Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Bone chilling terror
It has been a long time since I have read a book like this one. This is a dark psychological thriller beyond imagination. It does take a little while to get going, but once it does it is the perfect companion to burn away that midnight oil. When cheerleader Lindsay Marshall disappears from her bedroom one night, the nightmare for her parents has just began. The police...
Published 4 months ago by J Bannion

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quietly eerie psychological tale of house sales and disappearances.
Perfect Nightmare was originally published in 2005. The book runs to approx. 386 pages and is an easy read. Shouldn't take you to long to get through it.

What's it about?. The mystery begins with a disappearance. Teenager, Lindsay, goes missing from her bedroom during the night. Did she run away because of family trouble or was there something more...
Published 10 months ago by JK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quietly eerie psychological tale of house sales and disappearances., 18 Jun. 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Perfect Nightmare (Kindle Edition)
Perfect Nightmare was originally published in 2005. The book runs to approx. 386 pages and is an easy read. Shouldn't take you to long to get through it.

What's it about?. The mystery begins with a disappearance. Teenager, Lindsay, goes missing from her bedroom during the night. Did she run away because of family trouble or was there something more sinister?.

Saul builds up a troubled family history and slowly injects light, psychological tension. It appears people are disappearing from a series of houses recently put on the market for sale. Might that be the link to Lindsay?. I'm not telling you!. As the search for the missing continues to build, two unlikely people draw closer together while a darker character stalks the neighbourhood.

Perfect Nightmare isn't a great story. It's a decent story and fine if you're looking for a more gentle thriller with some decently worked tension and eeriness. If you like your fiction 'hard boiled' you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bone chilling terror, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Nightmare (Kindle Edition)
It has been a long time since I have read a book like this one. This is a dark psychological thriller beyond imagination. It does take a little while to get going, but once it does it is the perfect companion to burn away that midnight oil. When cheerleader Lindsay Marshall disappears from her bedroom one night, the nightmare for her parents has just began. The police ignore her mother's fears that she has been abducted, believing her to be just another runaway. But once other women begin to disappear in similar circumstances, the unimaginable evil lurking in the background fuels a nightmare without end. Packed with heart wrenching suspense, sheer horror and plenty of twists and turns, this truly is the stuff of nightmares. This was my first book by John Saul, I will definitely read many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Nightmare (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book but a little more suspense and horror would have been welcome. I found the voice of the killer a little stilted and not really dread inducing. Worth a read but instantly forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty average story, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Nightmare (Kindle Edition)
John Saul has definitely written better novels, this, for me, was pretty average. I also didn't realise, as another reviewer has commented, that this is a re-release so I'm pretty lucky I haven't read it before or I would have been a little disappointed.

The story itself doesn't gather any real pace until the end, it kind of plods along mainly between the thoughts and feelings of Lindsey, her friends and family, and the madman, who, I must admit, I found to be quite obvious - though his reasons for doing what he does, not so obvious until the end.

For the current price of 99p, if you're a fan of this genre or John Saul it's worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good gripping novel, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Nightmare (Kindle Edition)
First time read for me and enjoyed it immensely, was a bit predictable from middle onwards but still good. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars John Saul Perfect Nightmare, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Nightmare (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this book too .Will probably read more by same author at later date
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tantalizing fantastic., 10 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Perfect Nightmare (Kindle Edition)
Wow! Another great book I simply couldn't put down. So many twists and turns, I just didn't want it to end. Never expected the ending so that keeps the reader in so much suspense. It was every mother's nightmare and the title of this book says it all. Don't read it at bedtime as it may give you nightmares. Wonderfully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Nightmare (Kindle Edition)
Good read but for me confusing at times quite gritty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Nightmare, 17 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Perfect Nightmare (Kindle Edition)
Not a patch on the usual John Saul novels of the 80' s. Easy reading but seems you have read this kind of novel once before. Think I will remember his Nathanial and Cry For The Strangers a lot longer than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Perfect nightmare., 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Perfect Nightmare (Kindle Edition)
Unsettling idea for a thriller which will certainly make one anxious about open house if selling a home. Maybe too many twists in the end that do not all come together convincingly .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Nightmare
Perfect Nightmare by John Saul
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews