Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2014
It's quite hard deciding whether I like this one more than their first album. The second album didn't do it for me. But Joy of Motion is an excellent comeback. Full of grooves, jazzy sections, mind-blowing solos, and "thumping" (check out The Woven Web @ 1:30).

This album is so groovy that you'll be headbanging in 7/8 (time sig.) without knowing.

I ripped this to my iTunes using Apple's Lossless Codec to give me the highest bitrate (roughly 1000kbps as opposed to 320kpbs). This is an album that NEEDS to be played in the highest possible quality! (though you need pretty decent speakers/headphones to make the most of it).

Anyways, best 10 quid I've spend on a CD in a looooong while.

Now to wait 3 years for their next album...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Instrumental guitar-based album full of complex riffs, rhythms and time signatures.

This is nothing short of genius work, with all three band members at the top of their game.
This is also drummer Matt Garstka's first album with the band.

It's hard to describe what this is like, but it would certainly mostly appeal to guitarists, drummers and musos.

There are elements of metal, flamenco, jazz, and afro cuban.

Check out songs like Physical Education, Tooth and Claw and Para Mexer to get an idea of how diverse this album is.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
From its dizzying musical technicality to its breathtaking and creative use of melody and dynamics ranging from the heavy chugs to the fusion shred licks, this album is an absolute masterpiece. Easily their best work so far. The mixing work is also top notch; the drums, guitars and bass sound clear, warm, rich and tonally pleasing, topped with subtle synth lines that effortlessly flow in and out complementing the sonic pallet. The only downfall is in its sometimes overly loud mastering, but that's easily dismissible when the music is so fantastic. 10/10 fo shizzle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
After a few listens I came to the conclusion that this is their best album to date. Listen to this album!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Why are there people who make music like this? The tones, the rhythms... the groove, blast and complexity...

I like their first album, haven't heard their second, but LOVE this...I hear more of their Meshuggah influence in this one, at least in the drumming, which can only be a good thing.

Keep em coming lads. It's so damn good....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
An awesome album, AAL sound is very unique and I like it. All the songs on here are great, some especially, like Physical Education for example. If you are at all into progressive music, I would recommend this album. As there are no vocals, AAL have a different tone to most other artists and its great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
This album - the third and latest offering from Tosin Abasi and his jaw-droppingly talented musical cohorts - is nothing short of breathtaking. I won't bore you with a track-for-track review (although Physical Education is a particular highlight for me just now); you can check them all out for yourself, but suffice it to say that the compositions and performances captured on this record are enough to make your nose bleed, your foot tap (if you can figure out the time signatures..!) and your head bang. How do you even conceive complex musical tapestries like these anyway?! I play guitar, but Tosin Abasi is one player who's musical brain-wiring and technique I can scarcely even begin to fathom. Put simply, Animals As Leaders is groove-prog-jazz-fusion-metal at its most genius and expert level of execution. Period. If you're already a fan, you really don't want to leave this one out of your AAL collection. Complete eight-string genius from start to finish.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Amazing musicianship from the AAL lads! This album is on par with there self titled effort! Go and buy it! You will not be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
These guys are incredibly talented ! The whole album is excellent, with some grooves that'll melt your ears :-) A must listen!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
Awsome album. The best so far. Very technical and ever changing. Best enjoyed with a good set of headphones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99
£0.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)