Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About Time!
I've been waiting for this manga to be serialized for so long. First of all, if you're not into the gothic horror genre, or are looking for something happy and bright... click the back button. You're looking in the wrong place.

There are so many things about this manga that make it one of the best josei going; the art is beautiful, yet doesn't take away from...
Published on 15 Jan. 2010 by Alan W

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book starts backwoods!
First of all..Is the book supose to start BACKWARDS??? It's a Christmas present for my sister and it's not enough time to return for a change :( Please,can someone tell me.
Published 6 months ago by Karolina Sheldon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About Time!, 15 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Butler: Vol 1 (Paperback)
I've been waiting for this manga to be serialized for so long. First of all, if you're not into the gothic horror genre, or are looking for something happy and bright... click the back button. You're looking in the wrong place.

There are so many things about this manga that make it one of the best josei going; the art is beautiful, yet doesn't take away from the dark undertones of the story. There are no good guys, nothing cliche, and right from the get go, the reader is rooting for the bad guy to conquer. One of the story arcs is the author's own unique take on the Jack the Ripper history, and doesn't disappoint.

All these things make this a must-read, but I have to say, the thing I love most about this series is the main character, Ciel Phantomhive. Now, from the description given of the manga on this page, you'd expect some angsty little brat, right? Well, wrong (maybe not on the brat front, if Sebastian was given a say). He's got the obligatory dark past, yet unlike most manga characters like that, he doesn't spend all his time angsting over it. He's doing something about it. Plus, he's twisted and jaded against humanity, and he's on a clock. These things only make him a more interesting and unbelievably deep character.

Little warning though; depending on who you ask, some would say that this manga has some shounen-ai undertones. It's more a case of if you choose to interpret it that way though.

Oh, and for anyone who likes the manga, there is an anime, though it's not as good. Still a fun watch though, if you've got time to kill.

If you liked Pandora Hearts and 07-Ghost, you'll love Black Butler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He may take your life as well as your coat and gloves., 22 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Black Butler: Vol 1 (Paperback)
Very efficient (super efficient, one might say) with a very inefficient staff, Sebastian the `Black Butler' is himself not all he seems.

What begins as a straightforward butler story soon delves into a dangerous world of subterfuge, backstabbing and the lawlessness of the super elite rich where money and force denote position. Ciel Phantomhive, head of the Phantomhive family, has an ace up his sleeve though. He has help. Hired help. Sebastian, no less, who's there to get Ciel out of very dicey situations. He's very skilled.

What is their reletionship exactly? Well, it all becomes clear by the end of the first volume, and from here on out I guess it's one step after another toward an inevitable doom. But despite the dark underbelly, the story has flair and humour, if sometimes black comedy, and one begins to wonder if perhaps Ciel might just regret and in time thwart the terms of his Butler's service to him and the Phantomhive family.

Intriguing. So leave your coat and hat at the door and enter a great manga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One hell off a butler, 3 Nov. 2011
By 
D. Kracht "manga maniac" (amsterdam, the netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Butler: Vol 1 (Paperback)
Black butler is about a demonic butler who made a deal with the family of a 12 year old boy.
The butler can turn any disaster around into perfection, having demonic powers and all.
The epsiode starts with the 'average' household tasks for a butler, and builds up to a climax at the end, when something happens to the boy and the butler needs all his power to save him.

That basically sums it up.
I liked it. But the story is a bit slow with all the stereotypes in it. At the end when Sebastian (the butler)sets out to save his master, all the "action" is not pictured in the book. There is some, but not a lot.
The setting is Victorian which is also not to everyone's liking.

So, would I recommend it? It depends.
If you are a fan of Gundam and the like this is not your thing.
If you like Pandora hearts, it just might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "One hell of a Manga", 26 Feb. 2010
By 
K. Edwards "Angel Kaede" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Butler: Vol 1 (Paperback)
This is one of my most highly anticipated manga.

I started off with the Anime and fell in love with it. It's dark story and quirky house staff add the perfect mix of chills and humor. I certainly jumped at the chance of getting the manga as soon as it came out and cannot wait until the next. Yes, the first few chapters don't give much in the way of Sebastians and Ciels true motives, but if you bare with it, it soon gets interesting.
Sebastian never ceases to amaze, and never seems to prove a weakness at all. He can literally do everything! I guess with in some reason eventually.
Yana Toboso has quickly became one of my all time favorite artists and Black Butler has stormed to the top of my list. Even my sister read it and loved it much more than anything else she's read!

Its one that I think any Manga lover should give a go, for the comedy, Mystery, chills, adventure and a down right great story!

Do enjoy ^^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Butler, 22 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Black Butler: Vol 1 (Paperback)
The first impression people get if I say "Black Butler" is that I'm racist. I'm not. The name is given for a different reason (I'll let you find out by yourself!!)

If you have never seen Black Butler (it is now an anime) then I suggest that you watch it after reading the manga. The anime is superb but the plot line goes quicker and you don't want the story ruined by knowing what will happen. Saying that, the manga has a some different stories in than the anime, so if you have already seen the anime, you don't have to worry reading what you have watched.

If you're one of the many fans who love having beautiful characters in manga, then you'll love Sebastian. You may be a little confused by him for a little while, but you'll soon find out more about him. He's simply, one hell of a butler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Gothic, Fun, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Butler, Vol. 1 (Kindle Edition)
Gorgeous artwork that flows effortlessly from panel to panel, and a great mix of action, horror and comedy. The story is engaging, with characters that really draw you into the plot, with the titular demonic butler being the obvious standout, and his relationship with Master Ciel Phantomhive one of the primary plot hooks (Sebastian, the butler, is in a contract with Ciel, acting as his subservient butler until the time comes that he can devour his soul).

I've read this on my iPad via kindle, which is a fantastic way to experience the manga, zooming on on any smaller details you may miss when reading in paperback, and viewing pages full screen in portrait is great, although there are a couple of double splash pages you need to rotate back to landscape to fully appreciate.

Looking toward to the following volumes (already have volumes 2 and 3 downloaded and ready to go).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One hell of a Butler!, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Butler: Vol 1 (Paperback)
I have always been fascinated with this series whether it be the anime or manga. I have always wanted to read this. I ordered this not knowing what to expect and truthfully this is one hell of a manga! The art is beautiful and sophisticated, the character's Ciel and Sebastian are so good looking. The first volume is not boring at all.

The delivery time respected the expected delivery time. I ordered this on the 12th October and it came on the 17th October- I chose standard delivery. The packaging was neat and protected the product well. It came with no scratches or tears. The pages inside are of good quality, not too thin not too thick.

Overall I would recommend this manga to anyone as the story plot is amazing (no spoilers from me unfortunately you go buy it for yourself!) and it is well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great art and a good plot, 4 May 2015
This review is from: Black Butler: Vol 1 (Paperback)
I have to admit I wasn't completely blind going into this book as I had watched the anime. Its not often an anime wants to make me go back to its source material but I'm glad I did go back to the source material. The art is very detailed and the story is very interesting. The dynamics between the characters are good and its quite humorous and time. It was great to read and I would definitely recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very Good book, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Butler: Vol 1 (Paperback)
i well say one thing these books are Japanese translated into English you have to read then from the back of the book and from the bottom of the page upwards where as English books start at the front downwards i thought I'd point this it itv anyone it's thinking of buying these manga Japanese books thanks for reading they are brilliant books full of adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JUST BUY IT!!!!!!, 15 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Black Butler: Vol 1 (Paperback)
Best book ever.
I have now read up to volume 3 and I am dying to read the fourth one!!!!!
What I am trying to say, is, buy the frikin book, 'kay?!
(Go on, you know you want to...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Butler, Vol. 1
Black Butler, Vol. 1 by Yana Toboso
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews