Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2014
Many of Britains greats have started out as hobbyists and enthusiasts working for nothing more than beer and a passion for probing into the unknown. It's no surprise to learn that the video games industry in Great Britain started out exactly the same way. A very entertaining read about the heyday of British gaming and the pioneering and witty spirit of Mel Croucher and the Automata team. I was too young to enjoy the game the first time round, but that certainly didn't stop me enjoying the story. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys video games of any generation.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
This is a fantastic and heart-warming book, which will be enjoyed by everyone who wants to understand how computer games became a form of mass entertainment. Mel Croucher vividly paints a picture of the 1980's Cambrian explosion of artistic, technical and commercial possibilities, where the early creators defined every modern computer game genre that we know today. In this context, Croucher gives us a funny, honest and moving account, full of personal details and insight, of his pioneering attempt to redefine the boundaries of computer games in the early to mid 1980's. Mel Croucher comes across as a true original -- both entrepreneur, trickster and social critic. A few different rolls of the die and he'd be a household name. But his pioneering game was a commercial disaster, "the best game you never played in your life". As Croucher says, he's just a "footnote" -- but what a footnote! I was sad when the book ended, and was left wanting more.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
I backed the project when it was still on Kickstarter and have been eagerly awaiting the arrival ever since, the game was/is great and I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book in which Mel tells a potted history of Automata and the UK gaming industry from its very humble beginnings.

Full of humour and insider stories; if you're of a certain age and know what a Spectrum and C64 is then this book is for you, if you don't then give this a read and learn how it all happened.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
I first heard about this book on Kickstarter, so I thought I'd take a look. Delighted that I did! Deus Ex Machina made me laugh or smile - and often both - on almost every page, It's extremely well written, brutally honest and very, very funny.

If you've ever played a computer game, or lived with someone who can't tear their eyes away from a screen, you're going to love this book. It starts with the true story of the very first video games and then continues all the way up to the present day. . . and into the future.

Author Mel Croucher doesn't pull any punches. He also manages to kick himself in the teeth while he's at it! Highly recommended,
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
I found this to be a great read and would recommend it to anyone, everyone, but especially serious gamers and computer nerds.

It is extremely informative, very interesting, humorous and strangely moving.

Enjoyed it immensely!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
VERY INTERESTING ESPECIALLY AS iM IN IT DONNA BAILEY HEEHE
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
Facinated with the birth of computer games. Mel Croucher's book takes you there into the thick of it. This is how it was. Of course this book is a 5 star masterpiece, I'm in it!!! Deus Ex Machina was a seminal work. Fragments of its DNA will forever be embedded in the genetic makeup of computer games. then one day it will mutate the organism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
A great insight into one of the UKs more beloved cottage industry software houses, Automata. Very interesting to see how Deus Ex Machina came about and then the subsequent versions. Would love to read more from the dry wit and frankness Mel Croucher shows
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Mel Croucher outdid himself with this book. I was a game programmer back during the era that this story takes place in. It brought back so many Timex memories. I have to strongly recommend it. Play the non-game also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Highly recommended - an amusing, sad and nostalgic look at a game, an era and a crazy genius. Five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)