Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostile Justice (Justice series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Having Lorne back in the police is a master stroke by Mel and makes this book an excellent read. I can highly recommend all of the Justice series but this one is a little bit special. From the murder team to the members of the family, the reader is made to feel that they know all of the characters personally as they are so well written. Fast moving and holds you to the very last page. Particularly liked the introduction of the new female "boss", can see her being developed in future books and love the relationship between Lorne and Katie.
Mel Comley,s books are all excellent reads. You will never need to or find yourself skipping a few pages, she keeps you hooked and drags you along from beginning to end which usually means late into the night as you can't bear to put it down.
Thanks and well done again Mel, can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostile Justice (Justice series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Number 8 in the series and one of the best (in my opinion) Lorne, still running the dog refuge passes the reins over to daughter Charlie and husband Tony when she goes back to work at the Met as a DS. Her immediate boss DI is Katy, who features in the last several books and the rapport between the two characters is as excellent as ever.
The plot is different and several loose ends come together with the help of Tony (ex MI6) when he goes under cover to help break the case wide open. Lots of action, excitement and also the continuation of the very absorbing personal life of Lorne and her nearest and dearest - Really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great thriller., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostile Justice (Justice series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
This is the 8th in the Justice series and sees Lorne return to the police working alongside Katie, who is now of a higher rank. The finding of a corpse is the first murder and is followed by another when Lorne's daughter, Charlie, attends a friend's 18th birthday party and is gatecrashed by youths with tragic consequences, Lorne's husband and brother-in- law play an active part in the culmination of the first storyline which enhances the plot. The two storylines run concurrently and kept me enthralled. Another excellently written thriller by Mel Comley. I highly recommend all this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostile Justice (Justice series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Hostile Justice. Brilliant
M A Comley
Having read all the previous Justice books in this series I never thought for 1minute that they could get any better, how wrong was I this book is just brilliant. Follow Lorne as she is back in the force again, and already has a few murders to solve. Lorne, her husband Tony and daughter Charlie are evolving in to be must follow characters. If you have read the previous books in this series you are going to love this book, I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
5 stars. 31 March 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!!!!!!!!!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostile Justice (Justice series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Great to see the lovely Lorne back where i believe she truly belongs, another great book by this brilliant author who really does tell it as it is, really hopeing this isnt the end of the justice series as i believe theres loads more to come from this great lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lorne Gets Better and Better, 12 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Hostile Justice (Justice series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Comley has done it again- this book had me hooked from the very first page. Starting out with some kids stumbling upon a gruesome murder, and then having Lorne rejoining the police force and falling headfirst into the investigation as DS with Katy as DI. The roles are reversed this time but nothing can hold Lorne back from hunting down lead after lead as they work with all our old favorites from the force to figure out the identity and murderer of this poor victim.

As the story unwinds, Lorne's daughter Charlie, now a young adult, stumbles across her own pot of trouble at a party that takes a deadly turn. And before too long, there is another family member who calls on Lorne for some police help too. Lorne and Katy have their plates full at work with all of these cases to investigate and suspects to interview. And as always with Comley's books, there are plenty of thrills, action and unexpected twists along the way.

I wasn't sure at first how much I would enjoy Lorne leaving behind her PI investigation and rejoining the force, but this was the perfect move for the series. Having her back in her old surroundings, with many of her old coworkers, was a great addition and I look forward to the next book in the series. And knowing Comley, we won't have to wait too long for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow wow wow, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostile Justice (Justice series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Just when I thought things couldn't get better then here comes Hostile Justice, the latest in the Justice series. Lorne is enticed back into the police force after leaving 4 years previously to become a PI. straight away, before she has got her feet under the table there are 2 crimes to solve. Katy with whom Lorne worked with previously is now Lorne's superior but there is no animosity and they team together to solve the two crimes. Their patience is tested when they don't seem to be making much headway and all leads are a dead end then they get some information which sets them on the right track, with the help of from a barmaid and Derek who is a journalist and old time acquaintance of Lorne's. After reading all the justice series, which have all been brilliant, this one surpasses all expectation and cant wait to read the next one. Highly recommend All of Mel Comleys' books she is an exceptional writer. Once you pick up a book you don't want to put it down .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lorne is back... Book 8..., 29 Mar 2014
This review is from: Hostile Justice (Justice series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Book 8 in the Justice series, Brings Lorne back to the police force.. She's defiantly at her best being a detective.
She leaves husband Tony and daughter Charlie in charge of the PI business and and the dogs home, and teams up again with partner Katy.
The rolls are reversed and Katy is now Lornes superior, although all the way through I got the impression that it was still Lorne in charge.
The story starts off with a headless woman's body being discovered by four young boys in an abandoned warehouse. It doesn't take them to long to discover who she is, and then it's just a matter of putting all the pieces together to work out what happened.. Simple of course. Only its not that simple, and as things start to happen, Lorne is hit with more problems. Her daughters best friends 18th party doesn't have a happy ending and Luigi her brother in law is being threatened.
Can Lorne and Katy work through everything that is happening and piece together the facts, to get to the bottom of it all.....
you will have to read the book to find out..
Personally I have loved the Justice series, and book 8 is just as good as the other 7. I would personally recommend you read them in order. And that way you get to enjoy the whole series.
I read this over a couple of days as I really wanted to get to the end, and see what was happening, yet with all good books as I got to the end I didn't want it to finish.
I really look forward to reading more of Lorne and Katie's police partnership, will be interesting to see how this friendship holds up...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get ready for a ride !!!, 27 Mar 2014
This review is from: Hostile Justice (Justice series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Lorne Warner is back with a boom in Mel Comley's latest and much anticipated addition to her Justice series, 'Hostile Justice'.

After some persuasion by her husband Tony, her former boss Sean Roberts and ex partner Katy Foster, Lorne quits her PI duties and returns to the force for the third time. Tony and her daughter Charlie are now in charge of running the animal shelter. Once again Lorne is working with Katy, but their roles have now been exchanged. Due to her retirement from the force, Lorne is now back to DS, while Katy has in the meantime been promoted to DI.

Immediately after a warm welcome back by her colleagues, Lorne finds herself in the midst of a gruesome murder investigation. A headless woman's body is discovered by four young boys in an abandoned warehouse. Katy and Lorne have no clues regarding the woman's identity, however from the expensive diamond ring and clothing, they quickly deduce that she must have surely been a wealthy woman.

Whilst investigating the woman's murder, Lorne quickly finds another equally heinous crime case dropped in her lap - this time closer to home. Her daughter Charlie is invited to her best friend Wendy's eighteenth birthday party which unfortunately does not end up as intended.

I literally couldn't put this book down and finished devouring it whole in just a few hours. Like the rest of the series, 'Hostile Justice' is brim-full with suspense and loaded with interesting and believable characters and realistic dialogue. I'm absolutely certain that like me, all Mel Comley's (and Lorne Warner's) fans will really enjoy 'Hostile Justice'. Once the first page is turned, you will simply not be able to stop reading all the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hostile Justice (Justice Series 8), 24 May 2014
This review is from: Hostile Justice (Justice series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Book number 8 and if possible they're getting better .... what a fantastic series!! The storylines are full of suspense, the characters believable and I love it that Lorne has returned (again) to the police force. Bring on number 9 Mel please! Highly recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews