Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Es ist fantastisch!
Mine has been a very long love-affair with the Manic Street Preachers, stretching back to the release of The Holy Bible in 1994 which was, and remains, one of the most startling, eye-opening, brilliant albums ever released. Like every love affair, when it turns into a long-term relationship, there are ups and downs and, sometimes, the object of your affection sometimes...
Published 4 months ago by Andy Sweeney

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not at there best
Published 2 months ago by MARK SCOTT


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Es ist fantastisch!, 8 July 2014
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Mine has been a very long love-affair with the Manic Street Preachers, stretching back to the release of The Holy Bible in 1994 which was, and remains, one of the most startling, eye-opening, brilliant albums ever released. Like every love affair, when it turns into a long-term relationship, there are ups and downs and, sometimes, the object of your affection sometimes behaves in a way that you don't particularly appreciate, but, if there is something deeper there, you still love them anyway. The honeymoon period (“Everything Must Go”) saw that giddy love go on unabated. Then, although everything was still pretty wonderful, little signs that they were going through the motions started to creep in (“This Is My Truth, Tell Me Yours”). Then there was the big row that almost led to a trial separation (“Know Your Enemy”) and, although they promised to change, what came afterwards (“Lifeblood”) was only a brief glimpse of what used to make us such a suitable pairing. After a few years apart, our worlds collided once more in a spectacular way (“Send Away The Tigers”), we had a second honeymoon which almost felt as blissfully good as the early days (“Journal For Plague Lovers”) and we've been inseparable ever since, as they continue to delight and vindicate my love with excellent album (“Postcards From A Young Man”) after excellent album (“Rewind The Film”). I feel ashamed for ever have doubting them. Despite a few people raising their eyebrows and saying that they'd moved into pipe and slippers territory with their last record, to me it was a beautiful piece of work full of depth, versatility and maturity... and I loved them all the same, together with their laughter lines and the grey hairs dyed away. Their music still holds the key to unlocking this sullen English heart.

Their dazzling new album, “Futurology” is almost the polar musical opposite to “Rewind The Film” and proves something they really didn't have to prove, that they still have the ability to excite, to surprise. The fire is still burning relentlessly in their creative hearts and this, as a result, is a big album in every way. Although it is, without doubt, a Manics album through and through, it has a very different feel to it, with discernible Krautrock influences and late seventies/eighties style synths; a sound that, combined with the quality songwriting and powerful hooks, could win them an army of new fans. It may even be the record to win over those people who didn't consider themselves to be Manic Street Preachers fans before. “Futurology” kicks off with the title track, which, although being perfectly enjoyable and includes one of those trademark James Dean Bradfield guitar riffs between lines in the chorus, is certainly one of the lesser songs on the album and may give a false impression of the quality of the whole project. The real cream begins on “Walk Me To The Bridge” which, despite Nicky Wire's explanation that he was describing himself and the pressure of being the band within the lyrics, is too close to the Richey Edwards story and all of the surrounding emotions to ignore that interpretation of the song. Whatever the song means (and I think people will make up their own minds), it's a blindingly good quiet verse/explosively loud chorus track and an instant Manics classic. “Let's Go To War”, with a riff and melody line borrowed partly from Greig's “In The Hall Of The Mountain King” is a deliciously dark, infectious piece, a call to arms for the working class to reclaim their broken dreams; it's nothing short of magnificent.

The beautifully honest “The Next Jet To Leave Moscow” sees a wry Wire tearing his younger self apart for the gestures that seemed empty and naïve (“So you played in Cuba/did you like it brother?/I bet you felt proud/You silly little f---er”), but perhaps he should be a little easier on himself. I don't think it's naivety to share the frustrations of a generation, to dream of ideas and solutions and, let's face it, not all of us have our entire body of work under such a microscope that comes with being the Manics' lyricist. I first heard “Europa Geht Durch Micht” (translation: Europe passes through me) in April 2014 at one of their live shows and it's as startling and striking on record as it was when I sat there transfixed by their hypnotic performance at the Brighton Centre. Militaristic, relentless and detached, yet somehow addictive and irresistible (especially that klaxon), it utilises the purposely dispassionate vocals of Nina Hoss to perfect effect. The solitary song on “Futurology” which could have easily fit in on “Rewind The Film” is the sublime duet with Georgia Ruth, “Divine Youth”, which provides an oasis of calm right in the middle of a jaggedly powerful album. It is a rather melancholy, defeated piece full of life-weariness and cynicism, but it is undoubtedly beautiful. “Sex, Power, Love and Money”, on the other hand, is a big brilliant brute of a track, reminiscent of late seventies pop-punk bands such as The Undertones and The Buzzcocks, as well as a little dash of The Rolling Stones' “Undercover Of The Night”.

The Berlin influences continue with the uplifting “Dreaming A City (Hughesovka)”, an instrumental that tips its hat to the vocal-less compositions on Bowie's trio of albums, but specifically the more upbeat instrumental moments on “Low”. It does, however, have a little touch of Jean-Michel Jarre to it as well, resulting in a more wholly European sound, rather than simply Teutonic. Hughesovka (or, rather Yuzovka) is also the original name of Donetsk, where Welsh miners were shipped by industrialist John Hughes. So, just by scratching below the surface of this instrumental, you're given a history lesson; in fact, you get the impression that between them and Gruff Rhys, they will eventually educate the world about all things Welsh. “Black Square”, with its early eighties-influenced sound, carries on the connection between Manics songs and the art world, with several profound quotes referenced. It's not the best moment on the album, but it's certainly interesting. Scritti Politti's Green Gartside takes lead vocals on “Between The Clock On The Bed” and, although he often sounds distractingly like Lenny Kravitz (which may be handy if they ever bring back Celebrity Stars In Their Eyes), which is almost a tribute to the man himself, electronic drums, light synth sounds and all. It's a decent song, but the album then cries out for something strident and memorable to counter a couple of musically lightweight numbers. This comes with “Misguided Missile”, a beauteous but mighty slice of Krautrock-influenced Manics, resplendent with memorable chorus, understated guitar solo and self-loathing lyrics.

The album ends on a high note, both figuratively and literally with, “The View From Stow Hill”, a superb, if painful, song about the “crushed dreams” of the Newport communities and the “misguided tweets” and “sad Facebooking” of its people and then the second instrumental, “Mayakovsky” (which references The Beatles' “Helter Skelter” with the opening shout of “I've got blisters on my fingers!”) which somehow, through music, conveys optimism and hope. It's odd, but there are very few Manic Street Preachers albums I have enjoyed it from start to finish, without any reservations, but “Futurology” is one of those elusive pieces of work. The bonus disc on the deluxe edition which contains all of the demo versions of the track on the album is well worth hearing, plus it also contains a few songs that didn't make the final line-up, including an excellent composition, “The Last Time I Saw Paris”, which arguably really should have. Is this the Manic Street Preachers' masterpiece? I really cannot go that far. It's certainly brilliant, but “The Holy Bible”, “Everything Must Go” and “Journal For Plague Lovers” are arguably more wholly compelling releases, all for different reasons. However, “Futurology” can be easily spoken about in the same terms because, whilst this excellent and wildly creative collection of songs cannot surpass such a high benchmark, it's quite clearly one of the best albums they've ever made and they deserve every single bit of acclaim and praised lavished upon them for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manic Street Preachers release an awesome album!, 22 Nov 2014
This review is from: Futurology (Audio CD)
I am by no means a hardcore Manic Street Preachers fan. I love a lot of their stuff, but a fair amount also leaves me unmoved. But "Futurology" is an absolutely awesome album and is their best, in my opinion, since "Everything Must Go". Quite honestly a band that has been going for over 20 years and that is releasing their 12th studio album has no right to produce such wonderful music. But that is what the Manics have done. The influences from Krautrock, "Low" era David Bowie and early Simple Minds are all evident. But they are mixed superbly with James Dean Bradfield's trademark guitar licks. My favourite tracks are "Walk Me To The Bridge" (the first single), "Dreaming A City (Hughesovka)" and the gorgeous "Black Square". However, the quality hardly lets up at all. I highly recommend this album to any fan of quality rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manics never went away, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
The manics have an intellect, philosophy and song writing ability second to none. This album is simply the future as I see it and aptly named . What else do you expect from the nicest down to earth talented guys in music? Europa geht durch mich in particular is a ruthless ear worm with Nina Hoss adding drive and authenticity to the vocals. The song is still going round and round and around in my head !! The album is rich in classic Manics tracks with wonderful subtlety supplied with heavy techno beat in the best traditions of kraut rock. This album proves beyond doubt that they keep innovating and never went away. So my advice is to buy it, live a little and don't be told by the music industry what to like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars manics at their best, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Audio CD)
one of my favourite bands, they maintain a very high standard in their music and are terrific live. very underated in some respects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome (again), 15 Oct 2014
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
This is amazing, I've had it for a few weeks now and can't stop listening to it. This is the Manics at their most playful with their music, they are never afraid of being experimental. This album really grows on you, Manics are still the best band this country has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Industrial, Political, Infectious MSP, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Flawless, fresh and inventive in a way that only the Manics can manage.
Over the years the Manic Street Preachers have had many forays into other sounds but ultimately kept their unique style, this time they have taken an industrial genre and made it their own in a way that I love. One of my favourite soundscapes is the industrial electronic/guitar mix of NIN and Rammstein this is not as doom laden as some or as dirty sounding but it is the same sound made more politically aware.
I think it will still sound both fresh and old for years, the dichotomy could only come from 1 band hence I give you Industrial Manics

Love it or loathe it you cannot ignore it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to me, lots., 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
This is juts really good. After the last effort, the name escapes me, its a must buy. Almost up there with postcards which by the way you should also have if you dont. Stop thinking about it and do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh Wonderland, 7 July 2014
By 
Mr. M. J. Burgess (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (MP3 Download)
Unlike many other big bands, the Manics do not just churn out the same album year in year out. What you have here is the counterpoint to the resigned, weary beauty of rewind the film. This is a fiery, angry album that sticks a middle finger up to everyone as the welsh wonders set about setting fire to expectations with a set of Bowie meets Krautrock meets Goldfrapp meets Simple Minds chaos. It really is something to behold. For me it is the best album they have done in a long time, perhaps even since Everything Must Go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
The Manics back to what they do best - lots of guitar riffs and solos. Compared to the previous album, the somewhat sedated Rewind The Film, (which admittedly, does have its good points), Futurology feels quite powerful in delivery. And the great thing about this Deluxe edition is the addition of the demos CD. It gives you the feel of the processes they went through to record the main album, and also reveals how some of the songs would've sounded without the guest performers - Europa Geht Durch Mich is a prime example of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh, but unmistakably manics., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (MP3 Download)
Fresh, but unmistakably manics. This is an album highly influenced by krautrock and there is plenty keyboard goodness in here. However, there are plenty of awesome guitar squeals and smart lyrics in here too. Even if this album isn't for everyone, you have to respect this band for trying something new, but it's hard to imagine many people not liking Futurology a little bit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futurology (Deluxe)
Futurology (Deluxe) by Manic Street Preachers (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews