Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a scorcher
I knew this album would be great, what I wasn't expecting was for it to be FANTASTIC.Even eclipsing Modern Daze.
The production is amazing thanks to Walt and Eric Corne.
For reasons we all know there are some deeply personal songs about Walts ailing health, now hopefully thanks to his transplant that will improve.Songs such as Wastin Away.Bottom of the River...
Published 2 months ago by The Wolf

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good quality product
Took 3 attempts to get this right, but problems were efficiently handled, and, in the end, a good quality product.
Published 24 days ago by ERIC PALMER


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a scorcher, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blues Came Callin' (Audio CD)
I knew this album would be great, what I wasn't expecting was for it to be FANTASTIC.Even eclipsing Modern Daze.
The production is amazing thanks to Walt and Eric Corne.
For reasons we all know there are some deeply personal songs about Walts ailing health, now hopefully thanks to his transplant that will improve.Songs such as Wastin Away.Bottom of the River and the stunning Nobody Moves Me, his tribute to Marie. He pairs up with John Mayall on Mayalls Piano Boogie(a 1 take spontaneous track).Tight Shoes is a great instrumental
Im not going to go through every single track as the booklet gives details already, but I have to say, given the circumstances under which this album was recorded Walter has possibly just released his best album to date, and that takes some doing!!!!His guitar playing is stronger than ever and the style is STILL Walter, but uniquely different from previous releases. Joe Bonamassa fans take note, JB is the pupil, Walter is the master.
Fantastic!!!Well done my man, and hope your back on these shores soon to play some of this stuff
The 40 min bonus dvd is a fascinating look at the man himself and his music. More ive no doubt will be revealed in the book, but to see Walt break down and cry when talking about his step dad is heartwrenching.Walt has danced with the devil and still, despite his addictions and health, retained a sense of belief in himself.Marie has really been his guardian angel and saviour, if not for her strength and obvious love for her husband, Walt may not have been here today.
What comes across though is a very honest warm man, well thought of and highly respected and much loved.
He has been through hell and back throughout the years and yet still retains a sense of decency.
My respect, which was always there just moved up a hundred fold after watching this.
I can't wait for my vinyl version to show up!!!
Got my vinyl-not only a superb bit of wax, beautiful to behold, sounds phenomenal.
This album just gets better and better with each listen.
Just preordered my Beale Street vinyl, im in heaven!!!!
I would heartily recommend the new biography book also.Mine came and I literally read it in 1 day.Fascinating insight and some great pics to boot!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walter Answers the Call, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blues Came Callin' (Audio CD)
The Blues Came Callin’ – Walter Trout
The release of any new Walter Trout album is an occasion to rejoice, never has it been so much like that than with the release of the great man’s latest album. Coming as it does at the time when Blues fans globally are thankful that Walter has successfully come through his liver transplant and is recovering so well. It is almost as though the planets have aligned to give the legions of Blues fans worldwide a cause for double celebration.
Certainly I cannot remember the last time I awaited my first listen of a new album like I have this. And so instantly have I fallen in love with it that this review is written after one take.
On the opening two tracks we are in familiar Trout territory, Wasting Away and The World Is Going Crazy. The anger about his own condition within the former and his railing against the corruption, lies and inequality of modern life in the latter, evident through the rasped angered vocal and the furious fiery fretwork.
The Bottom of the River tells the story of Trout’s recent struggle for life, the depths of the water a metaphor for his ill health and the light above the surface that pulls him up as he realises it ‘Ain’t Your Time to Die, being the catalyst for survival. The musical arrangement is empathic, deft rhythms and soft keys and the strength to fight his battles evident in the driving, powerful echoed solo. Now we know the fight is on!
The Whale Have Swallowed Me is a reflective narration of the mortality of man and the search for inner peace and once more Trout and the band, assisted by the great John Mayall support the lyric. Then the street fighter that Trout has always been shows his courage with some heavy chops and a searing solo.
All thoughts of ill health are swatted away on the next two cuts. The bombastic Willie, all heavy riffing and pounding beats and keys as Trout regales the story of the vulnerable victims bullied by the ‘stronger’ cowards. A vicious solo expresses Walter’s disgust at the injustices of such realities of life.
Mayall’s Piano Boogie is exactly what the title says; Trout’s former employer sits at the piano and pounds and dances across the ivories producing a flood of notes that weave an uplifting melody. The band lift the tune to a higher plane before Walter shows his former boss he learned his lessons well with a razor sharp clipped solo before the two true friends trade some serious licks. This is an instant classic and one that could have run and run.
Born in the City could only have been recorded by Trout a violent low down dirty groove provides the framework for Walter to remind us all that you can ‘Take the man out of the city but you can’t take the city out of the man.’ The anger and passion for city life encapsulated by a truly scorching, solo. Trademark Trout!
Tight Shoes is an instrumental that is all about the man and his guitar as Trout displays all his prowess, power and feel through punchy riffs, serious finger picking, and string bending fury. This one song proves there is still fire left in the man’s belly.
The title track is outstanding, a song to love and savour instantly. This is Blues Walter Trout style and it gets no better than that. The rhythm section lay down an earthy groove lighting the touch paper for the man to step in with a laconic vocal and some low down riffing. Just listen to the mid-section call and respond incendiary solos from Mayall and Trout, totally mesmeric.
It is no surprise that Trout closes out the album with a love song dedicated to his amazing wife Marie on the beautiful Nobody Loves Me Like You Do. If you have followed Marie’s posts on social media, as the couple have travelled this long tortuous road throughout Walter’s illness her total love and devotion has been evident and she has been by her man’s side every step of the way. This is the great man’s way of expressing his love, so very openly in the touching lyric but most of all when Walter does what Walter does best, the solo that forms the song’s centrepiece is nothing short of magnificent, the notes and tones showing the depth of feeling. It is very touching and a privilege to get first- hand accounts of the journey travelled and now the picture is complete with this outpouring of love for a wonderful woman.
This track points the way forward, it is uplifting, inspiring and optimistic, hinting that this is just the beginning of the next chapter of this amazing man’s life.
Walter Trout – The Blues Came Callin’ and as ever the man has answered the call emphatically!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Craig Hall (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like the blues of any style, you will really love this! It is a FANTASTIC album - everything about it is amazing, and there is not a footstep wrong anywhere. The songs are personal and moving, the production clear with no distractions, the performances are second to none. I didn't think he could surpass 'Blues for the Modern Daze' but he has.
Mayall's Piano Boogie certainly has your toes tapping, and the title track is wonderful classic blues. The Bottom of the River is a deep southern blues. Every track is worth listening to again and again.
If you read other reviews, you will see that Walter has recently had serious health problems resulting in a liver transplant a week ago. I hope he recovers and goes on to create more like this.
P.S. If you have no idea who Walter Trout is, then you don't know what you are missing and you should buy this immediately :-)
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No room for pity here, 24 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blues Came Callin' (Audio CD)
It would have been very easy and perfectly understandable for Walter to have released an album of self centred 'woe is me' songs....but that wouldn't be the Walter trout way. Here is Walter at the top of his game. For me the high light has to be the inclusion of the tasty jam with John mayall. No swansongs here!!! Let's hope he is well enough to get the chance to perform live before too long. Much respect to a true master of his craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Blues Came Callin' - they can call on me anytime!, 11 Aug 2014
By 
D. J. Wilden "denise7248" (Maidenhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blues Came Callin' (Audio CD)
This is absolutely amazing. To my knowledge I hadn't heard anything by Walter before, I may be wrong but I don't think so. He was due to be headlining at the Linton Festival this year but had to pull out due to his health deteriorating. Now getting better thank goodness. I guessed blues when I bought it, but was really really surprised, its just jaw droppingly awesome. Won't be the only Walter Trout album I buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A blues legend, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blues Came Callin' (Audio CD)
This is Walter at his brilliant best' seen him on the road quite a few times' recently back in November 2013 and he was not a well man' but with his new liver transplant and with some TLC we all hope to see you back on the road again Walter doing what you do best playing the blues. Go get this album along with Luther's blues an equally breathtaking album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the music!, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blues Came Callin' (Audio CD)
Hearing the sample tracks, I knew this is the style of blues I liked and at 6am today I undid the pack and played the album.

What can you say? Magic, great, superb, the dogs b-----s. I can't pick a single track to say it showcases the album.....every track rocks. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blues Came Callin' (Audio CD)
Keep them coming Walter please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great CD., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blues Came Callin' (Audio CD)
Get well Walter. A great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blues Came Callin' (Audio CD)
Brilliant as usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blues Came Callin'
The Blues Came Callin' by Walter Trout (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews