Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value 8" tablet - Android's ipad mini (first gen) equivalent
The Iconia A1-830 is an update to the last model (A1-810) That model was in my view a pretty good budget tablet for users who wanted an 8" 4:3 tablet but didn't fancy the ipad mini's price tag.

This new model has some nice improvements, though it's not a huge revolution on the previous one. Still after using one for a few days now I think it's a good...
Published 11 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oodles of style and performance - but a defective button within 24hrs...
Well, on the one hand, I love this tablet. The screen is pretty good, and certainly satisfactory by my standards. It's fairly quick, with no noticeable lag between during/between running applications. It looks superb in white & silver, and the 7.9" form factor is brilliant. Bigger than my old Nexus 7, and smaller than my iPad, it's the big enough and small enough at...
Published 9 months ago by __spc__


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value 8" tablet - Android's ipad mini (first gen) equivalent, 10 May 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Acer Iconia A1-830 7.9-inch Tablet (Silver) - (Intel Z2560 1.6MHz, 1GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Wi-Fi, Camera, Android 4.2) (Personal Computers)
The Iconia A1-830 is an update to the last model (A1-810) That model was in my view a pretty good budget tablet for users who wanted an 8" 4:3 tablet but didn't fancy the ipad mini's price tag.

This new model has some nice improvements, though it's not a huge revolution on the previous one. Still after using one for a few days now I think it's a good offering in this price segmet.

The main improvements over the older model are the CPU which is now an Intel Atom Z2560 dual core 1.6GHz (faster than the older MTK Cortex A9 1.2GHz), build is much better with a slimmer body and aluminium back. A lot of the other areas are the same or very close to the A1-810 including the screen.

It's running Android 4.2.2 with an update to 4.4 expected shortly
Quick summary of my good and bad points:

Pros:
+ Fairly fast processor and improvement over the older model, feels snappier and more responsive and doesn't lag down as much with multiple apps open
+ Build is a step up too better quality aluminium back (doesn't slip like the older model) it's also quite slim
+ 7.9" 1,024 x 768-pixel IPS LCD (162 pixels per inch) is crisp and clear with good viewing angles and punchy colours (it looks better in person than it does on paper just like the ipad mini's LCD)
+ 2mp front and 5mp rear cameras are not bad quality wise (for a tablet in this price point) Both are better than the previous model though the front 2mp one is really for Skype/video calls more than photos.
+ Fairly good 3d performance, it's not a high end gaming tablet (or Nexus 7) but plays most games quite well
+ Has 2 rear stereo speakers
+ Micro SD slot to expand memory
+ Fairly good spec, 1GB ram, 16GB storage blue-tooth 3 (not 4), GPS, Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n, accelerometer. Most of what you would need

Cons:
- I would have liked to see the screen resolution improve a bit
- Sound isn't the best, not much depth to the sound I'd stick to headphones for listening to music etc
- Screen could be brighter

Battery life is ok but not amazing compared to some I got about 6 - 6.5 hours sometimes a little more with normal use, adjusting the screen brightness and turning off wifi will help save some power.

Like the older model the screen looks much better "in the flesh" than the spec sheet indicates so whilst I would have liked a bit more resolution it's still quite good with excellent clarity and decent details. Acer have tweaked and updated the tablet over the older models, build is improved, cameras a bit better, stereo sound, processor faster. It's not a massive update as such so if you have the A1-810 I wouldn't throw that in the bin to update to this model.

However it does address some of the weaker elements, and is a decent tweak to a good cost effective tablet. Media users might prefer a widescreen aspect ratio. But some like the 4:3 "apple style" tablet screen, very much down to taste here. It's a solid and attractive tablet that makes a good "family tablet solution". The only slight fly in the ointment is the new price on the older ipad mini which is just over £200 now. Still the price is sure to drop a bit and you have a solid budget tablet offering here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oodles of style and performance - but a defective button within 24hrs..., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Iconia A1-830 7.9-inch Tablet (Silver) - (Intel Z2560 1.6MHz, 1GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Wi-Fi, Camera, Android 4.2) (Personal Computers)
Well, on the one hand, I love this tablet. The screen is pretty good, and certainly satisfactory by my standards. It's fairly quick, with no noticeable lag between during/between running applications. It looks superb in white & silver, and the 7.9" form factor is brilliant. Bigger than my old Nexus 7, and smaller than my iPad, it's the big enough and small enough at the same time!

However... within just 24hrs' use, the 'down' volume rocker button ceased clicking and lowering the volume incrementally. 'Up' is a nice crisp 'click', but 'down' is soft and mushy.

I like it enough to ask for a replacement - hopefully I got the one runt of a very large litter and my next one will be perfect...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better, 29 May 2014
This review is from: Acer Iconia A1-830 7.9-inch Tablet (Silver) - (Intel Z2560 1.6MHz, 1GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Wi-Fi, Camera, Android 4.2) (Personal Computers)
This is an improvement on the older A110 version being quicker and unlike the previous model the headphone socket provides a more secure fitting. One other point involves BT Sports app, on the older A110 although the app loaded the main page, when trying to watch a sports channel I just ended up with a blank screen, this newer model works fine providing a very good picture. Technical details provided in other reviews but I thought you may be interested in the points mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all-rounder with 4:3 display, 23 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Acer Iconia A1-830 7.9-inch Tablet (Silver) - (Intel Z2560 1.6MHz, 1GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Wi-Fi, Camera, Android 4.2) (Personal Computers)
The a1-830 is Intel powered which makes it smooth and responsive in use. It does however sport the older 1024x768 (4:3) display (which personally, I prefer). Even so the display is exceptional. It's bright, crisp and tones are faithfully reproduced. Battery life is about 6hrs with WiFi enabled and WiFi strength is good. A passing observer could mistake this tablet for an iPad mini as the styling is very similar. Premium materials and better than average build quality combine to form a robust but stylish product from Acer.
There is no HDMI port (which I suspect Acer have omiited to keep costs down) and there are slightly too many apps pre-installed, many of which can only be disabled and not removed altogether. However, this doesn't affect performance.
Summarising:
4:3 fans won't find a slicker 8" tablet at this price point.

If you're looking for a wide screen tablet, check out the new Acer A1-840FHD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Acer Iconia A-1 830 not a bad buy., 15 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Acer Iconia A1-830 7.9-inch Tablet (Silver) - (Intel Z2560 1.6MHz, 1GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Wi-Fi, Camera, Android 4.2) (Personal Computers)
I bought this tablet in Carrefour in France although I had gone to buy a 10 inch Samsung. Samsung and Ipads seemed to dominate the display area, in fact this tablet was hidden away in a glass fronted cupboard. They are still in the said cupboard after 3 months. Having asked an assistant if I could look at the Acer I decided to take the plunge and buy. For €125.00 it has not been a bad buy. The update to KitKat came through pretty quickly although I am not sure how much of a difference it has made. I love the fact that it has a mini SD card slot. My iPod is a pain when trying to put on music. The Acer plays virtually any format and as most of my CDs are ripped in FLAC the Acer wins hands down. I don't find the battery life to be brilliant but neither is my iPod. As for the screen it is fairly dark when watching movies though for every other use it is acceptable. So, a good buy for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good value for the money, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Iconia A1-830 7.9-inch Tablet (Silver) - (Intel Z2560 1.6MHz, 1GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Wi-Fi, Camera, Android 4.2) (Personal Computers)
Performance wise it is a decent tablet, though be aware of opening too many apps at the same time as it slows down a lot. Battery for now seems to hold out for a very heavy days usage of doing just about anything. Screen is bright and has a good viewing angle. At times however it is not sensitive enough. Its GPS system works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic very fast tablet with ability to print and mini card slot - Acer have created a great and extremely tough Tablet, 4 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Acer Iconia A1-830 7.9-inch Tablet (Silver) - (Intel Z2560 1.6MHz, 1GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Wi-Fi, Camera, Android 4.2) (Personal Computers)
Having tried every tablet out for miles -This Tablet is fantastic - very tough , great brilliant screen , very fast opening of programs and can print from it plus a mini card which works fantastically for storage and transfer of files photos etc. Would like to give it 6 stars !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great build quality bright screen and responsive for the money excellent., 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Iconia A1-830 7.9-inch Tablet (Silver) - (Intel Z2560 1.6MHz, 1GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Wi-Fi, Camera, Android 4.2) (Personal Computers)
Bought this to bring 70 year old mum up to date..
installed a couple of apps , hooked up google mail and chrome / linked to wifi printer ...

great build quality bright screen and responsive for the money excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bucking the trend - awful tablet, 16 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Acer Iconia A1-830 7.9-inch Tablet (Silver) - (Intel Z2560 1.6MHz, 1GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Wi-Fi, Camera, Android 4.2) (Personal Computers)
I hate it - sluggish, unresponsive touch screen, brightness can only be adjusted between super bright and still pretty bright. Battery life is rubbish and the thing freezes at least once a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars upgraded from the iconia B1 and I'm very impressed. ..., 6 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Acer Iconia A1-830 7.9-inch Tablet (Silver) - (Intel Z2560 1.6MHz, 1GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Wi-Fi, Camera, Android 4.2) (Personal Computers)
upgraded from the iconia B1 and I'm very impressed. not had any problems in the last 2 month of owner ship doubt it will break :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews