Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Wateringly Impressive! Gaming is amazing.
4k need to be seen to be believed. It is not the same as 1080p with high levels of Anti aliasing or super-sampling. That argument is just stupid. The same way that a 480p video with MSAA or SSAA wont look anything like 1080p. This leaves reviewers with the problem of how to get across how nice the monitor looks when most people have 1080p screens so cant see 4K content...
Published 10 months ago by Daviddewisphotography

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I have been using 1440 Asus ips for the past year & I have to say out the box the Color this TP panel produced was beautiful. Wh
It's only fair that I am completely honest about this review so lets start with why I have given it 3 Stars . Well the first problem I had with this monitor was the backlight had an issue , I could see a massive bright white wavy line on the screen on white backgrounds ! Not a massive issue but once you notice it you see it all the time.

I have been using 1440...
Published 9 months ago by SmileWithJason


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Wateringly Impressive! Gaming is amazing., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
4k need to be seen to be believed. It is not the same as 1080p with high levels of Anti aliasing or super-sampling. That argument is just stupid. The same way that a 480p video with MSAA or SSAA wont look anything like 1080p. This leaves reviewers with the problem of how to get across how nice the monitor looks when most people have 1080p screens so cant see 4K content. All i can say is that the monitor looks great, Bezel and all. The stand can be set any which way with full swivel and tilt with portrait mode supported. If that still isn't good enough for you, it has the option of VESA mounting so you can buy your own stand. As far as the TN panel goes, its amazing. Contrast isn't going to match an IPS panel, but colours (10bit panel), vibrancy the 1ms refresh time make up for this. Could not recommend this enough.
NOTE: you really do need a good GPU or 2 to run games on this monitor at 2160p (4k) I have Xfire R9 290s. Xfire averages 60fps with single GPU averages 30fps. You DO NOT need Anti-Aliasing at 4K unless your pixel peeping. If you can afford the extra performance, then knock yourself out (up until 2x or 4x MSAA) but don't waste performance on AA if it means losing out somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 28 inch retina display for your mac. 4k goodness for the rest of us, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
As a 4k monitor at good value this screen delivers everything you would expect.
The screen is matte and colour quality is very good. Don't expect NEC or Apple level colour accuracy with this, but with a little calibration the results are excellent.
The stand is good and heavy and keeps the display well anchored. The port access at the back however is irritatingly recessed, leading to the dreaded "reach in and scrape around" approach to plugging in cables.
The menu system is on screen using buttons hidden around the back of the monitor. It's a little fiddly to use because the buttons never line up with the menu items - leading you to count in from the edge or guess. Luckily I don't use these often.

Confirmed working in OS X Yosemite with Late 2013 Macbook Pro retina 13" and Late 2013 quad core Mac Pro with D300s.
Install SwitchResX to run this display in 1080p with hiDPI to have a 28 inch retina display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy go for it!!, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
Awesome monitor just make sure you use display-port and change it in the menus to the 60hz version. I didn't you had to select it manually. near zero lag with d-port!!! hdmi was quite a bit of input lag though so I recomend getting a gpu with displayport I am going through min d-port to the monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - as long as you have the GPU to run it., 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
Fantastic monitor for price.

Make no mistake, providing you have the GPU power ( and GPU memory) and you have a Display Port. Then you will love this Monitor.

However if you plan to run it from HDMI & play games then in my opinion - Dont Buy it.

I agree with other reviewers that the default 30Mhz ( DP1.1) setting is a tad silly on ASUS's part. But a minor niggle.

Colour depth is perfect - however that is very subjective.

It has inbuilt speakers - however as I don't use them , I cannot comment on their audio quality.

Response time ideal for games. and those that support the bigger screen resolutions look stunning. No AA / MSAA needed.

Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I have been using 1440 Asus ips for the past year & I have to say out the box the Color this TP panel produced was beautiful. Wh, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
It's only fair that I am completely honest about this review so lets start with why I have given it 3 Stars . Well the first problem I had with this monitor was the backlight had an issue , I could see a massive bright white wavy line on the screen on white backgrounds ! Not a massive issue but once you notice it you see it all the time.

I have been using 1440 Asus ips for the past year & I have to say out the box the Color this TP panel produced was beautiful . When playing games at 4K is when this monitor comes a live , I am without doubt buying another one as soon as Amazon get them in stock and hopefully this time I wont have the light bleed problem..... I have been playing BF4 on ultra settings this past week and I have got more kills than I have ever got on 1080p or 1440 Res , I can';t express in words how much detail you see on a 4k screen but its amazing , Once you go 4K you won't go back. With the likes of the new 4K screen on the market and them being priced at £500 mark I think everyone should buy one if your a gamer , I have got 290x lighting and it plays all the top games with ease . Not always 60 FPS but as long as it doesn't go below 30 Fps you don't notice any lag.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good monitor for the price, though a bit fiddly, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
The good:
Price
4k @ 60hz is incredibly. For professional work where screen real-estate is desired (i.e Programming), 4k is amazing.
Comes with some neat features (Not needed Picture-in-Picture but it's there and I like that).

The bad:
Requires some willingness to configure. It defaults to DP 1.1 instead of DP 1.2, which means by default it's limited to 30hz instead of the 60hz it can achieve with DP 1.2. Also defaults to a display mode that tries to modify the image coming from your PC, more like a TV does. These need changing by you before the monitor can really shine.
The buttons are awkwardly placed, making navigating the menus to make those changes fiddly.
TN screen isn't very noticeable, but is enough to make this unsuitable for professional colour work.

But for the price, these are minor issues (except the TN screen, which may be a deal breaker for a certain subset of people) and I can happily recommend this monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good monitor upgrade, hope the transformer lives long! 3.5 star, 22 Mar. 2015
By 
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
This 28" monitor arrived in a strong box not as bulky as the 27" Samsungs. While putting the Asus monitor together, the plastic feels solid and of good quality. Once the stand connected (don't overtighten by hand, use a driver for final tightening) the monitor feels sturdy enough. No cellophane-sweet-wrapper crackles when adjusting the angle/tilt/height. Just a silent smooth movement with good friction in all axes. Wires plug in with a nice reassuring 'thud'.

When connected and switched on: no wonder the pc pro guys mistook it for IPS. 10-bit colours are amazingly natural and needed very little adjustment. The monitor is gamma perfect and thus you are not allowed to adjust it. Only colour saturation, temp, skin tone, vivid-pixel, asus-splendid, and intensity are configurable. Photos are beautiful to look at even the old jpegs of my 10 year-old camera. Banding does appear in some dark areas on the screen (esp blue) but I believe this a limitation of the video card which can only output 8-bit per channel. Video suffers from LCD-syndrome (blocky and grainy in parts) but only when maximized. Windowed video looks perfect in its native format. Perhaps this 4k monitor needs a 4k source video to show its true worth. Text and icons on my computer desktop look really small and even when adjusted DPI to 150% some programs launch with tiny menus. Scrolling web pages and pdfs is still comfortable owing to the quick response of this monitor although I doubt it is a genuine 1ms. Rapidly scrolling text lags slightly in a very similar fashion to my old 5ms HP even when the Asus is overclocked (tracefree at 100% default is 60%).

4k games are eye-watering even at 30Hz with my mediocre GTX 750ti (don't have DP yet), and trust me anti-aliasing is a NON-issue at 3840x2160. Switch AA off completely and you'll thank me for the bonus frame rate. Night gaming at 30Hz should have been enjoyable but for some reason looks choppy, a paradox because our eyes are supposed to smooth out frame rates in the dark (hence hollywood film shot at 24-25Hz). Turns out the culprit is Asus pulse width modulation (PWM) of backlight brightness: meaning the LEDs pulsate to reduce brightness, the last thing a gamer needs. As if Asus engineers have never seen the.. lets call it.. TV-behind-a-fan effect (hence loses 1 star). Later after much tweaking and tinkering I decided to run this monitor at 2560x1600 which still looks fabulous. The monitor is still well calibrated at this penultimate resolution and text and icons are easily visible even when windows DPI is 100% albeit very slightly fuzzy. This fuzziness you only notice when you have been using native resolution for some time. At 2560x1600 games now run at 60Hz and still don't need AA except maybe low-FXAA. The frame rates improve due to this lower res and the flickering due to PWM-LED is almost gone when gaming in the dark. Don't buy this monitor if you are thinking of utilizing the 1920x1080 since this resolution I found to be non-gamma-calibrated and blacks became light grey. Lastly although the viewable area stops a couple mm short of the rim, it does measure exactly 28".

With the aggressive marketing strategies of the modern electronics industry, it is important to point out certain planned obsolescence features. In this monitor I could see very little PO. The buttons are accessed from behind and are relatively high, so have to be pinched with index and thumb to be pressed. This is feels awkward at first, and introduces some flexing and tilting of the panel which may wear the tilt friction joints. In contrast my old monitor buttons are underneath the panel allowing the weight of the panel to counteract all pressing force. On the PB287Q, the printed dots on the front will tell you when your thumb and hence finger are in the right place. These painted dots will eventually be rubbed out unless you refrain from using your thumb as guide. But the my main PO concern is the transformer (power supply) which is built into the main monitor body unlike some Samsung monitors. This means if the transformer ages or malfunctions and starts to whine, you have no option but replacing the whole monitor , rather than just the power supply (loses half a star)

To sum up this is a brilliant investment for those wishing to upgrade their displays from the low 20" inch range. Its 10-bit IPS-like color reproduction is excellent and difficult ot distinguish from IPS with a bonus quicker response time. Blacks are nice and dark, whites are solid paper white. Games look fantastic. Bear in mind if you are upgrading from 23-24", then 28" 4k only just cuts it. Remember the pixel density is very high and tends to make everything look quite small for a 28" display. Some people don't want to see the pixels, and if you are like this then the pb287q is yours. If on the other hand you don't mind a slightly larger pixel grid maybe you should wait the extra 6 months or pay £100-150 more and get a 32" 4k.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good monitor. I love the 4k, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
Very good monitor. I love the 4k. You have to see it and use it to appreciate it.

When I look at my old monitor (Apple Thunderbolt 27") I find it so out of dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4K is amazing, and this is a great entry level screen, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
I got it cheap. It's an entry level 4K monitor, colour quality is worse than IPS and the corners of the screen are noticeably dimmer than the center, but that is more than made up for the clarity of the higher resolution.

I will be sticking with 4K from now on, and will stick with this until an affordable OLED freesync monitor turns up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular!, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
Here's a screen that will give you a taste of the future.
The result is BREATHTAKING.

The following comments are those of a humble photographer and not one of a gamer. (Gamers will find countless reviews here and on the Internet forums and tests indicating this is an OUTSTANDING GAMERS' SCREEN).

My PC runs on Windows 7 Ultimate, Intel Core i7-3820 @ 3,6Ghz, 20Gb RAM and a ZOTAC GeForce GTX 760 AMP! Edition graphics card.
The screen is connected with the DisplayPort, resolution is 3840x2160 à 60Hz.

The screen is WELL MADE and SOBER in DESIGN. So sober, in fact, that the control buttons are behind the screen. But don't worry, indications on the screen are logical, you'll only have to pinch with your thumb and index, and the index will naturally come and pinch the appropriate button. (Is that explicit? :-/)
Height adjustment, tilting and rotation of the screen are all very easily done. The screen CAN be set perpendicular to the stand, it can even tilt slightly downwards!

There is NO light leaking to be noticed. NO dead pixel.

DEFINITION, FINESSE of characters, precision of colours are superb, sublime. ANGLE OF VISION is FINE, if not somewhat sensitive/narrow for precision touching up work.

However : if one leaves Windows as is, everything will appear microscopic on this screen. One has to modify Windows' 7 parameters to display everything at 150% (Control panel/Appearance and Personalization/Display).
Some software are not (yet) adapted to this screen's resolution and will appear small. Firefox handles things well but I have added the Zoom (+/-) in the toolbar, to help facilitate viewing certain websites at the click of a button.

Photoshop CC 2014.2 (or later) is absolutely necessary to be able to work comfortably. Indeed this version of Photoshop has an option to double the size of the interface (Edit/Preferences/Experimental Features option 'Scale UI 200% for high-density displays (Windows only)'), a must if you wish to work comfortably with this screen.

[EDIT: As a professional photographer, I have never come across a screen that allows such PRECISION in the touching up of a photograph. Consequently and as far as I am concerned, the IPS vs. TN argument becomes somewhat obsolete here.]

In short, I think it is pretty clear, I am VERY SATISFIED with this acquisition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews