Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I see the light...
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:16 Mins
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
DISCLOSURE:
I was kindly supplied this item free of charge to test and evaluate. In exchange, I agreed to provide an honest review detailing my thoughts...
Published 6 months ago by DARKcell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a good piece of kit BUT the MySports website is a ...
This is a good piece of kit BUT the MySports website is a big let down. I managed to set up an account on Mysports and luckily I set up my computer to link my watch with my Strava account also. Since then I can not login to my Mysports account despite changing my password numerous times! Luckily every time that I plug in my watch all of my activities are updated to my...
Published 16 days ago by J S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I see the light..., 26 Jun 2014
By 
DARKcell - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: TomTom Multi Sport Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
Length:: 1:16 Mins

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
DISCLOSURE:
I was kindly supplied this item free of charge to test and evaluate. In exchange, I agreed to provide an honest review detailing my thoughts. This is said review.
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

This is going to be a lengthy review - you've been warned.

If you already own the old TomTom sports watch, and you're just interested in how this newer model is better/different, then jump to the second section entitled 'OLD WATCH vs NEW WATCH'.

This review will attempt to encompass the entire new range of TomTom sports watches, with comparisons against the old range where applicable. For this reason, it will be posted on multiple product pages, to assist you in your purchasing decision. For the remainder of the review, any reference to the 'new' watch, will mean the cardio watch (with a red wrist strap and heart rate monitor built into its wrist strap) - and any reference to the 'old' watch, will be referring to the previous generation (with the grey wrist strap, and no heart rate monitor built into the wrist strap). The watch splits into two (shown in the video), the wrist strap, and the watch module, I will often refer to these separately.

Now that that's out of the way, let's move onto some range differences that newcomers to the TomTom range may find helpful.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- RANGE DIFFERENCES & ACCESSORIES ----

All watches past and present come with an instruction manual and desk dock. The desk dock enables you to connect your watch to your computer to charge and update to the latest software. It is very slick. The detachable watch module (that comes away from the strap) slots in easily and is positioned at such an angle that you can still see the screen if need be. The bottom of the dock is a lovely rubberised material that stops it from slipping around the desk. This means you can have the wire out of sight with the dock simply popping its head over the back of your desk taking up very little room, whilst not worrying about it falling off, never to be found again.

There are effectively four TomTom sports watches you could purchase; the old Runner, the new Runner, the old Multi-Sport and the new Multi-Sport. I will attempt (!) to clearly explain the differences, so that you can make an informed purchasing decision.

I will first address the differences between the Runner, and the Multi-Sport. This will apply to both old and new watches:
- The Runner only supports the activities of 'Run' and 'Treadmill'. This means that even if you were to purchase the biking accessories (cadence/speed sensors), the watch still wouldn't connect to them.
- The Multi-Sport support all activities; 'Run', 'Treadmill', 'Bike' and 'Swim'. Depending on the package you purchase, it may or may not come with the biking accessories (cadence/speed sensors) that physically attach to your bike. This means that you've got to make a decision prior to purchasing about whether or not you will EVER want the ability to track your bike rides or swims, if so, go for the Multi-Sport. If you only ever run, either outside or on a treadmill, and literally never want to track a bike ride or swim, then go for the Runner.
- With regards to accessories, the Runner comes with nothing extra. The Multi-Sport comes with a handlebar mount, enabling you to attach the watch module (without the wrist strap) to your bike's handlebars and use all of its functionality. Obviously with the new, cardio watch, this means you can't use the built in heart rate sensor, but you'll be happy to hear you can connect the new watch to an external heart rate monitor (chest strap), for use when cycling, or indeed during any other sports.

Hopefully, after reading the above, you have a clear picture about whether or not you wish to purchase the Runner, or the Multi-Sport. Now you need to decide between the old version, or the new cardio version. The following section should hopefully help you with this decision.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- OLD WATCH vs NEW WATCH (applies to both Runner and Multi-Sport) ----

If you already own the old watch, or are simply trying to decide on which range (old or new) to purchase, then this section will outline how the new watch differs from the old. The differences are purely hardware, as the software version of old and new remain the same (and TomTom have stated that they will continue to support both in terms of software updates). The attached video briefly shows all of the below points on the new cardio watch.

Built in heart rate sensor (on the old watch, you had to wear a chest strap):
- This is obviously the main difference. There is a sensor (with two green lights) on the back of the watch module. When worn as a watch, this sensor sits against the top of your wrist, and reads your heart rate from the slight colour changes in your skin. You may have seen this type of technology before as many smartphones are now capable of doing a similar thing. I can place my finger against the camera of my iPhone, and it will tell me my heart rate. This tech is along the same lines. I've had this watch for a month now, and all indications point to it being extremely accurate. I've tested it against the aforementioned phone app, chest strap and indeed just the good old fashioned finger-on-pulse-whilst-staring-at-clock method. My heart rate is always within 2-3bpms across all methods of testing. So this new range's main selling feature, would appear to work brilliantly. A great start.

Wrist strap:
- This is a change which wasn't really apparent to me when looking at screenshots, but for me, it is a major alteration. Simply put, the new strap is VASTLY better than the old one.
- The metal teeth that go through the holes on the other side of the strap are now three in number, as opposed to the old strap, with two. This may seem like a small change, but during use, it just feels that little bit more secure.
- The material over the entire wrist strap now feels a lot more premium, with a rubberised finish, as opposed to plastic. During exercise, this again feels more secure, and in my opinion, deals better with sweat.
- The watch module (the main removable 'watch' part) is now better held in place. This is achieved by the sides of the wrist strap curving a little around the back of the watch. It's a little hard to explain, but bottom line, the watch module now doesn't pop-out by accident, like it did on occasion previously.
- The new watch doesn't have what I am calling a 'keeper'. The keeper being the small piece of plastic/material that once the watch is one your wrist, you tuck the strap under to keep it from flapping around. Almost all watches have them, this new cardio watch doesn't. Instead, it has three little plastic nodules that securely fasten into the other strap. It's simple, it works, it's comfy and it stops the strap flying around once and for all. Perfect.
- Oh yeah, and the colours of either red/black or red/white, look brilliant.

The four way button on the new watches, is now encircled by silver.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

The remainder of the review, will be covering the process of connecting the watch to the computer, as well as going into detail about the software, and what functionality it has. If you own an old TomTom sports watch, you will already be familiar with most of the below. If you've never used a TomTom sports watch, then the rest of the review will be worth reading. Remember, if you are considering a purchase of a TomTom Runner watch, then the below 'CYCLING' and 'SWIMMING' sections won't apply to you. I've left them in, as the extra info can't hurt, and might help you make a decision.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- FIRST IMPRESSIONS AND AESTHETICS ----

This watch came wonderfully packaged in a beautiful presentation box that would easily attract attention on any store shelf. Upon opening you are greeted by the watch, sitting proudly above all accessories and user manuals neatly boxed beneath. The watch is actually two parts, the wrist strap and the watch module. They detach from one another so that the watch module can sit in the computer dock, or in the bike mount. This works surprisingly well and is a doodle to take apart and put back together on a regular basis. The strap is a rubber material that helps with grip when sweating. When being worn on your wrist, even for extended periods of time, it is extremely comfortable. My everyday watch is a G-Shock and this offering from TomTom easily surpasses it in terms of everyday comfort. I think this is largely due to the fact that you not only have the solid rear of the watch against your arm, but also the curved segment that slots into the computer docking station.

Upon first using the watch, you should connect to your computer. This is so you can properly set it up, and download all of the latest software, as well as the latest GPS data. This will mean that when you first use the watch for exercise, it will find satellites within 10-20 seconds - and it works! By pressing the left button on the watch, you can see (indicated by a tick) whether or not the QuickGPS is up to date.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- COMPUTER CONNECTION AND RELATED WEBSITES ----

Some will say that a wired connection is a strange idea considering watches like the Garmin 910XT use Bluetooth to transfer data to and from the watch. Whilst this was my initial thinking as well, I've come to realise that for me at least, it doesn't really make a difference. You have to plug in both watches to charge them at some point, and why not sit it in a nice dock and have data transferred that way. With the Garmin 910XT I have had some issues with the Bluetooth transfer. Quite often the computer just doesn't seem to realise the watch is nearby so I end up sitting there trying to get them to communicate for five minutes, which is rather boring.

The two websites that are linked from within the watch's computer software are the TomTom MySports website, and 'MapMyFitness'. Both are as you would imagine, detailing heart rate and sport-specific information, as well as showing a map of your route. MapMyFitness also have an iOS app that will enable you to view your activities whilst on the go. This is handy, but is only a 'lite' version so to see more detailed information you are encouraged to upgrade to premium, which I haven't.

The data on all of your workouts can be exported into formats KML, CSV, GPX, FIT and TCX. This enables you to upload them to virtually any of your favourite fitness websites, including ones such as RunKeeper and Strava.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- WATCH FUNCTIONALITY AND SETTINGS ----

The watch functionality is at its very core, simple. There are four buttons laid out in a square that do everything. In addition to these, you have a small touch sensitive 'button' on the right side of the screen that activates the watch's light. What I'll call the 'home screen' (what you would stare at on a regular basis if you wore this as an every day watch), consists of the current time and date (as well as a small symbol when it is connected to your phone via bluetooth).

Pressing the left button on the square brings you to the 'Watch status' screen. This shows you the battery, storage, status of QuickGPS, version number and serial number. Simply pressing left or right, or indeed leaving the screen for 30 seconds will bring you back to the home screen.

By pressing the down button from the home screen you arrive at the 'Settings' screen. From here you have six options, 'Clock', 'Sensors', 'Phone', 'FlightMode', 'Options' and 'Profile'. Below I'll briefly explain what each option can do:
- Clock - Set time/date and an alarm, as well as choose between 12/24hr display. This is largely unnecessary if you've set the watch up on your computer.
- Sensors - Tell the watch to use the built in heart rate monitor, or look for an external one, or have it off completely. You can also turn on/off the watch's ability to located the accessories for cycling.
- Phone - Here you can sync your smart phone to your watch. With TomTom's new 'MySports' app, you can easily view all of your workout data on your phone. In my opinion this is a huge leap forward from a year ago - the app is great (and free).
- Flight Mode - Turn off the watch's ability to communicate with anything wirelessly.
- Options - Change units (in which you CAN have miles/KG if you're that way inclined). Change whether or not the watch clicks and buzzes when you press a button. Go into demo mode. Turn night mode on/off. There is also a 'Lock' option, that after playing around with for a while, I still can't work out what it does!
- Profile - You can change language, weight, height, age and gender. Again, all things you will have done on the computer in your initial setup.

A single press of the right button from the home screen brings you to the 'Activities' menu. From here you can choose between, 'Run', 'Cycle', 'Swim', 'Treadmill' or 'Stopwatch'. After choosing one of these options, you are brought to what I call the 'Ready' screen. This will show you the status of GPS, the battery remaining, and with what accessories the watch has a connection. When you have found a GPS signal (if your chosen activity requires one) the screen will show 'GO', and a press of the right button will begin your workout. From the 'Ready' screen, you can press up to see a helpful list of your history in that specific activity, or down for sport-specific settings, which I will address further in their respective sections below. In the history section, you currently can't, but it would be nice in the future to be able to delete exercise sessions, without having to upload them to the computer/phone and then delete them from there.

Scrolling between menus is quick and easy. The latest versions of this software mean that there is normally no lag in between menus.

An issue that some people may have, is that you can only store five separate activities on the watch, before the memory is full, and they need to be uploaded to the computer/phone. If you're going away for a week/end filled with exercise and won't have access to a computer/phone, I can see this being a problem. But then again, who doesn't have their phone nearby nowadays, so it shouldn't be a major issue for most.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- RUNNING ----

Before setting off on your run, you can choose what kind of training you're after by pressing down from the aforementioned 'Ready' screen. You have five options:
- None - No target, just run.
- Goals - Choose between a distance, time or calorie goal.
- Intervals -This allows you to create a workout with a warmup, workout and rest period, all consisting of a user-chosen time or distance. You can then choose the number of sets, and your cool down time/distance.
- Laps - Here you can set your laps either by time, distance or manually
- Zones - You can choose what pace range or heart rate zone you wish to work out in, and the watch will help you stay there.
- Race - This mode allows you to race against your past self.

Each of the above (not including 'None') modes come with an attractive extra screen located to the right of the main running screen that assists you with your targets. For example, if you choose 'Race', you'll get a picture of a road with two arrows. One is you now, and one is your past self. There is also number at the bottom of the screen showing how far in front or behind you are. This may sound a little gimmicky, but is actually extremely helpful at motivating you to push that little extra and get a PB. Thumbs up.

After a month of ownership, these are my findings:

Once the watch had been setup on the computer, it found GPS signal and my heart rate within 10-20 seconds with no issue. Even during exercising, the watch is very comfortable, much more so in my opinion that the 910XT. The GPS data is very accurate, visibly (on the map once the activity has been uploaded) tracking me when I left the pitch to collect the ball following a wayward shot in a 5-a-side football match. During a run, your access to certain settings and options is limited, more so than I would like. Whilst running, you can't change the night mode on/off setting or the units your run is shown in. Both of which seem small, but they would be handy additions through a software update.

Your standard run screen consists of three parts (in addition to GPS status, heart rate monitor connection status and battery remaining being displayed along the bottom), a main section and two smaller sections at the top right and top left. The top two smaller sections can statically display any of the information displayed on the main display. The main centralised display shows the current time, and by scrolling using the down button also shows, duration, distance, pace, average pace, speed, average speed, calories, heart rate and heart rate zone, in that order. It is a non-looping list, meaning that if you were to keep pressing the down button, you would still end up at heart rate. I like this as it means that when you get to know the order of the list, you can press up/down x times and know where you'll land. Alternatively, madly pressing the up button a dozen times will always show the current time. Simple and effective.

I have my top two segments saved as duration and distance. On a run and at a glance, it can be easy to forget exactly what you've set these sections to show (as they only show a number, and no unit explanation). An extremely handy touch, that shows these watches have been tested in the real world before going on sale is that when pressing the up/down button to cycle through the main display, the top two segments are filled for a couple of seconds with an explanation of what they are showing, before jumping back to the numbers. Sounds like a small almost pointless addition, but I've found it helpful even from the first run.

I think there should be the ability to edit the overall layout of the standard run screen. The 910XT provides four separate screens each that you can slice into as many segments as you wish, to then scroll through at your leisure. This TomTom watch has one main run screen that has three segments. If I'm completely honest, given the ability to edit the screen, I would probably end up with something extremely similar, if not exactly the same as what is already provided, but the option (that surely wouldn't be all that hard to implement) would be nice to have.

When pressing the up/down button to cycle through your main view, the screen simply can't keep up with the speed at which you press (if you press very quickly). It does however register the presses every time and will always, without fail, land on the correct display.

During a run, to pause the activity, hold down the left button. From this pause screen you can either click right to resume the workout, press up and down to view past workouts and change settings respectively, or hold down left again to end the workout. This is really handy as it means you won't be accidentally pausing/stopping your workout halfway through.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- TREADMILL ----

The treadmill function of this watch offers the same goals and viewing options as the the running mode.

The big difference is that you're not using GPS, but instead, the watch's internal accelerometer. This measures, rather accurately in my tests, the distance you have travelled, by working out how many times you swing your arm.
When you have finished your run, you get the option to calibrate your run. This simply means you tell the watch how far you actually ran, generally according to the treadmill. The only issue here is the reliability of the treadmill in question. They, like most pieces of equipment, have to be properly maintained, and if they're not, can give erroneous readings. So, my advice, only calibrate your run if you're extremely confident that the treadmill is correct, or if the watch is obviously wrong.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- CYCLING ----

To get the full cycling experience that this watch has to offer, you must first attach a few things to the bike (supposing that they have been purchased, either separately or in a package deal with the watch). The supplied instruction manuals didn't really help me with this so I sought out some help on YouTube. The following video shows you how to attach the speed and cadence sensor http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NdBNJChtRAY - cable ties are supplied to assist with this. The next step is to attach the bike mount, that allows the screen (once detached from the watch strap) to be secured onto your handlebars. This should have been ridiculously easy, but even after watching the TomTom video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yEOqO9gT6gE - I still struggled, but that probably says more about me than the video. Once on, the bike mount is wonderful, and it's surprising how much easier it is to use the watch when it's in the mount, as opposed to on your wrist. Obviously using it like this will mean you'll need a heart rate chest strap to measure your heart rate during exercise.
The next stage is to go into the bike setting on the watch and set your wheel size. http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17342. This website will quickly explain how to, and most importantly includes a link to a website with a marvellous table that will sort you out.

Once everything was on I attempted to get them connected to the watch. A headache followed as I struggled to get everything to talk to each other. After a decent amount of strife, a simple factory reset done on the computer with the watch plugged in, did the trick, and everything now works peachy.

In the settings of the cycle mode, you can change your wheel size, training goals, and display. In the training goals, everything is the same as with the running, except in 'Zones', you have the option of heart rate, speed, or cadence.

The display in the cycling mode is the same as the running, in terms of the tri-segmented view. The data fields that are available to view are as follows; current time, duration, distance, pace, average pace, speed, average speed, cadence, calories, heart rate, heart rate zone.

On my first bike ride once I had got everything sorted out, the watch found GPS and connected to the heart rate monitor, speed and cadence sensors within around 10-20 seconds.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- SWIMMING ----

In the swimming mode, the watch doesn't use GPS so tracking can't be used if you're swimming in an outdoor pool, or in an open water swim.
In the settings you can set the pool size, which wrist you wear the watch on, your training goals, and what you'd like to be displayed.
You training goals include, distance, time, calories; and within the laps menu, time and distance. You can also have an intervals workout, much like running.
The data fields that can be viewed when swimming as as follows; current time, duration, distance, lengths, SWOLF, strokes and calories.

As of yet, I haven't used this function that extensively, so can't comment on the long term effectiveness and accuracy, but so far it seems pretty spot on.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- STOPWATCH ----

This is a fairly simple stopwatch. Whilst it's running, press the right button to move onto the next lap (of which you can have around 100). Here you simply press the left button to pause (instead of holding it down), which is handy if you are actually timing someone! Make sure to write down times however, as it doesn't save any, and you have no access to stopwatch history. All in all, a nice addition to the software.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- CONCLUSION ----

This is a great watch that can be used for a whole host of activities in addition to the four named above. The question on a lot of people's minds will be, 'is this worth the extra money compared the the older generation of TomTom sports watches?'. That would be largely down to you, and your personal requirements. I think the replacement of the HR chest strap with a watch that does it all itself is brilliant, and just the evolution that the watch needed.

Bottom line : this watch claims to do many different things, and as far as I can tell, does them all with ease. The cons/annoyances labeled below, are just little things that can all be changed with small software tweaks. What you're really buying when you purchase this watch, is the superb hardware, and the continued updates of the software.

Bottom bottom line : if you're on the verge of purchasing this watch, take the leap, you won't be disappointed.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
OVERVIEW
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
Would I recommend this product to a friend? Yes. Definitely.

PROS:
✓ Well designed desk dock
✓ Nice array of accessories (either supplied or purchased separately)
✓ Built in heart rate sensor is, in a word, awesome!
✓ Much improved wrist strap (multiple great new features)
✓ The red/black or red/white design stands out from the crowd, in a good way
✓ Easy to connect to computer and phone
✓ Supremely comfortable
✓ Quickly finds GPS
✓ Export workouts to multiple formats
✓ Simple and intuitive four-way button
✓ Multiple goals/targets for each activity (that include extra graphics to help you at a glance)
✓ TomTom are regularly updating the watch's software
✓ Handy 'How To' videos made by TomTom, covering a wide range of issues you may have

CONS / ANNOYANCES:
✗ Can't delete workouts from within the watch
✗ Can't keep up with multiple fast clicks during a workout, and gets left a screen or two behind (but always gets there within a couple seconds)
✗ No customisation options of in-exercise screens in terms of layout

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
If you have any questions regarding this product, feel free to leave comments down below - I'm happy to help...
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best GPS sport watches, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Multi Sport Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
Been using the watch for the last month and am very impressed.

The heart rate monitor is light based and is more accurate than a chest strap. (Comparing Garmin GPS watch with chest strap)

The watch fits very comfortable on the wrist, you hardly notice it when training.

The hear rate zone function is very useful in finding your optimal pace for the best and most comfortable run.

Tomtom allows you to use either their own app or sync with Runkeeper and another apps as well as directly to excel.

This is one of the best GPS watches with loads of functions and updates pending with improved functions.

P.S if you are looking at the difference between the Multi sport and runners Cardio, more differences will be made as updates roll in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really nice watch with features unlikely to dissapoint, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Multi Sport Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
Overall a very nice watch. It looks good and functions adequately as a watch when not running. The buttons and menu are pretty well thought out which is a good job as there is no manual worth a mention. Satellite based location fix is quick - 3 or 4 seconds usually - though I believe you need to connect it to you PC (or iPhone) quite often to update the satellite quick fix data; this happens automatically when you download you workout onto the MySports application so it is not a problem if you do this anyway.

If you want to compare it to a Garmin, which IMHO is the market leader in the UK, then it stands up really well.

On the negative side it only records laps if you have specifically said you are going to do lap training, otherwise you cannot record laps either manually or automatically. I guess the reasoning is that you determine the type of run you intend to do and that's all you need. It is not a major problem. It also will not do routes, having no form of map display. I have to say I used this less often on my Garmin anyway but it will prevent this becoming my only running watch.

On the positive side, the optical heart rate monitor is great and I love not needing a chest strap. The wide strap allows the watch to be tightened sufficiently to be snug, as required, without feeling too tight. It has brought a new dimension to my running having this information so easily available. The large display is easy to read and the top left and right smaller displays can be tailored to display your preferred information (e.g. total distance and time). It is a little tedious scrolling the large display through all of the possible information items, especially when running, but at least you can. There is an accelerometer that allows it to give a stride count (though no graphs of stride data in the MySports application) and the accelerometer also allows it to be used usefully when swimming but I have not tried this yet.

The web based MySports application is good and there is an iPhone app which is almost identical. The watch will load via the iPhone using Bluetooth which is very handy if you want to view your run away from home. I ran to the station and was able to review the run as soon as I had sat down on the train.

So why doesn't it get 5 stars? After a software update - which it does automatically whenever it is connected to your PC - it stopped working. It froze until the battery flattened twice in succession. The TomTom forums advised a factory reset which gave the appearance of taking all night but in the morning after disconnecting (despite the do not disconnect still being displayed) it seems to be working properly again. This should not happen to an expensive piece of consumer equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a good piece of kit BUT the MySports website is a ..., 10 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Multi Sport Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
This is a good piece of kit BUT the MySports website is a big let down. I managed to set up an account on Mysports and luckily I set up my computer to link my watch with my Strava account also. Since then I can not login to my Mysports account despite changing my password numerous times! Luckily every time that I plug in my watch all of my activities are updated to my Strava account which for me is fine, but not being able to link with the Mysports website does limit some of the watch's features such as the race feature. But as a GPS and heart rate monitor the equipment is fine, the GPS signal is picked up very quickly and has traced me accurately through woody runs. The heart rate monitor is very reliable as long as the watch is strapped securely. For swimming the lap counter is accurate which I was doubtful about as I am a beginner swimmer who stops and starts very frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it should be, 26 Aug 2014
This review is from: TomTom Multi Sport Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
I thought that it was going to be brilliant as on paper the specifications sound really good. Thought it was going to be a Motoactv beater, was pleased with it initially until I realised that as others mention the Heart Rate Monitor drops off too often (although I wear watch as instructed), I would say about 30% of the times it drops off (I would also, say that 10% would be allowable). Also battery runs out very quickly; I'll jog for approx. 30 minutes with just the watch on, then turn the HRM on for about an hour and notice that the battery's run out. As it's advertised/marketed as lasting up to 8 hours, this Is really disappointing. The interval feature and stopwatch feature are good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heart Rate Monitor Issues & Poor Training Tools, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The paper specification and description are a runners dream but it failed to materialise when put to the test. The heart rate monitor consistently failed despite wearing it as instructed i.e. the heart rate feature would stop randomly when into a run in normal weather conditions. The watch does not have advanced features which I had become use to with the Garmin Forerunner 305 & 910XT e.g. interval training set against time and distance not just one or the other. I cannot recommend this watch to anyone who takes their training seriously as it would be a step back. I must give credit to TomTom for pushing an advancement out into the market place as this paves the way for more innovation but this is a miss for me. I will give them another chance when a newer version comes out and fixes the heart rate issue (google this problem, there are hundreds of people with this issue). One excellent thing I can say about the watch is that it has by far the best GPS in a running watch I've had. It locates within seconds and is very accurate. It's a shame it is let down in other department. I hope they have runners and running experts in their development teams..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Does not deliver what it promises, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The watch does not do exactly what it promises. The GPS for running works just fine. However, everything else is a bit of a mess. First of all the heart monitor sometimes goes haywire. You're simply walking and it shows 150 bpm, which is ridiculous. Normally when walking I am working at 90-100 bpm. The only reason it would show 150 bpm is if I was having a heart attack. So what's the point in having a heart rate monitor if it's not reliable...

And now comes the swimming functionality. I swim everyday the same number of laps, with approximately the same speed and finish around the same time. I swim 30 minutes every single time. So what's the distance I swim? I have no idea. One day the watch indicates I swam 400 metres, the next day 700 metres, the next day 200 metres. It's pointless.

The watch is a good idea but I think the technology is not there to do all those things. I mean the technology available at that budget is not there.

PS. I'm giving 2 stars for style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely GPS watch - no Heart rate strap required !, 25 May 2014
By 
A. R. Pye "AP" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Multi Sport Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
For me this watch does exactly what i want and has the huge benefit of heart rate monitoring without the strap.
I used to have the previous Tomtom Multi sport, but have upgraded as I always found Heart rate straps uncomfortable when going for a run. This is superb, it has all the features I need, include being able to complete against my previous runs, but without the need for a strap around your chest. Top marks !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good all rounder, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Multi Sport Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
Only just got back into running but wanted a simple to use GPS watch. I really wanted the ability to track heart rate but I've always found a chest strap a bit fiddly and uncomfortable. This has the perfect solution with the built in sensor on the back of the watch.
It picks up a GPS signal quickly (typically less than 10 seconds for me) as long as it's updated regularly. It can be linked to the TomTom sports app ( I use the iPad version) and this is also linked to (or run by) MapMyRun.
The GPS data seems very accurate (as you may expect) and the heart rate data also seems very reliable (although can't be used during a swim).
Overall for a watch with good functionality that is straightforward to use this seems to tick all the boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gadget, 17 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great watch. TomTom are still updating the watches software which is great as thye are putting on extra options and improvements. It can sync with map my run, strava, tomtom my sports and more workout sites which is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TomTom Multi Sport Cardio GPS Watch - Black
£225.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews