward forty years to see and hear Ptolemy (Anthony Hopkins) dictating his memoirs in Egyptian Alexandria. Ptolemy's commentary is heard at various points throughout the film and binds the whole story together, summing him up in an extended passage at the very end.

The film swiftly moves to the epic battle of Gaugamela, where a full twenty minutes is spent on makeshift speeches and then the gore of war. I do not know if the words put into Alexander's mouth in the film are in any way true to history, but the constant references to Greek freedom as opposed to Persian tyranny made me uncomfortable, as if this was in some way Stone condoning the debacle of Iraq, Gaugamela being sited in the Kurdish part of that blighted state. But then we see the twelve-year old Alexander being taught by Aristotle (Christopher Plummer) in which he warns his young charge that, "The East has a way of swallowing young men and their dreams." (An "I told you so!" to Bush?)

The battle is portrayed on a truly massive scale with an unexpected focus on tactics, the screen bearing references to the "Macedonian left", the "Macedonian right", etc. The scenes of the two great battles portrayed (the other being that of Hydaspes on the Indian frontier) are true gorefests. Some battle scenes unfortunately suffer from undercranking (slowing the film when shooting and then speeding it back up for the screen) and there are some editing problems too throughout the film - at one point Angelina Jolie speaks without her lips moving (but, then, given her character, maybe this was intentional).

No review of this film can fail to mention the prevalence of Irish accents amongst the Macedonians. Even the young Alexander aged twelve has an Irish accent, so full marks for consistency. Maybe other reviewers know why Oliver Stone did this, and I know it has come in for some criticism, but for me, once it was noted, it was soon forgotten as the film progressed. And when all is said and done, would the film be better with American accents?

The more times I watched this movie, the more I appreciated its strengths. The death of Philip and the acclamation of Alexander are particularly well-handled. The cast as a whole give true and convincing performances. The fine music by Vangelis (who else?) provides complete support for the visuals of tension, romance, exoticism, and glory, so much so that I bought the CD. I could even appreciate Oliver Stone's own appearance for a couple of seconds on-screen.

In the end, I had to concede that this movie's epic scale, matched by its assured intimacy, its power to carry the viewer along and its power to move, could only mean that it had to have five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This DVD Version Is Better Than Directors Cut!!!, 9 Aug. 2005
By 
Bawno (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Before I begin to compare both the Theatrical DVD Version (2 Discs) and the Alexander Directors Cut Edition (1 Disc) I would just like to inform everyone that this film is actually very very good. I believe that the critics basically had fun in panning Oliver Stones picture and I urge everyone not to watch this film due to those reviews.
Alexander is brilliant. It is historically accurate in many ways and tells a near on complete and interesting story of his life (as the film is three hours long).
Oliver Stone shows his directorial talent by creating many unforgetable images and excellent scenery and backdrops. And the BATTLE SCENES, well, they are just superb. Both the sandy battle at Gualamela and the huge invasion of India at the end of the film are both excellent with some quality cinematography and a great musical soundtrack to back them up. If you are going to watch Alexander just for the battle scenes then believe me, you will not be dissapointed!
Now I come to comparing the DVDs.
As most DVD Talk forums would agree with me, this version, the two disc theatrical version is so much better than the directors cut. I have seen both and would tell anyone to purcahse this version instead. The directors cut is shorter and has way too many flashbacks (nine years before, ten years after, nine years on, 2 years later) making the direcots cut DVD a mess/shambles which could esialy confuse anyone. If you are buying this DVD for the action then it doesn't matter what version you buy because there are no alterations in the action sequences at all, both are the same.
Overall, the Direcotrs Cut DVD is in a huge mess and is actually shorter than the original film which really is a bad thing. The theatrical version is a three hour 2 disc film which tells the COMPLETE story of Alexander and hasen't missed anything out at all. The only downside is that the theatrical version is spread over 2 discs so you have to change discs in between film but I actully prefer this as you can watch what is a three hour epic in two smaller chunks. The directors cut is all on one disc but has cut out nearly 15 minutes of the film and has only had some scenes 're-configured' with hardly any 'decent' scenes being added. Hence I would urge all to purchase the 2 disc theatrical version. It may cost more but it is worth it.
On the whole, Alexander is actually an excellent film and I ugre everyone to ignore what the critics have said and wtahc this tremendous epic (with some quality battle scenes included). I would also like to say that if you are going to buy Alexander get the Theatrical 2 Disc Special Edition and not the directors cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Story Never Told, 21 Aug. 2005
By 
D. J. Franklin (kingdom of wessex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The life story of Alexander of Macedonia, later Alexander the Great is one of epic proportions. If it had been invented for the sole purpose of story telling or to make a film, no one would have believed it. One man risen from the backwaters of ancient Greek society conquers not only his near neighbours, but the might and majesty of the Persian Empire and not satisfied with that world shaking task carries on literally to the "ends of the earth" and has the distant and almost mythological kings and chiefs of the Indus valley fall before him. Stopped from further victories only by the dissent in his own ranks he returned home only to die before returning to the land of his birth aged only thirty three. Any film that could capture such a story would be worthy of calling itself the "greatest story ever told". This, however, is not such a film. Not only does it not capture the brilliance of the young general, it doesn't even come close.
Oliver Stone has been a part of many great movies, Midnight Express, Platoon and The Doors to name a few, but to launch such a mish-mash of incoherent and historically bizarre ideas on an audience that has already witnessed the grandeur of the likes of Gladiator is quite frankly pushing his luck.
The film is fairly long at over 160 minutes, but even that was going to be quite a window to squeeze the formative years and the decade long campaign that made up Alexanders life. In an age where epic films are becoming the norm and 3 hour films and stories set over whole trilogies do not even cause the raising of an eyebrow, this would never have been a problem. The problems arise with what you actually fill that space with. The biggest problem I had with the film was the continuity. Opening with the upbringing of Alexander by his strange snake fixated mother and his brutal father the film then jumps forward to the third year of his campaign as he prepares to fight Darius of Persia. The intervening ten or so years is covered by a brief narrative. Its the equivalent of saying World War Two started in 1939 but nothing really interesting happened until 1942, but then again Oliver Stone might just take that line so i had better not put ideas in his head. In a gory and elongated battle scene which seems to be mainly a vehicle for the props and special affects department to show off we see Alexander win the day, hooray! From here on we cut back and forth between the campaigns of the adult Alexander and the traumas of the youth, but the overall effect is to lose the pace of the film and at times the story line itself. Over the ten year campaign that is supposedly being portrayed here, key events that really happen years apart are portrayed back to back and parts of the real story that are key to the understanding of the mans military genius are not attempted at all. I understand what the use of flash backs can achieve, introducing relevant information from the past to help put later parts of the story into context, but here it just all gets too confusing, a simpler straight forward chronological approach may have served the film better.
Whilst acknowledging that unlike Gladiator or Braveheart that will sit as comparisons to this work, Alexander is more about the psyche and psychological aspects of the characters that a straight forward action flick. But even that seems inconclusive as the script isn't brave enough to get to the heart of the nature of the age. Greek warriors seemed to have been a complex lot and it is argued by some that their sexual preferences changed through different stages of their life. A family man would often be expected to patron a young warrior to help with training costs and sharing experience gained at the sharp end, and in return their relationship would be, shall we say, more that fatherly. Stone seems to tip-toe around such issues, implies such relationships being in evidence but fails to explore the line with any vigour.
With the cast that Stone managed to assemble, I would have expected a lot more but in their defence they could only work with what was laid before them and i think anyone would have had a hard job turning in a memorable performance from this script. Colin Farrell is the lead and without being too harsh falls very short of the mark. I know that he is a good actor, Phonebooth is proof of that, anyone who can be stood in a phonebooth for most of the movie and also be the focal point of the whole affair must be up to the mark, but for whatever reason, this was not his finest hour. Val Kilmer as Philip, Alexanders father, roars and shouts and brawls his way through the script and its difficult to understand who was being portrayed here. Whilst Macedonia was seen as the cultural nemesis of the more enlightened Greek city states to the south and east, Philip was known to have been eloquent and educated and the equal of any statesman of his time. To portray him as Brian Blessed playing a comedy walk-on in Blackadder is not only selling the man short, its just taking an easy way out and portraying the relationship between father and son in black and white instead of exploring the shades of grey. Angelina Jolie as Alexanders mother fares slightly better Even if even in the later stages of the story she looks younger that her son, which is to be expected as they are both the same age. Ever alluring to watch, she manages to find a role in the mess of a character brief given her. Admittedly she seemed to be part of a cult group who used snakes in their worship, but to portray her as having them constantly crawling all over her and her son is a bit over the top. Old hands Christopher Plummer and Anthony Hopkins do well as Ptolemy and Aristotle but their screen time is too brief to rescue the sinking ship that the rest have to travel in.
Other small annoyances, which may cause others to call me too pedantic raise their heads at this point. Hoplite troops marching and manoeuvrering to modern command words "attention" is a bit odd, as is the fact that everyone seems to have a Gaelic accent of some kind. I'm sure they were not all from the Emerald Isle. Was it that Farrell can't do accents and so every one had to sound like him? Or is it a subtle way of implying that Macedonia was the outlying part of the civilized world and Stone thought that giving them an Irish accent would give the audience a reference point to cling too.
All moans aside, and I know that there were a lot, it has some good bits of action and drama, but aside from the block buster moments that no film can be made without these days the film in my opinion does not fulfil its brief in any way. It does not portray Alexanders life and achievements in a way that bears any resemblance to the known truths. Neither does it successfully explore the relationships between the family and friends, or the morals of the times. In trying to be all things to all men it seems to have over reached itself and falls short of its goals, consigned to the bargain bin marked "confused" sub section "unresolved". Watch it for the action , the sets and the scenery, but don't attempt to gain any insight into the man or his times. Close but no cigar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly cast, lazy direction and completely fails to deliver the epic potential, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I'm stunned to see the glowing reviews of this film (are we watching the same film?), I'm being quite generous with 2 stars on this rating.
On paper Oliver Stone's take on Alexander could have been at best great, at worst pretty good. Unfortunately it's neither and ends up being the start of a once great director's nose dive into mediocre and poor film making.

The subject is about as good as it gets for a modern day epic, one of the greatest military commanders ever born. I had visions of a great film (Alexander's life is a full of drama) and as far as ancient battles go Stone had one of the most incredible land conflicts in his pocket, the Battle of Gaugamela..but throws away it's potential with a lame and poorly directed battle scene. With around 200,000 men on a battlefield, this stunning battle was one of the most significant and epic of all time.

Sadly Stone entirely wastes it with a weak jumble of a few dozen guys badly dressed up, misplaced close up camera work...you get no sense of scale or strategic brilliance. If you were impressed with the battle scenes in Spartacus (and they were good no question) prepare to be bitterly disappointed, the wonders of modern technology do nothing to help.

Colin Farrell is miscast as the great man himself, with Angelina Jolie looking uninterested as Alexander's mother. Anthony Hopkins (who bores us with his bland and tedious narration) and Val Kilmer are also thrown into the mix, but to little gain. The cast just doesn't work, and it's let down with some very weak screenplay and a dull labouring script.

The biggest problem though aside from all the other weak areas (and they are very weak), is you simply cannot connect to any of the characters. This is a huge problem for any biopic film if the lead role can't hold your attention. Farrell is by no means a bad actor, this just is not the role for him.

Leaving aside the slamming the film got by critics and the poor box office performance (it was a flop overall due to marketing costs lost money) I wanted to like the film, but it just fails on so many counts. I did force myself to watch it, the entire trawling 3 hours experience it was, though I found the instructions printed on paint tins to be more entertaining. It was not only a crushing bore, but sad to see such huge potential wasted. This big budget film should have delivered a real corker of a movie bang up to date with all the SFX and slick presentation we've come to expect. If a film fails, it is usually at the basics and this is where Alexander does badly in every category from the miscast actors, to poor direction and weak screenplay.

No degree of polishing or CGI effect could ever made that up.
Stone later went on to re-cut the movie many times, in a desperate bid to re-vamp the film into something passable. The old phrase from the film Christine springs to mind "you can't polish a T..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alexander the Not Quite Great Enough, 15 Nov. 2005
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NB - As is Amazon's wont, they've unhelpfully bunched together the reviews of the two-disc theatrical version and the shorter director's cut, which are both available separately and not included in the same set.

The theatrical version of Alexander is not the total disaster it's been painted, more an interesting failure with moments that aspire to greatness nestled amid others that look too much like a Hallmark miniseries for comfort. Unfortunately, it lacks a particularly good script: indeed, where there's overlap between them, Robert Rossen's somewhat underfunded 1955 film dealt with key events much more dramatically and without recoursing to excessive narration to fill in the gaps.

On an intellectual level it's easy to see the rationale behind Stone's dramatic decisions, but the execution is often lacking: when that comes down to a hopelessly inadequate Colin Farrell trying his hardest, bless his little cotton socks, and an even more hopelessly out of his depth Gary Stretch struggling in their big dramatic scenes you find yourself wondering if maybe we weren't all a bit too harsh on Tony Curtis' accent in The Black Shield of Falworth. In a role that requires either great screen presence or a great actor, the blandly inoffensive Farrell proves to be neither. He tries hard (which is much more than can be said for Clive Owen in King Arthur) and he's almost convincing in the two action scenes, but he never sells you as an extraordinary man people will follow across the known world.

And then, of course, there's the supporting cast, Val Kilmer occasionally channelling Robert Newton's Long John Silver, Angelina Jolie coming across like Irene Papas on steroids (not to mention with added collagen) and Anthony Hopkins looking for another bit of scenery to chew on. (On a purely trivial note it's strange to note how much Rory McCann looks like either a young Sean Connery or a middle-aged Victor Argo depending on what angle he's photographed from.) Although there's a method to his madness, it's hard not to think Stone is taking the Mick with all the Celtic accents and at times its surprisingly difficult to decipher what is being said, more because of mumbling and slurred pronunciation than the regional dialect, to be fair.

There's intelligence at work here, as witnessed by the cave scene where the terrible price of greatness among the mythological heroes Alexander idolises is outlined, but often more in intent than execution. When it does work, it works well - the bloody battle of Guagamela seen intermittently from an eagle's eye view, the scenes in a gorgeously realized Babylon - but all too often there's too little of what made Alexander great. Indeed, there's too little of everything despite its running time. Relationships aren't convincingly sketched out and the big dramatic scenes are clumsily executed and emotionally uninvolving: his scenes with his mother or the fatal argument with Cleitus just show up the inadequacies of the cast and lack power or focus. Stone's tendency to idealize Alexander doesn't help, even if his script acknowledges the fact. For all his talk of being driven by a dream, it's never really communicated what that dream was beyond a desire for personal glory and a place among the immortals, nor does he deal with the fact that Alexander left no legacy but chaos. As a result, the last hour, when things start to go bad for Al, gets duller than it needs to be. Still, Vangelis' score is excellent

It's strange that so many American critics focused on the bisexuality: in truth, it's one of the least gay sword-and-sandals epics, simply avoiding all the euphemisms to deal with it head-on. That said, I could have done without Farrell flittering his eyelids like a little girl ever time he's with Hephaistion. Thankfully that's the case in the shorter Director's Cut, which is, surprisingly, something of an improvement over the longer theatrical version, if only by virtue of clarity and brevity (and the much-needed deletion of most of Anthony Hopkins' interminable waffling), but still not the film it desperately wants to be. Retaining many of the flaws of the theatrical version despite being more focused, it's not too surprising that Stone would return to the film for a third and even longer `final cut.' Still, it's refreshing and genuinely admirable that Stone on his audio commentaries for both versions stands by his cast, his film and takes sole blame for any shortcomings rather than take the Michael Bay route of blaming everyone and anyone but himself.

As for extras, the various versions offer a mixed bag. The two-disc edition of the theatrical cut offers an audio commentary by Oliver Stone and Robin Lane Fox; documentaries Resurrecting Alexander, Perfect is the Enemy of Good and The Death of Alexander; and teaser and full theatrical trailers. The UK edition of the shorter director's cut is less impressive on the extras front, offering only a commentary by Stone, though the US 2-disc version includes the documentaries from the theatrical version with an added featurette on Vangelis' score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not quite bad enough to be good - but a few good ..., 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only recently encountered this load of bovine manure. Not quite bad enough to be good - but a few good laughs. Never knew Alexander was an Irish bottle blond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much improved, 9 Aug. 2007
By 
J. P. Antill "IamJim" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I always liked this film at the cinema even though it generaly got a lot of bad reviews. However it was always obvious that there were several things wrong with the first cut in regards to paceing and a feeling of it not quite being a complete film. This revised cut of the film really sorts out the problems and feels like a much more polished film and more like what you would expect from Oliver Stone. As someone quite intersted in Alexander as a historical figure outside the film it satisfies on most levels. While there are still problems with a bit of miscasting (Farel imo didn't make a deep enough Alexander), dodgy hair cuts and hammy lines that dont really get the blood pumping like other films as a historical epic this is now a very enjoyable film. The musical score is also a bit old fashioned. Overall a worthy edition to anyones DVD collection who likes their history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alexander - Italian 2 disc blu-ray import, 4 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wondering about whether to buy Alexander on Blu-ray?

Don't buy the UK one - you only get the Theatrical cut. This Italian one has both the Theatrical Cut and the new Ultimate Cut on two separate discs with different extras on each disc. I suspect on a quick watch that the Theatrical Cut is the best cut of the four on Blu-ray but I advise you to get this one. The only Italian you will see is on the back of the case. The actual disc boots to an English menu on both discs - English DTS-HD MA audio is the default option - no subtitles need to be switched off etc. All the extras are in English.

This seems exactly the same as the much more expensive US 2-disc one yet the discs are the same. Summary? If you want Alexander - buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews