Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP DRAWER GORE
A corpse. A syringe full of day-glo green re-animating fluid. And Herbert West. What could possibly go wrong...?

Plenty, if this wildly funny and extremely gory film is anything to go by. RE-ANIMATOR is a classic example of comedy and horror combining to shred the usual expectations by thrusting us headlong into altogether crazier dimensions - and that still...
Published on 9 May 2007 by Kelvin Dickinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Get a job in a sideshow...
Herbert West is a Swiss scientist who has discovered a fluid which brings dead tissue back to life.

After the suspicious death of his professor in Switzerland, West moves to Miskatonic University to continue his research.

He involves fellow student Dan and his fiancée Megan in his research by experimenting on their dead cat.

Dan,...
Published 16 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP DRAWER GORE, 9 May 2007
By 
Kelvin Dickinson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A corpse. A syringe full of day-glo green re-animating fluid. And Herbert West. What could possibly go wrong...?

Plenty, if this wildly funny and extremely gory film is anything to go by. RE-ANIMATOR is a classic example of comedy and horror combining to shred the usual expectations by thrusting us headlong into altogether crazier dimensions - and that still applies now, 22 years after it first eviscerated onto our cinema screens. It sure still feels fresh to me, with evidence in almost every scene of the excitement and adrenaline that must have permeated the whole production at the time. (Not difficult either to imagine the producer and director donning their protective splash-suits and saying to each other on a daily basis: "go for it!").

I love the 'teaser' (pre-titles sequence), the titles themselves - including a wonderful musical nod to Hitchcock's PSYCHO - and the remaining 80-odd minutes. Yes, if you're in the right mood, there's not a single wrong-footed moment to spoil this show.

And what a show. Watch in slack-jawed amazement Herbert West's obsessive experiments to bring back to life that which has expired, including a distinctly pissed off cat. Stare in wide-eyed disbelief as a severed head plumbs depths hitherto unexplored by your average movie severed head. Pray in silent torment that the final re-animation of a central character justifies the whole catalogue of horror that has preceded this moment.

So why doesn't all this excess leave a nasty taste in the mouth? Because there's a directorial tongue firmly planted in everyone's cheek, that's why. Thank you STUART GORDON and BRIAN YUZNA. Oh, and if you're still not sure, check out JEFFREY COMBS'/HERBERT WEST'S delivery of the classic line: "Of course he's dead, the dosage was too large", it'll make your eyes pop out. And on that bombshell, I rest my surgical case.

Boasting some great packaging, a pristine picture and sound transfer, it's easy to say I wish there were more films like this, but something inside is glad it's a one-off. Forget the sequels, although you might consider FROM BEYOND. H.P. Lovecraft's RE-ANIMATOR has now been passed uncut by the BBFC, so buy it - and appreciate a truly great film from a decade of considerable dross.

BLOODY WELL RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stuart Gordon's cult classic comes to Blu-ray., 5 July 2014
By 
Richwicz "Vampix" (Chelmsford, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Re-Animator: Limited Edition 2 Disc Steelbook [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
I first saw Re-Animator many years ago via the cut VHS rental tape. Even though the film suffered from BBFC censor cuts to the gore and 'head giving head' scene, I still thought the film was very entertaining and original. I'm glad to say the film is now available in HD with all the cuts restored, and is presented in a lovely steelbook package. The two stand out actors for me in this film are Jeffrey Combs as Herbert West, and the late David Gale as Dr Carl Hill. David Gale, in particular, seems to relish his role as the decapitated head of the lecherous Dr Hill. There's some juicy splatter to sate the gorehounds (popping eyeballs, bonesaw mutilation, finger biting, beheading by shovel, etc), and some terrific make-up FX for the creepy looking zombies in the climactic mortuary scenes. If you want to add some classic 80s horror to your Blu-ray collection, I'd recommend you buy Re-Animator and give it a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't expect it to tango, it has a broken back", 31 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When Herbert West, a medical student who was working in Switzerland with the late Dr. Gruber, starts at the Miskatonic Medical School in Massachusetts, he is quickly introduced to a promising young student called Dan Cain and the world renowned brain surgeon Dr. Hill. Upon meeting Dr. Hill, West makes it very clear that he feels Dr. Hill's work is useless and outdated. Soon after his introduction, Herbert moves into Dan's spare room where he discovers that Dan is seeing the school Dean's daughter Megan. Megan seems instantly creeped out by West and his strange behaviour, and for good reason as it isn't long before Dan gets dragged into West's bizarre experiments aimed at reanimating the dead. The two break into the school and begin their experiments which accidentally leads to the death of Megan's father, soon after Dr. Hill discovers exactly what they've been upto and tries to steal their work, leading to a gory, grotesque and often hilarious battle between West and Hill.

Horror legend Jeffrey Combs is a joy to watch as Herbert West, he plays the role with such sinister relish that it's impossible not to like him. A lot of the films comedy comes from how straight Combs plays the role, and along with From Beyond, Castle Freak and The Frighteners, this is his best work. The other real standout performance comes from the late David Gale as Dr. Carl Hill, Herbert West's nemesis. He died aged just 54 and I haven't seen anything else he made apart from the sequel, a shame he appeared in so little as he's wonderful in Re-Animator. Barbara Crampton is very pretty and played her role as Megan well, she later teamed up again with Combs in Castle Freak. Bruce Abbot and Robert Sampson round off the main cast as Dan Cain and the Dean Alan Halsey, but Combs and Gale are what make this film so endlessly enjoyable. I love the direction from Stuart Gordon and i'm sure the actors loved it too, this was his first proper film and to this day it's his best. He quickly followed it up a few years later with the excellent From Beyond and Dolls, after the 80's his films have been a little bit more hit and miss, but Fortress, Castle Freak, Dagon and Stuck are all very watchable. Re-Animator virtually steals Bernard Herrmann's fantastic Psycho score, but it fits the film so well that I can't imagine the film without it. There's some nudity, and lots and lots of over the top gratuitous gore. The effects and gore are brilliant considering this 1985 classic was made for under $1,000,000, it's probably the bloodiest over the top film i've seen along with Evil Dead 2 and Braindead.

This 2 disc special edition is packed with extras, especially when compared to the near barebones dvd I owned previously. On disc 1 there's what appears to be a cleaned up version of the film as it looks better than my old copy, there's a commentary from director Stuart Gordon and a second commentary from producer Brian Yuzna (later a director himself and director of the sequels), and actors Jeffrey Combs, Bruce Abbott, Barbara Crampton and Robert Sampson. Of course it would have been even better with David Gale. Disc 2 is just as good, a brilliant 70 minute making of, interviews with Stuart Gordon and Brian Yuzna, further interviews with writer Dennis Paoli, composer Richard Band and Fangoria editor Tony Timpone. A music discussion with Richard Band, deleted scenes, extended scenes, trailer, tv spots, production stills gallery, behind the scenes still gallery, fun on the set gallery, posters and advertising gallery, storyboard gallery, Stuart Gordon biography, the screenplay and finally Herbert West, Reanimator by H.P. Lovecraft from which the film is based. It's a great dvd and what all special editions should be like, check out the Poltergeist "special edition" to see how little is on some. Considering how much is on the discs, it seems crazy that there's no subtitles which would obviously be a big problem for some.

Re-Animator is a great film and now has a great special edition, one of the best horror comedies ever made and if you're not too squeamish and aren't bothered by the perverted, gratuitous tone, you should love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I gave them Life...", 27 Jan. 2010
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Often with B movies & horror movies of old (e.g. Nosferatu), the film fails to hit the right notes. Either the horror is dated & corny or the director has flashes of genius, but no consistency.

Thankfully this is not true with this film. Starring the guy who played 'Weyoun' in Star Trek - Deep Space Nine, the film has that unnerving quality & goriness that makes truly great horror. Jeffrey Combs' character grips you from his very first line (the title of this review) & his weirdness is never too extreme, staying within the realm of the understandable (just...)

Furthermore there are also the other actors/ actresses who are convincing and never have any 'B-movie moments' (when you can tell they're reading a script!) Unusually for this type of film, you actually become interested in the plot as all the performances are fleshed out & deep, which is not true of say The Evil Dead (great film though it is).

About the goriness, I felt this movie hit the nail on the head. The gore is not sparse & timid, but nor is it an overdose or 'the gore, the merrier'. Each bit of squeamishness is used efficiently, but not overplayed & this is refreshing from an era of 'video-nasties' that tended toward cliched over-emphasis.

I can honestly think of little to criticise in this film. There are the odd bits that strain credulity (e.g. the baddie not losing his mind when resurrected) & there is little music (except the intro/outro song, which is compelling).

And since I can find little to criticize in this film, I have no hesitation in recommending it to horror fans everywhere.
Of course, you should bear in mind that it is horror (not suitable for young-ones or women who don't like scary films) & there are some nude scenes. You should also read some of the other reviews (for balance).
However, I can honestly say there is nothing I have found in my searches that would stop me endorsing this as a truly great horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BARKING MAD BRILLIANCE, 28 Jan. 2008
By 
Kelvin Dickinson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Say hello to HERBERT WEST, re-animator of dead, previously living, tissue. He's a doctor. He's also certifiable...but don't worry, the day-glo green liquid in his syringe is completely harmless. Unless you're a corpse.

Now say hello to the REGION 1 MILLENNIUM EDITION of RE-ANIMATOR. This wildly funny and extremely gory film - a classic example of comedy and horror combining to shred the usual expectations - still does the business today, thrusting us headlong into altogether crazier dimensions a mere 22 years(!) after it first eviscerated onto our cinema screens. A remarkable achievement by any standards.

I just love the 'teaser' (pre-titles sequence) and the animated titles with their wonderful orchestral nod to Hitchcock's PSYCHO and, yes, the remaining 80-plus minutes. If you're in the right mood, there's not a single wrong-footed moment to spoil this show.

And what a show. Watch in slack-jawed amazement Herbert West's obsessive experiments to bring back to life that which has expired, including a distinctly pissed off cat. Stare in wide-eyed disbelief as a severed head plumbs depths hitherto unexplored by your average movie severed head. Pray in silent torment that the final re-animation of a central character justifies the whole catalogue of horror that has preceded this moment.

So why doesn't all this excess leave a nasty taste in the mouth? Because there's a directorial tongue firmly planted in everyone's cheek, that's why. Thank you STUART GORDON and BRIAN YUZNA. Oh, and if you're still not sure, check out JEFFREY COMBS'/HERBERT WEST'S delivery of the classic line: "Of course he's dead, the dosage was too large", it'll make your eyes pop out. And on that bombshell, I rest my surgical case.

Boasting some great packaging, a pristine picture and sound transfer, it's easy to say I wish there were more films like RE-ANIMATOR, but something inside is glad it's a one-off. Forget the sequels, although you might consider FROM BEYOND.

Unrated and uncut, you really ought to buy it now - and appreciate a film of barking mad brilliance from a decade of considerable dross.

UNRESERVEDLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heads up, campy cult classic lives up to reputation., 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
After all these years I finally got around to watching Stuart Gordon's much loved and much talked about adaptation of H.P. Lovecraft's Herbert West, Re-Animator. The author was a bit dismissive of his own story, but the filmic adaptation is a riotous ball of blood, guts, sexual kinks and laughs.

Plot in a nutshell finds two medical students getting more than they ever could bargain for when they start reviving corpses with Herbert West's (Jeffrey Combs wonderful) gooey serum.

It's all very 80s, but in a good way, because it takes one away from remembering all the formulaic slasher movies that dominated the decade, so with that in mind Gordon's movie should not be under valued in the context of being different. It obviously isn't for everyone, but for those with a bent for horror comedy spliced together as some sort of funny Freudian grue fest, then this is the bomb.

It doesn't need selling to most horror fans, but to the tentatively interested I say don't make the mistake I made and wait 28 years to see it! 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bloody good fun, 7 Jan. 2007
By 
Finlay Meldrum "Sikth86" (Kirriemuir) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Re-Animator [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I first saw this film last night,channel hopping and decided to give it a shot,it was either this or 6th sence,again. It starts off in typical 80's cheesy horror stylee with some ott gore and bad acting, and to be honest it stays like this this for the rest of the movie. Thing is though,it works. This has alot in common with evil dead movies as it has loads of gore,some is even bad for todays standards and underlying black humour the whole way through. The film is a take on frankenstien with zombies thrown in for good measure,although it has comparisons with frankenstien and evil dead it is a little more bizzare,severed head being the villan and a bizzare scene where an intestine blasts out of someones stomach and strangles the mad scientist character. If your looking for some tongue in cheek horror with no fancy cgi frills then look no further, apparently there are cencored versions on here though so if poss try and get the uncut version its worth it in the long run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLEAR!!..BUMPH!!..wobble.., 27 Sept. 2010
By 
L. A. Prince - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loves Re-Animator [1985] [DVD].The look of the revived corpses is quite disgusting and according to a friend,who said he seen a dead person once,very realistic.The actors are all very engaging and Jeffrey Combs is fantastic as the overly ambitious Re-animator..I'm sure we all know that Barbara Crampton as the beguiling Megan Halsey has her knockers-and if I believed in god-I'd thank him for 'em too!She is a total 80's scream queen sexpot..in my youth I nearly fell in love with her.The gore is fantatic too...eyeballs pop,heads are severed and some guts burst out.This movie has it all if you like to see nudie 'dead' folks..especially this big-piece who pegs it and Dean gets those electric paddle things on her to start her heart up-CLEAR!!BUMPH!(wobble)FANTASTIC!Stuart Gordons finest hour in my opinion..but if you need more Barbara Crampton get From Beyond too..phwoar...Jeffrey Combs is a jammy git!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything but the mortuary sink., 28 Jan. 2014
By 
Rich (The Frozen North) - See all my reviews
We all know the score with Re-Animator, one of the best wall to wall, fun gore movies of the 80's.

This expensive German blu-ray is the only release that offers the theatrical cut and the composite version that contains all the gore and deleted scenes (apart from the dream sequence) from the T.V. version in lovely HD.

Bringing the running time up to a whacking 104 mins this cut is much richer in characterisation and irons out a few narrative inconsistencies from the theatrical version. Any fan will have seen the scenes before on the many numerous releases but they work much better in the context of the whole movie and add a surprising amount of depth.

You also get a raggy copy of the censored T.V. version where the extra scenes originated as an easter egg.

Packaged in a beautiful media book with twenty pages of German only text and photos the set does look stunning and I doubt the movie will ever achieve a better presentation.

WARNING! This review appears on the Spanish five disc set page. That release does not contain the composite version.

I'm off to tryst with a bubble headed coed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-Animator Steelbook, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
Barry (Stoke-on-Trent. Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Re-Animator: Limited Edition 2 Disc Steelbook [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
I received my Steelbook today 5th June ,and very happy with the transfer ,I didn't notice any imperfections so no moaning and complaining from me ,I had the DVD from Tartan ,and an elite edition ,this Blu-ray kicks both my DVD editions in the gutter so off to sell them to a friend (well he can choose which edition he want's). anyone wishing to buy this Blu-ray of Re-animator ,VERDICT ! BUY NOW ,Oh yes I said no moaning from me WELL ! just a small groan ,NO BOOKLET ,AND NO PICTURE ON INSIDE OF CASE ,JUST PLAIN SILVER ,never mind but still worth your well earned cash ,well off to medical school to concoct me a serum. I also recommend 'From beyond ' Blu-ray .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Re-Animator: Limited Edition 2 Disc Steelbook [Blu-Ray]
£18.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews