Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Aid Kit - Gold Rush
When it comes to First Aid Kit and the musical journey of Swedish sisters Johanna Söderberg and Klara Söderberg, one simple principle seems to be at work. This can be nailed to a formula that charts the song writing skills of these two remarkable siblings ratchet up on every LP they release. Consequently as 2012s "The Lions Roar" was a vast improvement on their...
Published 3 months ago by Red on Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but no cigar
Hmmm, was expecting more after the fantastic reviews this album has received. As with the last album it nearly delivers and after repeated listens I can't quite put my finger on why it falls short. Maybe it's that most of the songs just sort of amble by -nothing here to really hate or fall in love with.
Published 1 month ago by Mrs. Billie Joe


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Aid Kit - Gold Rush, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stay Gold (Audio CD)
When it comes to First Aid Kit and the musical journey of Swedish sisters Johanna Söderberg and Klara Söderberg, one simple principle seems to be at work. This can be nailed to a formula that charts the song writing skills of these two remarkable siblings ratchet up on every LP they release. Consequently as 2012s "The Lions Roar" was a vast improvement on their debut "The Big Black and the Blue" it is daunting to note that with "Stay Gold" these sisters (still in their twenties) have raised the stakes again.

This new album produced by Mike Mogis oozes confidence and class. With First Aid Kit transferring to the major label Columbia, no expense has been spared on the production. The sound on the album appears beefed up although the lyrical themes are largely introspective. Two tracks from this new album namely the wordy alt country of "My Silver Lining" and the lovely "Cedar lane" have been heavily trailed. The latter is a lament of exquisite melancholy although it is almost bettered by the hymnal vibe of the haunting "Shattered and Hollow". Unsurprisingly the voices of the Söderbergs are immaculate throughout with their glorious harmonies soaring skywards no more so than on "The Bell" where they lift the roof off the studio during the chorus.

It is undoubtedly the case that the pressures of constant touring and the media spotlight is impacting on their world view. Thus the start of the outstanding "Waitress Song" with its almost Jeff Buckley chord structure begins with the regretful line "I could move to a small town and become a waitress/ Say my name was Stacy and figure things out". The title track goes further and is full of the kind of questioning uncertainty that denotes restlessness not least "What if to love and be loved is not enough? What if I fall and can't bear to get up? Oh, I wish, for once, we could stay gold". The introspection however largely disappears on the surging country of "Heaven Knows" which should get everyone up on their feet at the barn dance and shows that the sisters are not just heartbreak specialists or purveyors of Scandi-angst.

If there is a slight doubt around this album it is that it is not hugely removed from the general feel of "The Lions Roar" albeit the songs are stronger not least the lovely closing ballad "A long time ago". However it does beg the question how long First Aid Kit can plough this furrow without their unique brand of Americana becoming tired and formulaic. These are nonetheless concerns for another day and in any case these two sisters have always shown a propensity to surprise with their 2011 version of Patti Smith's "Dancing Barefoot" bringing the tough New York Poet to tears. Overall "Stay Gold" is a excellent album of songs which will further catapult the already humungous reputation of this band and take them to the top of their trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Gold [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I was really looking forward to this album as I have listened to their previous albums over and over again and this one is going to be no exception. As well as the gorgeous harmonies the music behind the singing is really special as well. My favourite songs on the album at the moment are My Silver Lining, Master Pretender and A long Time Ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory first-aid kit., 9 Jun 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stay Gold (Audio CD)
"Stay Gold" is the third studio album by First Aid Kit, a band formed by Swedish sisters Klara and Johanna Söderberg. The spotlight was first turned on the then teenagers in 2008 when a video they posted to YouTube went viral: Fleet Foxes's Robin Pecknold saw their version of "Tiger Mountain Peasant Song," was wowed by their performance, linked it to the Fleet Foxes website - and that's what set the stone rolling. Still very young when they debuted in 2010 with "The Big Black And Blue," four years later this moniker still applies: they're now only 21 and 24 years old, respectively.

This new album, again produced by Mike Mogis, is a showcase for their meteoric growth as performers. A 13-piece orchestra (the Omaha Symphony Orchestra) has been added to give the band a bigger, more fulfilling sound, but it is those soaring vocals that still carry everything along - phenomenal vocal harmonies that make the Söderbergs sound like the Everly Brothers' kid sisters when they sing their wistful, country-tinged folk-rock tunes.

The stunning opening track "My Silver Lining" is a powerful blend of strings, elegiac guitar and melancholy percussion, that elegantly support the sisters gorgeous resonant vocals. Album title track "Stay Gold" starts softly, with an acoustic guitar strumming along, supported by a perfectly-placed cello, but grows into an amazing chorus in which they almost seems to channel Abba. My absolute favorite track on this album is the incredible catchy "Heaven Knows," an up-tempo country hoedown that is driven by banjo and fast Telecasters, while another outstanding track is the album closer, the beautiful piano-ballad "A Long Time Ago."

The other tracks are just as easy on the ear, there's not a weak one among them. And as the 10 songs on "Stay Gold" show, their talent for storytelling is incredible as well, with literate lyrics that have a casual poetic nuance. I have a weak spot for beautiful harmonies, and First Aid Kit delivers these in spades. So if you're suffering from musical abrasions on the ears, caused by the standard dross that's played on the radio these days, I recommend buying this First Aid Kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but no cigar, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Gold (Audio CD)
Hmmm, was expecting more after the fantastic reviews this album has received. As with the last album it nearly delivers and after repeated listens I can't quite put my finger on why it falls short. Maybe it's that most of the songs just sort of amble by -nothing here to really hate or fall in love with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Gold (Audio CD)
the greatest thing to come out of sweden in a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great tracks on this cd, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Gold (Audio CD)
first heard these on radio 2,great tracks on this cd,would like see to them in concert some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Gold (Audio CD)
Brilliant follow up to The Lion's Roar, excellent album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good development on music style., 26 July 2014
By 
Fionn Stafford "Bouncer the dog" (Castlebridge, Wexford, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay Gold (Audio CD)
Not as immediately attractive as the Lions Roar but there are good quality songs here. I think there isn't as strong a single as Emmylou from Lions Roar but I did enjoy this album and must listen to it again soon. I liked Master Pretender and Cedar Lane probably the best as they seem more catchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gold, 28 Aug 2014
This review is from: Stay Gold (Audio CD)
Just lovely. Some of the tracks seem to be 'same old', then change direction surprisingly - Cedar Lane a good example. Lovely vocals, as well - and, note, all you plastic pop stars - these kids can do it live as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does it for me, 10 Sep 2014
This review is from: Stay Gold (Audio CD)
Klara and Johanna always produce good music I particularly like the like the lyrics to Silver Lining, very insightful and cynical. This will be played over again ,they have moved on and improve with every album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stay Gold [Explicit]
Stay Gold [Explicit] by First Aid Kit
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews