Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product but not such a huge advance on my ..., 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin zumo 590LM 5" Motorbike Sat Nav with UK and Full Europe Maps, Free Lifetime Map Updates and Bluetooth (Electronics)
Great product but not such a huge advance on my old Zumo 550 as I thought it would be. Still, having a 5 inch screen on my ZZR 1400 is a luxury and the navigation is good. It doesn't take long to acquire satellites and the dynamic route guidance (altering the route on the go for traffic reasons or because you haven't followed the route correctly), is significantly faster thanks to a quicker processor. I haven't yet asked it to find windy routes with the Curvy Roads feature but that was partly why I bought it. The option to have the satnav in portrait mode sounds great but in reality it is a Little tricky to do if you are using bike power. You will need to wire it to the bike in such a way to leave enough spare wire. That might look a bit unsightly (as it would on my ZZR) as you need to allow the satnav holder to rotate. If you have a previous Garmin, say a Zumo 550 or 600, beware that you will need to replace the charging wires if you use bike power to support your satnav. The holder for the unit is very different. All the required kit comes with the unit. I would also mention that the satnav is not secure with the Garmin holder. A quick press of the button will release the unit. I would never leave my unit on the bike unattended but you should remember that. Overall, a great product that I am enjoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing a few features but still love it, 21 Aug 2014
By 
L. Wilkinson (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin zumo 590LM 5" Motorbike Sat Nav with UK and Full Europe Maps, Free Lifetime Map Updates and Bluetooth (Electronics)
Good to see that Garmin are finally bringing across many of the features from the standard automotive GPS units but there are still some things missing that would be good to have. Why Garmin always let the motorcycle units lag behind the rest of the range I don't know but it's always been that way. Lots more info here: http://www.zumoforums.com

Main reason I'm posting this is to help with one important item that's no longer supplied with the 590 as it was with the 5xx and 6xx ranges - a case!

The OEM Garmin case is selling here on Amazon for £23! I found this one: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00JWKHTIU/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

For under £3 I thought it was well worth a go even if it turned out to be rubbish. It took a couple of weeks to arrive (from China) but it was well worth it. The quality is as good as the OEM case I had with my 660 and the 590 fits perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet from Garmin, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin zumo 590LM 5" Motorbike Sat Nav with UK and Full Europe Maps, Free Lifetime Map Updates and Bluetooth (Electronics)
Very, very expensive - but, it has the usual excellent Zumo build quality and, in the box, absolutely everything you need for motorcycle or car use. I find Garmin customer-care second-to-none and it's possible to speak directly with an operator should a problem arise (try that with TomTom...). Even the once-derided "Garmin Express" that allows the unit, via a computer, to link with Garmin, seems to work well (though make sure you have the latest version installed). It's also very welcome, as others point out, to have a number of the features used in car units for so long.
Clear even in bright sunlight, the screen is a significant and important improvement; it dims automatically at night (and in tunnels) with crisper graphics than the 600 Series; the map detail, in standard view, is just about right - though in car mode you might want more. The unit both locates satellites and recalculates when you've made a wrong turn with commendable speed. It's also possible, at last, to have a selection of windows down one side showing, for example, "Arrival time", Distance to go", etc., though one has to say that their appearance is still infant-school clunky with lots of precious space wasted between the words and their border.
One really annoying feature is the "Up Ahead" display; it's impossible to turn off the screen icons for any of the three that you are forced to select; the list being: Speed Cameras, Lodging, Food, Road-side Help, Gas (Petrol), Parking, Banks & ATM and Restrooms (lavatories in English). While you might want cameras and fuel showing, having the screen littered with pictures of knives and forks or "restrooms" I find a hindrance to sane progress.
How the Bluetooth and iPhone (etc.) links work I've no idea - the idea of scrolling through song lists, checking my Stock Exchange portfolio while phoning lover No.3 while ear'oling down a twisty road is, to me, pure anathema.
Speed camera warnings (from the Garmin database) are utterly hopeless and far too general; it's far better to download the really detailed ones from Pocket GPS that locate permanent and temporary ones with precision. However, the icons displayed are tiny - a ridiculous situation when every greasy-spoon cafe is lit up like Tokyo at night.
A warning: mine came with "Avoidances" set by default to include U-turns; this might be fine if you're on Diavel, not so handy if riding 390 Duke. It's also a new unit, so, as an early adopter, be prepared for some yet-to-be-discovered snags and regular updates of the firmware.
Update 10th October 2014:
I've now covered around 2000 miles with the unit and am generally very impressed with both its performance and (relative) ease of use. The rapid and smooth scrolling of the screen is a real bonus and the database comprehensive (though don't expect every fuel station listed to still exist...). I do find that it will occasionally select an obliviously unsuitable, longer and slower side-road route - though I suppose that this might well be a fault common to other Garmin units....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great all purpose sat nav, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin zumo 590LM 5" Motorbike Sat Nav with UK and Full Europe Maps, Free Lifetime Map Updates and Bluetooth (Electronics)
This is a really 'complete' sat nav system. It comes with all the components you will need supplied in the box.

This was initially a replacement for a motorbike sat nav and for that it ticks all the boxes... and some. The RAM mount is ideal for fixing to any motorbike, it will secular attach almost anywhere ( the only disappointment was that there is no rubber protector supplied to protect the finish on what it is attached to).

I have just returned from a two week break in France where it was used on a daily basis for touring using the car mount/charger ( I couldn't get the wife on the back of the bike for two weeks) and it performed great.

All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin zumo 590LM 5" Motorbike Sat Nav with UK and Full Europe Maps, Free Lifetime Map Updates and Bluetooth (Electronics)
Easy to use, clear and simple. The screen brightness could be a little better especially in very sunny days but it overall. It's a great bit of kit. Very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin zumo 590LM 5" Motorbike Sat Nav with UK and Full Europe Maps, Free Lifetime Map Updates and Bluetooth (Electronics)
This is great extra to my motorbike far better than I expected
Thanks Andrew Lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but good, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin zumo 590LM 5" Motorbike Sat Nav with UK and Full Europe Maps, Free Lifetime Map Updates and Bluetooth (Electronics)
Well worth the high price, I really am pleased with the Bluetooth connectivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Zumo ever..., 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin zumo 590LM 5" Motorbike Sat Nav with UK and Full Europe Maps, Free Lifetime Map Updates and Bluetooth (Electronics)
The best GPS I have ever owned. Everything about it is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin zumo 590LM 5" Motorbike Sat Nav with UK and Full Europe Maps, Free Lifetime Map Updates and Bluetooth (Electronics)
Great, just the job for bike and car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews