Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!
This is another great read from Alexandra Connor. Her skill in drawing up such strong and believable characters makes you feel as if you are involved and even present in their world. The story is woven to explore the human condition with all its flaws, virtues, aspirations and disappointments . The setting for Alexandra’s novels is often the north of England - as...
Published 4 months ago by NMB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I recently read my first novel by Alexandra Connor, The Face in the Locket, and I loved it. I immediately ordered this book hoping it would be as absorbing, but unfortunately I found it a disappointment. The story tended to skip many years at a time so you lose track of the ages of the characters and the time frame of the story. There really was not one particularly like...
Published 1 month ago by Mrs Barbara A Payne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 2 May 2014
This review is from: Midnight's Smiling (Kindle Edition)
This is another great read from Alexandra Connor. Her skill in drawing up such strong and believable characters makes you feel as if you are involved and even present in their world. The story is woven to explore the human condition with all its flaws, virtues, aspirations and disappointments . The setting for Alexandra’s novels is often the north of England - as it is here, and she captures so well the ambience of the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midnight smiling by Alexandra connor, 19 April 2014
By 
Mrs. A. Grayland (shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight's Smiling (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely fantastic read couldn't put it down. Great story with lots going on will look out for more stories from this writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight's Smiling (Kindle Edition)
I recently read my first novel by Alexandra Connor, The Face in the Locket, and I loved it. I immediately ordered this book hoping it would be as absorbing, but unfortunately I found it a disappointment. The story tended to skip many years at a time so you lose track of the ages of the characters and the time frame of the story. There really was not one particularly like able character in the book, they were all flawed in some way or another. The ending was too glib, and I was quite pleased to get to the last page. I would hesitate to read anything further by this author, unless recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 14 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight's Smiling (Kindle Edition)
When I first started reading this book I wasn't sure if it was going to grip me enough to finish it but then don't actually know which part but each time I'd to put it down it was reluctantly and at every opportunity I'd pick it up again. This would have made great tv viewing. Lots of emotional goings on. Great book well written. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight's Smiling (Kindle Edition)
Great read from start to finish. I will read books by this author again. Not delicate read but well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight's Smiling (Kindle Edition)
couldn't put this book down.the family are intriguing. very well written and mesmerizing. must look for more by this author. highly recommended. best read in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight's Smiling (Paperback)
The delivery is always good. The books are in excellent condition so I am always confident in ordering them. As I read a lot the 1p cost is for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful Saga Of Passion, Ambition And Triumph, 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Midnight's Smiling (Paperback)
This is more than just a romantic saga, there are a whole raft of social issues bubbling away beneath the surface, just waiting for the spark that is destined to ignite them.

Greed, envy, selfishness, determination are here, alongside caring, thoughtfulness, respect and passion. All are portrayed in equal measure, from Alexandra Connor's well-rounded characters, who draw you inexorably into their lives, leaving you breathless and totally immersed in their lives and loves.

Michael, the boy from the top of the hill, born into a privileged family, with a social standing in the community, yet who wants nothing more than to carry on his father's GP practice, in the slums of Salford. Quiet, taciturn and unassuming, he takes an Anglo-Indian wife, who craves respectability and acceptance.

Harry, the boy from the slums at the bottom of the hill, determined to better himself, by training to become a doctor. Harry however, has no desire to use his talents to improve the health and future of the people he has grown up amongst, he sets out on course to become a talented plastic surgeon, to earn his place at the top of the hill.

Despite their differences, the two become unlikely friends, although Michael is blissfully unaware that Harry is using him and his family mercilessly, to further his own amibitions. Harry is determined never to become tied down with a wife and family, whilst Michael is a happily married father of two daughters, who could not be more different in their outlook on life and their perceived status in society. Whilst one daughter is content to learn the requirements expected of her, to maintain her position of lady of the house; his second daughter, Mel, is determined to follow in her father's footsteps, by becoming one of the few females to enter the medical profession, choosing Pathology as her chosen path.

Mel is single minded in her amibitions and rises to the top of her profession with alacrity, but the one thing she hasn't taken into account, is Harry, with whom she is manipulated into starting an illicit affair, resulting in an unwanted pregnancy, which Harry refuses to acknowledge, especially when Mel announces her intentions to keep the baby. Mel is also estranged from her family, when she refuses to reveal the identity of the baby's father, although inevitably, the truth will out, and in typically dramatic fashion, leaving Harry to face up to his failings and shortcomings and reassess his life and contribution to a society that had given him his chances in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally absorbing, 27 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight's Smiling (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book and have become a fan of Alexandra Connor, twists in the story line you don't expect and totally believable characters and plot, love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid read!, 14 Oct 2011
By 
H. F. Tierney "Diesel Dolly" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight's Smiling (Paperback)
Recently discovered Alexandra Connor's books at our library (new author to me), and this tale was without doubt one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Midnight's Smiling
Midnight's Smiling by Alexandra Connor
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews