Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Future's Orange!, 29 May 2007
By 
A. Ranautta - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have always been an Orange Goblin fan since their early days but this album is amazing!!

From the sleazy 'Ale House Braves' to the epic 'The Ballad of Solomon Eagle' to the AMAZING 'Vagrant Stomp', this album is top of my playlist at the moment.

This is metal as it should be played!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...where's me loon pants..., 2 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Orange Goblin, eh? They seem to have been on the go for hunnerds of years but this is actually only album number five, though their first for new paymasters Sanctuary. Hmmm.

So have they forgone their scuzzy stoner / biker rock for a sniff of the filthy lucre? Is it time for some trend killing emo haircuts? Don't be stupid. Ten years down the line and it's still dirty big riffs, scrappy vocals and horns in the air for Orange Goblin.

Which is both their saving grace and their failing. Y'see if you like Orange Goblin, then you're going to love this album, as it is definitely one of their best. But if you're one of those strange people who've managed to remain immune to their charms over the years, then the mighty riffing of 'The Ballad Of Soloman Eagle' and 'Hot Knives And Open Sores' are unlikely to sway you. Fool.

Those of us with taste, however, will dust down our loon pants and indulge in some histrionic displays of headbanging and idiot dancing not seen since the glory days of 1981.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars feersum enjinns of plague, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Dr. Robert A. Josey "mystery lover" (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
What isn't mentioned in other reviews here is that 'Healing Through Fire' is almost a 'concept' album - all the songs are focused on plague/disease/human wipe-out. Hugh Gilmour's amazing cover and the medieval woodcut style inner artwork underline this.

The album begins with the sound of thunder/nuclear explosions(?) and children singing that old plague song 'Ring-A-Ring-A-Roses'. The OG sonic wah-wah and rifforama then fire on every cylinder, every song. There is even a medieval-type instrumental. So many original ideas in every track -many metal bands would kill for the opening of 'Cities Of Frost'.

Highlights are the rabid Slayer-esque 'They Come Back'. The chugging blues at the end of 'Ale House Braves'. And the mutant psychedelia of 'Beginner's Guide To Suicide'. OG have range, man, and the skill to deliver.

Orange Goblin really have progressed - and this is a mighty album. Intelligent, literate, no prisoners taken lyrics supported by awesome sonic power. A stoner/doom metal 'Seasons In The Abyss'.

I have been reading Karen Maitland's 'A Company of Liars', set in 1348, year of the Black Plague in Britain, and this is a great background to it. This album isn't booze'n'dope based anthems - though that hallucinogenic element is well in there. It's a virulent soundtrack to all-out Hell on earth...Stunning brilliance.

And the DVD is just the icing on the cake...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars they dont fail, 11 Jun 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Orange Goblins sixth album showcase a band that are still in the mood to demolish all around them,mixing the blues sound of previous albums along with the punkier,harsher and edgier sound of previous album 'thieving from the house of god','healing through fire'is an album that is leaner,meaner and more focused than any of their previous releases,clocking in at 43 minutes this is further proof of that suggestion.

The album flies out of the speakers with opening track , 'the ballad of solomon eagle' which is anything but a ballad,fierce,edgy and catchy this is an opener that cant be ignored and through the remaining 8 tracks,one of which is a medieval sounding instrumental,there are plenty of styles that are forged but the quality always remains,the band truly sound like they are having fun and thats always a commendable thing,all in all this may not be the best album they have released,i think that award goes to 'coup de grace' maybe but the fact remains that orange goblin refuse to confirm to styles and scenes and this is a truly great hard hitting album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British metal at it's best, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having only bought one other album, 'Eulogy for the Damned', which I loved, I had high expectations for this one too, and was not disappointed. If you like your metal on the rock side, with plenty of memorable songs that you'll actually remember, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Stoner Blues Rock!, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all, let me say this is my first Orange Goblin record. I had the song 'Beginner's Guide to Suicide' and saw this for a minute sum of cash and thought - why not! The rest of the album is great too (though quite different). I've not yet watched the DVD but in the month that I've had the CD I've listened to it quite a few times, and it is geniune hard rock that takes no prisoners. There are some cracking riffs, vocals that sound like they've been soaked in a vat of malt whiskey, and pounding percussion. A recipe for success in anyone's book!

My favourite songs right now are The Ballad of Solomon Eagle, The Ale House Braves, Cities of Frost, Hounds Ditch, Harvest of Skull (They Come Back) and Beginner's Guide to Suicide (what a song title). So that's basically most of them, but they're all good stomping tracks. For me though the mutant psychadelic blues of the final track is the icing on the cake. I recommend this album and will definitely be checking out their other material, and seeing them live if I get the chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hail to the King Goblin, 7 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I play my music in vehicles, it's the only place I have time on my own to listen to my music. The first few times I played this it came across as a dirge, with each song merging into the other. But being lazy and going through a stage of only wanting to listen to Radio 5 news and no other music, I left it in the cd player, and slowly it melted into my brain waves. "Alehouse Braves" was the first one to start, but now I cannot choose any song as standout, as they are all excellent. I cannot understand why this band are still having to work day jobs, this band is the best band to come out of this country since god knows when.

The music could be called a Sabbath/Budgie/1970's blues/hard rock/ metal rip off, but that is crap! All hail to the King Goblin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, 11 Feb 2012
This is awsome this should be biker festivle music if you wana chill listern to this wana let rip down the road listen to this sod it stoned drunk or not dont matter just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Healing Through Fire
Healing Through Fire by Orange Goblin (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews