Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hooked
A very accomplished first novel. The first person, present tense narrative drew me in from the opening page. The plot progresses at a breathless pace, with the central character constantly on the move. The careful attention to circumstantial detail keeps the story firmly anchored in the real world as the plot becomes more fantastic. The dramatic climax in no way lets us...
Published 22 months ago by Fran

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish
Absolute crap. Starts off OK & story starts to build as you're thinking its a story about gritty modern life in the inner city. Then they start eating each other. Rubbish.
Published 3 months ago by johnsowter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hooked, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Habit (Paperback)
A very accomplished first novel. The first person, present tense narrative drew me in from the opening page. The plot progresses at a breathless pace, with the central character constantly on the move. The careful attention to circumstantial detail keeps the story firmly anchored in the real world as the plot becomes more fantastic. The dramatic climax in no way lets us off the hook of moral ambiguity.It's perhaps not the last we'll hear of these characters.Habit (Salt Modern Fiction)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strangely hypnotic, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Habit (Salt Modern Fiction) (Kindle Edition)
After the first couple of chapters I was very tempted to give up on this novel as the characters were lightweight, predictable and not very compelling. However, I am glad I persevered as the book 'grew on me' as I understood the book's deeper motives and began to enjoy the interplay of characters and events. Interesting book told in a minimalist style and a light enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, 14 July 2013
This review is from: Habit (Paperback)
It seems rarer and rarer to read a debut novel that doesn't follow a humdrum pattern, a formula for 'success'. Debut novels are needy, trying to please. This book, doesn't do that. It doesn't have a formula. It refuses to have a pattern and it won't be pigeon-holed - just like its protagonist, Mike. You can read the blurb for the plot, it's the writing itself that's the thing with this one. It's raw, stripped down, but at the same time, beautifully constructed, beautifully shocking where it needs to be. It's a short, patchwork quilt of absolute control. One of those books that, when it ends, you're left looking over your shoulder unsure whether you're relieved or not. Absolutely love that feeling. And, like I said, it's getting rarer and rarer these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal but brilliant., 12 Feb 2013
By 
R "rozzwarren" (Cheltenham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Habit (Paperback)
This is one of the best debut novels, hell best novels full stop, that I have read in years. Everything about it is superbly done with excellent characters and a sense of place that plonks the reader right in the grim reality of life on the bottom rung of society. This warts and all depiction of the real world makes the weird elements all the more effective and coupled with a taut, streamlined narrative style create an engrossing read that propels you through the book at breakneck pace. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You NEED this book., 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Habit (Paperback)
THE BLURB

Manchester, the present. Michael divides his time between the job centre and the pub. A chance meeting with Lee, an introduction to her `Uncle' Ian, and a heavy night on the lash lead to a job working the door at a Northern Quarter massage parlour.

After witnessing the violent death of one of the `punts', Michael experiences blood-drenched flashbacks and feels himself being sucked into a twilight world that he doesn't understand but that is irresistibly attractive. When he eventually finds out what goes on in the room below 7th Heaven, Michael's life will never be the same again.

Think Bret Easton Ellis. On a writing break in the north of England. And all he packed was Fight Club and some early Stephen King novels. Stephen McGeagh's powerful debut will stay with you for a long time.

THE REVIEW

We're all about the fusion here at CSNI. Last week featured a horror hack tackling crime. This week, debut novelist Stephen McGeagh writes a horror-esque/ crime-esque thing, and releases it through literary publisher, Salt. Is your head spinning yet? Good. Because that's exactly the right frame of mind for talking about this book.

In many ways, HABIT could be part of the Bizarro or New Weird movement. But don't let that put you off: for all its weirdness, this is still very much a story grounded in reality. The writing style is loose and colloquial, narrator Michael as Scally as they come. It's dog rough at times, paragraphing and sentencing both out the window. And therein lies its strength: with such a down to earth narrative, characters and settings so familiar, the meat of the story, that big reveal in 7th Heaven, will prove all the more devastating, going way beyond what either crime or horror fiction has delivered in recent years in terms of shock factor. Make no mistake: HABIT is brutal. It will shake you to your very core.

It's a cinematic read. For tone and content, I'm reminded of films like MARTYRS or Paul Andrew Williams' 2006 release LONDON TO BRIGHTON. There's something lyrical about the book too, the easy-flowing narrative of booze and sex and Manchester's clubbing scene reminiscent of songs like Arab Strap's THE FIRST BIG WEEKEND or The Streets' BLINDED BY THE LIGHTS. It's the kind of book I'd recommend to people who don't normally read much, the short chapters and slim volume making for a very digestible page-turner.

The characters are people you'll know, or once were yourself. Protagonist Michael is far from innocent, but he's naive and fresh enough to ease us gently into the shenanigans at 7th Heaven while still retaining that all-important integrity. Lee makes for a good damsel in distress, in a twisted, neo-noir kind of way, with Mike's sister as the equaliser (kind of) and best friend Dig providing some black humour.

There's nothing to criticise. Everything about this book works.

In fact, let's make this easy for you: HABIT is groundbreaking. The kind of book that when you're not reading you're thinking about reading, and chomping at the bit to dive back into. It's full of dirt and grime and charm. Easily one of my favourite and most memorable reads of the last ten years.

You need this book.

Originally posted at:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it., 3 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. P. Magee "Peteo" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Habit (Paperback)
Absolute Quality debut novel, I couldn't put it down, this was my habit and I loved it. I can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this book, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Habit (Salt Modern Fiction) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. I didn't really know what to expect but it was a snapshot of how a chance meeting can really change your path for you. What I really liked about this book is that it was written using lots of colloquial Merseyside language. I think it helped make the character real even though it's set in Manchester. Maybe it just made me think of home! I don't know but I did enjoy it the book and hope to read more by the same author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good, compelling read, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I quite enjoyed Habit, even though I would have preferred it to stay more firmly rooted in reality rather than veering off into something of a fantasy direction. I liked the writing style; there was a good voice there, and it was that that kept me going. Certainly it was a compelling read overall, and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Habit - 5 Stars, easy., 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Habit (Paperback)
This is the best book I've read in ages. Gritty, dramatic, real and crazy. It really is one of those few books which you cannot put down. If you're from Manchester or live there, you'll recognise the characters and get even more absorbed by the awesome story-telling of the author.

More like this please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous debut novel, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Habit (Paperback)
Vacuous, unloved and unlovable characters, merely existing in their urban sprawl - lives revolving around the dole office, dossing on sofas and getting hammered in the local - so why was I pulled into their lives, desperate to know more and more with every page I turned?
I can only put it down to the brilliant, pacey writing and the breath-taking mid-point of the story which literally had me coming up for air - the "OMG moment" that the story was rapidly leading up to, but was completely unexpected - I needed a stiff drink!
Fabulous first novel, can't wait for more from Stephen - well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Habit (Salt Modern Fiction)
Habit (Salt Modern Fiction) by Stephen McGeagh
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews