Customer Reviews


414 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (65)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'ENJOYABLE 'SWORDS AND SANDALS' MOVIE' (SOME STUNNING VISUAL EFFECTS ON-BOARD)
Pompeii' a 'Mediterranean' Jewel of the vast and indeed all powerful 'Roman Empire'
It's residents totally unaware of the danger close by, the year is 79 A.D.
Seventeen years earlier a young boy 'Milo' see's his parents butchered by order of
'Roman' Centurion 'Corvus's (Kiefer Sutherland) Legionnaires, their paths will cross again.
'Milo' the only...
Published 5 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect too much.
This film was better than i anticipated. The film is a cheesy sword and sandals drama.
Kit Harrington can't act and Keifer Sutherland hams it up with a really terrible accent.
But there is plenty of action, the film is fast paced and the special effects are brilliant.
If you are into your 3D then i would recommend because the 3D is really good.
Overall...
Published 1 month ago by S. Broadbent


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'ENJOYABLE 'SWORDS AND SANDALS' MOVIE' (SOME STUNNING VISUAL EFFECTS ON-BOARD), 15 Sept. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Pompeii' a 'Mediterranean' Jewel of the vast and indeed all powerful 'Roman Empire'
It's residents totally unaware of the danger close by, the year is 79 A.D.
Seventeen years earlier a young boy 'Milo' see's his parents butchered by order of
'Roman' Centurion 'Corvus's (Kiefer Sutherland) Legionnaires, their paths will cross again.
'Milo' the only survivor of his village, is found then sold on to the Romans, he grows up
in 'Londinium' becoming a formidable force in the Gladiatorial arena.
Admired by spectators the Gladiator 'Milo' (Kit Harington) is taken to 'Pompeii' to entertain
eager spectators of the important Roman City.
Early on, there are signs that go unheeded by 'Pompeii's' inhabitants unknowing of what
is yet to come.
Meanwhile the arena is being prepared for the Gladiatorial games to honour their illustrious
visitor, now, Senator, 'Corvus'
After an incident 'Milo' becomes scheduled to face 'Pompeii's' champion 'Atticus' (Adewale
Akinnuoye-Agbaje) in the Gladiatorial finally of the Games, victory would mean freedom by
Roman-Law for 'Atticus'
However there becomes a change in the schedule, 'Milo' and 'Atticus' along with a handful
of fellow Gladiators are pitted against overwhelming odds in a re-enactment of 'Corvus's
celebrated victory over the 'Celts' 17 years or so ago.
'Milo' and 'Atticus' walk away victorious, however after an outburst by 'Milo' 'Corvus' orders
his bodyguard 'The Champion of Rome' to kill 'Milo' - however an inconvenient interruption
to proceedings occurs, 'Mount Vesuvius' begins to erupt, all hell breaks loose.
'Milo' has to battle his way out of the Arena, after a few last words from the Governors wife,
'Milo' realizes he has to save their daughter 'Aurelia' (Carrie-Anne Moss) who had earlier
spoken up for 'Milo' sparing his life....they now have to escape natures fury.
THE ALL POWERFUL 'ROMAN EMPIRE' COULD NOT DEFY NATURE'S FURY'
Any shortcomings the film may have are more than made up for by the spectacular spectacle
of 'Mount Vesuvius's' eruption and the resulting consequences.
History tells us in truth that many did escape the volcano's fury.
The film also includes several very good fight sequences, the film because of it's visual content
is certainly worthy of a viewing.
Special Features -
* Directors Commentary
* Deleted Scenes
* Buried in Time
* The Weapons of Pompeii
* The Assembly
* The Journey
* The Gladiators
* The Volcanic Eruption
* The Costume Shop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 103 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars People need to calm down.., 26 May 2014
This review is from: Pompeii [DVD] (DVD)
To start off, I thoroughly enjoyed Pomepeii, which is what I film is supposed to do. I am also a student studying ancient history and classical archeology, so I feel like I have a right to comment on the accuracy of the film, unlike many of the negative reviews on here.

The film makers perfectly recreated the city of Pompeii based on photography they took from the remains of the town, so A+ for going the extra mile as far as I'm concerned! The 3D effects worked very well and I actually saw someone in the cinema duck out the way from flaming debris!

The acting was very good and I'm very pleased with the casting choice. I also like the opening scene set in Britannia, showing the origins of the main male protagonist Milo. The story line was a bit predictable, but over all still enjoyable.

As far as accuracy is concerned, it's a Hollywood film. Of course it's not going to be completely accurate. Get over it. The film makers exaggerated the effects of the volcano to highlight the disaster and make a more dramatic film. In truth, only about 2000 people out of 20,000 died in Pompeii. Whereas in the film it looks like everyone does. The also combined the devastation of Herculaneum and Pomepeii, again, to make a more dramatic film.

All in all I loved it and would definitely recommend it to friends. And to those who insist on moaning about the accuracy: go and watch a documentary, not a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect too much., 14 Jan. 2015
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was better than i anticipated. The film is a cheesy sword and sandals drama.
Kit Harrington can't act and Keifer Sutherland hams it up with a really terrible accent.
But there is plenty of action, the film is fast paced and the special effects are brilliant.
If you are into your 3D then i would recommend because the 3D is really good.
Overall it is a disappointing film, but watch with low expectations and you will probably enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 11 May 2014
By 
Anthony J. Bond (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this film at the cinema yesterday and enjoyed it so much that I've now ordered it from Amazon. I disagree with the negative reviews here and can only say that I found the acting perfectly adequate, the script workmanlike, the music outstanding, the costumes and staging impressive, the gladiatorial scenes sufficiently violent and credible and the special effects of the volcano's eruption highly convincing. I am not a scholar of Roman history so cannot say to what extent the film is faithful to the facts, but this is supposed to be entertainment not a history lesson and, to that extent, it succeeds exceptionally well. One reviewer criticizes the film for supposedly showing the gladiators' arena being destroyed by the volcano whereas, in fact, it survives to this day but, in fact, the film only shows it being damaged by the eruption, not destroyed as alleged, so it is faithful to the facts in this respect. I saw this film after it had run at our cinema for a week, yet the auditorium was full to near capacity, which would not have been the case if it had been damned by word of mouth. The only reason I am not awarding the film five stars is because -as can be seen from the posters- the actor portraying the leading male character is no Russel Crowe -he's too young for the role, sports a tousle of hair more reminiscent of the 1970s than the Roman period and quite frankly, looks like a biceps-challenged wimp out of physical scale with the manly gladiators and Roman soldiers he too easily dispatches in battle. You can't have everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film - action all the way, 29 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Pompeii (DVD)
Loved this film. Plenty of action all the way through, no time to draw breath, but also a sweet love story with a very sad ending. Great acting (apart from a slightly comedic accent from Keifer Sutherland), but nice to see him play a villain - he's good at these types and should play them more often (aka "Phone Booth). I thought the sets and special effects were great and the music was very masterful and really helped to set the scene. I'm no historian so don't know how accurate it was but this was a film meant to entertain you and that it certainly did. Time well spent as far as I'm concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pompeii Lives!, 20 Feb. 2015
By 
Gerald Corper (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The most appealing and greatest assets of this take on "Pompeii" is the recreation of the city itself, excellent attention to detail throughout followed by the multitude of effects, particularly the first eruption of Mt Vesuvius, which commands awestruck attention, a matter of editing and sound, that benefited (and still does) the likes of epics such as "The Ten Commandments" and "Quo Vadis?" to name but a few in that genre.
I saw this in 3-D admittedly, which heightened my interest because of the period but also gives the feeling that you might very well have been more of a participant rather than an onlooker, but I might be over emphasising a tad. Nonetheless, it an enjoyable experience.

The story - well, in this case, if you know "Spartacus" "Quo Vadis" et al, you'll relate pretty quickly to "Pompeii's" shortcomings and the young leads have neither the charisma or command of a, say, Kirk Douglas, Deborah Kerr, Tony Curtis, et al. Only Kiefer Sutherland - not too bad a go at an English accent full of pomposity - and Adewale Akkinuoye - Agbajes - a sort of Woody Strode (of Spartacus) pleasing type of portrayal, makes up for the lack of a cohesive acting ensemble.

I forgot to add that I was fortunate enough to visit both Pompeii and Herculaneum a few short years ago (and just recently, Rome with its Coliseum and vast Forum). The streets and many of the structures, albeit partly or mostly in ruins, instilled in me a greater interest and gave me more of a sense of its history.
This depiction helps towards that, marred only by the demands the film makers must have felt, to make it appealing enough to a mostly younger audience. Ridley Scott, though seemed to have been less hampered and achieved making an Oscar winning film out of "Gladiator" (a kind of remake of "The Fall of the Roman Empire"). I look forward to Scott's 'remake' of "The Ten Commandments" "Exodus - Gods and Kings" and of course in 3-D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I MUST WATCH THIS AGAIN, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film has everything: it is a story of love, a story of revenge, a story of power. It has gladiator games, a chase and people trying to escape from an erupting volcano that breathes out fire, ash and lava accompanied with earthquakes and tsunami. It is action packed from beginning to end, as it develops relationships without long boring lengthy scenes, which you find another blockbuster films.

For historical accuracy, a lot of research was done. Written accounts of witnesses who had seen the eruption were read, the ruins of Pompeii were visited to help depict what the city was like, and there friezes were seen that showed what people wore at the time. However, as in all films they would have taken some “poetic licence.”

The 3-D effects were very good and added to the enjoyment of the picture. There were two or three times when I flinched because I thought something was coming towards me!

I am certainly going to put this DVD in my “must watch again” section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gladiator lite, 4 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Pompeii (Blu-ray)
Fairly enjoyable action film, with several rip offs from Gladiator (which is a much better film). However this is more suitable for a younger audience then Gladiator as it is faster paced with less blood and guts. Having recently been to Pompeii it was interesting to see how the film makers have interpreted the city based on the ruins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great big turkey, but loadsa fun!, 21 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Pompeii [DVD] (DVD)
This is definitely a guilty pleasure movie. The plot is by Mickey Mouse and the script as wooden as Pinocchio. Of the actors, only the brilliant Mr Adewale as Atticus is worth a mention: the giant black gladiator is a truly noble and heroic figure. Historical accuracy is mashed up like a dog's dinner, but the sets depicting ancient Pompeii are spectacular and pretty accurate.

Total rubbish- but fast and furious, exciting rubbish. Keeps you on the edge of your seat cheering for Milo and Atticus, and then there's the big bang at the end when Vesuvius goes up in a lot of cheesy CGI fireballs. What you have in effect is the ancient world version of the modern trend for two hours of non-stop gore and mayhem, except instead of ironmen and mechanical monsters bashing the daylights out of each other you have Romans and gladiators.

Everyone dies in the final billowing pyroclastic flow: save your hankies for Atticus, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POMPEII ARRIVES ON A STUNNING BLU-RAY, 19 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Pompeii [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Director Paul W.S. Anderson had a daunting task on his hands in his desire to re-create the eruption of Vesuvius and the destruction of Rome's second city, Pompeii. After all, Pompeii was – is – vast. I was fortunate enough to visit the ruins of Pompeii some years ago, and it remains an unforgettable memory. I spent an entire day walking along the ruined streets and marvelling at the cracked and faded frescoes, and really only scratched the surface of the slumbering giant. To please me and the many others who have gazed upon Pompeii's shattered splendour, Paul Anderson had some work on his hands. Thankfully, the film does not disappoint.
The films 1080p transfer onto a single 50GBdisc is stunning. A faultless pallet of colours – rich reds, cold blues and satisfying skin tones – makes for a totally absorbing experience. The rendering of AD79 Pompeii is equally impressive, with detail you just want to reach out and touch. Rough-plastered walls featuring meticulously researched frescoes, impressive red-tiled roofs and an azure ocean you just want to dive into, brings that ancient city to breathless life. It was wholly satisfying to see stepping stones upon which I had once stood to take photographs, and avenues leading around the arena upon which I had walked, all recognisable and all perfectly represented. Pompeii lives once again and resonates in glorious high definition. Unfortunately, that can not be said with equal sincerity about the leading actors in this sword and sandal disaster movie.
Kit Harrington (Game Of Thrones) takes on the leading role as Milo, a much maligned gladiator, who's puppy-dog eyes and introverted performance, although making us sympathise with his plight, makes for an understated and unbelievable gladiatorial hero, and it is down to his compatriot and fellow gladiator, Atticus, played by Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (Lost) to bring some much needed machismo to the mix; though the blood is very much toned down due to the films '12' rating. It is Kiefer Suther, (24) however who takes the plaudits as pantomime villain of the year in his over-the-top portrayal of Senator Corvus, a nasty piece of work who revels in his brutal past and thirsts for Milo's blood, once he discovers that the woman of his warped desires actually fancies the afore mentioned puppy-eyed hero. But it is the mountain who steals the show, and when Vesuvius blows its top – I do hope I haven’t given away the ending – it literally takes your breath away.
This is a visual effects driven movie, and lets face it, we are now getting very accustomed to near faultless CGI spectacle. If like me you play the 'green-screen game' – looking for green reflections in the faces and clothing of the performers – then you'll be interested to note that only once, in the reflection of Milo's black, leather armour, is green-screen reflection obvious. But I quibble needlessly. If you enjoy historic action and long to get transported to a time of ancient majesty, then visit Pompeii. You won't be disapointed.

Set-up options on the UK release include: English SDH subtitles. English DTS-HD Master 5.1

Extras include a film makers commentary, deleted scenes and seven mini-documentaries that chart the making of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pompeii [Blu-ray]
Pompeii [Blu-ray] by Paul W.S. Anderson (Blu-ray - 2014)
£8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews