Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Perfomaces and Storylines
The first episode is a little boring and I thought, OK its jumped the shark. Then episode 2 immediately picks up speed and every episode after that shines. In season 5, The Good Wife goes from being a great drama to to an excellent one. The writers of this show have really given these fine actors a chance to show off and sparkle. These are episodes that you can watch...
Published 7 months ago by M. Knowles

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not as good as 1-4. As for killing off my favourite character....big mistake. Huge.
Published 4 months ago by Alis Rose


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Perfomaces and Storylines, 5 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The first episode is a little boring and I thought, OK its jumped the shark. Then episode 2 immediately picks up speed and every episode after that shines. In season 5, The Good Wife goes from being a great drama to to an excellent one. The writers of this show have really given these fine actors a chance to show off and sparkle. These are episodes that you can watch again and again, with some seriously epic performances, one liners and performances. IMHO it peaks a few episodes away from the cliff hanger, but that was dictated by the decision of a certain cast member who seems to have forgotten about his years of obscurity. My one gripe? It needs a blu ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Series of Legal and People Drama, 7 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
(Review based on Uk's More 4 broadcast)

Yet again another great series following the same formula but not loosing its interest or feeling. The backbone to the quality of this series is its interesting legal cases, interesting characters and the balance of how things are used and brought together.

The basic premise of the series goes back to first series as Alisha Florrick, The Good Wife, sticks with her politician husband after a scandalous revelation. She needs to make ends meet and return to work as a lawyer. She's end up in an interesting position of being employed with Will Gardner her one time would be ex. There's always plenty going on with the characters in the firm, the prosecution department, love tensions, office politics and real politics. As I say the balance is very good.

The series leave's off from the last one where things have been turned round a bit as Alicia and Cary's new start up firm battles to establish itself and battles their old firm. There's some big events too shake things up further in this series.

The cast is great and along with the excellent main stars we have some more from the excellent Nathan Lane, Michael J Fox, Carrie Preston and Zach Grenier with the writers using their palate of characters well so as not to over use them; leaving us wanting more.

I would really recommend this series. I imagine you could jump straight into this series and pick things up but may be better starting with the first one so you can enjoy them all and appreciate whats been going on from the start. I've given all five series 5 stars so don't feel you have to make do with lower quality early on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just love this series, 19 Oct. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Hirschaid, Bayern) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I just love this series, I truly am addicted and I was very glad to order it through amazon.uk (I live in Germany, season 5 will not be available here for another year). It is a very good mix of past (scenes of Alicia and Will, e.g) and present/future (the new law firm getting into business). My personal favourite is still season 3, however, this one also is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If the Archers were lawyers, in a good way, 8 April 2015
By 
gerryg - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Obviously series 1-4 is a prerequisite, however, this continues an interesting journey of a woman handling the complexities of life, returning to work after child care, out of necessity developing her sense of self, dealing with children growing up, dealing with others seeing her as much the Governors's wife as well as an individual, partner in a start-up law firm etc., others dealing with it all.

My only slight criticism is the seemingly infinite capacity of the investigator, Kalindar, to mysteriously come up with the information slightly Perry Mason-esque (an approach amusingly referenced by a Judge in a trial)

Still gripping, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Political and legal crime series, 1 Nov. 2014
By 
Sheila Mcdaniel (Austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Obviously it is too early in the morning for me as I gave the review to the much lesser series of Veep that I intended for this wonderful series.

I wait with anticipation for each series to be released as it just gets better and better. There is no way to anticipate the twists and turns that each episode takes and there is almost a season ending size cliff hanger every one.

I hope this runs long in its present high quality and exceptional value for money! Drooling over Chris Noth is just an added bonus whilst my husband enjoys the beauty of julianna Margulies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 16 Sept. 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
If you like legal dramas then watch the "Good Wife". In my opinion this is #1, simply the best.
The Good Wife is Alicia Florrick played by the wonderful Julianna Margulies who is sensual, feminine and yet with the bite of a rattle snake.
I don't want to give out spoilers but I think it's common knowledge that this is the series where Alicia and Cary
go out on their own and end up in conflict with Lockhart Gardner.
If you are new to this series please buy the previous seasons and watch them first it will help ratchet up the tension and make everything clear.
If you are a Good Wife veteran then this is the finest season so far, it just keeps getting better.
Great writing, superb acting and real chemistry, who would have thought the law could be so interesting?
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BALONEY - BUT VERY ENTERTAINING BALONEY!, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 5 of TGW marks the final transition of the show into a slick soap opera. In some respects it's disappointing that the dramatic and emotional clout of Series 1 has been lost, but - in fairness - I think neither the original premise nor intensity of "The Good Wife" was sustainable within a long-running series. This new season is tricky to review as, in theory, it asks for a good kicking. Throughout the series it teeters on the precipice of being totally preposterous (and, indeed, falls over the edge quite frequently); notwithstanding a traumatic turn of events part way through, the new series is quite jokey, but the humour is hit and miss. Also, the show is interrupted periodically by bursts of irritatingly "tricksy" camera work, and some truly appalling musical intrusions (a misguided attempt to be trendy?) and several of the performances verge on self parody. Thus - on the face of it - I ought not to like the show, but actually I think it's great!
Why? Well, not withstanding all the above, TGW is delivered with great flair and confidence, and it has super story lines. Yes, the multiple twists and turns are often highly implausible, but they're so ingeniously created and cleverly presented that this doesn't really matter. Also, most of the time, TGW sets a cracking pace; things move on so quickly that you hardly have time to exclaim "Oh, come off it!" before being engrossed in the next scene! Above all, "The Good Wife" presents a glorious orgy of plotting, back-stabbing, chicanery and treachery; this is "Dallas" on steroids and it is hugely entertaining. Neither the legal nor political systems emerge with much credit as depicted in "The Good Wife", but a big plus point for the series is that it doesn't proselytize (in the way that has become the curse of so much television these days).
In short; TGW is not going to appeal to viewers looking for gritty realism or deep social commentary, but if you're looking for some really entertaining glossy escapism, this series should be just the ticket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Around about the fifth series of any normal TV show things are normally running pretty smoothly will well established characters and somewhat stale storylines, season 5 of The Good Wife is the exception. I am an avid fan but this series broke the mold completely introducing old and well loved characters to new situations and moving at a far faster pace than either of the two previous series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Great!!! just gets better and better, plus lots if twists & turns in this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the TV series equivalent of an un-put-downable book.... Great entertainment, contemporary storylines, neat ethical and moral dilemmas to resolve, in short an excellent legal drama with the 'spice' of the various characters interwoven into the fabric of the plot. Can't wait for the next series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD]
The Good Wife - Season 5 [DVD] by Julianna Margulies (DVD - 2014)
£16.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews