Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation of traditional and new classical music
The 42 tracks on this 4 disc set reflect the Classic FM radio listeners votes for their favourite piece of classical music of all time. Included also are some of the previous number ones from the chart's 17 year history.

Noteworthy are the appearances in the chart, and included on this set, of two scores from video games - the Main Theme from Final Fantasy...
Published 4 months ago by Mart

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same
If you like Classic FM this will hit the spot for you: you get to listen to snippets of music, but without the adverts. I bought it for my son who listens Classic FM, and he seems to be pleased with it. Just be aware it may not have all your favourites on it!
Published 2 months ago by R. Rowling


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation of traditional and new classical music, 21 April 2014
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The 42 tracks on this 4 disc set reflect the Classic FM radio listeners votes for their favourite piece of classical music of all time. Included also are some of the previous number ones from the chart's 17 year history.

Noteworthy are the appearances in the chart, and included on this set, of two scores from video games - the Main Theme from Final Fantasy (performed by the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Andrew Skeet), and the uplifting theme from Elder Scrolls V- Skyrim by American composer Jeremy Soule. Both of these pieces are, for me, well worthy of their place in today's classical chart and help bring this type of orchestral music to a new generation of enthusiasts.

The old favourites from Beethoven, Bach, Mozart, Elgar and more are deservedly here and Vaughan Williams wins this year's top spot, by listener's votes, with the perennial favourite `Lark Ascending'.

Orchestras, conducters and soloists are top class as always with Classic FM `Best Of' compilations, and include the London Symphony Orchestra, Royal Contertgebouw, Zubin Mehta, Sir Neville Marriner, Sir Charles Mackerras, Sir Georg Solti, The Sixteen, Yehudi Menuhin and many, many more.

There may be a little repetition from previous Classic FM collections, but this is a nice selection of classical music representing the traditional and the new contenders for future years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, 22 April 2014
By 
SM (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The music on this collection is varied, from all styles and group sizes and instrumentalists. The Classic FM Hall of Fame is a collection of the favourite music as voted by listeners of Classic FM. There are 4 CD's included with 42 tracks in total.

The standard of the recordings on this collection is second to none. You have conductors such as Zubin Mehta, Sir Neville Mariner, Sir Charles Mackerras, and Sir George Solti to name just a few.

Soloists included in this set include Ji Liu, Emma Johnson and Kyung Wha Chung.

Overall, this is a great collection of some of the most well known and popular classical music, played by some of the worlds finest musicians.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, 13 May 2014
By 
dilligaf70 (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is what I have been waiting for. 5 hours of beautiful music,non stop one after another!!! Having had a 6 disc CD player installed in my car the longest journeys go by as if by magic. I heartily recommend this CD compiation to onr and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection and high quality of recording, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic FM Hall Of Fame 2014 [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
A nice varied album with lots of my favourite music on. Importantly the quality of the recording is very good, which makes all the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Selection, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic FM Hall Of Fame 2014 [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
For someone who isn't a true aficionado of classical music but like a broad selection - this album was an ideal 'taster' of a great range of classical music. 42 tracks for a very reasonable price. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value CD, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am rally enjoying the mix of music on this CD set. All my personal favourites including my top 3 choice plus some variations and two new pieces that are a worthy addition to this CD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic FM Hall of Fame 2014, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
4 cd's of popular classical music tracks - good price and promptly delivered - ideal for relaxation on long journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Journey music, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much to enjoy as we are travelling around this Summer .... All our favourites in one place ....especially as I am a real RVW fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Music!!, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love listening to these CDs whilst driving - relaxing and exhilarating! Lovely music! Would recommend to any music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic FM Hall of Fame 2014, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. P. G. Walmsley (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A decent selection from the 300 pieces which featured in this years Hall of Fame. This is the first I have bought but wonder if you would get many of the same pieces of buying another year as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews