Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Stuart Adamson than Kraftwerk
I love the Manics simply because they are herioc failures... except this time they have not failed! This is an epic record of massive proportions - it could have been the biggest White Elephant of 2014 but instead it is the bravest, most original sound that I have heard a rock band make in a long time.

The themes of the album are Europe, Kraut Rock, Travel,...
Published 21 days ago by Mark DW

versus
2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Underwelming. ...
Underwelming. ....This would make a good EP. Overproduced and lacking in decent songs. They have had a run of 4 great albums but have hit a brick wall with this one. Is this the end of the road... i hope not but they need to release something decent quickly to have any relevance.
Published 1 month ago by Mick


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Stuart Adamson than Kraftwerk, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
I love the Manics simply because they are herioc failures... except this time they have not failed! This is an epic record of massive proportions - it could have been the biggest White Elephant of 2014 but instead it is the bravest, most original sound that I have heard a rock band make in a long time.

The themes of the album are Europe, Kraut Rock, Travel, Machines and Electronica BUT there is a definite sub-theme in JDBs guitar playing - that of the influence of Stuart Adamson. Stuart was the architect of the sound of The Skids and Big Country. He was once called "Scotland's Jimi Hendrix" by John Peel and was a guitar player who drew upon a wholly different palate from blues growing-up with folk and country nuances and bringing them to loud rock songs; he was also famous for playing a Gibson SG. Hmmm.. who else do we know who brings delicious chords and big un-bent notes and shoves them through a big fat Gibson? Even the retro keyboard sounds on Futurology sound Skids-esque (plus The Skids released numerous instrumentals too) and the album is all the better for it.

Its a great album with a huge heritage, but there are definitely times when the simple, beautiful and elegant guitars are not from Paris or Moscow as the lyrics would suggest, but rather from a small village just outside of Dunfermline...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
The Manics back to what they do best - lots of guitar riffs and solos. Compared to the previous album, the somewhat sedated Rewind The Film, (which admittedly, does have its good points), Futurology feels quite powerful in delivery. And the great thing about this Deluxe edition is the addition of the demos CD. It gives you the feel of the processes they went through to record the main album, and also reveals how some of the songs would've sounded without the guest performers - Europa Geht Durch Mich is a prime example of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant................. buy it!, 2 Aug 2014
By 
P. Whiteley (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Audio CD)
Twelve CD's in and still absolute quality from start to finish from one of my favorite bands. Different and fresh, but still so Manic's. Has potential instant classic status to my ears and is set to be one of my favorite albums EVER.

Has made it straight into the exclusive CD pile near the stereo, rather than the shelves............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Es ist fantastisch!, 8 July 2014
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Mine has been a very long love-affair with the Manic Street Preachers, stretching back to the release of The Holy Bible in 1994 which was, and remains, one of the most startling, eye-opening, brilliant albums ever released. Like every love affair, when it turns into a long-term relationship, there are ups and downs and, sometimes, the object of your affection sometimes behaves in a way that you don't particularly appreciate, but, if there is something deeper there, you still love them anyway. The honeymoon period (“Everything Must Go”) saw that giddy love go on unabated. Then, although everything was still pretty wonderful, little signs that they were going through the motions started to creep in (“This Is My Truth, Tell Me Yours”). Then there was the big row that almost led to a trial separation (“Know Your Enemy”) and, although they promised to change, what came afterwards (“Lifeblood”) was only a brief glimpse of what used to make us such a suitable pairing. After a few years apart, our worlds collided once more in a spectacular way (“Send Away The Tigers”), we had a second honeymoon which almost felt as blissfully good as the early days (“Journal For Plague Lovers”) and we've been inseparable ever since, as they continue to delight and vindicate my love with excellent album (“Postcards From A Young Man”) after excellent album (“Rewind The Film”). I feel ashamed for ever have doubting them. Despite a few people raising their eyebrows and saying that they'd moved into pipe and slippers territory with their last record, to me it was a beautiful piece of work full of depth, versatility and maturity... and I loved them all the same, together with their laughter lines and the grey hairs dyed away. Their music still holds the key to unlocking this sullen English heart.

Their dazzling new album, “Futurology” is almost the polar musical opposite to “Rewind The Film” and proves something they really didn't have to prove, that they still have the ability to excite, to surprise. The fire is still burning relentlessly in their creative hearts and this, as a result, is a big album in every way. Although it is, without doubt, a Manics album through and through, it has a very different feel to it, with discernible Krautrock influences and late seventies/eighties style synths; a sound that, combined with the quality songwriting and powerful hooks, could win them an army of new fans. It may even be the record to win over those people who didn't consider themselves to be Manic Street Preachers fans before. “Futurology” kicks off with the title track, which, although being perfectly enjoyable and includes one of those trademark James Dean Bradfield guitar riffs between lines in the chorus, is certainly one of the lesser songs on the album and may give a false impression of the quality of the whole project. The real cream begins on “Walk Me To The Bridge” which, despite Nicky Wire's explanation that he was describing himself and the pressure of being the band within the lyrics, is too close to the Richey Edwards story and all of the surrounding emotions to ignore that interpretation of the song. Whatever the song means (and I think people will make up their own minds), it's a blindingly good quiet verse/explosively loud chorus track and an instant Manics classic. “Let's Go To War”, with a riff and melody line borrowed partly from Greig's “In The Hall Of The Mountain King” is a deliciously dark, infectious piece, a call to arms for the working class to reclaim their broken dreams; it's nothing short of magnificent.

The beautifully honest “The Next Jet To Leave Moscow” sees a wry Wire tearing his younger self apart for the gestures that seemed empty and na´ve (“So you played in Cuba/did you like it brother?/I bet you felt proud/You silly little f---er”), but perhaps he should be a little easier on himself. I don't think it's naivety to share the frustrations of a generation, to dream of ideas and solutions and, let's face it, not all of us have our entire body of work under such a microscope that comes with being the Manics' lyricist. I first heard “Europa Geht Durch Micht” (translation: Europe passes through me) in April 2014 at one of their live shows and it's as startling and striking on record as it was when I sat there transfixed by their hypnotic performance at the Brighton Centre. Militaristic, relentless and detached, yet somehow addictive and irresistible (especially that klaxon), it utilises the purposely dispassionate vocals of Nina Hoss to perfect effect. The solitary song on “Futurology” which could have easily fit in on “Rewind The Film” is the sublime duet with Georgia Ruth, “Divine Youth”, which provides an oasis of calm right in the middle of a jaggedly powerful album. It is a rather melancholy, defeated piece full of life-weariness and cynicism, but it is undoubtedly beautiful. “Sex, Power, Love and Money”, on the other hand, is a big brilliant brute of a track, reminiscent of late seventies pop-punk bands such as The Undertones and The Buzzcocks, as well as a little dash of The Rolling Stones' “Undercover Of The Night”.

The Berlin influences continue with the uplifting “Dreaming A City (Hughesovka)”, an instrumental that tips its hat to the vocal-less compositions on Bowie's trio of albums, but specifically the more upbeat instrumental moments on “Low”. It does, however, have a little touch of Jean-Michel Jarre to it as well, resulting in a more wholly European sound, rather than simply Teutonic. Hughesovka (or, rather Yuzovka) is also the original name of Donetsk, where Welsh miners were shipped by industrialist John Hughes. So, just by scratching below the surface of this instrumental, you're given a history lesson; in fact, you get the impression that between them and Gruff Rhys, they will eventually educate the world about all things Welsh. “Black Square”, with its early eighties-influenced sound, carries on the connection between Manics songs and the art world, with several profound quotes referenced. It's not the best moment on the album, but it's certainly interesting. Scritti Politti's Green Gartside takes lead vocals on “Between The Clock On The Bed” and, although he often sounds distractingly like Lenny Kravitz (which may be handy if they ever bring back Celebrity Stars In Their Eyes), which is almost a tribute to the man himself, electronic drums, light synth sounds and all. It's a decent song, but the album then cries out for something strident and memorable to counter a couple of musically lightweight numbers. This comes with “Misguided Missile”, a beauteous but mighty slice of Krautrock-influenced Manics, resplendent with memorable chorus, understated guitar solo and self-loathing lyrics.

The album ends on a high note, both figuratively and literally with, “The View From Stow Hill”, a superb, if painful, song about the “crushed dreams” of the Newport communities and the “misguided tweets” and “sad Facebooking” of its people and then the second instrumental, “Mayakovsky” (which references The Beatles' “Helter Skelter” with the opening shout of “I've got blisters on my fingers!”) which somehow, through music, conveys optimism and hope. It's odd, but there are very few Manic Street Preachers albums I have enjoyed it from start to finish, without any reservations, but “Futurology” is one of those elusive pieces of work. The bonus disc on the deluxe edition which contains all of the demo versions of the track on the album is well worth hearing, plus it also contains a few songs that didn't make the final line-up, including an excellent composition, “The Last Time I Saw Paris”, which arguably really should have. Is this the Manic Street Preachers' masterpiece? I really cannot go that far. It's certainly brilliant, but “The Holy Bible”, “Everything Must Go” and “Journal For Plague Lovers” are arguably more wholly compelling releases, all for different reasons. However, “Futurology” can be easily spoken about in the same terms because, whilst this excellent and wildly creative collection of songs cannot surpass such a high benchmark, it's quite clearly one of the best albums they've ever made and they deserve every single bit of acclaim and praised lavished upon them for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manics never went away, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
The manics have an intellect, philosophy and song writing ability second to none. This album is simply the future as I see it and aptly named . What else do you expect from the nicest down to earth talented guys in music? Europa geht durch mich in particular is a ruthless ear worm with Nina Hoss adding drive and authenticity to the vocals. The song is still going round and round and around in my head !! The album is rich in classic Manics tracks with wonderful subtlety supplied with heavy techno beat in the best traditions of kraut rock. This album proves beyond doubt that they keep innovating and never went away. So my advice is to buy it, live a little and don't be told by the music industry what to like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars manics at their best, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Audio CD)
one of my favourite bands, they maintain a very high standard in their music and are terrific live. very underated in some respects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Album, What's that?, 17 Aug 2014
This review is from: Futurology (Audio CD)
After the almost accoustic last album which was quite sublime in my book,the Manics have plugged themselves back in & return to what they are so good at.So much to enjoy here,some very catchy songs that have been rattling round in my head for days,with the mixture of guitars & orchestration which they pull off so well.
A string of four or five maybe more,really good albums now & this is right up there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GO GET THIS " Futurology deluxe edition " as you will love it., 11 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
This is the Manic street preachers going that to there chart ring hits , I got the double deluxe edition with the demos on the second disc 2 . I keep playing this album and have some of the songs on my iPod classic , so I can hear the songs when I want to hear them . GO GET THIS " Futurology deluxe edition " as you will love it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Industrial, Political, Infectious MSP, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Flawless, fresh and inventive in a way that only the Manics can manage.
Over the years the Manic Street Preachers have had many forays into other sounds but ultimately kept their unique style, this time they have taken an industrial genre and made it their own in a way that I love. One of my favourite soundscapes is the industrial electronic/guitar mix of NIN and Rammstein this is not as doom laden as some or as dirty sounding but it is the same sound made more politically aware.
I think it will still sound both fresh and old for years, the dichotomy could only come from 1 band hence I give you Industrial Manics

Love it or loathe it you cannot ignore it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to me, lots., 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurology (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
This is juts really good. After the last effort, the name escapes me, its a must buy. Almost up there with postcards which by the way you should also have if you dont. Stop thinking about it and do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futurology (Deluxe)
Futurology (Deluxe) by Manic Street Preachers (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews