Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How much fast pace and stress that we are constantly exposed leaves us time for ourselves
‘Overwhelmed’ written by Brigid Schulte is an interesting work backed by extensive research on the subject of how much fast pace and stress that we are constantly exposed leaves us time to rest and if is out there today something at all that we can call leisure.

Can we even define our spare time? Is it when we do not do anything, spending time in...
Published 15 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Academic study, rather than a 'how to' manual
I read about this book in a magazine and was under the impression that it would provide some tips on how to better manage my time. In fact, it is more of an academic study of dwindling leisure time in the modern world and its impact on women, men and families. It is readable but somewhat depressing. I haven't got to the end of it yet - it is thorough! - so there may be...
Published 2 months ago by Jenzo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How much fast pace and stress that we are constantly exposed leaves us time for ourselves, 28 Mar. 2014
‘Overwhelmed’ written by Brigid Schulte is an interesting work backed by extensive research on the subject of how much fast pace and stress that we are constantly exposed leaves us time to rest and if is out there today something at all that we can call leisure.

Can we even define our spare time? Is it when we do not do anything, spending time in leisure and solicitation, or the time that we spend to feel better, to do something that makes us happy, what not one pushes us to do? According to the nice quote from someone at the University of Iowa, true leisure is “…that place in which we realize our humanity” and judging by all there are less and less such time, or already it vanished for most of us.

Brigid Schulte, The Washington Post journalist and part of a team that won the Pulitzer Prize, from 2010 conducted an extensive research and spoke with numerous scientists, sociologists, and especially working parents to investigate what are the factors that contribute to our feeling being constantly overwhelmed, having no time for anyone, most important ourselves.

On the pages of the book Brigid Schulte compares a view on workplace and family subjects from the American angle by comparing it to how these issues are dealt with in Europe and in other parts of the world. She speaks about progressive offices that are seeking to invent some new ways of working, all with the goal to enable people with children to still feel like human beings, not like machines which have planned every minute of life caring only for others and working.

‘Overwhelmed’ is extremely easy and interesting to read, while every reader in a greater or lesser part will be able to identify with what the author has put forward in her work, making her book extremely valuable in the field she covers.

As a convenient add-on author did not hesitate to share her own experiences and that all together makes her book a good choice if you are interested in this topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have told everyone who will listen to read this book, 18 May 2014
Brilliantly researched and written - a perfect balance of stats and stories. It will make you re-evaluate what's important. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Academic study, rather than a 'how to' manual, 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read about this book in a magazine and was under the impression that it would provide some tips on how to better manage my time. In fact, it is more of an academic study of dwindling leisure time in the modern world and its impact on women, men and families. It is readable but somewhat depressing. I haven't got to the end of it yet - it is thorough! - so there may be some of those handy tips towards the end. At the moment, I just want to move to Iceland which sounds like it has work-life balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would recommend this book, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only negative about this book had a major American bias. There are a lot of books on a similar or same subject matter but this book is well researched, has lots of the aurthor's own examples which brought the subject to life. I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting., 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read. So well written too. I love the ideas and the case studies, very thoroughly researched. The mothers and children was centric and possibly should have been stated more clearly but I see the benefit for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 22 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this at a pivotal moment and couldn't absorb it fast enough; would recommend to anyone feeling time poor and in need of some new thinking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
V interesting and well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful, well written and gripping. Couldnt put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews