Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 14 April 2014
I was dreaming of the past, longing for something lost - a little melancony - saudade...
And then I listened to this - reminiscent of Joao Gilberto, Antonio Carlos Jobim in their classic years - cool, relaxed, genuine bossa.
Some of the vocals evocative, delivered with the innocence and allure of Astrud Gilberto.
But this ain't no steal - theft from those halcyon years, it is a comtemporary take of the genre.
In 'Saudade' - Thievery Corporation have captured the very essence and nuance of authentic bossa nova.
They have made yesterday's music real for today.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Thievery corporation has always been on my play list, i own many of their albums. This album is different to their previous releases, the album is quite chilled out and the album is based on the claassic bossa nova style music which i also incidental enjoy, it is a welcome change to there normal up tempo style.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
The corporation never fail to disappoint. Having grown up on Getz and Gilberto this album satisfies the soul, relaxes, hits the emotional centres and sends you to the safe,chilled, golden beaches of Rio. So......Good......
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
I have followed Thievery through the thick and thin and have always liked their work (for the most part). This is though slightly different from their previous releases, as they have turned to the real essence of the Brazilian music but with a touch of contemporary treatment.

You will find some airy tunes (Claridad is my best) and more upbeat ones (e.g. Para Siempre) which sound totally genuine both in terms of their Brazilian origin but also from the production qualities of the Thievery folks.

I have fully assimilated this album and it is among my favourites from the duo as well as a very pleasant summer soundtrack. Fully recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
It's like taking a wonderful journey across the chic parts of the sunny Mediterranean in a fabulous open top luxury sports car. Soothing sophisticated sounds sung in French and English. Had never heard of the group and came across this on Amazon. I just love it and can't stop playing it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Brilliant - would recommend as great listening for summer or to evoke summer and chilled out days.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
Great music, only disappointed with cd cover - paper
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Brilliant music as always from these folk
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Simply hypnotic, wonderful and sexy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
really nice frenchy sounding album
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£8.79

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.