Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it say - but be aware there are tilt and "simple" base options
Nice screen. Set up was quick and easy - hooked up my new Mac mini, plugged everything together and we were off. Mine came with only a power lead - no HDMI or other connecting cable, so you'll need to source one separately. The power unit is neat and not too brick like.

The surround bezel is gloss black, some 2cm wide, and the screen itself is a fine matte...
Published 3 months ago by DebB

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT BUY
I bought it as the new model of an earlier screen I bought couple of years ago.

first one was defected on arrival. As for the replacement:
-The colours are washed out.
-Viewing angles are horrible! you will only see proper colours on the few inches directly in front of your eyes, non below, non to the right or left!!

-No tilting
It's...
Published 1 month ago by Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it say - but be aware there are tilt and "simple" base options, 9 Jun 2014
By 
DebB (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Samsung S24D300HL 23.6 inch LED HDMI Monitor (Accessory)
Nice screen. Set up was quick and easy - hooked up my new Mac mini, plugged everything together and we were off. Mine came with only a power lead - no HDMI or other connecting cable, so you'll need to source one separately. The power unit is neat and not too brick like.

The surround bezel is gloss black, some 2cm wide, and the screen itself is a fine matte which doesn't reflect sunlight or movement back at you. The control buttons are all set in the bottom front of the bezel - so easy to get at, and pretty unobtrusive.

BE AWARE - there seems to be different stand options. I read reviews for other variants of this model before I bought and there was some confusion about whether it tilted or not. Mine came with a "simple" base (something I didn't spot until I was investigating why it didn't tilt) and doesn't tilt. It really does need to - sitting flat it feels as though it's leaning forwards at me by 10 or 20 degrees - so check your stand type! I have mine tiled up using a block, which works fine, but a tilting stand would have been better.

Viewing angle is wide - you can sit off to one side a fair way and still see everything just fine. No flickers, nice sharp images, good colours that, on the standard set up, aren't too in your face - no doubt you can saturate it up, but I like it just fine.

For the price this is amazing - it's replacing an old Sony that cost about 800 15 years ago and was cutting edge of its day! This is much better...

A few days later.... very helpful mail from Steve (see comment below) pointing out that this will tilt, just takes a bit of courage! I watched the YouTube video he suggested, et voila! A tilting screen after all. The info that comes with the monitor makes no mention of how to tilt the base - maybe they think it's obvious - it isn't, and I've been around monitors for a good few years. As it was labelled "simple" and didn't want to move, I sort of assumed it didn't. I was wrong - thanks Steve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT BUY, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung S24D300HL 23.6 inch LED HDMI Monitor (Accessory)
I bought it as the new model of an earlier screen I bought couple of years ago.

first one was defected on arrival. As for the replacement:
-The colours are washed out.
-Viewing angles are horrible! you will only see proper colours on the few inches directly in front of your eyes, non below, non to the right or left!!

-No tilting
It's not good for text or graphics users, had to return it. Unfortunately, can't find the older model any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Samsung monitor tilts!, 4 Aug 2014
By 
D. M. Wild "book hoarder" (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung S24D300HL 23.6 inch LED HDMI Monitor (Accessory)
The second one of these we have bought a monitor and we love the S!amsung brand clarity and colour.
Important to note too is that the screen will tilt - which is improtant to us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fixed Stand and Monitor Is Tilted Forward, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung S24D300HL 23.6 inch LED HDMI Monitor (Accessory)
I agree with another reviewer here about the forward tilt of the stand. All well and good talking about the great viewing angles but on the supplied stand, which is fixed and does not tilt, the monitor is definately angled forward and feels uncomfortable. I have jacked up the front of the stand to get a decent angle to view it.

Not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent monitor, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sharp, bright, and vibrant colours. Excellent value for a little less than 130. Easy to set up. Looks good as well. It has hdmi and analogue inputs. Touch button controls. Separate power supply.

Stable stand.

Recommend - you can't fault it for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "New" Samsung S24D300HL 23.6 inch LED HDMI Monitor, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung S24D300HL 23.6 inch LED HDMI Monitor (Accessory)
So this would have been a 4-star review. It's a cute little monitor: a doddle to set up and performs well enough with the HDMI cable that didn't come supplied although the colours appear to fade much more markedly when viewed standing vs seated compared to my old Samsung SyncMaster 2433BW. Perhaps that's my own fault for not going for the well-reviewed and apparently well-loved Samsung S24C300HS and instead taking a punt on this one - helpfully identified by Amazon as the newer model and considerably cheaper as a bonus. The controls are touch-buttons on the lower right hand side of the bezel and seem somewhat temperamental but let's be charitable: perhaps they just need a little getting used to.

It's become a 2-star review since I ordered it via Amazon Prime, taking the following day off to babysit the front door and at 6pm tracking alleges they've attempted to deliver 30 minutes before. Which they hadn't. No matter. It arrives the day after: all neatly plastic-wrapped except the bottom of the vertical (plum?) component of the stand has multiple scuff marks as if previously forced and a pretty blue features sticker in the top left hand corner is neatly placed to conceal a scratch the full 2cm width of the bezel and continuing on the underside to meet the screen, apparently unharmed.

If refurbished, perhaps it would be more honest to state this clearly in the description instead of claiming it as "new" as that is plainly misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality monitor, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung S24D300HL 23.6 inch LED HDMI Monitor (Accessory)
Does what it says on the tin! Good quality monitor. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung S24D300HL 23.6 inch LED HDMI Monitor (Accessory)
A good clear larger screen, that is good for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung S24D300HL 23.6 inch LED HDMI Monitor (Accessory)
Very good monitor and not bad value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung S24D300HL 23.6 inch LED HDMI Monitor (Accessory)
Cannot find a single drawback. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews