Customer Reviews


321 Reviews
5 star:
 (244)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Progression reaches it's peak
This is a truly outstanding album, well worthy of 5 stars and more. It is probably going to be the pinnacle of Paolo's career and without a doubt it's his current pinnacle.

The first track "Scream (Funk up my life)" is a great funky rocker. Catchy, tuneful and above all else a superb start to the album - it really sets the tone of what is to come...
Published 3 months ago by Jamie

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jury still out...
Cant quite make up my mind about this album. Sunny side up this is not. Much darker, intense and adult than the last album. It wont be the soundtrack to my summer like the last one either!

Mr Nutini is, undoubtedly, a very talented songwriter and singer, but I have to say, I'm disappointed with this offering. If you loved the joyful, quirky sound of Sunny...
Published 2 months ago by Susan Rennie


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Progression reaches it's peak, 30 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caustic Love (Audio CD)
This is a truly outstanding album, well worthy of 5 stars and more. It is probably going to be the pinnacle of Paolo's career and without a doubt it's his current pinnacle.

The first track "Scream (Funk up my life)" is a great funky rocker. Catchy, tuneful and above all else a superb start to the album - it really sets the tone of what is to come.

Next up is "Let me down easy" - this is a really good soulful number and this shows that Paolo has really developed as an artist. It's a great track with lots of layers and great vocal male versus female dialogues portions.

After the first of the interludes (the only downside to this album) is the track "One Day", currently I'm struggling to get into this track. It continues the soulful layers but it slows the tempo down considerably. It seems to be popular though so it's probably just me!

Jumping forward, tracks 7 ("Better Man") and 8 ("Iron Sky") are fantastic. The former is a slow builder which tells a tale of self improvement. A really nice gentle soulful track at the right point in the album. The latter is an absolute belter, this builds and builds into a true arena stopping crescendo. Paolo's vocals are coarse, gritty and passionate. I absolutely love it!

Next is "Diana" - not sure why but I keep thinking of MJ's Dirty Diana! This doesn't bear any relation to that track though. This is another highlight for me. A really slow, catchy and soulful number, there's elements of Bill Withers and Lenny Kravitz in there. It's essentially just a love song, but it captivates and holds the listener during it's short 3 and a bit minutes.

Finally, a mention for "Looking for Something". I always appreciate when an album maintains a high level of quality and interest through to the closing tracks. Too many fade after the first half dozen tracks. The sign of a great album is to continue to capture and keep the listener all the way through to the very end. Another great soulful number from Paolo, demonstrating, what for me, is an outstanding accomplishment. This definitely crowns off this glorious album.

You would do yourself a disservice if you didn't get this. Paolo is definitely worthy of all the plaudits he receives for this effort. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much soul!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caustic Love (Audio CD)
This is an incredible album! It's probably my favourite of the year so far and I only downloaded it yesterday. Immediate gratification!

Paolo Nutini is inspired. The album is full of variety, passion and funk. I really hope it gains the recognition it deserves.

Most definitely a 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The guy's delivered - and then some, 17 April 2014
This review is from: Caustic Love (Audio CD)
This is a CD filled with soul and blues and feeling. It's definitely a more mature sound, more confident songwriting and a more confident vocal delivery. This is the sound of a man in his stride.

After first listening to this cd, I've looked back and can see that songs of his like "Pencil full of lead" were stepping stones to get to the sound he wanted.

Some of the songs here sound like Marvin would have snapped them up, and Otis wouldn't have said no. Kind of like a modernised/updated soul, of the '60s. Truely foot-tapping stuff. Perfect release time too - just before summer. I'd say this'll be the soundtrack to many a good night, full of alcohol sunshine and good times.

Mr Nutini has been gone from the scene for a good few years now, I'd say. However, wherever it was he went he has found soul and funk and has brought them both back in abundance.

Highly recommended CD - possibly the best of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Lead For His Pencil, 14 April 2014
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caustic Love (Audio CD)
Based on the video I saw of Iron Sky, that Adele raved about so much, I was really anticipating this new album. Gone are the relentlessly chirpy tunes of the previous album, as this is a bluesy, soul filled epic with some funky beats and heart-rending tunes.

The album cover prepares you for a grown up, heartfelt journey, and it delivers on every level. The vocals are so powerful, especially on Iron Sky, that you forget for a second that this is the same person who gave us Pencil Full Of Lead. I was blown away by the vocal performance, the excellent arrangements, and the ease with which he flicks through different styles.

Terrific album, absolutely love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paolo firmly in the soul groove..., 14 April 2014
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Caustic Love (Audio CD)
Paolo Nutini has a great voice and uses it well with excellent phrasing but his pretty boy looks have probably meant he hasn't got the critical recognition that his music really deserves. This new album sees him firmly in the soul groove, from the funk of opener 'Scream (funk my life up)' to the soul ballads like 'One day' and even the laid-back Allen Toussaint New Orleans-style R&B of 'Numpty'. There is plenty of variety here, the restrained almost acoustic song 'Better man', while 'Iron sky' (with it's sample from Chaplin's "Great Dictator") recalls the social-conciousness soul of classic Marvin Gaye and Curtis Mayfield. The record sounds great and if there is a nod to the past this isn't the retro-soul of James Hunter or Sharon Jones, the backing is a perfect blend of old and new sounds, songs like the Janelle Monáe duet 'Fashion' sound bang-up-to date and many are also very commercial. Nutini has produced a record he can be proud of and which should prove to be very successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caustic Love (Audio CD)
Its been a long time coming but what a great album, some really moody tracks Paolo at his very best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 6 Jun 2014
By 
C. Head "Carol" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caustic Love (Audio CD)
Love that I could download this on the day it came out and and then get the cd couple of days later
Took couple of run through to convince me I liked because of the different style - but now I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful and memorable, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caustic Love (Audio CD)
Always breaking new ground but retaining real soulful qualities. A more mature sound but the voice remains warm and wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caustic Love (Audio CD)
Paolo speaks for himself with this album he is brilliant.I bought this as a gift for my daughter who is also a Paisley Buddy and she listens to it constantly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caustic Love (Audio CD)
Great tunes, can listen to it over and over again ... so much better than the first one ... more grown up ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caustic Love
Caustic Love by Paolo Nutini
Buy MP3 Album8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews