Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars13
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2014
I bought this book about a week ago and started reading it immediately. I'm at the end of Season 2 of the HBO series, Game of Thrones, and as a professional historian, I was intrigued about the history which people had said inspired George R.R. Martin's books. Having enjoyed Mr West's previous non-fiction works which mainly have to do with modern social issues, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that he had written The Realm, which discusses the historical parallels between what we see/read in Game of Thrones and events that actually happened in British history. West describes, in excellent detail, the ancient tribes (Celts, Picts, Anglo-Saxons, etc) that lived here in the British Isles and the impact Celtic and Nordic mythology had upon them and upon Martin's story. I was impressed by West's knowledge of a variety of religions and his way of conveying that information to readers. I would ignore the mean-spirited poor review, because most true history lovers would enjoy this. In short, this is a very enjoyable ride through Westeros and history and not to be missed!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
I was quite intrigued by the cross references between a song of ice and fire and British medieval history. Being interested in history, although shamefully ignorant of all but the most notorious characters and spectacular events, I was happy to learn more. However, I also found it confusing at times and I was constantly going back to check which king I was reading about, and how he was related to the various protagonists. This is probably a fault of history itself being complex, rather than the author, but that is why I gave it four stars.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
A very interesting, well researched read which makes reading Game of Thrones even better. Game of Thrones now seems more believable.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Greatly enjoyed this, found it informally informative, written with wit. It is very much a primer, but that was clearly the intent, right? An invitation to further reading on the subject, drawing parallels with Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire saga. Enjoy!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
This is very clever. The book takes a not very well known period of English history,.the early middle age start of the wars of the roses and uses this to mark out how the underpinning games of thrones royal houses challenge each other fir the iron throne. Excellent
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
I was intrigued by this book, perhaps hopig to learn something new I didn't know about, yet this book proved to be a pointless read. While I liked the first chapter about the houses Lancaster and York, the second chapter presents the parallels between the migrations of real-world Britain to those of Westeros in a rather haphazard fashion. There are two major problems in the author's work - the lack of research of George R.R. Martin's statements and the ignorance of real history, both resulting in bad interpretation of A Song of Ice and Fire in terms of inspiration. Considering that is the whole point of the book, I would not be so enthusiastic about reading it.

The author's attempts to draw parallels between migrations and religious changes in Westeros with those of Britain. First Men had adopted the animistic religion (as George R.R. Martin characterises it) of the original population, but they also pushed the ancient inhabitants of Westeros into seclusion, so much so that the Children of the Forest are believed to be extinct. First Men are therefore both Celtic with regards to religion and Anglo-Saxon with the runic alphabet and wergild system. The parallel between Andals and Anglo-Saxons can't be taken seriously, because Andals are monotheists, not polytheists like Angles and Saxons, even though Ed West thinks Andals are polytheists.

In fact, Andals bring the Faith of the Seven to Westeros, which is a belief in seven gods who are one. A Song of Ice and Fire books are full of these references. George R.R. Martin himself says that the Faith of the Seven is based on Catholicism, but while Christians have a Trinity, three gods in one, the Faith of the Seven has...well...seven gods in one. And just like people in the middle ages (or today for that matter) didn't understand the Trinity, so people in Westeros don't understand the seven-gods-in-one thing. It's a theological mystery and maybe the saying "Anyone who claims to understand the Trinity doesn't understand the Trinity" is applicable to the Faith of the Seven as well. While Anglo-Saxons worshipped Old Norse Gods like Odin (Woden) and Thor, a religion that doesn't have any formal structure or hierarchy, the Faith of the Seven has a very Catholic one. Septons (priests) and septas (nuns) and High Septon (pope) are all too familiar to anyone knowing the Christian Church hierarchy (but the editor of the Catholic Herald, Ed West, seems to miss it altogether). Even the military orders that Cersei revives in the 4th book, are based on the Templars and Hospitallers. Not to mention the words "septon" and "septas" are derived from "septem" (Latin for "seven"). So Andals brought to Westeros their equivalent of the western Christianity, not Norse Paganism.

Then Ed West likens the faith in the Lord of Light, or R'hllor to Christianity, his research being so poor that even the Authors @Google interview with George R.R. Martin from 2011 would tell him that the dualistic religion of the Lord of Light is based on Zoroastrianism, though later (apocalyptic) Judaism indeed was heavily inspired by Zoroastrians, but in Christian sense the dualistic religion (and without the belief in Trinity) can be found in gnostic sects of the 2nd to 4th century CE and even in Cathars of the 13th century (Catholics even waged Crusades against them).

Going into the real history problems with Ed West's book is that he has a poor knowledge of the Anglo-Saxon era, that is, before the Conquest of 1066. Edward the Confessor wasn't a chaste king, his childless marriage probably stemming from his or his wife's infertility, but he certainly blamed his wife, because in 1050s, after his father-in-law died, Edward started looking for another wife. Same goes for the early middle ages and the opinions about bastardy. Until the later period in King Henry I's reign, bastards weren't frowned upon, but there was a theological shift in that period, in the early 12th century, even banning marriage for the Catholic priests. Æthelstan, the first King of England, may have been a bastard, but either way, Alfred the Great, a very pious and devout Christian, didn't mind, giving his grandson gifts that many believed designated Æthelstan for kingship. William the Bastard would never inherit the Duchy of Normandy, much less claim the crown of England, if the Church frowned upon bastards 60-70 years earlier than it actually did.

The Red Wedding in which the rebellion of Robb Stark ends with his and his mother's death is inspired by The Black Dinner in Scottish, NOT English history, but Ed West would need to see or read an interview with the author about who's works he's writing a book.

And last, I would claim (and this is just my guess, because I don't think GRRM was inspired by the Anglo-Saxon era that much) that Tywin Lannister is more similar to Godwin, Earl of Wessex, than any other English political fugure in the middle ages, certainly not one from the post-1066 era. Kudos to West here, he indeed says that Godwin caused the death of Edward the Confessor's brother Alfred, but Godwin didn't start out as a pirate. Godwin's father was a Sussex thegn, but was outlawed and thus Godwin moved in high circles in London to get back in favour to have his father's lands returned to him, winning them back in the will of Æthelred the Unready's son, Æthelstan. Godwin then rose during the reign of Cnut, the Danish King of England. Cnut gave Godwin the title of Earl of Wessex, which is more than a mere title of the "Warden of the West" that Tywin Lannister has, but just like Tywin, Godwin was the wealthiest Earl in England, his wealth second only to the King. His daughter married Edward the Confessor, just like Cersei married Robert, though Godwin exercised great influence over the royal decisions of three kings after Cnut while Tywin stays more or less idle during Robert's reign, but is hugely influential during the reign of Aerys II, the Mad King.

All in all, I wouldn't recommend this book. It tries to draw parallels with the real world, but there are three bad parallels to every good one and thus it is a pointless read, because searching YouTube for "George R R Marin Interview" (and looking for videos longer than 20min) would give you a far better understanding of his inspiration for the world of Westeros and Essos than this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
This little book was truly fun to read and provided an alternative view on English history which can be rather boring to read in the more usual fashion. It also identified the background to the Game of Thrones books which, incidentally, are much better than the TV series.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
well written and not to academic a very good book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
As a massive thrones fan & history teacher I was so looking forward to reading this book. I was massively disappointed. I was expecting intelligent analysis and comprehensive comparisons and what I got was brief speculative drivel followed by poor and disjointed historical narrative. No introductory or concluding chapters, no clear thematic or chronological structure. My S4 pupils can write better history.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Very interesting but could have been more enjoyable and perhaps easier to take in if it had been in chapters or broken into themes/subjects.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)