Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's Listen with Prime

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars42
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2014
A fabulous book, really honest, gutsy and amusing all at the same time. I'm guessing we all have our 'hidden sides' and this takes the reader deep inside Rebecca's. It's always a good sign when, after reading a book, you feel you know the author better. Well done.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Love her honesty. V brave to open up and poke fun at herself too. If you have experience of anxiety, this book is a gentle hoot.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
An excellent book, as on would expect from such an intelligent English graduate. It has humpourous moments mingled with events of great poignancy. Would make an excellent gift or bedside book for guests to dip into.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Captivating, personal and a good read. She shows a wonderful humour and I hope she writes more.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
No longer satisfied with playing the incompetent MP Nicola Murray in the political satire The Thick of It, and winning a Bafta for it, seasoned comedy writer and columnist, Rebecca Front, has written a collection of delightfully witty anecdotes and tales exploring all that is remarkable about everyday life.

Autobiographical in nature, Curious: True Stories and Loose Connections by Rebecca Front explores the oddities of human nature in general and her own peculiarities in particular, revealing through the stories and anecdotes her own life’s struggles. This is a book of curiosities, and if you’re curious enough to read it, Rebecca Front hopes that it will remind you of curiosities of your own.

Though the style of writing is not the best, the stories and anecdotes are every bit interesting, insightful and engaging. From the first chapter The Tiger Who Came to Tea to the last chapter More Like a Snail, Rebecca Front will take you on a ride that will make you think and laugh at the same time.
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
I loved so many things in this book that it is hard to point to a few. Having said that, the chapter on phoning helplines was a perfect description of dozens of such encounters over the last year or two. The message 'your call is important to us' (yeah, as if!) is more enraging than anything when you are way down the line of calls waiting to be answered. And there are lots of other experiences I found myself nodding in recognition of - and, of course, many things to learn about the background of this talented actress whose work I have admired for a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Essentially a book of short memoirs. Some really funny and some quite sad but all very well written and enjoyable from the pen of this marvellous actress.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
She explores human nature in a funny and thoughtful way. She is also very honest and thought provoking. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Bought as an extra-cerebral present for my wife's birthday. We both love the super talented Rebecca Front. Who is a super talented character slash comedy slash edgy actor. We didn't know she was an author too until listening in the car one day to a BBC radio 4 review of this book. It sounded great, we will be looking out for future works by this gifted, talented, sexy lady.
Signed R. Front's mate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Absolutely absorbing - what a clever interesting charming multi-talented lady.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)