Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars72
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 28 November 2014
Sieger is a fifteen year old and is good at sporty things - especially running and he gets chosen to represent the school. This throws him into the group of athletic types and he meets Marc. Marc is not like other boys - he is assured and makes up his own rules. They soon develop a friendship; but Marc is hankering after a bit more.

Sieger is also dealing with a home life that is far from ideal. His mother was killed in a motor accident and his caring father has now become over protective of him and his more wayward older brother. Add to this that he is going through the whole sexual awakening thing - that is where your default switch is heterosexual - and he is trying to do the right thing. As the training intensifies so does the relationship - but the outcome is always in doubt.

This was a made for TV film in the Netherlands (in Dutch with good sub titles) and as such was always going to be a bit tame. Then again we are talking teenagers here so don't expect anything too post watershed. On the other hand it is a story that has been told before, but this one manages to do it in a very charming and understandable way that comes across as being absolutely genuine. If you like a tender gay themed love story then I am sure you will want to see this film.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I found this a honest and tender film. A young cast acting and playing while having fun doing so.
I think the struggle of " finding who you realy are" was honest in this movie. I also liked the running scenes in this flim. And then the first kiss between the two boys, so tender and moving! You can compaire it with another good movie: Beautiful Thing.
If you like coming of age movies I realy think this is the right film. I just don't say anymore. Just buy and enjoy!

The short movie: Even cowboys get to cry.

Powerfull short about friendship!
In fragmentaric scenes with little words, two eighteen year old close friends find out that friendship isn't always entirely logical. Just as you think it can't break, you provoke a fight, by which your friend get's involved. He get's hurt and comes in a coma in hospital. When he awakes out of the coma, your friendship seems to be changed forever.
Young actors Ko Zandvliet and Jonas Smulders act superbly in this touching and moving short drama. I don't want to reveal the further content of this short, but it is a great addition to the Boys dvd release by Pecadillo pictures. You have to watch for yourself and find out, I'm sure you won't regret watching this short movie.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
I don't ever give ratings on amazon, but for this I had to. It really is beautiful. The two writers have managed to tell an original story in what could be called a fairly common setting and theme, and the director and actors bring it to life with perfection. The cinematography is not forced, it just lets you soak up the scenes. I think it could have almost been put together with no soundtrack, the acting and the camera work tells the story so well, but when it does sporadically emerge it really shoves the message of the scene right into your heart.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
You are my Sunshine, my only Sunshine.... You have to sing it like it’s the best song ever.

I don’t like the English title of “Boys”. It hints at something not right. I prefer the Dutch original, Jongens.

This is a beautiful film about youngsters, I don’t have the adequate words to describe the simplicity of young friendships yet nuanced. There is no graphic sex. It is where young people are cool just for the sake of being cool, all by themselves. That is the magic of youth.

The subplot layers are good and very necessary to add counterpoint and authenticity to good story telling. After saying goodbye to his mates, Seiger returns to Marc at the lake, and then rides home alone a second time, this time caught in a dreamy state by his brother and friends on their motorbikes, plus girls, plus tractor with trailer and sofa, to their secret hangout place in the woods.

The DVD contains interviews, and a film short, Even Cowboys Get to Cry, which is the reason for the 18 certificate, as the main film is rated PG.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Even with English sub-titles this DVD is worth it, the storyline is a typical illustration of first love, the initial struggle to come to terms with the realisation that its with another boy is well illustrated, and makes for an excellent performance.
Some intense scenes which will speak volumes.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
A very enjoyable film, worth purchasing. Great acting and great script work. No total nudity, which is a pleasant change, and subtracts nothing from the film.
A lovely telling of a boy finding his way to manhood.

There is one major flaw however, the poorly executed ending.
They either ran out of time, money or ideas. The ending is completely flaccid and cliché compared to the great work done so far.

The entire movie leads the viewer to the inevitable decision that has to be made by the hero, be true to yourself, or conform to social norms.
Tension builds skillfully through the film as the viewer knows this decision is coming.

SPOILER ALERT
When the moment finally arises, we are left with a cheap shot (literally), and the triumph of good over evil, right over wrong, truth over façade… is left up to our imagination.
The most powerful scene of the movie; Redemption… is simply “implied”!!! WTF

Presumably because they couldn’t be bothered filming the last 2 minutes, and give the climax of the entire film the same care and attention given to the rest of it.
Very disappointed by the handling of this ending :(
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Beautiful film. Well acted and beautifully photographed. Just a shame about the very un-imaginative title.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Excellent film, well written and performed. Good storyline with enough material left to your imagination. No graphic scenes just an excellent coming of age story
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 2 December 2014
Boys is really very enjoyable to watch, and makes a marvellous antidote to modern city living. The rural setting is beautifully shot, as are the two boys, one of whom is in his late teens, and the other a bit less, who embark on a tentative, start-stop sort of romance. They are in the same athletics team, and the director Mischa Kamp uses every imaginative shot to try and get the right intensity and freshness, without it ever seeming quirky at all. Close-ups give the track sequences a feeling of suspension, along with the guitar music which creates quite a textured backdrop. The thinking behind the project was to make something that could be shown to 12 or 13-year-olds that would be appealing to them, and while it is quite a gentle film, made for Dutch television, you can sense that it could have a very positive effect on younger viewers. Bearing this in mind, Kamp has not shot anything very explicit, but there is a remarkable sense of tenderness in the film, and the kiss and other moments of closeness really do register as such. Kamp, who seems very kind in the interview, has got great performances from both boys, as well as filling in their family backgrounds with sensitivity. It is a mark of the film’s success that scenes between the father and brother of one seem like more than padding – you do feel it is multi-stranded, for all its simplicity of basic shape. The 20-minute short that comes with it stars this same brother with the other boy from the main feature, and the difference in tone is very noticeable – it is also quite good, but more violent and challenging, and makes you want to get back to more muted, but deeper pleasures of the 80-minute film. The two leads in interview come across almost as an inversion of their screen personas, in that the younger, shyer one – who also seems more sexually ambivalent - is quite extrovert in conversation, where the other one is surprisingly quieter – they are both very personable in both contexts!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Beautifully sweet and tender storytelling!

But why classification: 18?

There is no sex whatsoever, no violence, no drug use, no strong language... why on earth would anyone classify this movie as 18? In Germany it is free for everyone to watch? Can anyone explain that to me?

Besides that it's a very sweet coming of age and coming out movie. Very convincing actors and good direction... which lots of other movies of that sort here lack unfortunately. Enjoy watching! :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)