Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to brilliance
Other than the first line I agree entirely with the first paragraph of the previous reviewer. The early Bright Eyes albums are still amongst my favourite records of all time but Conor's work post 2007 was definitely disappointing after those heady heights.

I was anticipating this album more so than Conor's other recent efforts due to the involvement of First...
Published 7 months ago by MR M P STEPHENSON

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but this effort is not among his best work. Still worth the price of entry though
Always has something interesting to convey in his lyrics, but this effort is not among his best work. Still worth the price of entry though!
Published 4 months ago by Jakethedog


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to brilliance, 21 May 2014
This review is from: Upside Down Mountain (Audio CD)
Other than the first line I agree entirely with the first paragraph of the previous reviewer. The early Bright Eyes albums are still amongst my favourite records of all time but Conor's work post 2007 was definitely disappointing after those heady heights.

I was anticipating this album more so than Conor's other recent efforts due to the involvement of First Aid Kit (who I have to say have probably taken the "favourite artist" award from Bright Eyes). I'd heard some of their other joint efforts (many of which are on youtube) so was excited to get my hands on this album but also nervous and apprehensive that it wouldn't meet my expectations. How wrong I was! Not only is Conor back to his brilliant best but the addition of Klara & Johanna (First Aid Kit) make it a masterpiece. Their voices fit so perfectly I just wish they'd been a band in their own right.

Personal favourites so far are Time Forgot, Zigzagging Toward the Light, Hundreds of Ways & Double Life. If you're a fan of Conor or First Aid Kit give this album a listen and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Conor Oberst - Not quite reaching the peak, 19 May 2014
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Upside Down Mountain (Audio CD)
Speaking honesty the development of Conor Oberst has not been the happiest of journeys. His early Bright Eyes material promised so much that the "new Dylan" label was thrown around with abandon. Here was a songwriting talent destined for musical greatness and with promise to spare. Thus an album like "Lifted (Or this is where the story is)" seemed to prefigure impending sainthood. When "I'm Wide Awake its Morning" came alone the stars aligned and Oberst completely nailed it. But since then its been "disappointing" to say the least. This applies to his work since 2007 not least horrible albums like "Outer South" and while many speak warmly of the "The People's Key" it has been played so little on this reviewers "stereo" that it should received loneliness counselling in the CD rack.

Whatever happened to emotional intensity of Oberst's earlier work is a matter for musical detectives but does this new solo album at last show that there is life left in the "old dog"? "Upside Down Mountain" is often a charming and wistful album with an smattering of excellent songs but also some pretty average fare. The song "Hundreds of Ways" was the pre release from the album and is all jolly alt country with Oberst's trademark vocals and themes of death and socio paths. It is fine but nothing to write home about. The same sentiments apply to "Enola Gay" where Oberst tells us that this "world is mean and getting meaner too" - and this is from the man who wrote "Lua"? On other songs like the ponderous "Lonely at the top" Oberst's reflections on love lead to you to reflect that perhaps he should just go out sink a bottle of Jack Daniels and get over himself. With lyrics like "Freedom is the opposite of love/ you will never keep it through the paranoia" its like listening to musing of a precocious teenager who has just discovered Proust.

Thankfully there are enough songs here to keep the faith in Oberst's talents. The brilliant opener "Time forget" is one of his best songs in years with that latent regret of which he is master of placing into its words. Equally "Artefact No 1" has slightly Elliot Smith feel to it and is truly lovely. The standout however is the excellent "Desert Island Questionnaire" packed full of echo and great lyrics. Alongside this is the pop sensibility of "Zigzagging towards the light" you feel that redemption may still be within his grasp. By any standards "Upside Down Mountain" shows that its worth staying the course with Oberst. With the red hot Jonathan Wilson at the control desk, plus the charms of Swedish wonders First Aid Kit on a couple of tracks there is enough to engage and retain interest. The best parts of this album heavily outweigh the weaknesses and whilst not a return to the stellar standards of earlier works the spark is still contained within
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conor's Best Recent Work, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upside Down Mountain (Audio CD)
Huge fan of Bright Eyes/Conor in general.
Loved Outer South, but this is leagues above - instantly loved every track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On Upside Down Mountain he’s in full swing., 21 Sep 2014
By 
Ms. T. Daniels "drunkenwerewolf" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Upside Down Mountain (Audio CD)
Conor Oberst has been releasing music for over 20 years now. That's right – we’re fifteen years on from the teenage angst of breakthrough track "Falling out of love at this volume" and subsequent album, Fevers And Mirrors. Further to this we're almost ten years on from what people consider his magnum opus, the Bright Eyes album I'm Wide Awake It's Morning. Under his various monikers, Oberst has now released over twenty albums. "But why is now the time for reflection?" I hear you asking. Because on Upside Down Mountain we find Conor in a very reflective mood.

Despite only turning 34 in February of this year, Oberst sings of tales on Upside Down Mountain that make him sound like an elder statesman of indie rock. "Zigzagging toward the Light" finds the musician reflecting on how naive his attitude to death was and contemplating his mortality. This may be a morbid subject matter, but it’s musically a song that early 1970s David Bowie would have been proud of. It's so catchy you can't help but tap your toes.

Read the rest of the review here: http://www.drunkenwerewolf.com/reviews/conor-oberst-upside-mountain/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When you are in the right mood this is great, 25 Sep 2014
By 
M. C. Prestage (Crowborough, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upside Down Mountain (Audio CD)
I got onto Conor Oberst after a recent review of a London concert. For me, I have to be in the right mood for this album. I love the 'high life' guitar work and First Aid Kit's backing but sometimes his almost spoken 'Dylanesque' vocals can just get irritating.There is a fragility to his voice so that you think he might just crack completely and stop singing, but this also gives the singing great poignancy. I think the trick is you have to be listening quite hard to this album and then the intensity of the lyrics shines through. So sometimes I would be awarding this 5 stars and sometimes 4 but certainly I have no other record quite like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but in perfect condition when it did, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took a little while to arrive, but in perfect condition when it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upside Down Mountain (MP3 Download)
Conor is back to his best. Amazing album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but this effort is not among his best work. Still worth the price of entry though, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upside Down Mountain (Audio CD)
Always has something interesting to convey in his lyrics, but this effort is not among his best work. Still worth the price of entry though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upside Down Mountain (Audio CD)
Warm, melodic, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here it goes..., 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upside Down Mountain (Audio CD)
If you like Conor's usual work, you will enjoy this! Tracks 2,6,10,11 the highlights for me. Zig-zag towards the light...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Upside Down Mountain
Upside Down Mountain by Conor Oberst
Buy MP3 Album£8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews