Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A regency romp, 11 Aug. 2004
The heroine Plum is 40years old; she looks after her orphaned niece. We know from the start that Plum was 'sort of married' 20 years ago which caused a large scandal, so that she has never found a descent husband. Now she is destitute and so replies to Harry's advert.
Harry is the hero he is an ex-spy a widower and father of 5 energetic children. The children need a mother and Harry wants a companion but Harry does not want to do the 'season' thing so places and advert in the local paper (he is new to the area).
Over 30 women apply but Harry chooses Plum and they marry. However both are keeping secrets. Plums secret is that she is also Vyvyan La Blue author of the famed "Guide to Connubial Callisthenics". Harry has 3 secrets 1) He is a Marquis, 2)He has 5 children and 3) His spying days maybe coming back to bite him on the butt.
A light hearted romp follows with an odd over enthusiastic butler, plus blackmail and kidnapping thrown into the mix.
If you have read Katie Macalister s books before you know what to expect, if you have not and want a funny light take on a middle aged couple in a regency romance with a dash of adventure this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katie Mac is back with her best book yet!, 11 Aug. 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Katie Macalister is one of the most delightful (and prolific) writers in Romance today. She is not Shakespeare, but then I, for one, thank goodness for that! We already have old Will. When I want the Scottish Play, I blow the dust of my very ancient copies and read it. When I want sheer fun, I look to Lynsay Sands and Katie Macalister. I love British humour (works out nice since I am Scot!), but that dry wit is often missing in the works of a lot of American writers. I am not talking about highbrow humour, but that you-can't-help-but-howl-aloud Benny Hill wacko laughs! The kind that has your erupting with buffos, has people looking at you as if you have gone around the bend one too many times, the kind that has your husband exiling you from the living room while he is trying to watch CASI because you are making too much noise. Many writers can provoke a giggle. Few make me laugh so hard I hurt. There is nothing more special a writer can do for you. They leave you feeling good all over.
And Trouble With Harry is a sheer delight from page one! One of my favourite Hitchcock movies carries this name. It was deadpan humour that was just so on target, so it's not surprising to find this book is the same. It's a delightful Regency - and from the opening scene where beleaguered Harry is trying to explain the facts of "womanhood" to his eldest daughter - you are already laughing out loud!
The Trouble with Harry, 45-years-old- is a father, coming to parenthood late in life. There in little India - no longer the little angel sent to grace her life since she is in urgent need to know about the birds and the bees, the twins trying to "fly" from the barn roof again, Marston - Harry's heir - who thinks he would rather be a blacksmith than the next Marquis Rosse, and MacTavish who presents his father dear with his latest "finds". Harry, left to raise his five hellions...um, precocious darlings on his own, faces the decision he has to remarry, find a good stable woman who can bring some semblance to his chaotic life. Being a smart man, he immediately instructs Templeton, his man of affairs to find him a suitable wife by advertising for one.
He would like a companion suited to him, and one who could bring peace to his herd, so he wants Templeton to move quickly before word gets out Lord Harry needs a wife. He dictates he wants a woman between 35-50, who must like children and be possesses a "certain charm to her appearance", though it's not absolutely necessary. While she might not have to be toothsome, he would like to look at her and not think of a bulldog!
Enters Plum. She desperately wants a family, would love children, but no man in all of Dorset would accept her "after the scandal" - well, no man except Harry. She was married once, well almost married. Charles her husband, forgot to mention one little thing before their marriage - that he already had a wife! But Plum is understanding and does not judge all men by Charles. Also, she is an author of "The Guide to Connubial Calisthenics" - a book deemed so obscene to be banned by the government. Plum answers the ad in the paper and is shocked to find after answering three questions that Harry and she are engaged to be married the day after tomorrow. And the fun begins.
Katie Macalister gives us a wonderful, funny tale of middle-age people who think romance has past them by. Three cheers for Macalister and let's hope she keeps them coming! No one does them quite like her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 3 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book so ordered the first two as well!! Very funny and easy read- she's one of my favourite authors, but usually read her paranormal romances. This historical one I would highly recommend and look forward to reading the others in the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Mar. 2012
I loved this book, can't believe it only cost me £0.77. A truly enjoyable experience. Buy it you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Trouble With Harry - Katie MacAlister, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed the story line of this author's books, they were hard to put down and would not hesitate to read more and recommend her novels and if you like these sort of story lines like I do then it's the book for you. I will be more than happy to read more of this authors works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining story, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is extremely enjoyable, it has comedy, suspense and hot spicy romance. It is well worth reading for anyone who likes lots of laughs with their historical romance reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic, Adorable, Sweet, and Oh So Funny!, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As so many reviewers have gone into the story line and characters I will refrain from doing it again! But still I must say this book is well worth the FIVE STARS ***** given plus more! I am a fan of mail order bride books, but I just didn't expect this one to be this good! It was a refreshing change and Plum and Harry are absolutely delightful characters. You have got to admire Plum's sexual appetite! I fell in love with every single one of the children, naughty but oh so adorable! Thom and Nick (The Burglar) wait till you read it you will understand, they are wonderful as well. This book had me laughing, chuckling, giggling, and at some stages tears running down my face!

This is a must read! I will read again and again and am going to check out other books from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed all three of the Noble series. This writer has a wonderful sense of humour which shines out in her writing and I find myself laughing out loud all by myself.

However, the one thing that I find irritating is the editing, In the first book the main characters are Lord & Lady Weston, they are referred to in the second book as Lord & Lady Weston but in the third book they are referred to as Lord & Lady Wessex! How can such a glaring mistake be missed?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the trounle with harry, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good romp.kept my attention right through the tale. Amusing as all her books are.I've read them all & love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but pretty darned good, 7 April 2006
By A Customer
As readable as ever, this book will give you a few good laughs (though not as many as, say, Corset Diaries). Not one for the historical purists, but still entertaining and pleasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Trouble With Harry (Noble series)
£3.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews