Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small black cube
This is a small black cube, smaller than I thought but that is not a negative point.
Plug it in, it finds the right time and will make the change for British summertime, which is handy.
Easy to set the alarm and the radio function is quite clear. My old one had begun to sound as if the announcers were speaking through a hanky and at times I could not catch...
Published 10 months ago by JJ

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad
Have to position carefully or crackles. No different day alarm, so Sunday it still goes off. It's a nice size.
Published 8 months ago by Clive Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small black cube, 21 April 2014
By 
JJ (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sony ICF-C1 FM/AM Clock Radio - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a small black cube, smaller than I thought but that is not a negative point.
Plug it in, it finds the right time and will make the change for British summertime, which is handy.
Easy to set the alarm and the radio function is quite clear. My old one had begun to sound as if the announcers were speaking through a hanky and at times I could not catch what they were on about, so it is nice to hear things again.
I like the fact it has three brightness settings. I do not like my time piece to illuminate the room so I can dim it as I please.
Very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A humane way to wake up!, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
Atticman (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony ICF-C1 FM/AM Clock Radio - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's lovely to be gently stirred into wakefulness by softly increasing noise rather than slapped around the face by Chris Evans or Grimmy as they yell in your ear. This is one of the features of this good value alarm clock that I enjoy the most. I also appreciate the dimmable, 'street-lamp-orange' coloured display, which has three levels of brightness (I prefer to keep my room as dark as possible). The sound is clear, particularly for speech (and oh boy do morning DJs love the sound of their own voice....!) though it lacks punch at the lower end, meaning any bass-heavy music sounds rather empty. Still, what do you expect for something that takes up so little space on your nightstand!??

However, the small size also has one further downsize - the buttons are very small (apart from the snooze/brightness button) which can make it a bit tricky to use.

As others have mentioned, the radio isn't 'shielded' against interference from mobile phones, so I recommend you keep the two things in seperate places overnight.

All things considered, this is a good value, no nonsense clock radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great radio alarm!, 31 Jan. 2015
By 
J. Hull (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony ICF-C1 FM/AM Clock Radio - Black (Electronics)
Clock looks very classy, and works well. You have the option of using a buzzer or radio as the alarm, and it has a nice gradual volume option so it doesn't instantly shock you to life! The clock is super easy to use, and the buttons are nicely laid out. The alarm easy to set, and the radio has good reception and decent sound quality. It plugs into the wall, but also comes with a battery slot so you can use it if there isn't a socket nearby. This battery compartment also works so as to prevent the clock from resetting in the event of a power cut.

I really can't fault this alarm clock, and I definitely think it's worth paying the extra little bit for a decent radio alarm. High recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
Clive Thompson (Leeds,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C1 FM/AM Clock Radio - Black (Electronics)
Have to position carefully or crackles. No different day alarm, so Sunday it still goes off. It's a nice size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little alarm clock, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great little alarm clock, very neat looking & display dimming function is really good for day or night display use.
Slowly increasing alarm sound is a much nicer way to wake up than the normal starteling alarm wake up!
I have the one in white & I am quite sure this is so good that there wont be long before I will be ordering a black one too! (One for the bedroom one in the kitchen).
SONY still does good stylish products!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C1 FM/AM Clock Radio - Black (Electronics)
The clock, although small and boxy fulfills all my requirements and delivery of the purchase was incredibly quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but can be a problem with your mobile 'phone, 24 April 2014
By 
Dave M (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony ICF-C1 FM/AM Clock Radio - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First of all this is an excellent little (about 10cm cube) radio alarm with very high sensitivity and a clear, dimable display.

There are only two issues that I have (hence four stars and not five):

(1) I am not in favour of wire aerials as they always look a mess when blu-tacked to the wall; a solid extending aerial is always my preference.

(2) As this is so high sensitivity, there is a problem if you have your mobile 'phone next to it. Basically, your mobile 'phone does a cell update regularly and also incoming emails cause data to be exchanged. Even when switched off, this radio detects this and you get the classic data exchange sound being played at normal listening volume. If you don't charge your 'phone at night next to the bed, then this won't be a problem. However, if you do, then this might just too annoying to live with. I know this isn't a problem with this clock radio per se, but I guess it might be an issue for a number of users.

So, in summary, excellent reception, good sound quality, need to read the manual as the buttons aren't totally intuitive, but don't put it next to your mobile 'phone at night if you want to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Whilst I am very happy with the unit itself, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C1 FM/AM Clock Radio - Black (Electronics)
Whilst I am very happy with the unit itself, I cannot for the life of me understand why it makes a PERMANENT BUZZING SOUND even when the radio is switched off. As this was meant for a bedside table next to my head it is being returned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice to look at, but has problems., 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C1 FM/AM Clock Radio - Black (Electronics)
I liked the cool black design also with things like the auto time change, and being able to dim the clock light, but unfortunately had to return it as when it wasn't being used i.e not having the radio on you can hear a permanent buzzing noise - which if you have it near the bed as in most cases I would think for an alarm/radio clock was very annoying and if anything could stop you sleeping, plus the snooze button was too small and hard to find as well. So a nice looking alarm/radio clock but let down by those two facts which made it pointless to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small, stylish and functions well, 16 Jun. 2014
By 
KMW (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a reasonably stylish clock which is small and fairly easy to use, although the buttons are quite small. The display is clear and has 3 brightness settings to choose from. I use the dimmest setting, but would have preferred it a little dimmer. The clock is radio controlled, so the time is automatically set when switched on. The radio works well and audio is clear enough. The speaker is very small, so don't expect to hear any bass. The alarm functions fine and you can choose between radio alarm or buzzer alarm - the alarm volume is gradual, so you won't be startled.

The clock speaker is unshielded, which means it's susceptible to electromagnetic interference from mobile phone signals (randomly communicating with mobile phone masts), so don't place your phone too near or you'll be awoken by random interference. Other than that, this is a decent little radio alarm clock that I can recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony ICF-C1 FM/AM Clock Radio - Black
£19.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews