Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE INSIGHTFUL DIARY OF A WARTIME NURSE!
A Very Private Diary: A Nurse in Wartime by Mary Morris is an extraordinary eyewitness account of some of the most public events of the late twentieth century. Through her wartime daily entries, Mary brings the past with the immediacy of the present and enabled the present-day generation to relive the horrors of World War II.

Described by her daughter, Kathy...
Published 10 months ago by the GreatReads!

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I thought that the book would be more of her work and yet I found it more about her partying and the good food she ate and the C
Sorry but this book while interesting really did not do it for me. I thought that the book would be more of her work and yet I found it more about her partying and the good food she ate and the Champagne she sipped and the men and women she met. Also I find it hard to take criticism of the Allies and there treatment of the German soldiers and civilians after the...
Published 2 months ago by scarlett1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE INSIGHTFUL DIARY OF A WARTIME NURSE!, 12 Jun. 2014
A Very Private Diary: A Nurse in Wartime by Mary Morris is an extraordinary eyewitness account of some of the most public events of the late twentieth century. Through her wartime daily entries, Mary brings the past with the immediacy of the present and enabled the present-day generation to relive the horrors of World War II.

Described by her daughter, Kathy Lowe, as a person with a rebellious streak, bloody-minded determination and great sense of humor in the Postscript of the book, it was Mary Morris’ desire to be a nurse which led her to Britain in August 1939 at the age of 18. She joined as a nurse probationer at Guy’s Hospital in London but within a week Britain was at war. Though it is not allowed for those on active duties to keep diaries, Mary kept one, and is being published to coincide with the 70th anniversary of D-Day and the start of the Battle of Normandy.

Mary’s diary begins on 31st May 1940 when her routine duty at Kent and Sussex hospital is disturbed by the arrival of casualties from Dunkirk. The diary will take the reader through the London Blitz, her journey to Normandy with the Army Nursing Corps in June 1944 and her wards of wounded in France and Belgium.

The contents of the book include:
1. ‘The real war started for me today’ Training at the Kent and Sussex Hospital, Tunbridge Wells 31 May 1940– 26 October 1942
2. ‘What a night!’ Fever nursing, Brook Hospital, Woolwich 11 February 1943– 28 May 1944
3. ‘In the QAs at last’ Normandy and beyond 5 June 1944– 23 September 1944
4. ‘Rushed off our feet’ Belgium 24 September 1944– 8 May 1945
5. ‘We must get used to saying good-bye’ Aftermath 11 May 1945– 8 May 1946
6. ‘It is good to be out of khaki’ Germany 12 May 1946– 19 September 1947

Mary’s diary is insightful and beautifully captures the mood of the time. It is also funny and witty, vividly describing how the soldiers managed to find time to have fun, dancing and drinking champagne, often into the early morning hours. Mary Morris married an officer four years her junior and settled down in England after the war, and they had four children. It is sad that she didn’t live long enough to see the publication of her diary. She died in 1997, but her wartime contributions and memory will live on with this publication which has been proficiently edited by Carol Acton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Exquisite Diary, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How Mary found the time to write when she was so busy with her grossly injured patients and so many times being alone on a ward of over 30 patients, I do not know. Her dedication to nursing was second to none and her understanding of human behaviour is phenomenal. She has a quality gift of writing, even to her own private diary. It is hard to put this book down! Mary gives a bird's eye view of actions on the ground and the effects of overhead plane activity while she is working amongst bullets flying, bombs exploding, shrapnel whizzing around etc. She not only describes her work but her patients stories vividly. Her social life brings respite from the hard toil of war and she never seems to tire of nursing. Mary has a great sense of justice and tolerance. Her observation is acute of everything going on around her. If this book does not turn out to be a best-seller I will be wanting to know why. World war 2 is brought to life and this book will remain in my memory for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... might be rather biased in my review because this wonderful lady was my aunt My dad Paddy was her ..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well I might be rather biased in my review because this wonderful lady was my aunt My dad Paddy was her brother. I would have to say that even though I didnt have the opportunity to have met her often or get to know her well this book seemed to bring her to life allowing me to dip into her past, to experience her life as a nurse during World War 2 and afterwards . Her vivid memories of visiting Caltra reawakened memories of my own hometown .
Reading this book I realise that even though she was a lady way before her time this book brings her to life to be remembered and enjoyed by future generations and rightly so . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book It not only gave an insight into ..., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book It not only gave an insight into this lovely lady but also a look into the war which I had never found before in other books of this period or even in films. Would make a wonderful tv series. or film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
Roger Goldsmith (St. Sampson, Guernsey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Very Private Diary: A Nurse in Wartime (Kindle Edition)
This should be a must read book for all youngsters especially aspiring nurses.
Me? I am old enough to remember the real thing. So very true to life in the 1940s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, sad but also humerous!, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just an excellent account of her nursing days through training and during the 2nd World War. I started my training at a London Teaching in the 50's, the training had not changed too much even then, but it gave one the essentials of real nursing care! It was so moving, very sad in parts but a joy to read, her family must be very proud of her. Mary Morris has done an excellent job, so pleased her Diaries are in the Imperial War Museum.
Christine Joslin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history of nurses during the war, 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Very Private Diary: A Nurse in Wartime (Kindle Edition)
OMG I admire the nurses today but what this lady had to deal with was awful, so glad she wrote her diaries to give all an insite to what she had to deal with. A fantastic read and great for people who want to know what it was really like for nurses in the war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heartache Of War, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting and detailed account..well written!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I read most of it with great interest but towards the end there was so much ..., 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Very Private Diary: A Nurse in Wartime (Kindle Edition)
I read most of it with great interest but towards the end there was so much 'girly' talk and non interesting subject matter ( to the outsider) that I tired of it.. Were we really like that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Very Private Diary: A Nurse in Wartime (Kindle Edition)
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews