Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money.
The SJ4000 has become well known as a capable GoPro alernative, with near identical mounting design and all the options and accessories that make the GoPro style such a versatile camera.

First of all, the camera's popularity has led to a number of fake copies being available on the market, and with so many different sellers offering this product under the same...
Published 2 months ago by Stvtech

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work
I was impressed by the size of this camera and all of the different mounts that came with it.. I velcro'ed it to the back of my rear view mirror (to use it as a car/dash cam) and it was out of sight (and legal). When I used it the first few times the video quality was good. This was my first car dash cam so I have nothing to compare to, but it suited me. The controls...
Published 2 months ago by Pete


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money., 20 Aug 2014
By 
Stvtech (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SJ4000 Novatek 1080P 30fps 12MP H.264 1.5Inch 170° Outdoor Waterproof Sports Home Security HD DV/CAR DVR/Camera recorder (Black) (Electronics)
The SJ4000 has become well known as a capable GoPro alernative, with near identical mounting design and all the options and accessories that make the GoPro style such a versatile camera.

First of all, the camera's popularity has led to a number of fake copies being available on the market, and with so many different sellers offering this product under the same SKU, it might just be possible that the camera you buy turns out to be a fake.
I purchased mine off this listing from seller MercuryMall which was fulfilled by Amazon (so delivered next day via Prime) for £57.99. Most sellers ship direct from China.
As far as I can tell, the one I received is a genuine version - there is a large amount of info out there on the web \ Youtube that helps to distinguish between real or fake.

When you take into account the price paid, this really is an excellent camera. The array of mounting accessories that come with it is impressive, but notably missing from the inclusions for a cam described in part as 'car DVR', is a suction mount and USB power supply. As I purchased mine primarily for use as a dash-cam, I managed to affix it to my windscreen using one of the included mounts and a sticky pad (not included). The result is much less obtrusive than a suction mount.
Having selected the appropriate mode in the menu, the auto-record when powered on / off works well.

Recording at 1080p, the results when viewed on a 42" TV are good. Not GoPro Hero3+ good, but good enough. Motion blur is quite pronounce when objects are moving past the camera at speed - for example it is difficult if not impossible to read the number plate of a parked car as you pass at say 30mph. Night time footage from the car is very bright under normal street lighting, but there is a fair amount of noise present within the picture.

Out of the car, I would say the performance is adequate for a 'HD' camera. It only sports a 1/3" sensor, so the the results are not going to be dramatically HD, but I would describe the outdoor performance as good. Indoors and under artificial lighting, the image remains bright, but is very grainy. Again, motion blur indoors is very noticeable and you cannot pan past someone's face without it looking a bit blurry.
***update*** - reviewing the footage on a PC yields much better results. The picture seems sharper, and the noise on night time footage is much less noticeable. This may me due to better codecs being used on the computer than are employed in processing the HDMI output to the TV. Even the grainy appearance of the indoor footage is diminished when viewing it on a PC, rather than a 42" TV.

The built-in display is tiny, but does a great job of letting you frame what the camera sees. As a tool to set the camera's configuration however, you will require keen close-up eyesight or a pair of pound shop reading glasses.
Navigation through the menus is relatively straight forward, although the experience will depend largely upon which version of firmware is installed in the camera. In the case of a genuine SJ4000, the firmware is easily updated via memory card, although this should not be attempted by someone who is not experienced in such things, as there are currently three different revisions of the genuine camera with each requiring the appropriate version of firmware.

For anyone considering this camera, I would encourage researching the SJ4000 model via your favourite search engine, as the capabilities are too numerous to be reviewed effectively here.

Overall, I like it, so four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SJ4000 Novatek 1080P 30fps 12MP H.264 1.5Inch 170° Outdoor Waterproof Sports Home Security HD DV/CAR DVR/Camera recorder (Black) (Electronics)
I was impressed by the size of this camera and all of the different mounts that came with it.. I velcro'ed it to the back of my rear view mirror (to use it as a car/dash cam) and it was out of sight (and legal). When I used it the first few times the video quality was good. This was my first car dash cam so I have nothing to compare to, but it suited me. The controls seemed a bit finicky and didn't always work. At first I thought it was just me so I persevered, but it got no better. Then it started to stick on on the "Welcome" screen on start-up and the only solution was to switch off and start again (14 tries at the last attempt). I trawled several web forums but the concensus from them was that the sticking on "Welcome" was not curable.

As I couldn't rely on the camera starting to record when the engine was switched on I returned it for a refund after a couple of weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little camera for the money, 22 Sep 2014
A great little camera for the money, bought it to use when snorkelling,housing works well,no leaks, great fun.
Had a problem with the first order but this was sorted by the seller in a fast and proffessional manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. C. T. Harrison (Newcastle UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SJ4000 Novatek 1080P 30fps 12MP H.264 1.5Inch 170° Outdoor Waterproof Sports Home Security HD DV/CAR DVR/Camera recorder (Black) (Electronics)
Fantastic picture quality, easily compares to go-pro hero 3..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great budget action camera, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SJ4000 Novatek 1080P 30fps 12MP H.264 1.5Inch 170° Outdoor Waterproof Sports Home Security HD DV/CAR DVR/Camera recorder (Black) (Electronics)
Purchased from Mercurymall delivered next day with prime for £44 this is a great little action camera for the money. There are many fakes but the one I got is original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camera is good value for the money; mounting kit not so much., 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SJ4000 Novatek 1080P 30fps 12MP H.264 1.5Inch 170° Outdoor Waterproof Sports Home Security HD DV/CAR DVR/Camera recorder (Black) (Electronics)
Pretty decent product as far as the camera is concerned, even though it's not very intuitive to work with and there's a clear lack of options.

Biggest downside is definitely the poor mounts - they move all over the place even when screwed properly all the way through. Also, the plastic grip on some of the screws seems to fall apart rather easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SJ4000 Novatek 1080P 30fps 12MP H.264 1.5Inch 170° Outdoor Waterproof Sports Home Security HD DV/CAR DVR/Camera recorder (Black) (Electronics)
it arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews