Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly entertaining
Despite covering a vast period of history this book offers a concise and thoroughly entertaining perspective. Packed with fascinating anecdotes, you'll find yourself quoting some of the more obscure!
Published 7 months ago by JP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars more like a list of books I should have read
Lots of quotes from other authors, more like a list of books I should have read.
Published 4 months ago by John Pate


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly entertaining, 13 May 2014
Despite covering a vast period of history this book offers a concise and thoroughly entertaining perspective. Packed with fascinating anecdotes, you'll find yourself quoting some of the more obscure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is gold the history maker?, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another superbly researched and extremely readable book by Mr Kwarteng. Following on from his earlier Age of Empires this book attempts to place gold at the heart of many of the decisions that have changed history. The need for gold, the search for gold (or in the British case taking it from the Spanish who had taken it from the Incas during Elizabethan times) and the value of having it – at the centre of global history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If only they would listen, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Intelligent and informative, well written and with plenty of lessons for the current crop of politicians busy wrecking the West
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A smashing read, 24 Jun 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let's face it, this could have been a dry, tedious read about global economics (yawn!) but it isn't. I wouldn't have read it and bothered writing this review if it was anything less than engaging and interesting and I'm happy to report it is that and more. One slight quibble is that the sub-title states that his is a "500 year history of empires, adventures and debt" but in reality 3/4 of the book is a history of the last century and how war and finance have traveled hand in hand throughout this period. To be sure the opening chapters put all this in an older historical context and there are regular referrals to previous centuries, but on the whole this book helps put things like the first world war, inter-war years, second world war, various oil crises, the EU...the list goes on, into an ongoing historical context that shines a spotlight on what is happening around the world today. I would assume that anyone well read in economics and/or history may find a lot in here that is well known, but for me and other general readers it offers an easy to read, easy to understand, glimpse into what goes on in global markets. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sweeping journey through financial history, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Gold: A Five-Hundred-Year History of Empires, Adventures and Debt (Kindle Edition)
A very thorough and interesting account of the rise of finance, debt, gold and paper money. It tells us how we got to where we now are through a global and historical sequence. There is perhaps a little too much focus on WW2 to the present but this does not detract to much. A good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a fine book. A clear, 17 July 2014
This was a fine book. A clear, lucid account of monetary history, with lots of quirky anecdotes and a strong narrative drive. I enjoyed it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars more like a list of books I should have read, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Gold: A Five-Hundred-Year History of Empires, Adventures and Debt (Kindle Edition)
Lots of quotes from other authors, more like a list of books I should have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars he thoroughly enjoyed, 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a present for my dad, he thoroughly enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Economics without jargon., 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Gold: A Five-Hundred-Year History of Empires, Adventures and Debt (Kindle Edition)
Clear, understandable explanation of economics and it's defiance of onvention hn i ome to a wartime it
Comes to a wartime situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews