Customer Reviews


314 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars People need to calm down..
To start off, I thoroughly enjoyed Pomepeii, which is what I film is supposed to do. I am also a student studying ancient history and classical archeology, so I feel like I have a right to comment on the accuracy of the film, unlike many of the negative reviews on here.

The film makers perfectly recreated the city of Pompeii based on photography they took from...
Published 7 months ago by Kirsty Grant

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT SPORT. THIS IS POLITICS,
Like Titanic, we know how this ends.

The film attempts to develop an interesting love story to the background of Pompeii. Celt (Kit Harington) is taken prisoner by the Romans after they wiped out his village. He grew up fighting in the London arena. He is whisked away to Pompeii years later where his great strength as a gladiator and his ability as a horse...
Published 9 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars People need to calm down.., 26 May 2014
This review is from: Pompeii [DVD] (DVD)
To start off, I thoroughly enjoyed Pomepeii, which is what I film is supposed to do. I am also a student studying ancient history and classical archeology, so I feel like I have a right to comment on the accuracy of the film, unlike many of the negative reviews on here.

The film makers perfectly recreated the city of Pompeii based on photography they took from the remains of the town, so A+ for going the extra mile as far as I'm concerned! The 3D effects worked very well and I actually saw someone in the cinema duck out the way from flaming debris!

The acting was very good and I'm very pleased with the casting choice. I also like the opening scene set in Britannia, showing the origins of the main male protagonist Milo. The story line was a bit predictable, but over all still enjoyable.

As far as accuracy is concerned, it's a Hollywood film. Of course it's not going to be completely accurate. Get over it. The film makers exaggerated the effects of the volcano to highlight the disaster and make a more dramatic film. In truth, only about 2000 people out of 20,000 died in Pompeii. Whereas in the film it looks like everyone does. The also combined the devastation of Herculaneum and Pomepeii, again, to make a more dramatic film.

All in all I loved it and would definitely recommend it to friends. And to those who insist on moaning about the accuracy: go and watch a documentary, not a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT SPORT. THIS IS POLITICS,, 25 Mar 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pompeii [DVD] (DVD)
Like Titanic, we know how this ends.

The film attempts to develop an interesting love story to the background of Pompeii. Celt (Kit Harington) is taken prisoner by the Romans after they wiped out his village. He grew up fighting in the London arena. He is whisked away to Pompeii years later where his great strength as a gladiator and his ability as a horse whisperer catches the attention of a woman of wealth (Emily Browning). As it just so happens, she is being forced to marry the Senator (Kiefer Sutherland) a man who slaughtered Celt's village. Is there a writer in the house?

The love story never evolved. Like most fighters, Celt has no trouble with 12 men, but takes him much longer fighting one man. There are no real political statements in the film. Celt believes his gods are punishing Rome, blah.blah, blah.

Will do as a rental.

No F-bombs, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 11 May 2014
By 
Anthony J. Bond (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this film at the cinema yesterday and enjoyed it so much that I've now ordered it from Amazon. I disagree with the negative reviews here and can only say that I found the acting perfectly adequate, the script workmanlike, the music outstanding, the costumes and staging impressive, the gladiatorial scenes sufficiently violent and credible and the special effects of the volcano's eruption highly convincing. I am not a scholar of Roman history so cannot say to what extent the film is faithful to the facts, but this is supposed to be entertainment not a history lesson and, to that extent, it succeeds exceptionally well. One reviewer criticizes the film for supposedly showing the gladiators' arena being destroyed by the volcano whereas, in fact, it survives to this day but, in fact, the film only shows it being damaged by the eruption, not destroyed as alleged, so it is faithful to the facts in this respect. I saw this film after it had run at our cinema for a week, yet the auditorium was full to near capacity, which would not have been the case if it had been damned by word of mouth. The only reason I am not awarding the film five stars is because -as can be seen from the posters- the actor portraying the leading male character is no Russel Crowe -he's too young for the role, sports a tousle of hair more reminiscent of the 1970s than the Roman period and quite frankly, looks like a biceps-challenged wimp out of physical scale with the manly gladiators and Roman soldiers he too easily dispatches in battle. You can't have everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... to watch the visual effects in 3 d are great as is the sound track The action sequences are ..., 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie is very much a popcorn movie so don't expect much of a plot that said I did find it entertaining and enjoyable to watch the visual effects in 3 d are great as is the sound track
The action sequences are quite good for a12 rated movie but don't expect any blood or gore this isn't gladiator or Spartacus

ry

FCC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'GREAT AND DRAMATIC VISUAL CONTENT IN THIS SWORDS AND SANDALS EPIC', 15 Sep 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
'Pompeii' a 'Mediterranean' Jewel of the vast and indeed all powerful 'Roman Empire'
It's residents totally unaware of the danger close by, the year is 79 A.D.
Seventeen years earlier a young boy 'Milo' see's his parents butchered by order of
'Roman' Centurion 'Corvus's (Kiefer Sutherland) Legionnaires, their paths will cross again.
'Milo' the only survivor of his village, is found then sold on to the Romans, he grows up
in 'Londinium' becoming a formidable force in the Gladiatorial arena.
Admired by spectators the Gladiator 'Milo' (Kit Harington) is taken to 'Pompeii' to entertain
eager spectators of the important Roman City.
Early on, there are signs that go unheeded by 'Pompeii's' inhabitants unknowing of what
is yet to come.
Meanwhile the arena is being prepared for the Gladiatorial games to honour their illustrious
visitor, now, Senator, 'Corvus'
After an incident 'Milo' becomes scheduled to face 'Pompeii's' champion 'Atticus' (Adewale
Akinnuoye-Agbaje) in the Gladiatorial finally of the Games, victory would mean freedom by
Roman-Law for 'Atticus'
However there becomes a change in the schedule, 'Milo' and 'Atticus' along with a handful
of fellow Gladiators are pitted against overwhelming odds in a re-enactment of 'Corvus's
celebrated victory over the 'Celts' 17 years or so ago.
'Milo' and 'Atticus' walk away victorious, however after an outburst by 'Milo' 'Corvus' orders
his bodyguard 'The Champion of Rome' to kill 'Milo' - however an inconvenient interruption
to proceedings occurs, 'Mount Vesuvius' begins to erupt, all hell breaks loose.
'Milo' has to battle his way out of the Arena, after a few last words from the Governors wife,
'Milo' realizes he has to save their daughter 'Aurelia' (Carrie-Anne Moss) who had earlier
spoken up for 'Milo' sparing his life....they now have to escape natures fury.
THE ALL POWERFUL 'ROMAN EMPIRE' COULD NOT DEFY NATURE'S FURY'
Any shortcomings the film may have are more than made up for by the spectacular spectacle
of 'Mount Vesuvius's' eruption and the resulting consequences.
History tells us in truth that many did escape the volcano's fury.
The film also includes several very good fight sequences, the film because of it's visual content
is certainly worthy of a viewing.
Special Features -
* Directors Commentary
* Deleted Scenes
* Buried in Time
* The Weapons of Pompeii
* The Assembly
* The Journey
* The Gladiators
* The Volcanic Eruption
* The Costume Shop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts off pretty promising - but the closer towards the end it ..., 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii (Amazon Instant Video)
Starts off pretty promising - but the closer towards the end it gets, the sillier it gets. And Kiefer Sutherland seems bored with his baddie act. Even our teenagers said that the silliness towards the end made them switch off. Some great effects, and swordplay, but loses itself - a rare blockbuster where there are even more cracks in the ground than in the script... and that's saying something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great big turkey, but loadsa fun!, 21 Sep 2014
This review is from: Pompeii [DVD] (DVD)
This is definitely a guilty pleasure movie. The plot is by Mickey Mouse and the script as wooden as Pinocchio. Of the actors, only the brilliant Mr Adewale as Atticus is worth a mention: the giant black gladiator is a truly noble and heroic figure. Historical accuracy is mashed up like a dog's dinner, but the sets depicting ancient Pompeii are spectacular and pretty accurate.

Total rubbish- but fast and furious, exciting rubbish. Keeps you on the edge of your seat cheering for Milo and Atticus, and then there's the big bang at the end when Vesuvius goes up in a lot of cheesy CGI fireballs. What you have in effect is the ancient world version of the modern trend for two hours of non-stop gore and mayhem, except instead of ironmen and mechanical monsters bashing the daylights out of each other you have Romans and gladiators.

Everyone dies in the final billowing pyroclastic flow: save your hankies for Atticus, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good start. First few seconds, 26 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. J. Young (EU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii [DVD] (DVD)
Started with some Pliny the Younger Quotes. Good start. First few seconds. In my opinion it is a pity that they did not use the real story of Pompeii (& perhaps even the tragic death of Pliny the Elder, as told to us by Pliny the Younger) along with recent archaeological work which shows us what really happened with that eruption, as a base start point for their (rather depressing & implausible) fictional story. Lots of stuff which seems to me (by no means an expert) to be hopelessly inaccurate about the eruption, including a huge tsunami which I don't think was reported at the time, pyroclastic flows apparently hitting the wrong places at the wrong time, a shortened time-frame for the entire eruption process, no real explanation of the suffocating eruption fallout process which ultimately gave us the tragic plaster-cast body shapes in Pompeii, instead of just bare heat-blasted bones in Herculaneum. This film made it sound like survival in Pompeii was utterly impossible, when actually those who left early enough did survive & even poor old Pliny the Elder might have survived, had he been younger & fitter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly edited and scripted, 21 Sep 2014
This review is from: Pompeii [DVD] (DVD)
Disappointing and truly horrendous. Feel so sorry for Keifer Sutherland as his acting was so bad. We waited for the volcano to blow but then had to sit through the chariot race and Keifer's continuous raising from the grave. This is all I can remember as I seem to have blanked out the rest of the film. Oh yeah lots of tributes to Starzs Spartacus series I thought the actors had changed scripts as some points. The recreation of Pompeii was very good which is why I gave one star. Some of the scenes felt incomplete and the editing left us wondering of the actors had been cut off mid sentence. It felt like what they ended up with was not what they started out to make, like they had mad a film from scraps off the edit room floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother., 21 Nov 2014
By 
Ugylid (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Terrible movie. Corny script. Hammy acting. Poor effects. The tv drama doc a couple of years ago was significantly better. This looks like it should have been a good film. Not quite sure what went wrong. Probably blame the director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pompeii [DVD]
Pompeii [DVD] by Paul W.S. Anderson (DVD - 2014)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews