Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The usual excellent 24!
The usual 24, brilliant and gripping drama. Whilst this series follows the well established route that Jack Bauer has trodden for over ten years, it still feels fresh and exciting. We watched the whole thing over two nights and were gripped right up to the end. Other drama and film makers should take another look at 24, it is still one of the best dramas available.
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Geoff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Old Jack Is Back
24: Live Another Day is the resurrection of 24 over 12 episodes across 4 DVDs. It takes the usual 24 action adventure to London, making for an interesting environment to that segment of the audience intimately familiar with the city. With most of the 24 characters having been killed off during the various previous seasons there are only a couple of returnees - Jack...
Published 5 months ago by MLA


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The usual excellent 24!, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The usual 24, brilliant and gripping drama. Whilst this series follows the well established route that Jack Bauer has trodden for over ten years, it still feels fresh and exciting. We watched the whole thing over two nights and were gripped right up to the end. Other drama and film makers should take another look at 24, it is still one of the best dramas available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly superb - best one (well I think so, 22 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Utterly superb - best one (well I think so!) of all the seasons. So difficult to watch over a few days because it's so compelling. I don't know how people watch on a weekly basis, much better to have DVD or download to watch how many you want back to back.
Gripping, tense, full of drama and 'ooooooo' Jack is great! You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live Another Day, 26 July 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 24: Live Another Day [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Live Another Day, despite its cliched bond esque sub title, presents a slightly fresher take on the old 24 formula. Trimming the series by half and setting it in London as opposed to sunny LA was a canny move and helps revitalise a struggling series.

The usual set up's are there of course. Jack is in hiding, tempted out by a terrorist attack. The president brings him back into the fold and off he goes on his one man mission to save the world. It's fast and frantic as always and characters come and go and yes there is a mole. 24 would not be complete without a mole.

It is this mixture of old and new that makes the series work....JUST. It isnt perfect, and isnt going to erase the memories of some of the later seasons, but it is a step in the right direction. London makes for a nicely gritty and dangerous feeling location. Some of the new characters are easy to root for and some are not.

Get past the coincedences of everyone being in the same city at the same time and there is some fun to be had. The action is brutal and in some cases quite graphic. The terrorist plot to start with is quite intriguing but then descends into familiar territory with various factions involved at different levels.

The much mooted series ending was a bit of a damp squib considering what had gone before it but Fox isn't about to jeopadise its number one character!

When all is said and done Live Another Day will stand as one of the better seasons. Full of action and incident it is worth a look and with only 12 episodes it flashes by in an instant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING !!!!!!!, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As one of the few lucky people who didn't watch 24 when it aired on tv I bought the full boxest in February. And I binged watched it everyday with no ads no distruptions and fell in love with the show. I was so excited for the start of 24 LAD, and I was no disappointed. Every episode has its 24 memorable moments, the cast is as good as it gets and 24 has efficiently been able to move with the times with their story lines and improved CGI, however still keeping the old 24 grit. I really hope they come back for a season 10 because I can see a great storyline about to unfold which is teased on the special feature featuring Tony Almedia :))

The only complaint and I'm being very picky now is the explosion on the Wembley pitch could of been better visualised but still better than anything else on tv. I would hugely recommend buying season 9 and if you having got seasons 1-8 Amazon have it greatly priced at the moment. One world AMAZING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack is back and on top form!, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't expecting much from series 9 as I felt 24 has fallen short of its usual high standards over the last few series. However, this series was one of the best yet, I would rank it in the same quality as series 1,2 and 5. Fast paced with an exciting plot. Jack is on top form, darker and more brutal than ever, he'll do anything to accomplish his mission objectives.
As a Brit, I really enjoyed seeing Jack running around London and using the Tube. I think 12 episodes was a good idea, it kept the plot fresh and on point. In past seasons the writers have struggled to fill 24 episodes with intriguing content, this left viewers with annoying and pointless sub-plots. However this was not the case with Live Another Day, every part of the plot linked together nicely and came to a decent conclusion.

I would watch a tenth series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad there is more., 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent as always. Yes... another deviant plot by some super-duper bad guy but I am afraid you will just have to love it.

Jack at his best. This serious was on TV last night. But still I just had to buy this series (no commercials, some behind the scene stuff, and extras are all the things that TV broadcast doesn't have).

Looking forward to watching the whole thing in one go (well over a few days, perhaps!)

Do you know there is a book to tie in what happens after Season 8 and this new 24: Live Another Day? I didn't know when I ordered the movie. Guess what... I will ordering that, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Aug. 2014
Just one word can sum up this season of 24; brilliant. I cannot begin how to describe just how much indifference I had when I heard that 24 was coming back. Sure Seasons 1 to 5 were brilliant and had some of the most gripping and thrilling episodes of any TV show ever but by the time Season 8 finished I was just so happy this show was cancelled. Season 6, 7 and 8 were just so bad (I won't include Redemption as I actually liked Redemption). The show in Seasons 6, 7 and 8 struggled to fill 24 episodes with enough action to keep you interested while also concentrating on some of the worst side characters ever. Instead of characters I actually cared about like Tony Almedia and David Palmer I was forced to watch characters I could care less about and also watch recycled plots.

24 Live Another Day has the brilliant advantage of having just 12 episodes to fill while also bringing back classic characters such as James Heller (last seen as the President in the Dark Knight Rises) and Audrey Raines. The show contains a lot less episodes which are basically filler as the writers don't have enough material to go forward with the story. Nobody gets caught in a bear trap (Season 2) although the show does contain the obligatory side characters and plots that somehow become important to the main story.

Simply put the new format works amazingly well and provides 24 with a much needed boost. If you expect the new format means that this show will somehow become more realistic then look elsewhere as the plots are just as ridiculous as ever. But unlike Seasons 6, 7 and 8 Live Another Day is ridiculously entertaining.

If you lost interest in Season 8 and are wondering whether to begin watching again then the answer is Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - I love you Jack!, 17 Nov. 2014
By 
D. Essex - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic. I love this series. We watched it back to back all day saturday. After the 4th dvd I shook the case just to see if by any chance there was another one but no……oh Keifer please make another series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It Was Great Seeing You Today. Just Like Old Times.", 21 Jun. 2015
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Some ideas are just too good to die. That’s why, four years after 24 ticked out its final second, it came back. No, we didn’t get a full 24 hours (although a full day is still covered). Instead, 24: Live Another Day consisted of 12 episodes. This show still knows how to get your blood pumping.

Just like it’s been four years for us, it’s been four years for Jack Bauer (Kiefer Sutherland). During all that time, he’s been in hiding, trying to avoid the Russians who are out to get revenge for his behavior in season 8. However, he resurfaces in London, and his first act is to break Chloe O’Brien (Mary Lynn Rajskub) out of CIA custody. Chloe has become a wanted hacker, disillusioned with the government and fighting to reveal the secrets they are trying to hide. Jack needs Chloe’s skills and her new friends in his effort to stop a terrorist plot.

Yes, even on the run, Jack has managed to get intel about Margot Al-Harzi (Michelle Fairley, a terrorist who is plotting to take over drones and kill President Heller (William Devane). Heller is in London at the moment, to sign a drone treaty, along with his daughter Aubrey (Kim Raver), who Jack still loves, and Aubrey’s new husband Mark (Tate Donovan).

Of course, breaking Chloe out of the CIA doesn’t go unnoticed (especially with Jack’s lack of subtly). Soon he has CIA location chief Steve Navarro (Benjamin Bratt) overseeing his capture with agent Kate Morgan (Yvonne Strahovski) hot on his trail. Only Kate isn’t so sure Jack is the man they should be hunting. Can he gain any allies in his efforts to stop the terrorists? What will happen before the last second ticks out?

The producers claimed that this season was going to be different because it was shorter. Heck, they famously promised that the show was going to dump us in the middle of the action. I will admit the premier episode was definitely more ramped up than some of the old premiers, but they still took the time to explain all the new relationships and the set up for the season. There was just more action going on in the background.

I will give the producers this – I don’t think there were any wasted sub-plots this season. You know, the sub-plots we never cared about but were there to fill up time as characters moved from one spot to another. While one or two sub-plots seemed unimportant, they eventually tied in better to the overall story than the sub-plots did in the full seasons.

However, there are clichés on 24, and many of them were still evident. If you watched this without knowing there had been four years in real time between season 8 and this run of episodes, you wouldn’t know by any fresh plot twists.

But you know what? That truly doesn’t matter. As the season progressed, I was on the edge of my seat multiple times with my heart racing and the blood pumping hoping Jack could manage to save the day yet again. The show has always been a thrill ride, and this season is absolutely no exception. And there were one or two twists I didn’t see coming.

And the acting is still top notch. Four of the actors from the show returned (although it has been a couple of seasons since we’d seen now President Heller and Aubrey). They slipped right back into their characters as if no time had passed. The cast of new actors were absolutely wonderful as well. I do have to give a special shout out to Yvonne. I loved her on Chuck, and it was great to see here again here.

This season is available on either DVD or Blu-Ray. Either way, you get all twelve episodes in wide screen and full surround. Both sets include deleted and extended scenes as well as a featurette on shooting in London, one on how they used headlines to shape the season, and finally one on filming while staying green. If you buy the Blu-Ray set, you also get an extension to the season. With the price difference between the two sets not being that great, if you have a Blu-Ray player, that’s definitely the set to go with.

There are rumors that the producers are open to doing another event series like 24: Live Another Day. With how they left Jack, I’d say they absolutely need to do that. If it does happen, I’ll be back on the 24 roller coaster for every second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Saga continues !, 15 April 2015
The best part of this series is that it has been limited to just 12 episodes,instead of the usual 24.
A clever idea,since it made it much easier to maintain the prime characteristic of the series.The frenzied pace !
The fact that it is set abroad for the first time,is also positive.Especially since it is set in London.
Jack Bauer is darker,more ruthless,and more vicious than ever before.He is ,also,visibly aged.But we can forego that.
The plot itself is,naturally,in terms of credibility,ridiculous.Not a single scene has an ounce of credibility.But,then,it never did.Hence the frenzied pace which makes it impossible for most viewers to realize that it is nothing other than a series of improbabilities and impossibilities thrown in one after the other.I was mildly amused by the "character"of the american president,and mildly annoyed by the one of the British P.M. The former is an amusing,naive,"fatherly"figure,but the latter is much more clownlike than it should have been.I was also extremely amused to watch a "master criminall arms dealer",whose prime henchmen(Bauer and another) disappear for weeks (with his money,no less,)never moving out of his base of criminal operations,a warehouse ! Possibly because the idea that his "disappeared"associates may turn him in to the authorities never crossed his mind !
I truly enjoyed the idea that the CIA base in London can ,so easily,be infiltrated and compromised ! I was thrilled by the notion of a "terrorist mother-leader" who loves her children so much,being prepared to maim them or even kill them in every turn of the story ! And I was so excited to see the british security forces to be conspicuously absent from every single "battle"in London-which has been duly turned into a private "CIA ,Terrorist,Russian and Chinese"playground ! And in the single occasion they intervene ,they muck everything up ! I was impressed no end by the fact that the american president,who thoroughly entrusts an idiot son in law for the position of his "Chief of Staff",is always surrounded by a host of military officers and aides,whilst the British P.M. is making his own telephone calls,for he is ,usually,alone ! Finally I will always treasure the concept of the British P.M.,-in London,no less ! -paying numerous visits to the President's "residence", whilst the latter never once visits No 10, ! But,most of all,I laughed my heart out finding out the U.S. have built a fleet of drones-stealth bomber planes-at a cost of a zillion dollars !-and have "neglected" to put in them a self-destruct system operating independently to the main control systems of the planes ! Or,perhaps,they have chosen to save a few thousand dollars and,therefore,a zillion dollar investment/weapon was practically "gift wrapped"for any enemy you can think of !
Be that as it may,and in spite of these,and several other,"script jewels"(...or even,perhaps,because of them !),I enjoyed the series a lot.!
Well done,boys.Keep the Saga running as long as possible.And may Jack Bauer live long and keep saving the world -and paying dearly for it-until his seventies ! Or even further !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24: Live Another Day [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free]
24: Live Another Day [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] by Kiefer Sutherland (Blu-ray - 2014)
£14.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews