Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Wateringly Impressive! Gaming is amazing.
4k need to be seen to be believed. It is not the same as 1080p with high levels of Anti aliasing or super-sampling. That argument is just stupid. The same way that a 480p video with MSAA or SSAA wont look anything like 1080p. This leaves reviewers with the problem of how to get across how nice the monitor looks when most people have 1080p screens so cant see 4K content...
Published 6 months ago by Daviddewisphotography

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The 4k display is nice but the viewing angle is terrible ..
This is a TN panel and has all of the issues with TN panels with respect to viewing angle affecting what you see, so be aware that getting the viewing angles correct is an absolute must. I found myself looking at blog with a "cream background" and noticed that there was a noticeable change in colour as you moved your viewing perspective. They have put together a lovely...
Published 3 days ago by Simon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Wateringly Impressive! Gaming is amazing., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
4k need to be seen to be believed. It is not the same as 1080p with high levels of Anti aliasing or super-sampling. That argument is just stupid. The same way that a 480p video with MSAA or SSAA wont look anything like 1080p. This leaves reviewers with the problem of how to get across how nice the monitor looks when most people have 1080p screens so cant see 4K content. All i can say is that the monitor looks great, Bezel and all. The stand can be set any which way with full swivel and tilt with portrait mode supported. If that still isn't good enough for you, it has the option of VESA mounting so you can buy your own stand. As far as the TN panel goes, its amazing. Contrast isn't going to match an IPS panel, but colours (10bit panel), vibrancy the 1ms refresh time make up for this. Could not recommend this enough.
NOTE: you really do need a good GPU or 2 to run games on this monitor at 2160p (4k) I have Xfire R9 290s. Xfire averages 60fps with single GPU averages 30fps. You DO NOT need Anti-Aliasing at 4K unless your pixel peeping. If you can afford the extra performance, then knock yourself out (up until 2x or 4x MSAA) but don't waste performance on AA if it means losing out somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy go for it!!, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
Awesome monitor just make sure you use display-port and change it in the menus to the 60hz version. I didn't you had to select it manually. near zero lag with d-port!!! hdmi was quite a bit of input lag though so I recomend getting a gpu with displayport I am going through min d-port to the monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... have watched on it so far and the colours like so much better than any other monitor I have ..., 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
This monitor gives a superb picture on all content I have watched on it so far and the colours like so much better than any other monitor I have used.

I am looking forward to watching some 4K content on it as it becomes more widely available and to gaming in 4K and the Xbox 360 and play station 3 look great through this monitor.

I have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful monitor and well done Asus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The 4k display is nice but the viewing angle is terrible .., 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
This is a TN panel and has all of the issues with TN panels with respect to viewing angle affecting what you see, so be aware that getting the viewing angles correct is an absolute must. I found myself looking at blog with a "cream background" and noticed that there was a noticeable change in colour as you moved your viewing perspective. They have put together a lovely stand for the monitor but ruined it by not having hidden cable runs which you have to organize yourself.

The 4k display is nice to use and on Windows 8 setting up display scaling works well. It is very impressive thing to see. The menu system is well presented and using a display port adapter everything worked more or less first time. The one thing to note, is that with a 4K display your computer is having to shift 4 times the amount of information than a standard display, so you may find that you run out of CPU oomph but thats a general issue with 4K and not associated with the display

Note that this product looks like it shipped for the EU market and came with a UK socket adapter.

It would be useful if Amazon were to display the basic display tech in the panels they sell so that you could easily find such issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I have been using 1440 Asus ips for the past year & I have to say out the box the Color this TP panel produced was beautiful. Wh, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
iJason (Yeovil England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
It's only fair that I am completely honest about this review so lets start with why I have given it 3 Stars . Well the first problem I had with this monitor was the backlight had an issue , I could see a massive bright white wavy line on the screen on white backgrounds ! Not a massive issue but once you notice it you see it all the time.

I have been using 1440 Asus ips for the past year & I have to say out the box the Color this TP panel produced was beautiful . When playing games at 4K is when this monitor comes a live , I am without doubt buying another one as soon as Amazon get them in stock and hopefully this time I wont have the light bleed problem..... I have been playing BF4 on ultra settings this past week and I have got more kills than I have ever got on 1080p or 1440 Res , I can';t express in words how much detail you see on a 4k screen but its amazing , Once you go 4K you won't go back. With the likes of the new 4K screen on the market and them being priced at £500 mark I think everyone should buy one if your a gamer , I have got 290x lighting and it plays all the top games with ease . Not always 60 FPS but as long as it doesn't go below 30 Fps you don't notice any lag.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good monitor. I love the 4k, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
Very good monitor. I love the 4k. You have to see it and use it to appreciate it.

When I look at my old monitor (Apple Thunderbolt 27") I find it so out of dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good monitor for the price, though a bit fiddly, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
The good:
Price
4k @ 60hz is incredibly. For professional work where screen real-estate is desired (i.e Programming), 4k is amazing.
Comes with some neat features (Not needed Picture-in-Picture but it's there and I like that).

The bad:
Requires some willingness to configure. It defaults to DP 1.1 instead of DP 1.2, which means by default it's limited to 30hz instead of the 60hz it can achieve with DP 1.2. Also defaults to a display mode that tries to modify the image coming from your PC, more like a TV does. These need changing by you before the monitor can really shine.
The buttons are awkwardly placed, making navigating the menus to make those changes fiddly.
TN screen isn't very noticeable, but is enough to make this unsuitable for professional colour work.

But for the price, these are minor issues (except the TN screen, which may be a deal breaker for a certain subset of people) and I can happily recommend this monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
To summarise the long post below I would say for playing games this is an excellent buy, for other purposes it is more of a mixed picture.
I previously had two 22’ monitors side by side, each with a resolution of 1920 by 1080 but I was looking to move to a single monitor for space reasons and saw this 4K monitor at an incredibly low price. This now gives me more than twice the pixel area across than I had before at 3840 by 2160. This though is in a 28’ screen area, so smaller than my previous two physically and this is where the problems come in.
When you first turn it on everything is so incredibly small on the screen you simply cannot work with it. Windows itself is quite good in resolving this as you can scale the desktop size where by all Windows icons, buttons and text are readable. The problem is other programs that use fixed sized fonts, they become very tricky to use. Browsing is not bad as you can zoom the page contents but the address bar at the top and the icons stay very small (I use Chrome). I make music using Cubase and all the instruments and text on screen are barely readable. Hopefully in the future developers will take into account higher resolution monitors but at the moment a lot of programs are difficult if not impossible to use on this screen. I have solved this problem to a degree by using the magnifier tool in Windows. I have it set to come on with a mouse click and off with another and that works well as I can see the whole picture but zoom into areas when I want but still it is a shame to have to do this.
The actual quality of the picture is impressive although as others have mentioned it does not use the nicer IPS panel but benefits instead from a very fast response time – great for games. I should say when I first turned it on I was not that impressed with the display but after tweaking the settings and using the Windows colour wizard I now have it looking very nice, the best looking screen I have ever used.
The controls are awful to use but then they tend to be on monitors, you have to reach round the back and blindly try to select the correct option. The worst part is the power button is lined up along with all the controls so until I got used to it I kept accidently switching it off – very frustrating!
Now where this monitor really excels is playing games. You do need a very good graphics card though. I have a GeForce 780 which works well but anything less you would struggle and a Titan would be preferable. When you think about it there are a huge number of pixels to push around 3840 * 2160 * 32 bit per pixel = about 32 MB to move onto the screen 60 times a second!
Importantly to be able to get 60Hz at full resolution you need to use the DisplayPort 1.2 connector, so check your graphics card supports it. My understanding is it is used in a clever way to allow such a high resolution and refresh rate. Also to enable it you need to both turn on the DisplayPort in the monitor settings and also select 60Hz.
Running Battlefield 4 in full resolution at 60Hz is astonishing, it is absolutely amazing! This is the reason I have not sent back the monitor, this and hoping that programs will be better able to support it in the future.
Finally there are a few issues with these monitors which I think are related to the DisplayPort. When the monitor switches off in response to your power settings it does not always come back on again. Sometimes you have to switch it off and on again and sometimes you actually have to pull the power out and back in. Other times it comes on but half the screen is missing and other times all your open windows are reduced to tiny ones up in the corner. Now and again it comes on perfectly but really this is an area that needs fixing.
So to conclude: this monitor looks very impressive and playing games is amazing (if you have a good enough graphics card) but the down side is that often things are too small on screen to see and a lot of programs have no way of adjusting this. This may change in the future.
I have had this monitor for a week now and been through a range of emotions from buyer’s remorse to amazement at the quality and wanting to show it off to everyone. If you get this be prepared for the downsides though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm happy, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
On-screen menu and buttons are bit annoying, but you only really need to set that up once. (selecting DP 1.2 mode)
Driving 2 of these from a mac pro, scaled for HD res in retina mode. Looks amazing.
Stand and base are sturdy, rotating works well enough. No dead/stuck pixels. Pretty happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular!, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus PB287Q 28 inch Widescreen Ultra HD 4K LED Monitor (100M:1, 300 cd/m2, 3840 x 2160, 1ms, DP/HDMI/MHL) (Accessory)
Here's a screen that will give you a taste of the future.
The result is BREATHTAKING.

The following comments are those of a humble photographer and not one of a gamer. (Gamers will find countless reviews here and on the Internet forums and tests indicating this is an OUTSTANDING GAMERS' SCREEN).

My PC runs on Windows 7 Ultimate, Intel Core i7-3820 @ 3,6Ghz, 20Gb RAM and a ZOTAC GeForce GTX 760 AMP! Edition graphics card.
The screen is connected with the DisplayPort, resolution is 3840x2160 à 60Hz.

The screen is WELL MADE and SOBER in DESIGN. So sober, in fact, that the control buttons are behind the screen. But don't worry, indications on the screen are logical, you'll only have to pinch with your thumb and index, and the index will naturally come and pinch the appropriate button. (Do you get that? :-/)
Height adjustment, tilting and rotation of the screen are all very easily done. The screen CAN be set perpendicular to the stand, it can even tilt slightly downwards!

There is NO light leaking to be noticed. NO dead pixel.

DEFINITION, FINESSE of characters, precision of colours are superb, sublime. ANGLE OF VISION is also impeccable!

However : if one leaves Windows as is, everything will appear microscopic on this screen. One has to modify Windows' parameters to display everything at 150% (Control panel/Appearance and Personalization/Display).
Some software are not (yet) adapted to this screen's resolution and will appear small. Firefox handles things well but I have added the Zoom (+/-) in the toolbar, to help facilitate viewing certain websites at the click of a button.

Photoshop CC 2014.2 (or later) is absolutely necessary to be able to work comfortably. Indeed this version of Photoshop has an option to double the size of the interface (Edit/Preferences/Experimental Features option 'Scale UI 200% for high-density displays (Windows only)'), a must if you wish to work comfortably with this screen.

[EDIT: As a professional photographer, I have never come across a screen that allows such PRECISION in the touching up of a photograph. Consequently and as far as I am concerned, the IPS vs. TN argument is somewhat obsolete here.]

In short, I think it is pretty clear, I am VERY SATISFIED with this acquisition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews