Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A final, precious gift from Roy to his fans
I will never forget waking up one early December day in 1988 and finding out that Roy Orbison had died suddenly and unexpectedly shortly after performing in concert the night before. I, along with a legion of long-time fans, grieved the loss of this incredible singer and performer. Initially, his death at that particular time in his career seemed terribly unfair. After...
Published on 13 Jun 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Most Songs Are Not Worthy Of His Talent
When Roy Orbison made a comeback to recording in the mid-eighties, the magnificent voice was still intact and he had the benefit of up-to-date recording facilities for an even better sound.
Unfortunately, the best songs seem to have been used up in the 1960's and what classics they were. Mid 1980's recordings of these great songs can be found on a Virgin "Best Of"...
Published on 19 Jun 2010 by Mr. D. Wyatt


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A final, precious gift from Roy to his fans, 13 Jun 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mystery Girl (Audio CD)
I will never forget waking up one early December day in 1988 and finding out that Roy Orbison had died suddenly and unexpectedly shortly after performing in concert the night before. I, along with a legion of long-time fans, grieved the loss of this incredible singer and performer. Initially, his death at that particular time in his career seemed terribly unfair. After stagnating during the 1970s and early 1980s, Orbison was back and perhaps even better than ever in 1988. His collaboration with Bob Dylan, Tom Petty, George Harrison, and Jeff Lynne in the form of The Traveling Wilburys had put him back in the national spotlight, and many of us longed for the new album soon to be released, an album we had heard nothing but incredibly good things about. Then, suddenly, he and the voice that touched our hearts for so many years, was gone. We, the fans, should have been rewarding Roy Orbison for all of the memories he gave us in song, yet, ever the selfless and humble man he was, Orbison actually presented all of us with a final, precious gift in the form of the album Mystery Girl. Roy’s widow Barbara deserves our heartfelt thanks for bravely putting the finishing touches on this album after her husband’s death.
Mystery Girl is simply an incredible album featuring a reenergized Roy Orbison easily uniting his unique voice to a modern sound that appealed to any number of ears; the released tracks from this album found ample playing time on both pop rock and country radio stations. Perhaps the first single, You Got It, got too much attention, as it was nearly played to death over the course of the first half of 1989, but that is just a tribute to the wonderful beauty and infectious beat and rhythm of this song co-written by Orbison and Wilbury buddies Jeff Lynne and Tom Petty. The second track on the album, In the Real World, marks an abrupt change in tone; bringing to mind Roy’s classic song In Dreams; Orbison captures your heard on the first note and soars with it through the clouds that only he possessed the means of exploring. This haunting track is, in my opinion, the best song on the album. Roy decides to rock a little bit on (All I Can Do Is) Dream You before stopping to wax poetic and heartbreaking on the slow ballad A Love So Beautiful, a song featuring a little musical support from co-writer Jeff Lynne and George Harrison. California Blue (another Orbison-Lynne-Petty venture), The Only One, and Windsurfer are great songs in their own right, but special attention must be shown the remaining three tracks. Careless Heart is a beautiful song of love and loss that seems to convey a sense of the type of feelings we felt over the loss of this man taken much too soon from our midst. She’s a Mystery To Me, written by U2’s Bono and The Edge, presents Roy with a slightly different type of song that he easily makes his own, hitting the high notes perfectly on the choruses. Then there is The Comedians, a song written by Elvis Costello; this is vintage Roy Orbison, delivering a strikingly visual display of betrayal and loss, the very subjects Roy seemed to understand more than any other singer out there.
Mystery Girl is a very special album that Roy Orbison fans will treasure and play often for the rest of our lives. I wish Roy would have lived to see the incredible reception this album received from fans, but one can take comfort in the fact that Orbison left this world on top where he always belonged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery Girl, 13 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mystery Girl (Audio CD)
One of the greatest singers the world has ever seen, Roy Orbison has remained unmatched for the sheer delivery of his songs. Even Elvis Presley commented that Orbison was "the greatest singer in the world", possibly the ultimate compliment from a man who had himself achieved so much. However following Roy's early successes in the sixties his carerer began to fade, mostly due to tragedies surrounding his own life. Some thought him finished, some thought him dated, but most recognised his sheer brilliance.
This album, Mystery Girl, which would prove to be the last that he would release, (though his wife did release 'King of Hearts' some time after his death) firmly establishes Orbison as being one of the greatest influences in Rock and Roll history. From the inspirational "You Got It", to the incredibly moving "A love so Beautiful" and of course to the nearly impossible notes of "Shes a mystery to Me", this album shows that the voice that established Roy Orbison in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame not only survived well into the 80's, but that his voice further developed and had reached levels of near perfection. Certainly nobody past or presnt could sing these songs like Roy Orbison. This album compliments, perfectly, Roys earlier recording in the 60's from his major hits of 'Crying', 'Its over', 'Running Scared', 'Only the lonely', and the vastly underrated 'In Dreams'. In comparison to his earlier work brought up to date as seen in 1987 in 'A black and White Night', it is clear that 'Mystery Girl' deserves to stand alongside the legendary Orbison of the 60's. This album has everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best big O albums, 18 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mystery Girl (Audio CD)
This was Roy's comeback album released in 1989. Roy had been a big hit in the 50's and 60's but had to wait until the late eighties for the music world to come back to him. Unfortunatly he died in 1988. Mystery Girl includes without a doubt some of the best tracks Roy recorded, including A love so beautiful and In the real world. The Comedians was written by Elvis Costello and like many of Roy's songs tells the story of lost love. The title track, She's a mystery to me was written by Bono of U2 and is perfectly suited to Roy's voice. Bruce Springsteen was a big fan of Roy Orbison and once commented on wanting to sing like him. Listening to Mystery Girl it is easy to see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic eighties album, 1 July 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mystery Girl (Audio CD)
Ultimately, most people remember Roy Orbison for his sixties classics, but his renaissance in the eighties should not be overlooked. He re-recorded many of his old hits during a legal dispute that prevented his old classics being re-issued (at one time there was a threat to destroy them). Roy also teamed up with George Harrison, Jeff Lynne and Tom Petty to form the Travelling Wilburys, a group that lasted for just one album. Finally, he recorded this solo album of original material. The album provides a great showcase for Roy's voice, appealing to Roy's traditional fans while gaining a new generation of fans who previously had shown little interest in his music.
The big hit from this album was, of course, You got it, a catchy up-tempo song that received plenty of airplay on radio stations across the world. It deserved all the success it got but there are other songs here that I regard as even better. While Roy was always good at up-tempo rocking songs (as he showed in the sixties with Oh pretty woman), he could do so much else. With classic ballads and mid-tempo songs such as California blue, She's a mystery to me, Careless heart, In the real world and A love so beautiful, this album maintains a high standard from start to finish.
Every Roy Orbison fan should own this album, which was his last and best album of original material. And if you're not already a Roy Orbison fan, this album may cause you to become one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The big "O" proved he had still got it with this great album, 14 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystery Girl (Audio CD)
There is not a poor track on this album, and it contains some real gems which give a fitting memorial to Roy's unique voice. "A love so beautiful" makes the hairs on your neck stand on end and comedians is a song only he could have done. If you liked Roy Orbison in the 60's you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting !!!, 13 Mar 2007
This review is from: Mystery Girl (Audio CD)
Mystery Girl is Roy Orbison's best album barring his many 'Best of' compilations. This is an album from the heart, and Time didn't allow him to savour this success as it took his life so abruptly. I remeber Q magazine giving this album 3 stars out of 5. How inappropriate- I wonder what the rating would be now because some of the tracks are so good like;

She's a Mystery to Me with Bono's guitar intro - Brilliant

The Only One - an abscure track that deserved far more recognition

You Got It - The track that made this album famous

A Love SO Beautiful - Better than many over commercialized slows like 'Lady in Red' sung with such intensity, you feel teleported to such a situation.

Windsurfer - I wonder how this would sound witha Beach Boys background - absolutely perfect.

This album is the best tribute to a great singer - Fitting !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another host of memorable tracks for Big O fans to enjoy., 12 Sep 2000
By 
This review is from: Mystery Girl (Audio CD)
For Big O fans this album contains many excellent tracks including 'You Got It' which did quite well in the British music charts. A further three of which could easily have made it into the charts. These being: 'A Love So Beautiful' (best of the bunch delivered in Roy's inimitable style), 'California Blue' and 'Windsurfer'. Hard to find any tracks that I'd skip whilst listening to this album, which continues to reinforce my belief that Roy was 'the voice', something that too many people refuse to acknowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only one, 27 May 2014
By 
Mister D (The Royal County) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystery Girl Deluxe (Audio CD)
The original Mystery Girl is a stone cold classic and if you don't have a copy already, the re-issued deluxe edition should be high on your shopping list.

Classics such as "Careless Heart", "You got it", "She's a Mystery to Me" and "The Comedians" make this album stand up to repeat listenings and even the weakest track (Dream You) is very good.

I already have the 2007 re-issue of this album as well as the deluxe edition and it is 50/50 whether this upgrade is necessary.

The Deluxe edition with DVD comes in a slip-case with a high quality booklet.

The DVD contains an interesting documentary about the album and new tracks as well as videos for a number of songs (either new or from the era)

The much publicised new track "The Way Is Love" is a demo with new music placed over the top. Its obviously a personal track for Orbison's sons, however the quality of the tape used to record the vocals is nowhere near as good as the modern equipment used on the backing instruments. You may find the difference jarring. That said, it is a good track, the arrangement fits the song and I am glad they included it.

The studio demo's of the songs featured on the original album are fascinating and the other unreleased track "You are My Love" is really nice.

I have a couple of minor issues with this set (which doesn't impact my rating).
It would have been nice to include the original version of "the way love is" (before the new instruments were added).
The 2007 CD included a track called "You may Feel Me Crying" which was as good as anything as released on the album proper. This track has been omitted from the 2014 re-issue. Its available elsewhere (e.g. the soul of rock and roll) but its a real shame they excluded it.
The CD is mastered significantly louder than the previous version and while the sound is not bad, I am not sure it was necessary.
I think they should have kept the original album cover and I would have have preferred the studio demo's on a separate CD

If you don't have this album, then the 2014 deluxe edition is recommended.
If you have a previous issue of this album and can live without "You may feel me crying" the 2014 version is well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His voice lives on!, 13 Feb 2009
This review is from: Mystery Girl (Audio CD)
I have this on Vinyl which has been played many times pleased a CD version came about what can anyone say about Roy which hasn't already been said - this is certainly one of the best CD's ever! I wish there could have been many more however if you just relax, close your eyes you can imagine he is still there singing with the voice of an angel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars american music fan I, 25 Sep 2008
By 
D. Burchell (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mystery Girl (Audio CD)
I first bought this album when it first came out back in 1989 just a month or so after the tragic death of roy orbison,who my opinon was quite simply the greatest singer,songwriter of all time.This is a must have album for enyone who wishes to hear eny of roys music.
I was only 19yrs old when i heard the news of roy death on the radio and to my shame it was the first time i had heard of roy orbison,but i was impressed with the snipets of his big hits from the sixtys that was played druing the news flash of his death,so much so that i bought the greatest hit compilation that came out at the time and after playing that i knew that i was listerning to something truely wonderfull
From that day onwards i have been on a quest to collect every song and album roy made in his lifetime,it took about me twenty years to get everything on cd,but its been a great ride.
Mistery girl is quite possibly the best album roy ever made, every time i hear roy sing those songs im feeled with emotion, every song is a master piece, my personal faviote being WINDSURFER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mystery Girl Deluxe
Mystery Girl Deluxe by Roy Orbison
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews