Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - a must have for essay writing
This book was primarily compiled by professors at Warwick University, where I am a student. When I realised this, I thought it was a ploy to get students to give them money. However, since using it, I wouldn't be with out it.
While not every political word is included, it has basic summaries of key concepts as well as more technical explanations. If you are at all...
Published on 2 Mar 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing
The entries sampled to date are somewhat disappointing and fall a little short of what is in the equivalent hard-back version. (Democracy, meritocracy, oilgarchy, etc). I had hoped for more information, not less. Handy to have on-line though.
Published on 28 April 2011 by Mr. J. C. Hopkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - a must have for essay writing, 2 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This book was primarily compiled by professors at Warwick University, where I am a student. When I realised this, I thought it was a ploy to get students to give them money. However, since using it, I wouldn't be with out it.
While not every political word is included, it has basic summaries of key concepts as well as more technical explanations. If you are at all uncertain or you're looking for a good definition of a word, this should be your first stop.
If you're a politics student or just curious, this is a cheap book that provides you with a great deal of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helped Me To Exam Success, 8 Oct 2003
The Oxford Concise Political Dictionary is a must have for all those with even the slightest bit of interest in Politics. Having been designed for the use by Undergraduates and those in Politics it has almost everything you could desire in terms of Poltical Jargon and Terminology. I ordered it for my A-Level and it has proved to be an extensive help allowing me to have the extra bit more knowledge than the other books provides and giving me access to the grades that i thought impossible. It provides different ideologies views on the different subjects of politics and even has an appendix at the back full of the Political leaders of Russia, U.K., India, China, NATO and many other countries. This Dictionary with all of it's 1,700 entries has provided me and can provide you with incredibly useful knowledge for the future. I would recommend this book to all those who are either studying Politics at various levels or have jobs in Politics and even if it's just an interest in current affairs i would recommend it. A truly fantastic buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 28 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just weeks after beginning A-Level Politics, my daughter already says this book is indispensable. Highly recommended and pleasantly inexpensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing, 28 April 2011
By 
Mr. J. C. Hopkins (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The entries sampled to date are somewhat disappointing and fall a little short of what is in the equivalent hard-back version. (Democracy, meritocracy, oilgarchy, etc). I had hoped for more information, not less. Handy to have on-line though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, and quick delivery, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great, fast delivery, brilliant condition, informative information within the field of politics, great for those learning this field and other areas that might be greatly affected by politics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 31 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect and indinspensable for students of politics. It has pretty much everything from theories to academics and political philosphers. I could not do without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for University, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I study Int. security and law, and this book have been very helpful on several occasions, for getting a clear thorough understanding of a concept
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great., 3 Jan 2012
I got this for my friend who wanted to do Politics at A Level. It contains heaps of great information and my friend loved it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What you expect, 10 Sep 2014
Not much to say other than it's what you expect. A simple political dictionary no bells and whistles or pretty pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this is you are interested in studying politics and psychology as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews