Customer Reviews


178 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lily Allen got to me in time for Christmas
It's a great album! Good pop combined with the 'crooning' sounds of 'days of old', combined with really cheeky lyrics. Will buy her first album now...
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by Victoria Jensen

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's all the dancehall beats?!
This is just pop standard. So run of the mill and yes, she's sounding more like Kate Nash than Kate Nash!
All the reggae/soul influences that tinged the first album are non-existent! Gone!! So disappointing....I love Lily and I thought she was into a variety of music styles? - there's none of them here! Poor!
Published on 19 Feb 2009 by CMB


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lily Allen got to me in time for Christmas, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Not Me It's You (Audio CD)
It's a great album! Good pop combined with the 'crooning' sounds of 'days of old', combined with really cheeky lyrics. Will buy her first album now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ITS HER..!, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: It's Not Me It's You (Audio CD)
Although not strictly a fan of her, this album is very good indeed. It makes a change to find original music with a social commentary, that everyone can relate to. A lot of truths in this music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice artist - shame about the downloader, 18 July 2009
By 
Zygo (London UK) - See all my reviews
I like the simplicity of Lily Allen's stuff and although I'm twice her age, I don't find the colourful language offensive because it is sung sweetly and without malice. It just reflects a different age where yoof communication has changed. Mind you, I can't imagine her swearing like this when she's eighty. Tattoos and swearing just don't suit lady pensioners.
My biggest gripe is with the download - my first. There are hiccups in several songs where the Amazon software failed. I won't bother again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's done it again!, 6 Dec 2009
This review is from: It's Not Me It's You (Audio CD)
This is a really great album! After loving 'the fear' thought i should try this and was not disappointed! All the songs are really different and original, although the swearing does get annoying after a while. Miles better than her first album, and i thought that couldn't get any better. Definately buy for teens+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album - for grown ups!, 20 July 2009
By 
Anais Anais "Ana" (West Yorks, Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Not Me It's You (Audio CD)
Brilliant album, Lily Allen has a fabulous voice and shares so much through her lyrics. just be careful when listening with small kids around. You may need to skip tracks or answer some interesting questions from innocent minds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lily Allen - It's not me it's you, 27 July 2009
This review is from: It's Not Me It's You (Audio CD)
This is the first album i have purchased of Lily Allen and this was very catchy,and has been well listened too(minus the swear words)this is an excellant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not me it's you, 19 Aug 2009
This review is from: It's Not Me It's You (Audio CD)
A good offering from an artist I didn't think I'd like having often read about her in the tabloid press!

Modern "pop" music at it's best with only a couple of average tracks to skip over. Lily's songs are great - well constructed and totally unpredictable. Most use catchy melodies and tell a little story in plain Engish that's easy to understand and relate to. Her voice is brilliant, but IMO the 4 letter words she uses doesn't enhance her songs - maybe it gets her talked about though?

A must for anyone who enjoys good creative chart music.It's Not Me It's You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Lily Allen Album and I love it, 8 Dec 2009
By 
T. Trousdale (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Not Me It's You (Audio CD)
I genuinely like the entire album. Some strong language but great lyrics non the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what you'd expect, 18 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Not Me It's You (Audio CD)
This is the perfect Lilly Allen album and is just what you'd expect from her. No bum tracks really, which is so rare on albums these days where you get the 2 songs you've heard to death on the radio and then a load of rubbish. This is good right through till the end...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Cracker Miss Allen!, 29 Jun 2009
This review is from: It's Not Me It's You (Audio CD)
I bought this, and her earlier album together, unsure whether that was the right call .... but I'm far from disappointed.

They're worth every penny - a very unique sound at the moment (although others are trying to mimic), with minor swearing that the young kids won't even notice, due to cheeky, catchy melodies - bargain!

This second album is as good as the first and I am always in a dilemma as to which to listen to first!

Love it - nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews