Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars199
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£16.18
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Dark Space 3 Origin is an end to the first Dark Space trilogy, a Space Opera series set against the backdrop of a humanity of the edge of Universal Extermination in which it's protagonist has found himself go from the reluctant pawn in a gangsters game to being at the centre of a battle to keep humanities last enclave a secret and avoid the destruction of the species.

This whole series has been a really enjoyable ride for me and this final part doesn't disappoint. The events of the series are brought to a conclusion, characters backgrounds explained and story arcs concluded and all in a really satisfying way.

At the same time this book has managed to expand the series, hinting at much wider events and a much bigger universe to explore and I'm keen to know more about the Sythians, the enemies so bent on annihilating humanity (who's own origins are introduced here), their slave race the Gores and how the events of this book will impact them.

Overall a good read, well paced and a satisfying chunk of space opera. Recommended to fans of the genre.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Another good book in the series. Have really enjoyed all of the books so far and have loved learning more out about the Sythians heritage. Like the writing style of the books and all of the characters are memorable in their own way. Also nice to see a storyline where the obvious folk, Destra and Ethan, play their roles out separately from each other and don't just fall into each others arms. Looking forward to reading book 4 and continuing the series.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
I really enjoyed this series so far and look forward to the coming updates it is a fantastic read its got an element of everything the wierd, wonderful, heroes, love, mystery and gunfights I tend to like books that have lots of sequels because when i read a good book I don't like to say goodbye and these are good books if you are into space/sci-fi books its a must read hats off to the author and keep up the good work.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
A fitting end to this exciting and tense trilogy.
The threads from the earlier books are brought together, while new plot twists are thrown in. After the first few chapters I only put it down because I needed to sleep.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
Book 3 of a series which must be becoming a firm favourite amongst SciFi readers worldwide.

I've read all of Asimov and E.E. Doc Smith, and Jasper is up there with them in the way that the story unfolds, the tension, the graphical description all of which place the reader at the heart of the action.

Without giving anything away, I love how we are reminded in the preview of book four of something that many would have forgotten. Bring it on Jasper!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
When i started the first book in the series i thought it was going to be an amateur effort but i did quiet quickly get into the story, enough to make me read the second one right after it. I have to admit that the best thing the first two books had going for them was the price, you got a decent story at a good pace for pennies so i had no complaints but didn't feel strongly enough one way or the other to write a review.

I was in the middle of reading plague war when i got my email saying this was out and to be honest i needed a break from it so decided to dip back in to dark space and im glad i did, the story moves much quicker and a lot of details unfold that make this into a real page turner, the introduction of hoff was well timed and i never really could figure out if i liked him or not but he was interesting and drove the story in a new direction.

Im now eagerly awaiting the fourth installment as ive grown fond of the characters and can see it getting more interesting since the big revelation at the end of this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
This is the 3rd book in the Deep Space series and is a huge step up from the first two.

I enjoyed the first two books in the series but felt they were a little short on substance and especially in the case of the second book didn't really advance the plot as much as they could have done.

However Origin takes the series to another level. The book brings in the threads from the first two books and weaves them back together perfectly. I read a lot of Sci-Fi and didn't see half the twists and turns in this book coming. And the twists do keep coming quite relentlessly never leaving you quite sure what's coming next who who you can trust.

Then towards the end it a resolution comes out through the fog and thankfully it's one that doesn't disappoint with characters getting their reprieves or comeuppances in just about the right measure.

An excellent book to round off the first trilogy and I am now looking forwards to the 4th book much more than I looked forwards to this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
This is the third book in the series. The theme has been carried on from the other books. The character have been further developed and there was a twist towards the end. I enjoyed this book as much as the other two.

Don't start at the end but read the books in order, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Another good effort from Jasper. Plot gets more complicated and there are even a few surprises this time. However it is slightly rushed and confused towards the end, which actually feels like a series finale but clearly isn't!

I'd love to write more about my opinions on the ending but it's impossible to do so without spoiling it for the people most likely to benefit from this review. The safest bet would probably be to describe it as one-dimensional and let you draw your own conclusions.

Despite my criticisms though it must be noted that if there were a separate grading system for free books Jasper would receive 5 stars for all his efforts to far. They keep the reader engaged and entertained which is more than I can say for some of the more established authors in this genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
I started this series of books with a hope that it wouldn't be too outrageous and as the the books were ticked off I was pleasantly surprised. The main man seemed to be a bit 'Han Solo' to begin with, but as the first book went on I changed my opinion of him and grew to like all the characters, good or bad. They all had well thought and rounded histories.
Each book carries on very closely to the one before and this is no exception. The plot lines, as there are a few by this time are fairly easy to follow and kept me entertained from beginning to end and having just completed Book 5, I am patiently waiting for Book 6 to come out!! The plots and ideas that are being discussed in the later books are truly astonishing and very thought provoking.
An excellent series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)