Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, with a minor flaw
Excellent product with a minor flaw , this is a undoubtedly a superb product, very very easy to use on the run, with the Jog dial type navigation button / Interface and nice crisp clear display, it is also very comfortable on. I bought this after selling my Garmin FR620 which I found quite fiddly with a smaller round display more difficult to read on the go particularly...
Published 4 months ago by Elliott Jones

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is a fantastic watch when it's working but I've had 2 now ...
This is a fantastic watch when it's working but I've had 2 now and both have gone faulty within 14 days. Tomtom customer service could not correct the faults so I'm returning the watch for a refund this time.
Published 4 months ago by FirstClassTiger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, with a minor flaw, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product with a minor flaw , this is a undoubtedly a superb product, very very easy to use on the run, with the Jog dial type navigation button / Interface and nice crisp clear display, it is also very comfortable on. I bought this after selling my Garmin FR620 which I found quite fiddly with a smaller round display more difficult to read on the go particularly after long distance. For most runner this would be absolutely fine, but as I'm training Ultra's (30-32 Miles) you need something very easy to use and clear. The heart rate monitor built into the back of the watch is just superb and accurate the results of the GPS and heart rate clearly matching my previous Garmin FR620. The great thing about this watch is the quick pick up of satellite reception, on average it was 3-7 seconds, and for a first time it picked up the satellite in the house and office. This make the run much easy to go straight out rather than standing around for up to 3 minutes with the Garmin

Unfortunately this product was let down firstly by Amazon, the watch I received although immaculate, new and sealed, had 3 previous runs logged on it over and over 9 months ago, which means it must have been used, it also would not pick up satellite, but only on occasion, one out of ever 10 times, I'm guessing it was a faulty unit so duly sent it back. It concerned me also how old the stock was.

The other flaw is that i could only get just under 4 hours usage with the heart rate monitor running, which meant it powered off before I finished my run, so bear in mind if your running anything around that time you need to look at the non cardio version, also if your a regular runner you'd need to keep it charged on a regular basis. You can of course turn the heart rate off and save battery but it defeats the object of having it and you may as well save a £100 and get the non cardio version.

Overall it's superb for most runners it will give you everything you need the real comparison will be against the Garmin FR620, I think the built in Heart rate at the back of the watch is far better than using the HRM which feels constrictive on a run. The website interface and running dynamics are not as comprehensive as the Garmin site, but I guess this will catch up.

So in summary the positives;

Built in Heart rate monitor in the back of the watch - no Heart rate strap required
Very fast satellite reception 3-7 seconds faster than any other GPS watch
Easy to read display, nice display mix on the go
Easy to Navigate using the jog dial, navigation interface
Very comfortable to wear.
Standby battery life is excellent, i've left it a week and it's still fully charged, my Garmin gradually wore the battery down in a few days even on standby

Negatives;
Poor battery life around 3.5 - 4 hours with the heart rate running

check you watch is not used by looking under the activities section!

Also for a more indepth review type "DC Rainmaker Tom Tom runner review" into google
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I see the light..., 26 Jun 2014
By 
DARKcell - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: TomTom Runner Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
Length:: 1:16 Mins

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
DISCLOSURE:
I was kindly supplied this item free of charge to test and evaluate. In exchange, I agreed to provide an honest review detailing my thoughts. This is said review.
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

This is going to be a lengthy review - you've been warned.

If you already own the old TomTom sports watch, and you're just interested in how this newer model is better/different, then jump to the second section entitled 'OLD WATCH vs NEW WATCH'.

This review will attempt to encompass the entire new range of TomTom sports watches, with comparisons against the old range where applicable. For this reason, it will be posted on multiple product pages, to assist you in your purchasing decision. For the remainder of the review, any reference to the 'new' watch, will mean the cardio watch (with a red wrist strap and heart rate monitor built into its wrist strap) - and any reference to the 'old' watch, will be referring to the previous generation (with the grey wrist strap, and no heart rate monitor built into the wrist strap). The watch splits into two (shown in the video), the wrist strap, and the watch module, I will often refer to these separately.

Now that that's out of the way, let's move onto some range differences that newcomers to the TomTom range may find helpful.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- RANGE DIFFERENCES & ACCESSORIES ----

All watches past and present come with an instruction manual and desk dock. The desk dock enables you to connect your watch to your computer to charge and update to the latest software. It is very slick. The detachable watch module (that comes away from the strap) slots in easily and is positioned at such an angle that you can still see the screen if need be. The bottom of the dock is a lovely rubberised material that stops it from slipping around the desk. This means you can have the wire out of sight with the dock simply popping its head over the back of your desk taking up very little room, whilst not worrying about it falling off, never to be found again.

There are effectively four TomTom sports watches you could purchase; the old Runner, the new Runner, the old Multi-Sport and the new Multi-Sport. I will attempt (!) to clearly explain the differences, so that you can make an informed purchasing decision.

I will first address the differences between the Runner, and the Multi-Sport. This will apply to both old and new watches:
- The Runner only supports the activities of 'Run' and 'Treadmill'. This means that even if you were to purchase the biking accessories (cadence/speed sensors), the watch still wouldn't connect to them.
- The Multi-Sport support all activities; 'Run', 'Treadmill', 'Bike' and 'Swim'. Depending on the package you purchase, it may or may not come with the biking accessories (cadence/speed sensors) that physically attach to your bike. This means that you've got to make a decision prior to purchasing about whether or not you will EVER want the ability to track your bike rides or swims, if so, go for the Multi-Sport. If you only ever run, either outside or on a treadmill, and literally never want to track a bike ride or swim, then go for the Runner.
- With regards to accessories, the Runner comes with nothing extra. The Multi-Sport comes with a handlebar mount, enabling you to attach the watch module (without the wrist strap) to your bike's handlebars and use all of its functionality. Obviously with the new, cardio watch, this means you can't use the built in heart rate sensor, but you'll be happy to hear you can connect the new watch to an external heart rate monitor (chest strap), for use when cycling, or indeed during any other sports.

Hopefully, after reading the above, you have a clear picture about whether or not you wish to purchase the Runner, or the Multi-Sport. Now you need to decide between the old version, or the new cardio version. The following section should hopefully help you with this decision.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- OLD WATCH vs NEW WATCH (applies to both Runner and Multi-Sport) ----

If you already own the old watch, or are simply trying to decide on which range (old or new) to purchase, then this section will outline how the new watch differs from the old. The differences are purely hardware, as the software version of old and new remain the same (and TomTom have stated that they will continue to support both in terms of software updates). The attached video briefly shows all of the below points on the new cardio watch.

Built in heart rate sensor (on the old watch, you had to wear a chest strap):
- This is obviously the main difference. There is a sensor (with two green lights) on the back of the watch module. When worn as a watch, this sensor sits against the top of your wrist, and reads your heart rate from the slight colour changes in your skin. You may have seen this type of technology before as many smartphones are now capable of doing a similar thing. I can place my finger against the camera of my iPhone, and it will tell me my heart rate. This tech is along the same lines. I've had this watch for a month now, and all indications point to it being extremely accurate. I've tested it against the aforementioned phone app, chest strap and indeed just the good old fashioned finger-on-pulse-whilst-staring-at-clock method. My heart rate is always within 2-3bpms across all methods of testing. So this new range's main selling feature, would appear to work brilliantly. A great start.

Wrist strap:
- This is a change which wasn't really apparent to me when looking at screenshots, but for me, it is a major alteration. Simply put, the new strap is VASTLY better than the old one.
- The metal teeth that go through the holes on the other side of the strap are now three in number, as opposed to the old strap, with two. This may seem like a small change, but during use, it just feels that little bit more secure.
- The material over the entire wrist strap now feels a lot more premium, with a rubberised finish, as opposed to plastic. During exercise, this again feels more secure, and in my opinion, deals better with sweat.
- The watch module (the main removable 'watch' part) is now better held in place. This is achieved by the sides of the wrist strap curving a little around the back of the watch. It's a little hard to explain, but bottom line, the watch module now doesn't pop-out by accident, like it did on occasion previously.
- The new watch doesn't have what I am calling a 'keeper'. The keeper being the small piece of plastic/material that once the watch is one your wrist, you tuck the strap under to keep it from flapping around. Almost all watches have them, this new cardio watch doesn't. Instead, it has three little plastic nodules that securely fasten into the other strap. It's simple, it works, it's comfy and it stops the strap flying around once and for all. Perfect.
- Oh yeah, and the colours of either red/black or red/white, look brilliant.

The four way button on the new watches, is now encircled by silver.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

The remainder of the review, will be covering the process of connecting the watch to the computer, as well as going into detail about the software, and what functionality it has. If you own an old TomTom sports watch, you will already be familiar with most of the below. If you've never used a TomTom sports watch, then the rest of the review will be worth reading. Remember, if you are considering a purchase of a TomTom Runner watch, then the below 'CYCLING' and 'SWIMMING' sections won't apply to you. I've left them in, as the extra info can't hurt, and might help you make a decision.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- FIRST IMPRESSIONS AND AESTHETICS ----

This watch came wonderfully packaged in a beautiful presentation box that would easily attract attention on any store shelf. Upon opening you are greeted by the watch, sitting proudly above all accessories and user manuals neatly boxed beneath. The watch is actually two parts, the wrist strap and the watch module. They detach from one another so that the watch module can sit in the computer dock, or in the bike mount. This works surprisingly well and is a doodle to take apart and put back together on a regular basis. The strap is a rubber material that helps with grip when sweating. When being worn on your wrist, even for extended periods of time, it is extremely comfortable. My everyday watch is a G-Shock and this offering from TomTom easily surpasses it in terms of everyday comfort. I think this is largely due to the fact that you not only have the solid rear of the watch against your arm, but also the curved segment that slots into the computer docking station.

Upon first using the watch, you should connect to your computer. This is so you can properly set it up, and download all of the latest software, as well as the latest GPS data. This will mean that when you first use the watch for exercise, it will find satellites within 10-20 seconds - and it works! By pressing the left button on the watch, you can see (indicated by a tick) whether or not the QuickGPS is up to date.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- COMPUTER CONNECTION AND RELATED WEBSITES ----

Some will say that a wired connection is a strange idea considering watches like the Garmin 910XT use Bluetooth to transfer data to and from the watch. Whilst this was my initial thinking as well, I've come to realise that for me at least, it doesn't really make a difference. You have to plug in both watches to charge them at some point, and why not sit it in a nice dock and have data transferred that way. With the Garmin 910XT I have had some issues with the Bluetooth transfer. Quite often the computer just doesn't seem to realise the watch is nearby so I end up sitting there trying to get them to communicate for five minutes, which is rather boring.

The two websites that are linked from within the watch's computer software are the TomTom MySports website, and 'MapMyFitness'. Both are as you would imagine, detailing heart rate and sport-specific information, as well as showing a map of your route. MapMyFitness also have an iOS app that will enable you to view your activities whilst on the go. This is handy, but is only a 'lite' version so to see more detailed information you are encouraged to upgrade to premium, which I haven't.

The data on all of your workouts can be exported into formats KML, CSV, GPX, FIT and TCX. This enables you to upload them to virtually any of your favourite fitness websites, including ones such as RunKeeper and Strava.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- WATCH FUNCTIONALITY AND SETTINGS ----

The watch functionality is at its very core, simple. There are four buttons laid out in a square that do everything. In addition to these, you have a small touch sensitive 'button' on the right side of the screen that activates the watch's light. What I'll call the 'home screen' (what you would stare at on a regular basis if you wore this as an every day watch), consists of the current time and date (as well as a small symbol when it is connected to your phone via bluetooth).

Pressing the left button on the square brings you to the 'Watch status' screen. This shows you the battery, storage, status of QuickGPS, version number and serial number. Simply pressing left or right, or indeed leaving the screen for 30 seconds will bring you back to the home screen.

By pressing the down button from the home screen you arrive at the 'Settings' screen. From here you have six options, 'Clock', 'Sensors', 'Phone', 'FlightMode', 'Options' and 'Profile'. Below I'll briefly explain what each option can do:
- Clock - Set time/date and an alarm, as well as choose between 12/24hr display. This is largely unnecessary if you've set the watch up on your computer.
- Sensors - Tell the watch to use the built in heart rate monitor, or look for an external one, or have it off completely. You can also turn on/off the watch's ability to located the accessories for cycling.
- Phone - Here you can sync your smart phone to your watch. With TomTom's new 'MySports' app, you can easily view all of your workout data on your phone. In my opinion this is a huge leap forward from a year ago - the app is great (and free).
- Flight Mode - Turn off the watch's ability to communicate with anything wirelessly.
- Options - Change units (in which you CAN have miles/KG if you're that way inclined). Change whether or not the watch clicks and buzzes when you press a button. Go into demo mode. Turn night mode on/off. There is also a 'Lock' option, that after playing around with for a while, I still can't work out what it does!
- Profile - You can change language, weight, height, age and gender. Again, all things you will have done on the computer in your initial setup.

A single press of the right button from the home screen brings you to the 'Activities' menu. From here you can choose between, 'Run', 'Cycle', 'Swim', 'Treadmill' or 'Stopwatch'. After choosing one of these options, you are brought to what I call the 'Ready' screen. This will show you the status of GPS, the battery remaining, and with what accessories the watch has a connection. When you have found a GPS signal (if your chosen activity requires one) the screen will show 'GO', and a press of the right button will begin your workout. From the 'Ready' screen, you can press up to see a helpful list of your history in that specific activity, or down for sport-specific settings, which I will address further in their respective sections below. In the history section, you currently can't, but it would be nice in the future to be able to delete exercise sessions, without having to upload them to the computer/phone and then delete them from there.

Scrolling between menus is quick and easy. The latest versions of this software mean that there is normally no lag in between menus.

An issue that some people may have, is that you can only store five separate activities on the watch, before the memory is full, and they need to be uploaded to the computer/phone. If you're going away for a week/end filled with exercise and won't have access to a computer/phone, I can see this being a problem. But then again, who doesn't have their phone nearby nowadays, so it shouldn't be a major issue for most.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- RUNNING ----

Before setting off on your run, you can choose what kind of training you're after by pressing down from the aforementioned 'Ready' screen. You have five options:
- None - No target, just run.
- Goals - Choose between a distance, time or calorie goal.
- Intervals -This allows you to create a workout with a warmup, workout and rest period, all consisting of a user-chosen time or distance. You can then choose the number of sets, and your cool down time/distance.
- Laps - Here you can set your laps either by time, distance or manually
- Zones - You can choose what pace range or heart rate zone you wish to work out in, and the watch will help you stay there.
- Race - This mode allows you to race against your past self.

Each of the above (not including 'None') modes come with an attractive extra screen located to the right of the main running screen that assists you with your targets. For example, if you choose 'Race', you'll get a picture of a road with two arrows. One is you now, and one is your past self. There is also number at the bottom of the screen showing how far in front or behind you are. This may sound a little gimmicky, but is actually extremely helpful at motivating you to push that little extra and get a PB. Thumbs up.

After a month of ownership, these are my findings:

Once the watch had been setup on the computer, it found GPS signal and my heart rate within 10-20 seconds with no issue. Even during exercising, the watch is very comfortable, much more so in my opinion that the 910XT. The GPS data is very accurate, visibly (on the map once the activity has been uploaded) tracking me when I left the pitch to collect the ball following a wayward shot in a 5-a-side football match. During a run, your access to certain settings and options is limited, more so than I would like. Whilst running, you can't change the night mode on/off setting or the units your run is shown in. Both of which seem small, but they would be handy additions through a software update.

Your standard run screen consists of three parts (in addition to GPS status, heart rate monitor connection status and battery remaining being displayed along the bottom), a main section and two smaller sections at the top right and top left. The top two smaller sections can statically display any of the information displayed on the main display. The main centralised display shows the current time, and by scrolling using the down button also shows, duration, distance, pace, average pace, speed, average speed, calories, heart rate and heart rate zone, in that order. It is a non-looping list, meaning that if you were to keep pressing the down button, you would still end up at heart rate. I like this as it means that when you get to know the order of the list, you can press up/down x times and know where you'll land. Alternatively, madly pressing the up button a dozen times will always show the current time. Simple and effective.

I have my top two segments saved as duration and distance. On a run and at a glance, it can be easy to forget exactly what you've set these sections to show (as they only show a number, and no unit explanation). An extremely handy touch, that shows these watches have been tested in the real world before going on sale is that when pressing the up/down button to cycle through the main display, the top two segments are filled for a couple of seconds with an explanation of what they are showing, before jumping back to the numbers. Sounds like a small almost pointless addition, but I've found it helpful even from the first run.

I think there should be the ability to edit the overall layout of the standard run screen. The 910XT provides four separate screens each that you can slice into as many segments as you wish, to then scroll through at your leisure. This TomTom watch has one main run screen that has three segments. If I'm completely honest, given the ability to edit the screen, I would probably end up with something extremely similar, if not exactly the same as what is already provided, but the option (that surely wouldn't be all that hard to implement) would be nice to have.

When pressing the up/down button to cycle through your main view, the screen simply can't keep up with the speed at which you press (if you press very quickly). It does however register the presses every time and will always, without fail, land on the correct display.

During a run, to pause the activity, hold down the left button. From this pause screen you can either click right to resume the workout, press up and down to view past workouts and change settings respectively, or hold down left again to end the workout. This is really handy as it means you won't be accidentally pausing/stopping your workout halfway through.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- TREADMILL ----

The treadmill function of this watch offers the same goals and viewing options as the the running mode.

The big difference is that you're not using GPS, but instead, the watch's internal accelerometer. This measures, rather accurately in my tests, the distance you have travelled, by working out how many times you swing your arm.
When you have finished your run, you get the option to calibrate your run. This simply means you tell the watch how far you actually ran, generally according to the treadmill. The only issue here is the reliability of the treadmill in question. They, like most pieces of equipment, have to be properly maintained, and if they're not, can give erroneous readings. So, my advice, only calibrate your run if you're extremely confident that the treadmill is correct, or if the watch is obviously wrong.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- CYCLING ----

To get the full cycling experience that this watch has to offer, you must first attach a few things to the bike (supposing that they have been purchased, either separately or in a package deal with the watch). The supplied instruction manuals didn't really help me with this so I sought out some help on YouTube. The following video shows you how to attach the speed and cadence sensor [...] - cable ties are supplied to assist with this. The next step is to attach the bike mount, that allows the screen (once detached from the watch strap) to be secured onto your handlebars. This should have been ridiculously easy, but even after watching the TomTom video - [...] - I still struggled, but that probably says more about me than the video. Once on, the bike mount is wonderful, and it's surprising how much easier it is to use the watch when it's in the mount, as opposed to on your wrist. Obviously using it like this will mean you'll need a heart rate chest strap to measure your heart rate during exercise.
The next stage is to go into the bike setting on the watch and set your wheel size. [...]. This website will quickly explain how to, and most importantly includes a link to a website with a marvellous table that will sort you out.

Once everything was on I attempted to get them connected to the watch. A headache followed as I struggled to get everything to talk to each other. After a decent amount of strife, a simple factory reset done on the computer with the watch plugged in, did the trick, and everything now works peachy.

In the settings of the cycle mode, you can change your wheel size, training goals, and display. In the training goals, everything is the same as with the running, except in 'Zones', you have the option of heart rate, speed, or cadence.

The display in the cycling mode is the same as the running, in terms of the tri-segmented view. The data fields that are available to view are as follows; current time, duration, distance, pace, average pace, speed, average speed, cadence, calories, heart rate, heart rate zone.

On my first bike ride once I had got everything sorted out, the watch found GPS and connected to the heart rate monitor, speed and cadence sensors within around 10-20 seconds.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- SWIMMING ----

In the swimming mode, the watch doesn't use GPS so tracking can't be used if you're swimming in an outdoor pool, or in an open water swim.
In the settings you can set the pool size, which wrist you wear the watch on, your training goals, and what you'd like to be displayed.
You training goals include, distance, time, calories; and within the laps menu, time and distance. You can also have an intervals workout, much like running.
The data fields that can be viewed when swimming as as follows; current time, duration, distance, lengths, SWOLF, strokes and calories.

As of yet, I haven't used this function that extensively, so can't comment on the long term effectiveness and accuracy, but so far it seems pretty spot on.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- STOPWATCH ----

This is a fairly simple stopwatch. Whilst it's running, press the right button to move onto the next lap (of which you can have around 100). Here you simply press the left button to pause (instead of holding it down), which is handy if you are actually timing someone! Make sure to write down times however, as it doesn't save any, and you have no access to stopwatch history. All in all, a nice addition to the software.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- CONCLUSION ----

This is a great watch that can be used for a whole host of activities in addition to the four named above. The question on a lot of people's minds will be, 'is this worth the extra money compared the the older generation of TomTom sports watches?'. That would be largely down to you, and your personal requirements. I think the replacement of the HR chest strap with a watch that does it all itself is brilliant, and just the evolution that the watch needed.

Bottom line : this watch claims to do many different things, and as far as I can tell, does them all with ease. The cons/annoyances labeled below, are just little things that can all be changed with small software tweaks. What you're really buying when you purchase this watch, is the superb hardware, and the continued updates of the software.

Bottom bottom line : if you're on the verge of purchasing this watch, take the leap, you won't be disappointed.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
OVERVIEW
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
Would I recommend this product to a friend? Yes. Definitely.

PROS:
✓ Well designed desk dock
✓ Nice array of accessories (either supplied or purchased separately)
✓ Built in heart rate sensor is, in a word, awesome!
✓ Much improved wrist strap (multiple great new features)
✓ The red/black or red/white design stands out from the crowd, in a good way
✓ Easy to connect to computer and phone
✓ Supremely comfortable
✓ Quickly finds GPS
✓ Export workouts to multiple formats
✓ Simple and intuitive four-way button
✓ Multiple goals/targets for each activity (that include extra graphics to help you at a glance)
✓ TomTom are regularly updating the watch's software
✓ Handy 'How To' videos made by TomTom, covering a wide range of issues you may have

CONS / ANNOYANCES:
✗ Can't delete workouts from within the watch
✗ Can't keep up with multiple fast clicks during a workout, and gets left a screen or two behind (but always gets there within a couple seconds)
✗ No customisation options of in-exercise screens in terms of layout

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
If you have any questions regarding this product, feel free to leave comments down below - I'm happy to help...
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is a fantastic watch when it's working but I've had 2 now ..., 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Runner Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
This is a fantastic watch when it's working but I've had 2 now and both have gone faulty within 14 days. Tomtom customer service could not correct the faults so I'm returning the watch for a refund this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Accurate BPm and GPS Monitoring. Great Practical Device, 23 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Runner Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
I read some of the reviews for this running tracker, and I had to admit, I was a little worried, as I read a bunch of reviews after already buying it. Most of the issues seemed to centre around the accuracy of the BPM monitoring.
So I ran the first time I had ran with it, I also had my heart strap on and polar device on my other wrist.
I also ran with my iPhone strava app running to compare the accuracy of the GPS.

The heart rate monitor was accurate to 1BPM every time I looked down to my wrist, and the GPS appears to be more accurate than the iPhone.

It's really easy to navigate with the big button at the front, and it only takes a moment for the GPS to be detected.
I can't speak much to the battery life, however, as I tend to not do any runs over 15km.
So, I found no issues that other people seemed to have had.

You can, if you like, run with an iPhone or Android device with a free app and a heart strap and get pretty much the same results. In fact, if you're cash strapped, I'd recommend doing that.

But this allows me to ditch both my iPhone and my strap, si i think it's worth the effort. I was in two minds on whether I should've waited for the UP3 from JawBone, but decided on this device, as it was more focussed on running.

The app that comes with it is easy to set up and use. It also seemlessly syncs with Strava
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but expensive for what it does, 29 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Runner Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
This was a huge purchase for me as I'm only just getting into running. It does everything you'd expect but it's just slightly too big to wear as a normal watch (or maybe I have small wrists?). It'd be awesome if it could upload your stats automatically as well, rather than having to plug it in each time. I've used it alongside Strava a few times and, although they show slightly different timings, distances, calories, etc., I'd trust the watch over a phone app... though the phone app is free!

Pro's
+ Easy to use
+ Comfortable when running
+ Tracks accurately

Con's
- Slightly too big to wear as a normal watch
- Nonstandard charging wire (so don't lose it!)
- The app isn't great, but the desktop site makes up for it
- Mega expensive

I don't know if I'd recommend it just yet... it depends on how much of a hardcore runner you are. I go maybe twice a week to keep fit and like analysing my runs - but I don't know if it justifies the price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rrrrrrrrrrrrrun!, 10 Sep 2014
By 
C Buchan "chuckan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Runner Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
So far so good.

This is an excellent GPS running watch.

Once received I updated it with my computer without a bother and then I was off running. So far it has always found my location quickly and normally beats my girlfriend's Garman runner watch.

I like the interface although I haven't attempted to use the race myself options yet. It syncs well online and allows for updating my new mysports account as well as my existing mapmyrun so I've got everything to monitor my progress and compare with the past.

One very very minor issue I found is that it's always best to take the interface out of the plastic strap when syncing. The first few times I didn't (laziness) and it got stuck in the docker. It then required a bit of force to get it out. The watch is fine but it's ALWAYS best to remove it from the strap as it moves in and out of the docker very easily then.

Anyway in short I'm really pleased I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GPS function not reliable, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This watch has a great GPS function and I've found the computer interface and online recording has worked every time. It would get 5 stars but I, like another poster, have found the HR monitor function doesn't work on my wrist. I had hoped to be able to dispense with the chest band but this isn't the case, which is a shame. As i'm more interested in GPS tracking its an irritant rather than a disaster.
Still a good sports watch which I have worn while windsurfing and it has tracked my runs faultlessly, Its great to see them overlaid on Google maps later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The GPS function is very good, battery life seems OK to me but I ..., 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Runner Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
The GPS function is very good, battery life seems OK to me but I have charged it after each run.

My Heart Rate monitor has stopped working after a few runs, which is very disappointing given this is the only reason I chose to purchase this watch. Amazon are giving a full refund so I am currently debating whether to purchase another or switch to Garmin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small screen, use functions need improving, integrated HRM is its saving grace, 31 Oct 2014
By 
A. Nicholaou (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TomTom Runner Cardio GPS Watch - Black (Electronics)
Please note that this review is coming from someone that has not used any other sports watch.

Functionality

This watch has not yet matured. It still has a way to go with its display regime and website.
As it stands, if it didn't have the integrated HRM it would only get a 1 or 2 star rating.
TomTom have tried to make this watch easy to use whilst out running but in doing so have limited its flexibility. For example, it did not allow me to change the sprint time of my interval run whilst I'm running after I realised I set too long a sprint interval. Allowing you to change fields after you press start should be a no brainer. I had to stop then start it all over again, which meant I now had two runs logged instead of one, which is what it was, one run. There are probably more examples like this [I will update again].

On the watch you can't delete runs that you no longer want or were started by mistake. So you could have a bunch of useless 5, 10, 12 second entries clogging up your history. You can only delete them from the website [see below].

When on heart rate zone (ie heart beat range) the watch displays a series of vertical bars as an attempt to show when you are in or out of your chosen heart beat range whilst the numerical heart rate number/digits is tiny and unreadable in the bottom left hand corner. The bars are so unnecessary, all you need is the readable heart rate number with up or down arrows popping up when you are out of your chosen heart beat range. Currently it is very badly implemented.

The Toggle Button

The toggle button is a clever idea but I think it makes it longer to get to a function. It's kind of press, press, press, press, press, press, press to start a run, if you make a mistake, you have to do it all over again press, press, press, press, press, press, press. I think it needs augmenting with side buttons.
You should at least be able to create runs on the website, download them to the watch, then press the toggle at most twice to start your custom run. So where you find a list of activities on the watch, there will also be the downloaded custom run created by you. So, you press the toggle button to the right to select your custom run then press again to start.

The Screen

The screen is too small for my liking, though one can live with that however, for the price, TomTom is short-changing their customers with such a small screen.
The main problem is the size of the info displayed.
The watch only offers 3 fields of data - two small, top right and left and one large in the middle.
Obviously the designers of the displayed data are not runners and probably don't wear reading glasses.
The small data items displayed are just not visible in low light and difficult to read during the day, especially if you are long sighted.
The middle item is large, great, but can be made smaller to allow the other data displayed to be bigger. This is why I say the screen is just too small.
Most people want four items of data displayed, TomTom went with three, bad call.

The Website

The website is very badly laid out. For example if you want to see your heart rate at various points on the map, you can't, at least not on my 15" screen because of the layout. They are both on the same webpage but too far apart.
If you want to delete runs that were started by mistake or that you no longer want, you can only do it by the laborious process of deleting them one by one. When you have deleted a run it does not take you back to the list of remaining runs so that you can select the next run to delete but takes you to the Dashboard which has nothing to do with what you are trying to do ie delete runs. This is stupid. Even if you didn't want to delete anymore runs there is no reason to default you to the Dashboard. More than likely you will want to stay in Activities. TomTom, if you are reading this, it is really simple, place tick boxes next to each run and a delete button (think e-mail inbox).

I'm not sure about this, but even if your watch is connected to the website when you delete these runs they are not immediately deleted off your watch unless you re-insert the usb.
The website needs major re-working.
Having said all this you can use other better websites instead of the TomTom website, but how compatible they are with the watch itself, I don't know.

The HRM

First you must wear the watch tight ie the first holes that produce a firm hold.

The HRM seems to work fine though I don't know how accurate (ie how many plus-or-minus beats from real heart rate) it is but others say it is as good if not better than the chest strap monitors. I don't think any consumer HRM out there is beat for beat accurate.
I have seen it spike, especially in the first 10 minutes, after which it seems steady.
The integrated HRM is the best part about the watch. It means no chest strap which means less hassle. You don't have to worry about wetting a chest strap or static ruining your readings from wearing high tech synthetic tops.

GPS

My first attempt at using this watch produced a very bad GPS route, perhaps because I was walking. On running it has been pretty good but still not quite as good as my phone. If you click to see the route in satellite mode the route trace does improve meaning that TomTom's own map is what is inaccurate and not so much the GPS data collect by the watch.

My phone, even when in my pocket has no trouble tracking my route and the measured distance is more accurate. With my phone, my measured 5Km run is between 0 to +60m out. With the Cardio Runner, on my one and only measured run so far was -130m out. That is unacceptable for a 5km run, so hopefully this was an aberration. If this doesn't improve it is going back to TomTom. GPS is their bread and butter, my aging phone should not be doing better on this score.

Battery

The battery is more than enough for my multiple 30min-1hr weekly runs. In watch mode it will last many days if not many weeks which means you can leave it lying around until your next run without charging it. However because you are more likely to download your runs, it will get charged anyway.

Conclusion

The watch needs some alterations especially the info display size and less presses to start your run.
The website needs reworking.
The integrated HRM is a great convenience and why I bought the watch. I can put up with the issues mentioned above but I'm not happy about them. TomTom can easily rework most of them.
The jury is still out on the GPS distance calculations. I will update as a do more runs. Certainly Google maps displays the route more accurately than TomTom's map does so the watch knows where it is on route.
The watch is waterproof which is a great feature. Some so called water resistant watches mist up.
It has a great battery life for multiple 30-40 mins runs, don't know about marathon runs but it should, according to the specs, last well over a 3 or 4 hour marathon.

Misc

You will have problems installing the software TomTom MySportConnect on your computer as a non admin user. You have to have admin permissions. I've tried using Window's Shared Documents folder and run it from there, it works, but you lose some functionality of the mysportconnect application which makes it awkward to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I see the light..., 6 Aug 2014
By 
DARKcell - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Length:: 1:16 Mins

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
DISCLOSURE:
I was kindly supplied this item free of charge to test and evaluate. In exchange, I agreed to provide an honest review detailing my thoughts. This is said review.
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

This is going to be a lengthy review - you've been warned.

If you already own the old TomTom sports watch, and you're just interested in how this newer model is better/different, then jump to the second section entitled 'OLD WATCH vs NEW WATCH'.

This review will attempt to encompass the entire new range of TomTom sports watches, with comparisons against the old range where applicable. For this reason, it will be posted on multiple product pages, to assist you in your purchasing decision. For the remainder of the review, any reference to the 'new' watch, will mean the cardio watch (with a red wrist strap and heart rate monitor built into its wrist strap) - and any reference to the 'old' watch, will be referring to the previous generation (with the grey wrist strap, and no heart rate monitor built into the wrist strap). The watch splits into two (shown in the video), the wrist strap, and the watch module, I will often refer to these separately.

Now that that's out of the way, let's move onto some range differences that newcomers to the TomTom range may find helpful.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- RANGE DIFFERENCES & ACCESSORIES ----

All watches past and present come with an instruction manual and desk dock. The desk dock enables you to connect your watch to your computer to charge and update to the latest software. It is very slick. The detachable watch module (that comes away from the strap) slots in easily and is positioned at such an angle that you can still see the screen if need be. The bottom of the dock is a lovely rubberised material that stops it from slipping around the desk. This means you can have the wire out of sight with the dock simply popping its head over the back of your desk taking up very little room, whilst not worrying about it falling off, never to be found again.

There are effectively four TomTom sports watches you could purchase; the old Runner, the new Runner, the old Multi-Sport and the new Multi-Sport. I will attempt (!) to clearly explain the differences, so that you can make an informed purchasing decision.

I will first address the differences between the Runner, and the Multi-Sport. This will apply to both old and new watches:
- The Runner only supports the activities of 'Run' and 'Treadmill'. This means that even if you were to purchase the biking accessories (cadence/speed sensors), the watch still wouldn't connect to them.
- The Multi-Sport support all activities; 'Run', 'Treadmill', 'Bike' and 'Swim'. Depending on the package you purchase, it may or may not come with the biking accessories (cadence/speed sensors) that physically attach to your bike. This means that you've got to make a decision prior to purchasing about whether or not you will EVER want the ability to track your bike rides or swims, if so, go for the Multi-Sport. If you only ever run, either outside or on a treadmill, and literally never want to track a bike ride or swim, then go for the Runner.
- With regards to accessories, the Runner comes with nothing extra. The Multi-Sport comes with a handlebar mount, enabling you to attach the watch module (without the wrist strap) to your bike's handlebars and use all of its functionality. Obviously with the new, cardio watch, this means you can't use the built in heart rate sensor, but you'll be happy to hear you can connect the new watch to an external heart rate monitor (chest strap), for use when cycling, or indeed during any other sports.

Hopefully, after reading the above, you have a clear picture about whether or not you wish to purchase the Runner, or the Multi-Sport. Now you need to decide between the old version, or the new cardio version. The following section should hopefully help you with this decision.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- OLD WATCH vs NEW WATCH (applies to both Runner and Multi-Sport) ----

If you already own the old watch, or are simply trying to decide on which range (old or new) to purchase, then this section will outline how the new watch differs from the old. The differences are purely hardware, as the software version of old and new remain the same (and TomTom have stated that they will continue to support both in terms of software updates). The attached video briefly shows all of the below points on the new cardio watch.

Built in heart rate sensor (on the old watch, you had to wear a chest strap):
- This is obviously the main difference. There is a sensor (with two green lights) on the back of the watch module. When worn as a watch, this sensor sits against the top of your wrist, and reads your heart rate from the slight colour changes in your skin. You may have seen this type of technology before as many smartphones are now capable of doing a similar thing. I can place my finger against the camera of my iPhone, and it will tell me my heart rate. This tech is along the same lines. I've had this watch for a month now, and all indications point to it being extremely accurate. I've tested it against the aforementioned phone app, chest strap and indeed just the good old fashioned finger-on-pulse-whilst-staring-at-clock method. My heart rate is always within 2-3bpms across all methods of testing. So this new range's main selling feature, would appear to work brilliantly. A great start.

Wrist strap:
- This is a change which wasn't really apparent to me when looking at screenshots, but for me, it is a major alteration. Simply put, the new strap is VASTLY better than the old one.
- The metal teeth that go through the holes on the other side of the strap are now three in number, as opposed to the old strap, with two. This may seem like a small change, but during use, it just feels that little bit more secure.
- The material over the entire wrist strap now feels a lot more premium, with a rubberised finish, as opposed to plastic. During exercise, this again feels more secure, and in my opinion, deals better with sweat.
- The watch module (the main removable 'watch' part) is now better held in place. This is achieved by the sides of the wrist strap curving a little around the back of the watch. It's a little hard to explain, but bottom line, the watch module now doesn't pop-out by accident, like it did on occasion previously.
- The new watch doesn't have what I am calling a 'keeper'. The keeper being the small piece of plastic/material that once the watch is one your wrist, you tuck the strap under to keep it from flapping around. Almost all watches have them, this new cardio watch doesn't. Instead, it has three little plastic nodules that securely fasten into the other strap. It's simple, it works, it's comfy and it stops the strap flying around once and for all. Perfect.
- Oh yeah, and the colours of either red/black or red/white, look brilliant.

The four way button on the new watches, is now encircled by silver.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

The remainder of the review, will be covering the process of connecting the watch to the computer, as well as going into detail about the software, and what functionality it has. If you own an old TomTom sports watch, you will already be familiar with most of the below. If you've never used a TomTom sports watch, then the rest of the review will be worth reading. Remember, if you are considering a purchase of a TomTom Runner watch, then the below 'CYCLING' and 'SWIMMING' sections won't apply to you. I've left them in, as the extra info can't hurt, and might help you make a decision.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- FIRST IMPRESSIONS AND AESTHETICS ----

This watch came wonderfully packaged in a beautiful presentation box that would easily attract attention on any store shelf. Upon opening you are greeted by the watch, sitting proudly above all accessories and user manuals neatly boxed beneath. The watch is actually two parts, the wrist strap and the watch module. They detach from one another so that the watch module can sit in the computer dock, or in the bike mount. This works surprisingly well and is a doodle to take apart and put back together on a regular basis. The strap is a rubber material that helps with grip when sweating. When being worn on your wrist, even for extended periods of time, it is extremely comfortable. My everyday watch is a G-Shock and this offering from TomTom easily surpasses it in terms of everyday comfort. I think this is largely due to the fact that you not only have the solid rear of the watch against your arm, but also the curved segment that slots into the computer docking station.

Upon first using the watch, you should connect to your computer. This is so you can properly set it up, and download all of the latest software, as well as the latest GPS data. This will mean that when you first use the watch for exercise, it will find satellites within 10-20 seconds - and it works! By pressing the left button on the watch, you can see (indicated by a tick) whether or not the QuickGPS is up to date.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- COMPUTER CONNECTION AND RELATED WEBSITES ----

Some will say that a wired connection is a strange idea considering watches like the Garmin 910XT use Bluetooth to transfer data to and from the watch. Whilst this was my initial thinking as well, I've come to realise that for me at least, it doesn't really make a difference. You have to plug in both watches to charge them at some point, and why not sit it in a nice dock and have data transferred that way. With the Garmin 910XT I have had some issues with the Bluetooth transfer. Quite often the computer just doesn't seem to realise the watch is nearby so I end up sitting there trying to get them to communicate for five minutes, which is rather boring.

The two websites that are linked from within the watch's computer software are the TomTom MySports website, and 'MapMyFitness'. Both are as you would imagine, detailing heart rate and sport-specific information, as well as showing a map of your route. MapMyFitness also have an iOS app that will enable you to view your activities whilst on the go. This is handy, but is only a 'lite' version so to see more detailed information you are encouraged to upgrade to premium, which I haven't.

The data on all of your workouts can be exported into formats KML, CSV, GPX, FIT and TCX. This enables you to upload them to virtually any of your favourite fitness websites, including ones such as RunKeeper and Strava.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- WATCH FUNCTIONALITY AND SETTINGS ----

The watch functionality is at its very core, simple. There are four buttons laid out in a square that do everything. In addition to these, you have a small touch sensitive 'button' on the right side of the screen that activates the watch's light. What I'll call the 'home screen' (what you would stare at on a regular basis if you wore this as an every day watch), consists of the current time and date (as well as a small symbol when it is connected to your phone via bluetooth).

Pressing the left button on the square brings you to the 'Watch status' screen. This shows you the battery, storage, status of QuickGPS, version number and serial number. Simply pressing left or right, or indeed leaving the screen for 30 seconds will bring you back to the home screen.

By pressing the down button from the home screen you arrive at the 'Settings' screen. From here you have six options, 'Clock', 'Sensors', 'Phone', 'FlightMode', 'Options' and 'Profile'. Below I'll briefly explain what each option can do:
- Clock - Set time/date and an alarm, as well as choose between 12/24hr display. This is largely unnecessary if you've set the watch up on your computer.
- Sensors - Tell the watch to use the built in heart rate monitor, or look for an external one, or have it off completely. You can also turn on/off the watch's ability to located the accessories for cycling.
- Phone - Here you can sync your smart phone to your watch. With TomTom's new 'MySports' app, you can easily view all of your workout data on your phone. In my opinion this is a huge leap forward from a year ago - the app is great (and free).
- Flight Mode - Turn off the watch's ability to communicate with anything wirelessly.
- Options - Change units (in which you CAN have miles/KG if you're that way inclined). Change whether or not the watch clicks and buzzes when you press a button. Go into demo mode. Turn night mode on/off. There is also a 'Lock' option, that after playing around with for a while, I still can't work out what it does!
- Profile - You can change language, weight, height, age and gender. Again, all things you will have done on the computer in your initial setup.

A single press of the right button from the home screen brings you to the 'Activities' menu. From here you can choose between, 'Run', 'Cycle', 'Swim', 'Treadmill' or 'Stopwatch'. After choosing one of these options, you are brought to what I call the 'Ready' screen. This will show you the status of GPS, the battery remaining, and with what accessories the watch has a connection. When you have found a GPS signal (if your chosen activity requires one) the screen will show 'GO', and a press of the right button will begin your workout. From the 'Ready' screen, you can press up to see a helpful list of your history in that specific activity, or down for sport-specific settings, which I will address further in their respective sections below. In the history section, you currently can't, but it would be nice in the future to be able to delete exercise sessions, without having to upload them to the computer/phone and then delete them from there.

Scrolling between menus is quick and easy. The latest versions of this software mean that there is normally no lag in between menus.

An issue that some people may have, is that you can only store five separate activities on the watch, before the memory is full, and they need to be uploaded to the computer/phone. If you're going away for a week/end filled with exercise and won't have access to a computer/phone, I can see this being a problem. But then again, who doesn't have their phone nearby nowadays, so it shouldn't be a major issue for most.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- RUNNING ----

Before setting off on your run, you can choose what kind of training you're after by pressing down from the aforementioned 'Ready' screen. You have five options:
- None - No target, just run.
- Goals - Choose between a distance, time or calorie goal.
- Intervals -This allows you to create a workout with a warmup, workout and rest period, all consisting of a user-chosen time or distance. You can then choose the number of sets, and your cool down time/distance.
- Laps - Here you can set your laps either by time, distance or manually
- Zones - You can choose what pace range or heart rate zone you wish to work out in, and the watch will help you stay there.
- Race - This mode allows you to race against your past self.

Each of the above (not including 'None') modes come with an attractive extra screen located to the right of the main running screen that assists you with your targets. For example, if you choose 'Race', you'll get a picture of a road with two arrows. One is you now, and one is your past self. There is also number at the bottom of the screen showing how far in front or behind you are. This may sound a little gimmicky, but is actually extremely helpful at motivating you to push that little extra and get a PB. Thumbs up.

After a month of ownership, these are my findings:

Once the watch had been setup on the computer, it found GPS signal and my heart rate within 10-20 seconds with no issue. Even during exercising, the watch is very comfortable, much more so in my opinion that the 910XT. The GPS data is very accurate, visibly (on the map once the activity has been uploaded) tracking me when I left the pitch to collect the ball following a wayward shot in a 5-a-side football match. During a run, your access to certain settings and options is limited, more so than I would like. Whilst running, you can't change the night mode on/off setting or the units your run is shown in. Both of which seem small, but they would be handy additions through a software update.

Your standard run screen consists of three parts (in addition to GPS status, heart rate monitor connection status and battery remaining being displayed along the bottom), a main section and two smaller sections at the top right and top left. The top two smaller sections can statically display any of the information displayed on the main display. The main centralised display shows the current time, and by scrolling using the down button also shows, duration, distance, pace, average pace, speed, average speed, calories, heart rate and heart rate zone, in that order. It is a non-looping list, meaning that if you were to keep pressing the down button, you would still end up at heart rate. I like this as it means that when you get to know the order of the list, you can press up/down x times and know where you'll land. Alternatively, madly pressing the up button a dozen times will always show the current time. Simple and effective.

I have my top two segments saved as duration and distance. On a run and at a glance, it can be easy to forget exactly what you've set these sections to show (as they only show a number, and no unit explanation). An extremely handy touch, that shows these watches have been tested in the real world before going on sale is that when pressing the up/down button to cycle through the main display, the top two segments are filled for a couple of seconds with an explanation of what they are showing, before jumping back to the numbers. Sounds like a small almost pointless addition, but I've found it helpful even from the first run.

I think there should be the ability to edit the overall layout of the standard run screen. The 910XT provides four separate screens each that you can slice into as many segments as you wish, to then scroll through at your leisure. This TomTom watch has one main run screen that has three segments. If I'm completely honest, given the ability to edit the screen, I would probably end up with something extremely similar, if not exactly the same as what is already provided, but the option (that surely wouldn't be all that hard to implement) would be nice to have.

When pressing the up/down button to cycle through your main view, the screen simply can't keep up with the speed at which you press (if you press very quickly). It does however register the presses every time and will always, without fail, land on the correct display.

During a run, to pause the activity, hold down the left button. From this pause screen you can either click right to resume the workout, press up and down to view past workouts and change settings respectively, or hold down left again to end the workout. This is really handy as it means you won't be accidentally pausing/stopping your workout halfway through.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- TREADMILL ----

The treadmill function of this watch offers the same goals and viewing options as the the running mode.

The big difference is that you're not using GPS, but instead, the watch's internal accelerometer. This measures, rather accurately in my tests, the distance you have travelled, by working out how many times you swing your arm.
When you have finished your run, you get the option to calibrate your run. This simply means you tell the watch how far you actually ran, generally according to the treadmill. The only issue here is the reliability of the treadmill in question. They, like most pieces of equipment, have to be properly maintained, and if they're not, can give erroneous readings. So, my advice, only calibrate your run if you're extremely confident that the treadmill is correct, or if the watch is obviously wrong.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- CYCLING ----

To get the full cycling experience that this watch has to offer, you must first attach a few things to the bike (supposing that they have been purchased, either separately or in a package deal with the watch). The supplied instruction manuals didn't really help me with this so I sought out some help on YouTube. The following video shows you how to attach the speed and cadence sensor http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NdBNJChtRAY - cable ties are supplied to assist with this. The next step is to attach the bike mount, that allows the screen (once detached from the watch strap) to be secured onto your handlebars. This should have been ridiculously easy, but even after watching the TomTom video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yEOqO9gT6gE - I still struggled, but that probably says more about me than the video. Once on, the bike mount is wonderful, and it's surprising how much easier it is to use the watch when it's in the mount, as opposed to on your wrist. Obviously using it like this will mean you'll need a heart rate chest strap to measure your heart rate during exercise.
The next stage is to go into the bike setting on the watch and set your wheel size. http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17342. This website will quickly explain how to, and most importantly includes a link to a website with a marvellous table that will sort you out.

Once everything was on I attempted to get them connected to the watch. A headache followed as I struggled to get everything to talk to each other. After a decent amount of strife, a simple factory reset done on the computer with the watch plugged in, did the trick, and everything now works peachy.

In the settings of the cycle mode, you can change your wheel size, training goals, and display. In the training goals, everything is the same as with the running, except in 'Zones', you have the option of heart rate, speed, or cadence.

The display in the cycling mode is the same as the running, in terms of the tri-segmented view. The data fields that are available to view are as follows; current time, duration, distance, pace, average pace, speed, average speed, cadence, calories, heart rate, heart rate zone.

On my first bike ride once I had got everything sorted out, the watch found GPS and connected to the heart rate monitor, speed and cadence sensors within around 10-20 seconds.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- SWIMMING ----

In the swimming mode, the watch doesn't use GPS so tracking can't be used if you're swimming in an outdoor pool, or in an open water swim.
In the settings you can set the pool size, which wrist you wear the watch on, your training goals, and what you'd like to be displayed.
You training goals include, distance, time, calories; and within the laps menu, time and distance. You can also have an intervals workout, much like running.
The data fields that can be viewed when swimming as as follows; current time, duration, distance, lengths, SWOLF, strokes and calories.

As of yet, I haven't used this function that extensively, so can't comment on the long term effectiveness and accuracy, but so far it seems pretty spot on.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- STOPWATCH ----

This is a fairly simple stopwatch. Whilst it's running, press the right button to move onto the next lap (of which you can have around 100). Here you simply press the left button to pause (instead of holding it down), which is handy if you are actually timing someone! Make sure to write down times however, as it doesn't save any, and you have no access to stopwatch history. All in all, a nice addition to the software.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- CONCLUSION ----

This is a great watch that can be used for a whole host of activities in addition to the four named above. The question on a lot of people's minds will be, 'is this worth the extra money compared the the older generation of TomTom sports watches?'. That would be largely down to you, and your personal requirements. I think the replacement of the HR chest strap with a watch that does it all itself is brilliant, and just the evolution that the watch needed.

Bottom line : this watch claims to do many different things, and as far as I can tell, does them all with ease. The cons/annoyances labeled below, are just little things that can all be changed with small software tweaks. What you're really buying when you purchase this watch, is the superb hardware, and the continued updates of the software.

Bottom bottom line : if you're on the verge of purchasing this watch, take the leap, you won't be disappointed.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
OVERVIEW
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
Would I recommend this product to a friend? Yes. Definitely.

PROS:
✓ Well designed desk dock
✓ Nice array of accessories (either supplied or purchased separately)
✓ Built in heart rate sensor is, in a word, awesome!
✓ Much improved wrist strap (multiple great new features)
✓ The red/black or red/white design stands out from the crowd, in a good way
✓ Easy to connect to computer and phone
✓ Supremely comfortable
✓ Quickly finds GPS
✓ Export workouts to multiple formats
✓ Simple and intuitive four-way button
✓ Multiple goals/targets for each activity (that include extra graphics to help you at a glance)
✓ TomTom are regularly updating the watch's software
✓ Handy 'How To' videos made by TomTom, covering a wide range of issues you may have

CONS / ANNOYANCES:
✗ Can't delete workouts from within the watch
✗ Can't keep up with multiple fast clicks during a workout, and gets left a screen or two behind (but always gets there within a couple seconds)
✗ No customisation options of in-exercise screens in terms of layout

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
If you have any questions regarding this product, feel free to leave comments down below - I'm happy to help...
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TomTom Runner Cardio GPS Watch - Black
£207.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews