Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MIXING IT WITH THE 'UNDERWOOD'S' COULD PROVE 'FATAL'
The continuing tale of Political -Power - Games.
'Frank Underwood' has manoeuvred his way to the office of 'U.S. Vice President.
Business Man 'Raymond Tusk' who has the ear of friend and President, 'Garrett
Walker' has recommended the appointment.
'Frank' sets out from the word go to drive a wedge between 'Tusk' and the President,
but will his...
Published 9 days ago by rbmusicman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Be warned - it would be a good idea to rewatch the end of Season 1 before ...
Be warned - it would be a good idea to rewatch the end of Season 1 before launching into this as I couldn't remember a couple of the characters nor what on earth they were meant to be doing in this rather convoluted season. Excellent acting but either I have lost the plot or the plot got itself a bit tangled. And another pretty unbelievable and unconvincing President...
Published 2 days ago by hh


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MIXING IT WITH THE 'UNDERWOOD'S' COULD PROVE 'FATAL', 20 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Cards - Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The continuing tale of Political -Power - Games.
'Frank Underwood' has manoeuvred his way to the office of 'U.S. Vice President.
Business Man 'Raymond Tusk' who has the ear of friend and President, 'Garrett
Walker' has recommended the appointment.
'Frank' sets out from the word go to drive a wedge between 'Tusk' and the President,
but will his efforts to do so come back and bite him at a later date.
Making an enemy of 'Frank' or becoming a threat could prove fatal as political colleague
alcoholic 'Peter Russo' didn't live long enough to understand.
Both 'Clair' and 'Francis' are not beyond having affairs, facts that could cause both issues,
for both 'Underwood's'
Manipulation and wheeler-dealing is a way of life for 'Frank' -wife 'Clair' has an equally
single minded approach with her business affairs.
Neither are high in the loyalty-stakes they simply use people to achieve their aims,' Frank'
has a team of foot soldiers to do his bidding led by 'Doug Stamper'
'Frank' has been playing political games to undermine supposed friend and President.
While political games are being played, 'Zoe Barnes' a former lover that 'Frank' has used
because of her connections to the 'Press' becomes another victim of the Vice presidents
fury, her boyfriend 'Lucas' also with the 'Press' believes 'Frank' is involved with two deaths,
are his investigations getting too Hot for Frank ?
There is so much going on can 'Frank' and 'Clair' stay ahead of the game, cosying up to
'Garrett' and wife 'Tricia' all a part of the overall plan.
Meanwhile 'Raymond Tusk' is doing all he can to get even with the manipulating Vice
President, a plan which includes publically exposing 'Clair's' indiscretions and laying
the seeds of doubt about 'Frank' in the Presidents mind.
Is the plan coming off the tracks for the 'Underwood's' or will they prevail ?
One thing is certain 'Frank' and 'Clair' do.....deserve each other.
This is a terrific political drama which is certainly compelling viewing.
Just hope the series continues.....'Kevin Spacey' is wickedly convincing as 'Francis
Underwood' ........This a must see TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spacey delivers after the first season taster, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I've been a big fan of the original House of Cards when it arrived in 1990, and watched it many times since then. Once you accept the updated version, set in America isn't the same experience as Ian Richardson portrayed (both fine actors but have their own take on the role) you'll get along well with it.

House of Cards (USA) as I call it is slick and modern, but well cast and whilst clearly based on the original has it's own twists and theme.
Cast wise I like Spacey and his understated Francis J. "Frank" Underwood, devious and cunning, clever and manipulative. Robin Wright also does a very good job as his wife. I am quite happy with the cast overall.

Season two heats things up more, after the first season set the groundwork (some complained the first season was a bit slow partly down to I think laying out the characters more for viewers) Frank's lined himself up to be the Vice President..one step closer to his ultimate goal of grabbing the top job in the Oval office.

I won't ruin it with spoilers, but things do really come to a head with Zoe Barnes and Frank in a fairly dramatic way. The rest of the season shows Frank's continued cunning in destabilising an already weak President. Some complain it's a bit predictable plot wise, but then from day one we've known Frank is ambitious and wants power for himself. It's a slick production that's well directed and has some excellent performances even from supporting cast members, decent screenplay and script, good camera work and even the soundtrack delivers, nicely polished in every respect.

I'm quite happy to watch this, despite reservations initially how it would compare to the original 1990 series. They are different in feel and portrayal, I like both for what they offer viewers. Spacey has really grown on me as an actor, he seems very well suited to the role. One of the reasons people enjoy this so much? I think it's quite simple really, this portrays politicians in a way many feel is quite close to reality. Scheming, plotting, career motivated, and indifferent to the needs of the people..and will say anything to get their way up the power ladder. If you're a sceptical type this is right up your street.

If you are new to the series you do really need to start with season 1 to enjoy it fully (you will have missed many important events)
I was tempted to give it 4 stars, it's 4.5 overall for me so 5 grabs the spot. I like it and enjoy watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 a vast improvement over first season., 22 April 2014
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Review of content. No plot spoilers.

I can't explain one of my main reasons for vastly preferring this over the first season without going into a pivotal plot point that occurs early on in the proceedings.

What I *can* say is that in season 2, Spacey settles down and grows into the role of Frank Underwood, playing the part in a far more nuanced, far less hammy way. Fans of his Machiavellian methods will be delighted to hear that he is still as devious and as ruthless as ever. Ditto his wife Claire (a compelling performance from Robin Wright).

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable exploration of ambition at the heart of power in the company of the Underwoods who never once take their eyes off The Ultimate Prize. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant Machiavellian politics, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Cards - Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Absolutely brilliant Machiavellian politics. Spacey and Robin Right are scary and glacial in their deliberations. Strong support from the rest of the cast.
This is overdose territory for me - cannot just watch one episode!
Also, a very well constructed soundtrack, atmospheric and dynamic with stellar photography to match.
Can't wait for series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great season, 21 May 2014
Really enjoyed season 1 so was looking forward to this one and was certainly not disappointed. Kevin Spacey and Robin Wright are magnificent as devious, scheming, single minded plotters. I watched the original UK version many years ago and really was hooked on that. (Started watching it again recently but found it really dated). Can't wait for season 3. Will the house of cards come tumbling down in that ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my new favorite show., 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Cards - Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just as good as the first season, maybe even a little better as some shocking and surprising stuff happen in this season. Kevin Spacey and Robbin Wright are brilliant in this and have gotten even more evil in this season. Can't wait till season three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Cards - Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
...that it will probably be months and months before series 3 comes out on DVD. I was ecstatic when series two was available after waiting a couple of months after finishing seeing the equally brilliant series 1, and it did not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Deal, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If the first series was marvellous this is even better. From Kevin Spacey and Robin Wright the whole cast is nothing short of superb. If this was a movie Oscars would be a foregone conclusion. Lets hope for another series and soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Francis Is No Saint, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By a country mile one of the best political dramas ever on TV. The acting is first class as is the script writing and far darker than the original British series from which it is adapted. Get it now and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars House Of Cards season 2 (SPOILERS), 13 Mar 2014
By 
Fantastic show, Kevin Spacey is a phenomenal actor I really recommend you will not be disappointed. Can't wait for season 3 next year.

With Frank on the verge of being sworn in as Vice President, Zoe and her colleagues Lucas Goodwin and Janine Skorsky continue to dig for information, ultimately locating Rachel Posner. Frank's aide, Doug Stamper, brings her to a safe house while Frank lures Zoe to a DC Metro station and, unseen to security cameras, pushes her in front of a train. Zoe's death galvanizes Lucas to continue the search alone and he solicits the help of a hacker to retrieve Frank's text history from AT&T. However the hacker is actually working under Doug Stamper to entrap Lucas, leading the reporter to be ultimately caught in an FBI sting and pleading guilty to cyberterrorism.

Claire becomes close with the First Lady and they support a bill to reform the military's prosecution of sexual assault after Claire reveals in an interview that she had an abortion as a result of being raped in college by a man who has just been commissioned as a general. She learns that the President's marriage is strained and offers the First Lady the aid of a spiritual advisor and marriage counselor....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House Of Cards - Season 2 [Blu-ray]
House Of Cards - Season 2 [Blu-ray] by Kevin Spacey (Blu-ray - 2014)
24.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews