Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost too realistic
I have owned the majority of cricket games available, and this is the only one that begins to capture the subtleties of the real game.In fact a cricket fans knowledge of tactics, might actually give him an advantage over a hard core gamer.The unique control system takes a lot of hours play to master, particularly in batting, but is very rewarding if you persevere.The game...
Published 8 months ago by JULIAN FOUNTAIN

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Below expectations
Personally, I thought the features of the game were pretty good like being able to update and edit players as well as having huge varieties of teams then being able to call domestic players up into the international arena. Also i like the DRS feature but really i never got into the game because i hated the gameplay. I was so used to ashes gameplay that this different...
Published 8 months ago by asad


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost too realistic, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
I have owned the majority of cricket games available, and this is the only one that begins to capture the subtleties of the real game.In fact a cricket fans knowledge of tactics, might actually give him an advantage over a hard core gamer.The unique control system takes a lot of hours play to master, particularly in batting, but is very rewarding if you persevere.The game has been designed from the ground up, to encourage expert users input, and this results in a vast range of up to date teams and legendary players available, despite it's unlicensed status.The graphics are pleasing, though the player portraits fall short of the quality of games like the WWE franchise.The biggest problem with this game is the sheer thought and concentration it takes to build a realistic score or take a wicket, you need to think about every ball,and games almost play out in real time.The commentary is a bit utilitarian, with no jokes or anecdotes, but they do call every ball and use the correct position names.Once in a while the commentary will make a mistake for example praising a good shot, for a boundary which resulted from a wayward throw.A really nice touch, which greatly heightens the sense of realism and tension, is the ability to use your judgement to challenge the umpires decision, though success is rare.With no map view of the field, and no cut-scene, It is not obvious when the fielding team slightly alter their positions and it is extremely easy to be run out.After all this effort you would expect some really exciting unlocks for difficult achievements, like video clips, but all you get is a few points.So in summary great for cricket fans, but definitely not for pick up and play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall the best cricket game available., 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Overall good game. Dubious commentary, poor camera work on multiplayer, but very slick and realistic action. Could do with patching a few bugs in commentary eg 'that's a corker! The batsmans ends up hitting thin air!' When a wide ball is bowled a foot down leg side and is left alone. Career mode is good but time consuming if you're an all rounder, requires patience and practice to really get to grips with all aspects of gameplay.

Career mode issues noted are

- 'he's dropped a catch!' Commentary when on replay the ball clearly hits the ground first
- one day simulations on rookie amateur and pro are poor - side batting first always wins and if you're side are chasing 200 off 40 overs they will bat the overs finishing short of the target eg 150/2 unless you go in and up the run rate and win the game for them.

- Being stumped seems unavoidable at times - if you swing and miss there seems to be no button you can press to get back and 3rd umpire always gives it out

- in one day matches big ant review system is more of a feature than a useful tool, as umpires are 99.99% correct.

Multiplayer is good fun but issues are

- very limited time for setting up match/team selection (30 secs)
- very limited time to do anything in game and can offer forfeits to other players while you're trying to sort your field.
- when batting, camera angles do not change immediately like on career mode meaning running between wickets can be either risky (can't see fielders) or limited (having to wait for the camera to change, so you can decide to run a single for what would have been a two.
- player lag can have a massive impact on the game. Fielders often appear out of nowhere and catch you out and sometimes the ball disappears just as it's bowled. Could probably do with a server patch maybe.

Every cricket game has struggled to capture the entire realism of our beloved sport, however this seems to me to be the closest we've come to playing the real thing. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Below expectations, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Personally, I thought the features of the game were pretty good like being able to update and edit players as well as having huge varieties of teams then being able to call domestic players up into the international arena. Also i like the DRS feature but really i never got into the game because i hated the gameplay. I was so used to ashes gameplay that this different camera angle, different way of bowling and batting was too complicated and therefore didn't really like it. If the game was at least at a better angle of play, like straight, then maybe it would have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cricket Game Ever, 11 April 2014
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Firstly I cannot understand the earlier reviewer only giving 1 star.
I think he must have been playing a completely different game, certainly not Don Bradman Cricket 14.
Just received the game this morning and have now been playing for several hours and already finding more features and depth to the game as I play.Gameplay is excellent and the batmans shots and bowlers actions are very realistic.
Has to be the best cricket game ever and is a must buy for all cricket fans as it is the game they have been waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best cricket game to date!, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
After eagerly awaiting a decent cricket game, I got this game on release date from Amazon. I opened the game and put it in my PS3. I have to be honest and say that I was disappointed. I was expecting to be hitting fours and sixes “off the bat”, but no, I found it really frustrating! I found the batting really difficult and was ready to return to the much easier ‘International Cricket’. I even considered putting the game straight on ebay, but decided to stick with it. I tried the bowling which, surprisingly, was really enjoyable. I persevered with the batting and began to get the hang of it. The satisfaction of having a decent innings, and beating this game, was really satisfying. I then tried the career mode, which, again I found really enjoyable and rewarding. This game does not have the polish of, say, EA sports games with every stadium identically replicated etc, and you can forget any other type of cricket game you have played before as this is totally different. But I have been playing this game now for a couple of days and it has grown on me to the extent that I think that this is one of the most challenging and rewarding games I have played. It definitely has its faults, random run outs etc. but I am hoping that these glitches will be sorted out in a patch or two. I would recommend this game, but be warned, you are going to have to invest some time into this game to begin to reap the rewards. I will not give this game a five star rating as I believe that a less steep learning curve, especially for the batting, and a few irritating glitches sorted out is needed before then. I seriously hope that Big Ant address this soon. Things are looking more rosy for the future of cricket games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cricket game with a couple of minor flaws, 9 Jun. 2015
By 
Cheryl Greedy "C" (Barnet Mental Hospital) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is the best cricket game I've played since Brian Lara on the PS1 and is probably better than that as it's a little more realistic, especially when it comes to batting.

The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars are a couple of little issues that could easily be sorted out with a patch.

Anytime when a fielder collects the ball close to the rope and draws his arm back to throw it back to the keeper/bowler it passes over the line of the rope and the computer gives a 4, although this obviously wouldn't happen in real life.
It's difficult to know any slight changes to the fielders when batting so it's easy to be run out. It needs a small radar similar to that in Brian Lara.
Also the commentary says 'he's dropped it' when the ball has bounced once or twice before the fielder has got near it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good game, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a great game, and hopefully the start of a new franchise. Cricket games just dont seem to regularly come out and it has been nearly 5 years since the last one in International Cricket 2010! However Online play is pretty terrible and glitchy though but the overall game has everything you could want, tours/career/competitions and customisation. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced rubbish., 10 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Wow, what an AWFUL game. Kind of fun for a short while then.....

Graphics are abysmal, like something out of the last century and while some of the batting and bowling play is realistic and good fun, some of the idiosyncrasies make it pretty much unplayable. Running is basically hilarious, I'd say 7/10 of my dismissals are run outs as cancelled runs result in batter wandering aimlessly in the vague direction of his crease only to be run out. Fielding likewise ridiculous as players hit the stumps 8 times out of ten. I guess the VERY quick games are okay, but anything more than 10 overs aside is pointless..... Garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game!!!!!, 19 July 2014
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Great cricket game. It's been far to long since I played A good cricket game, the last being Cricket 07. Got boring just playing as England on Ashes 2009 and International Cricket 2010, it's good that I can play for my home county of Essex in the county cup, pro 40 and 20 20.
Batting is very hard in career mode but it takes practise and patience to get the hang of it. Bowling is also very fun to do and is so different to previous cricket games.
Love the game and hope there are more to come over the coming years. Love you Big Ant Studios!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect? No. Best cricket game out there? Without doubt., 15 April 2014
By 
Fred Ward (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
So let's get this straight off the bat (pardon the pun), this game was made by a tiny studio in Australia for a limited budget. It's not a game with the resources of someone like EA, so if you're expecting shiny graphics, a soundtrack with all the latest bands and commentary by Boycott and Aggers simply put you'll be let down.

If instead, you want a game which has worked hard to create a realistic system to both bat and bowl, which has a community already backing it with numerous (real) edited players, a career mode where you can bat, bowl or keep wicket and something with a learning curve rather than hammering sixes off every ball, this may be that summer time-waster for you.

There is some bad, running between the wickets (use R2 to sprint) can often cause problems, field settings for the user as standard may not always suit (three slips in the last over of a 20/20?) and there is a well documented error with starting a career game where the names don't match all the correct players. The major issues are being addressed by a patch scheduled to be released in the next couple of weeks (as of mid-April).

As it is now, it's a very enjoyable game with a couple of glitches (and horrendous commentary). I really believe post-patch it'll be a very enjoyable game full stop. If you've ever wanted a top cricket game on the market, buying this will not only support the developers for any future version, but it'll give you a hell of lot of fun in the meantime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3)
Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) by Tru Blu Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
£25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews