Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
521
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

22 episodes with excitement all the way. They begin with an exhilarating two-parter. (No tame TO BE CONTINUED separates the halves, instead THIS AIN'T OVER YET.) Complete with sly humour, Season 3 packs even more punches than before culminating in major cliffhangers guaranteed to shock and tantalize.

Skilfully the series keep true to its intriguing original premise. The creatures described by the Grimm brothers actually existed and still do - masquerading in human form. By now many are harmless enough, but others are as villainous as ever they were. Grimms' descendants live to root out the evil ones in our midst.

Creators and cast are all on fine form. Portland cop Nick continues to try to keep secret he is a Grimm. (Enemies are on all sides, especially in Austria where powerful enemies want him dead.) Monroe and Rosalee remain fun, their Romeo and Juliet-type relationship as yet to be discovered by parents. (Prepare for fireworks!) Never to be trusted, Adalind briefly evokes sympathy but all too soon is evil again. There are two important new arrivals: a Royal baby with awesome powers; Teresa, a young unsuspecting Grimm who until now had assumed she was mad.

Special effects abound, especially when morphing reveals characters' inner-selves. Features include the cast reflecting on the new season's developments. There are also two bonus mini-stories. (By the way, an in-joke is revealed: any new address or hotel room number coincides with the episode it is in - ie 321, etc. The creators are amazed so many fans cottoned on.)

Addicts will emerge satisfied and anxious for more, this a series going from strength to strength.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Having patiently waited yet another year for Season three to become available, we even more patiently waited until Christmas to open it and have since gobbled-up all twenty two episodes far too quickly.

Following the daft & contrived ending to Season 2, you had to wonder what would happen; had Nick got himself zombified by the Baron on purpose to get inside the Royal family somehow or could he really be as dim as he seemed? Well, as it turns out… but I’m not going to give the game away. Throughout the season we’re treated to the usual Nick-sorting-out Wesen-up-to-no-good-with-Monroe’s-help episodic storylines but to keep it interesting there are a vast number of on-going threads binding the season into a coherent whole. There’s the Nick’s mother thread, the Royal power-play, Adalind’s odious machinations (although you actually feel slightly (very slightly) sorry for her at one point), Monroe & Rosalee’s delightful relationship, more on the Wesen Council and so the list goes on. There is so much happening that it’s almost impossible to not watch the next episode and, as for the finale, well suffice to say that the tension is almost unbearable leading up to a jaw-dropping crescendo.

The combination of intelligent, consistent plotting and the trademark light & witty dialogue continues to lift Grimm far above other run-of-the-mill fantasy TV shows and thankfully Season 4 aired in the USA in October 2014. Us lesser mortals, however, will probably have to wait another year for the Blu-ray release but, hey, all good things come to those who wait (however impatiently).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
I thought there may be some changes as Lovefilm was subsumed into the beast that is Amazon but I never thought that they would deliberately delay putting movies and TV shows onto the Instant video available to those of us who pay a monthly fee for them. No they now expect you to pay a fee on top of your monthly fee so you can watch the ones you want when they come out. Is it a nominal charge no it's up to £30 in some cases. Also some of these are not 2013 films or latest episodes they are from 2010,2011 and 2012 in some cases. This will also affect the people who sell DVD's on Amazon as people will just purchase the instant access ones directly from Amazon. None of this is good customer service and do not get me started on how they have messed up the 3 orders I have for rental DVD's since I came back to them.
22 comments| 125 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Third season of the urban fantasy drama Grimm. The story of a Portland homicide detective who is also a monster hunter.

The package contains all twenty two forty minute long episodes of the season, spread across six discs. There are extras on the sixth disc.

The amount of backstory and continuity the show has built up by this point means this isn't a good jumping on point. New viewers should start with season one.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, French, Spanish.

Subtitles: English, French, Dutch, Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish.

The season picks up from where the previous one ended, with Portland under zombie attack and Nick having been kidnapped. Naturally, this is resolved. But Nick's world, and that of those all around him, continues to evolve and change. Monroe and Rosalee grow close. Adalind has plans. The royals and the resistance have plans.

And a new arrival in the city means Nick's world is about to get bigger...

There comes a point when all involved in a TV show really know what they're doing, and hit the top of their game instinctively every time. Grimm got there somewhere in season two, so continues on a steady upward trajectory here. Now that Juliette knows the truth, she becomes a stronger character and the writers have a better idea how to fit her in.

The Wesen of the week crime dramas that usually form the main episode plots continue here. They are a strength of the show - to have something that is done in one - but also can be a slight weakness at times in that they get a bit repetitive. Added to which, now that Nick has so many acquaintances who are in on things, the show does occasionally have trouble giving everyone a fair share of the action. Thus this season does slightly hit a holding pattern in the middle. When there can be episodes where characters will just be in one scene helping Nick go through the books.

And yet, the writers always do know what they are doing in regards to the bigger plotlines and story arcs of the show. Which are always proceeding, in the background at times, at just the right pace. And they do move forward regularly enough. The season does really go up a gear in a final quarter which brings in a superb new character. Goes almost all story arc for the episodes. And ends with a big cliffhanger that promises bigger changes to come.

A very solid season of a very good show, that provides consistently good escapist viewing.

The sixth disc has the following extras:

Deleted scenes: thirty five minutes worth. They can only be watched all in a row. Some have unfinished visual effects. Nearly all are character moments that don't advance the plot - which always get cut if you need to cut running time - so there are some good ones and they're all worth a watch.

Gag reel. Nine minutes of outtakes. Despite having a little bit of the usually very unfunny and indulgent images of people on set just being silly, there are some good ones in here. It's worth a watch.

Something Wesen this way comes: inside season three. A ten minute overview of the season and it's major events. A standard featurette of it's kind, but good viewing. With a couple of interesting facts about some production in jokes.

Double take: fighting a Hundjager. A three minute long look at the fight scenes and how they're arranged. Short but interesting viewing.

Meltdown; Digital series.
Love is in the air: Elegant Endeavours: Digital series.

These two are short mini episodes, both running six to seven minutes [approx] originally broadcast online in minute long episodes. Which is why you get quick credits in the middle of them on occasion. Both are presented here edited together into complete short stories. Both are fun little stories that highlight supporting cast members. And both are well worth a watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
I THINK I WILL BE CANCELLING MY AMAZON PRIME MEMBERSHIP, I loved the first 2 seasons but I now have to pay EXTRA £1.89 per episode if I want to watch season 3!!!!!! What a joke, it wasn't this way when it was LOVEFILM I shall stick to NETFLIX, I refuse to pay extra. Disappointed AMAZON, sort it out!
55 comments| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Absolutely loved season 1 & 2 but I thought it was ridiculous that I now have to pay for season 3!!!!! The whole point in me paying a subscription is to avoid situations like this! I had to buy the 3rd season elsewhere as I thought it was way too expensive to buy it through here on top of the subscription n it's safe to say I have un-subscribed from prime instant video.
The series itself is amazing, came across it whilst looking for a different series n I'm glad I watched it! If you loved supernatural you will love this!
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
The Series is a great one; great story telling, character development and plots with sub plots galore ... However I am totally pieced that Amazon pulled the series from Prime Instant Videos as I was down to the last few episodes in season three ... Couldn't you let me finish the series Amazon??? Not a happy bunny :(
11 comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
Enjoyed the other 2 seasons but no thanks Amazon, I already pay for prime so don't really fancy sending you another £30 for this. If I buy this season it certainly won't be from you. What a con.
11 comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
Love the series 1&2 but yes what a rip off charging for series 3 NO I will not be buying. It looks like this is the new tactic being used to charge more for the service. I will be lookining else where for my films Pity you resorted to this. Good by
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
It is OK but by the end of 22 episodes the Adelind character is annoying rather than threatening. Having hived off the baby I would have wrung her neck once it was realised she had her powers back. The last episode was mainly predictable. You just new there had to be a Grimm event at the wedding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)