Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pariah's Child
Sonata Arctica have always been a band that's done things their own way. Despite the howling and gnashing of teeth that accompanied more recent albums, these once darlings of the power metal world seem more than content to keep doing things their own way regardless. So here we are with Pariah's Child, the bands 8th full length, nearly 7 years after Unia heralded the...
Published 6 months ago by Hedon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I don't like the direction the band has taken compared to their ...
Oh Sonata Arctica,
to be honest I am not a fan of this album at all, I don't like the direction the band has taken compared to their earlier albums that seemed to be have better composition and theme. Unfortunately, I can't recommend this one and would instead suggest their earlier power metal albums such as Silence or Ecliptica, it almost seems like they are...
Published 2 months ago by DreadPirateJones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pariah's Child, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Hedon (Eternal Night) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pariah's Child (Audio CD)
Sonata Arctica have always been a band that's done things their own way. Despite the howling and gnashing of teeth that accompanied more recent albums, these once darlings of the power metal world seem more than content to keep doing things their own way regardless. So here we are with Pariah's Child, the bands 8th full length, nearly 7 years after Unia heralded the arrival of the bands 'second era'. Despite the fact that I really like Stones Grow Her Name, as a die hard fan of Winterheart's Guild, I must admit I wasn't brimming with expectation when this landed in my headphones, which may have something to do with how much I have been enjoying it.

Pariah's Child is not the return to the bands glory days that some have claimed. It's not fast enough, for one. However, this might be the most consistent and solid album since Reckoning Night, and it incorporates many elements of the bands power metal glory days without necessarily being a pure power metal album. In fact, the more I think about it, this does sound a lot like a slower, more rock orientated Reckoning Night. Tracks like Blood, Running Lights and Take One Breath could quite comfortably sit on said album, possibly even Winterhearts if they were speed up a bit. Overall, the band seems to have kept a tighter lid on Pandora's box this time, as tracks are shorter, simpler and have a greater emphasis on catchy hooks and memorable choruses then anything the band has put out since Unia, and a lot of the melodies and guitar leads are classic Sonata. Even a song like X Marks the Spot is quite simple and down to earth if you take away the psychotic hillbilly narrator. After the exercise in the bizarre that was Stones Grow Her Name, I was surprised at home simple and accessible songs like Cloud Factory and Running Lights are.

That said, thinking that Sonata have given up entirely on the quirky experimentation of Unia, Days of Greys and Stones would be erroneous. Pariah's child has weird in bucket loads, albeit this time round weird is consigned mostly to the lyrical content rather than the song structures. However, there are a few notable oddities that have flowed to the surface. Cloud Factory could almost be some cheesy crossover of a manga theme tune and a Eurovision entry from Bulgaria (its brilliant though), Marathon Man sounds like a stowaway from a Skidrow album, and What Did you Do in The War Dad? has a very pronounced Danny Elfman/ Tim Burton soundtrack feel, definitely a highlight of the album. Finally, just as Reckoning Night had Black Pearl White Oceans, Pariah's Child has Larger Than Life, a gorgeous 10 minute rock opera which beautifully marries its theatrical lyrical content with a metal-meets-musical sound. Its long, complex, highly emotive and the kind of song Andrew Lloyd Weber might have written if he grew up listening to Malmsteen and Stratovarious. Top notch.

As I'm turning into a bit of a curmudgeon in my advancing years, I have to say Tony Kakko and co play it pretty safe and simple, perhaps a bit too safe. Stones Grow Her Name was a much more ambitious and diverse affair; its a shame they didn't retain more of the wild eyed ambition and progressive rock aspirations. On the other hand, its almost refreshing to hear the band knuckle down and write some simple yet solid tracks after the last three albums. The jury's out in my book, but it's worth mentioning.

After a few albums of experimentation and new ideas, Pariah's Child sees Sonata Arctica coming almost full circle, finding a comfortable melodic rock meets power metal sound that retains the wintery melodies and power metal edge of their earlier works, but doesn't turn it's back on the quirkiness of their post-Unia years. We are not getting Winterhearts Guild 2.0 any time soon, but I'll happily continue to follow the band if they keep putting out albums as good as Pariah's Child.

p.s. If you are looking for something like older Sonata then try Catheyron by Winterstorm. It might be up your street. Its a lot more folky than anything Sonata ever did, but it does remind me of their older stuff a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birds Like You Fly Straight To Heaven..., 1 April 2014
By 
B. Turnbull (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finnish melodic metallers Sonata Arctica abandoned their crowns as the kings of power metal years ago, and yet I think we're looking at power metal album of the year with "Pariah's Child", a record that perfectly unites their new and old work. For a start, this album makes you cold, which is what you want in a SA album; it is one tumbling winter landscape full of avalanches and snow storms. Secondly, this is the best set of songs Tony Kakko has penned in years. From the sprawling "Running Lights" to the bouncy "Cloud Factory", Sonata Arctica rip things up with chopping double-kick work, swirling keys, and Tony's impeccable taste for melody. At times this is full on metal majesty, others tender, mature art. Fans who have dismissed their last three records need to give this album its due. Sonata Arctica have created a masterwork here, one that power metal fans need in their collection. There are melodies here you will never forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected :), 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was better than expected, The second half of the album is much easier to grab, but then even the fiest half grew on me. A good album definetly worth a listen :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 22 April 2014
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Soanata are an interesting band.Ostensibly a power metal band they also step into the musical territory of a Nightwish in terms of epic theatricality and also can do a nice line in straight up hard rock when they want to.
It's doesn't get boring for one minute and will put a smile on your face,which is a nice change from the latest album from Satan's Frosted Horn of Misery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ups and Downs, 15 April 2014
By 
Mr. J. Dow "Choobs" (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album, but not stellar. A good recovery from the disappointing "Stones Grow Her Name". Tony Kakko is awesome as ever :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant return to form, 27 July 2014
By 
Soze (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an absolutely fantastic album which I've been playing to death ever since it came out. Their previous couple of albums had lost some long term fans but this sees them stick a toe back into the power metal pool without abandoning the more rock opera styling of recent years. In fact it's the sheer variety on offer here that keeps me coming back, the album shifts from power metal to rock opera to ballad to hard rock to a song almost bordering on pop with consummate ease and flair. A current candidate for album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i like it, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another solid album from the scandanivan masters good solid songs from first to the last well worth buying this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I don't like the direction the band has taken compared to their ..., 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh Sonata Arctica,
to be honest I am not a fan of this album at all, I don't like the direction the band has taken compared to their earlier albums that seemed to be have better composition and theme. Unfortunately, I can't recommend this one and would instead suggest their earlier power metal albums such as Silence or Ecliptica, it almost seems like they are struggling for an identity at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Tony, 14 May 2014
Sonata have never done a bad album in my opinion. This album is without a doubt fabulous. The songs aren't as marketable or as mainstream as the unia album but don't be put of. Pariah's child is their strongest album to date with songs like The Cloud Factory, What Did You Do In The War Dad? X Marks The Spot and the tear jerking Love. You can't fail to see the magic of this album. I also fully recommend you buy the CD instead of downloading it as the album cover and sleeve has beautiful art work. This album is definitely for fans of Northern Kings, Nightwish, Tarot and anyone who loves great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loving this album, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Rebecca Carter (West Midlands Wolverhampton UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
best sonata arctica album in years I absolutely adore it and very pleased they have gone back to their roots could become one of my favourite albums ever with time. I love the songs "The Wolves Die Young" "Cloud Factory" "Love" and "Larger Than Life"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pariah's Child
Pariah's Child by Sonata Arctica
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews