Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good game
This is a great game, and hopefully the start of a new franchise. Cricket games just dont seem to regularly come out and it has been nearly 5 years since the last one in International Cricket 2010! However Online play is pretty terrible and glitchy though but the overall game has everything you could want, tours/career/competitions and customisation. Highly recommended
Published 3 months ago by Anusheel Prasad

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Potential - but too many issues
The game has potential, but there are problems. The career mode is something that I like the idea of. However, batting is just too difficult. It needs to have an easier setting level to play at with more assistance. The fast bowlers hurl the ball in at you and you literally have a split second to decide whether to play off front or back foot and the direction that you...
Published 1 month ago by Auplo Stenclem


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good game, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a great game, and hopefully the start of a new franchise. Cricket games just dont seem to regularly come out and it has been nearly 5 years since the last one in International Cricket 2010! However Online play is pretty terrible and glitchy though but the overall game has everything you could want, tours/career/competitions and customisation. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cricket Game Ever, 11 April 2014
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Firstly I cannot understand the earlier reviewer only giving 1 star.
I think he must have been playing a completely different game, certainly not Don Bradman Cricket 14.
Just received the game this morning and have now been playing for several hours and already finding more features and depth to the game as I play.Gameplay is excellent and the batmans shots and bowlers actions are very realistic.
Has to be the best cricket game ever and is a must buy for all cricket fans as it is the game they have been waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best cricket game to date!, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
After eagerly awaiting a decent cricket game, I got this game on release date from Amazon. I opened the game and put it in my PS3. I have to be honest and say that I was disappointed. I was expecting to be hitting fours and sixes “off the bat”, but no, I found it really frustrating! I found the batting really difficult and was ready to return to the much easier ‘International Cricket’. I even considered putting the game straight on ebay, but decided to stick with it. I tried the bowling which, surprisingly, was really enjoyable. I persevered with the batting and began to get the hang of it. The satisfaction of having a decent innings, and beating this game, was really satisfying. I then tried the career mode, which, again I found really enjoyable and rewarding. This game does not have the polish of, say, EA sports games with every stadium identically replicated etc, and you can forget any other type of cricket game you have played before as this is totally different. But I have been playing this game now for a couple of days and it has grown on me to the extent that I think that this is one of the most challenging and rewarding games I have played. It definitely has its faults, random run outs etc. but I am hoping that these glitches will be sorted out in a patch or two. I would recommend this game, but be warned, you are going to have to invest some time into this game to begin to reap the rewards. I will not give this game a five star rating as I believe that a less steep learning curve, especially for the batting, and a few irritating glitches sorted out is needed before then. I seriously hope that Big Ant address this soon. Things are looking more rosy for the future of cricket games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best cricket game, 15 April 2014
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
The history of cricket games isn't studded with many greats, but I've played pretty much everything - from Grahame Gooch on the ZX Spectrum through Brian Lara and on to International Cricket 2010 on the PS3. Don Bradman is undoubtedly the best. It's a leap forward, offering a much greater variety of batting controls using two analogue sticks, a more enjoyable bowling experience that makes you focus on the bowling action rather than targeting where the ball will land, and a pleasing variety of user-created teams - making this a must for cricket fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best cricket game made to date., 15 April 2014
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Cricket is an extremely hard sport to make a good game of. No developer since Codemasters with their Brian Lara '99 & Shane Warne Cricket '99 titles has made a game with as positive a response as this from Big Ant. This game has about a hundred more features than those old titles and has obviously been made by huge fans of the sport.

The attention to detail in relation to features is just ridiculous, with manual appealing finally in a game, along with their version of the DRS system (BARS), a kind of hotspot feature, customisable field settings, a huge range of ways to bat and bowl, the powerplay and free hit features, downloadable players and teams. You can create your own competitions, tours, play online. If it relates to cricket, you can pretty much be sure it's there.

All of this plays really well and many cricket gaming fans have complained about the stupidly easy difficulty of past games and this game comes with 5 difficulty levels, so there's something for everyone.

The batting has been said by some to be "too hard", well that's been said by many a gamer very early into a purchase and those are the games with longevity, because we all get good at things to the point of them getting a lot easier. I'm sure that'll happen here as my scores have been steadily creeping up.

Bowling is a little easy at times, but I'm playing on Pro and sometimes Veteran right now, there's still Legend to go and I'm a long way off that!

As far as support, Big Ant have stated that if there are minor tweaks required by the majority of gamers, they'll make them and are in the process of releasing the first patch for the game, which will for one facet, deal with the extremely good fielders and stumps getting broken a bit too often. Their team is obviously listening to their fans and seem to hope to make an already very good game, even better.

I can only hope they make more of these games in the future, because this is an excellent platform to start with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best cricket game by a mile!, 11 April 2014
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a must for any cricket lover. The depth of the game is impressive, with an extensive career mode, DRS reviews and many other features that past cricket games haven't had. It's not as polished as Fifa or John Madden, but the gameplay makes up for that. There are no licenses as such, but the cricket academy makes up for that, with thousands of players and teams to download. If you love cricket, then you will love this game. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game!!!!!, 19 July 2014
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Great cricket game. It's been far to long since I played A good cricket game, the last being Cricket 07. Got boring just playing as England on Ashes 2009 and International Cricket 2010, it's good that I can play for my home county of Essex in the county cup, pro 40 and 20 20.
Batting is very hard in career mode but it takes practise and patience to get the hang of it. Bowling is also very fun to do and is so different to previous cricket games.
Love the game and hope there are more to come over the coming years. Love you Big Ant Studios!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect? No. Best cricket game out there? Without doubt., 15 April 2014
By 
Fred Ward (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
So let's get this straight off the bat (pardon the pun), this game was made by a tiny studio in Australia for a limited budget. It's not a game with the resources of someone like EA, so if you're expecting shiny graphics, a soundtrack with all the latest bands and commentary by Boycott and Aggers simply put you'll be let down.

If instead, you want a game which has worked hard to create a realistic system to both bat and bowl, which has a community already backing it with numerous (real) edited players, a career mode where you can bat, bowl or keep wicket and something with a learning curve rather than hammering sixes off every ball, this may be that summer time-waster for you.

There is some bad, running between the wickets (use R2 to sprint) can often cause problems, field settings for the user as standard may not always suit (three slips in the last over of a 20/20?) and there is a well documented error with starting a career game where the names don't match all the correct players. The major issues are being addressed by a patch scheduled to be released in the next couple of weeks (as of mid-April).

As it is now, it's a very enjoyable game with a couple of glitches (and horrendous commentary). I really believe post-patch it'll be a very enjoyable game full stop. If you've ever wanted a top cricket game on the market, buying this will not only support the developers for any future version, but it'll give you a hell of lot of fun in the meantime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't give up on it!!, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
With regards to batting I found so difficult but once you get the hang of it it's so fun! First innings I was 94 all out. Second I was 65 all out. Thought I'd give it one more try and went 9/4 but since recovered to 187/4 and I haven't looked back! Only played a bit but loving it. Also love the team updates to get real players!!

Buy this game and persevere!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Best Cricket Videogame that has been released, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Loving this game. It does have a relatively long leaning curve ( please do not expect to pick this game up and get into it straight away), but once you have learnt the ropes, it is hugely enjoyable. The Cricket Academy is an excellent feature, and it also allows you to download a vast number of virtual players that have already created by the public at large. Great game, this is the one that Cricket fans have been waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3)
Don Bradman Cricket 14 (PS3) by Tru Blu Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews