Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid bootin' r&b, 14 April 2014
By 
Tony Martin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults (Audio CD)
Nice package from aforesaid vaults, 1948-53. Houston label set up Don Robey, allegedly to record Clarence 'Gatemouth' Brown, fresh from the Aladdin imprint, who kicks things off with the rockin' "Boogie Uproar", an instro featuring his full-fat, clangerous guitar. Three powerful vocals elsewhere. 50 tracks of shuckin', jumpin', jivin', boogiein' r&b, a handful of blues, three gospel outings. Gospel aside, all have big(ish) band backings, sax prominent, piano too. Most artists you should be familiar with if you're a blues/r&b afficianado, Big Mama Thornton, Floyd Dixon, Jimmy McCracklin, Elmore Nixon, Johnny Otis, Marie Adams are pretty obvious. Sonny Parker's "She Sets My Soul On Fire" is a solid rocker, Gladys Hill plumbs new depths with "Please Don't Touch My Bowl" (..."if you want my sugar..."), "Goin' Crazy" is a harmonica workout from Pete 'Guitar' Lewis (?) and Johnny Otis lays down a basic r&r template with the easy movin' "Rock Me Baby" (no, not that one). Gwen Johnson odd one out - is it doo wop, r&b or blues? Or all three? Whatever, I loved it all, don't see why you shouldn't either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don Robey's Peacock Records from Houston, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults (Audio CD)
As with most record company compilations not all of their recordings are interesting,depends of course on one's preferences.Floyd Dixon is an artist I have generally overlooked but the four numbers included here I liked(West Coast style with him on piano and sax lead band).A couple of decent recordings by Johnny Otis and even a couple of recordings by Marie Adams,( remember their joint 50's hit,'Ma he's making eyes at me?' ).Personally I enjoyed the two recordings by Jimmy McCracklin ( of 'The Walk' fame) best.Raunchy West Coast with the usual piano and sax.Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended Blues, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults (Audio CD)
This album contains some great Blues artists from the past
and delivers some terrific Blues numbers . Highly
recommended .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... the recommendation of Blues & Rhythm Magazine - not disappointed a great value for money CD, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults (Audio CD)
Bought on the recommendation of Blues & Rhythm Magazine - not disappointed a great value for money CD compilation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great music., 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults (Audio CD)
Next day delivery as express, great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars four stars, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults (Audio CD)
good compilation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults (Audio CD)
great rockin cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boogie Uproar., 15 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. Grahame D. Kelly (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults (Audio CD)
It is what I thought it would be, great stuff from Peacock. I knew and already have some tracks but at this price it is good to have things I used to hear at my friends houses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read the tin, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults (Audio CD)
Great sound, good solid R&B and blues, good companion to "the duke records story" and great value as usual from these guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults (Audio CD)
great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults
Boogie Uproar: Gems From The Peacock Vaults by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews