Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anton delivers again!, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Have listened to this several times now and I am really enjoying it. Definitely up there with the best BJM albums. The tracks "Goodbye (Butterfly)", "Food For Clouds" and "Memorymix" standout, but there's not a bad track on the album. Existing fans will not be disappointed. Can't wait to see the UK tour next month. Last time they were over touring "Aufheben" they were excellent. Never can quite understand how you can see a band as good as The Brian Jonestown Massacre live for just £17.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soundtrack for the start of summer.., 20 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
A few stand out tracks, and generally a great album if you like BJM you'll like this. In the vein of the more recent albums there a wide variety of sounds on here. Anton really seems to be nailing the production out there in Berlin too. Has Ricky Maymi on it too, which is never a bad thing. Bring on the UK summer tour! Lovely cover art too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do-do, do-do..., 12 Jun 2014
By 
Stappo (Ipswich UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
It usually takes a few listens to get into a new album. This is now starting to sink in and float around in my brain after not too many tries. Pretty accessible across the board really and brings thoughts of sleepy hot summer afternoons doing nothing.

Some great sounds and production - particularly like the flute and 'Sympathy For the Devil'-esque sounds of 'Goodbye (Butterfly)',

Well worth while for existing fans and would even be a good starting point for the unsure. Looking forward to seeing them in the intimate setting of Norwich Waterfront next month (as long as I don't get stuck behind one of the pillars!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot dislike this!, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Richard Talbot "What are Words worth?" (Lake District, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (MP3 Download)
I've been playing this album in the car to and from work since buying it. There aren't many albums I can play over and over again, but this is one of them. The tunes run around my head all day long. It is a slightly dreamy soul searching melodic masterpiece. I love it.
Simple songs with simple guitar riffs and short echoing trumpet punctuation. I love this album... oh I think I've already said that! It's good, nothing not to like about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to it., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Excellent(by and large) new BJM album that sees Nuke 'Em' and chums back on form,as was the last album,leaving behind memories of the self indulgent tedium of Who Killed Sgt.Pepper.Looking forward to the tour,see ya at the Rescue Rooms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
S. murphy "Spud" (Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Fantastic album, best BJM album for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Another fantastic album from BJM. Not sure I can pick any holes in this.
I've been a fan since the early 2000's & have lost count of how many albums they've produced. Looking forward to the next one from Mr Newcombe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation...., 30 May 2014
By 
J. Willis (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Everybody seemed to agree that 'Aufheben' was BJM back on form, and 'Revelation' picks up where that album left off. For me, the first seven songs are as strong as anything Anton has done in quite some time, and with 'What You Isn't' we have a BJM classic. Whilst i think that the second half of the album takes its foot off the gas, somewhat, from 'Nightbird' onwards it finishes very strongly. There is also more emphasis on Anton's vocals, which for me is a good thing. I would describe the album as sounding like a mix of 'BraveryRepetitionAndNoise' and 'Aufheben', both fine records. Right now BJM are in a rich vein of form, long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Saw these guys at Glastonbury and loved them. So I bought this album, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Saw these guys at Glastonbury and loved them. So I bought this album, and I wasn't disappointed, it's really good, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shambolism at its best, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Even better live....hipped out, 60s style smashes against the contemporary...love the resultant noise, excellnet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revelation
Revelation by The Brian Jonestown Massacre
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews