Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true singer songwriter
"Let Her Go" brought Mike Rosenberg to the attention of the world, but some of us knew how brilliant he was long before that. Many will be surprised to know that this is his 5th studio album (although "Flight of the Crow" was an album of collaborations with other artists), and each album brings more mature songwriting and greated depth of lyrics. The added...
Published 2 months ago by Pudlet

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheer up Mike!!!
I love this guy but this album is not as brilliant as the previous "all the little lights" one. Some of the songs are quite depressing in fact but still not a bad listen. Still play the previous album rather than this new one. Still love Mike thoughxXx
Published 1 month ago by deborah bateman


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true singer songwriter, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers [Limited Edition 2CD Book] (Audio CD)
"Let Her Go" brought Mike Rosenberg to the attention of the world, but some of us knew how brilliant he was long before that. Many will be surprised to know that this is his 5th studio album (although "Flight of the Crow" was an album of collaborations with other artists), and each album brings more mature songwriting and greated depth of lyrics. The added acoustic versions on the deluxe album are truly wonderful, and are in the true spirit of Passenger, who always performs live with nothing more than his acoustic guitar. I'd already heard the majority of the songs on the album live, some on tour at the end of last year and some on his brilliant busking tour a few weeks ago (thanks Mike - how great that you can still manage to do what you love and raise a few quid for a good cause at the same time) and the multi instrument album versions certainly don't disappoint either as they still maintain the simplicity of his music. Great to see that fame has not gone to his head and he has produced an album that stands out for its great songs, not for any attempt to have a broad commerical appeal. He has proven with this album that you can stay true to yourself , just produce great music, and people will buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers [Limited Edition 2CD Book] (Audio CD)
Wow.

The deluxe version is a thing of beauty. The pop-up artwork is a really nice touch and the lyrics sheets inside are quite quaint and cool too. Before you even take the CD's from the cases, this is an awesome album - the nicest album in terms of design I have ever owned.

If you go for the deluxe version you won't be disappointed - the acoustic versions really add to the album and the design of the album is, as mentioned, stunning. All this on top of 11 great original songs by an artist that simply seems to get better and better...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll listen to this over and over again!, 23 Jun 2014
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whispers (Audio CD)
This follow up album to "All the Little Lights" from Passenger comes beautifully presented in CD format and reminds me why downloads are not the only option. The distressed look cover contains some wonderful artwork plus a book of lyrics is included. The music itself is just first rate and every time I listen to the album I hear something new. Mike Rosenberg's voice is unique and clear plus the guitar and drum accompaniment are blended to create a unique sound that can only be Passenger.

I love the tracks "Coins in A Fountain" and "Whisper" in particular - they are just so atmospheric but all the other tracks are top notch too there's not a duffer on this CD - every track is gold. This is such a good album and so listenable over and over again. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art!, 16 Jun 2014
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Whispers (Audio CD)
As soon as I picked this album up, and took the cellophane off to reveal the stunning packaging, in the style of an old fashioned children's storybook with lovely artwork and a cool lyrics booklet - I just knew that I purchased something quite beautiful.

I bought this album after being blown away by Mike Rosenberg's last album 'All The Little Lights', which is one of my favourite releases of recent years. I was eager to hear more material, and 'Whispers' is the natural follow up. Simple put, if you enjoyed the last one, do not hesitate in buying.

Is it even better? Yes, I would say so, but perhaps it's still early days for me to say for certain just yet. The opening track 'Coins In A Fountain' has become my new favourite Passenger song, in fact, I played it continuously eight times before I even listened to the rest of the songs. Then I moved onto 'Hearts On Fire', and did the same thing.

This man is one of the most original, and genuinely talented singer/songwriters in today's popular music. He has a way with words, not to mention an acoustic guitar, and can pen a meaningful and interesting song as good as any. I eagerly await the next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers [Limited Edition 2CD Book] (Audio CD)
I purchased 'All The Little Lights' for the track 'Let Her Go' and discovered this amazing band, so excellent I was very lucky to get tickets to a visit to Norwich in December - I then heard a track from the Whispers CD and was again just blown away - Mike Rosenberg has an amazing talent and the lyrics just take you away into the song - I love listening to his music in the car you hear all the lyrics you cannot miss a bit..... I loved the track 'I hate' from All the Little Lights and can not at this time pick a favourite from Whispers they are all excellent - truly fantastic CD and with this one you get the additional disc, what a treat. I am a bit lapse with feed back but made a point of taking the time to write this as if you follow Passenger you will not be disappointed with this double disc edition of the CD the graphics on the presentation book/cover are enchanting!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More little lights!, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers [Limited Edition 2CD Book] (Audio CD)
It was going to be very difficult to follow 'Allt the little lights' but this album has more than succeeded. Most albums generally have two or three excellent tracks and the rest just make up the numbers. This album is definitely the exception. Every track tells its own story and can be listened to over and over always hearing something new. The presentation in book format and including an acoustic version is well worth the extra cost. Have played it continuously since purchase- highly recommended and the 2 cd book version is.well worth the extra cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely Brilliant!, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers (Audio CD)
Love this album as much as 'All the Little Lights' if not more, a must buy for any fan of the previous album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant album from the most humble artist around!, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers [Limited Edition 2CD Book] (Audio CD)
Every song on this album has a story to tell is it is told perfectly. You'd be crazy not to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers (Audio CD)
what a brilliant album this lad gets better and better, cant wait to see him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good performance, 15 July 2014
By 
G. van den Hof "folk.45" (Alphen a/d Rijn, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whispers (Audio CD)
This is the second album I bought and I think Passenger is still growing in hgis skill to write songs. His performance is very good and his voice is wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whispers [Limited Edition 2CD Book]
Whispers [Limited Edition 2CD Book] by Passenger (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews