Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Friend who Understands YOU, Creates YOU
This amazing book was written by James Allen in 1904 and with the world in its current state, this book should be essential reading for anyone wanting to live a life of abundance and create a better life for his/her family.
The books hit upon important areas such as the effect of Thought on Circumstances, whereby men are anxious to improve their circumstances, but...
Published on 23 Feb 2010 by Darcy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not all that interesting
I had to buy this book as I have heard so many people rave about it but I was very disapointed. It just didn't interest or excite me. Luckily it was very thin and a very speedy read. It wasn't terrible but I wouldn't recommend it.
Published 8 months ago by WeddingBox Italy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Friend who Understands YOU, Creates YOU, 23 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: As A Man Thinketh (Paperback)
This amazing book was written by James Allen in 1904 and with the world in its current state, this book should be essential reading for anyone wanting to live a life of abundance and create a better life for his/her family.
The books hit upon important areas such as the effect of Thought on Circumstances, whereby men are anxious to improve their circumstances, but are unwilling to improve themselves; they therefore remain bound.

I shall leave you with you an important paragraph taken from this small yet effective book, which may help you decide whether this book is for you or not.

A strong man cannot help a weaker unless that a weaker is willing to be helped. And even then the weaker man must become strong himself. He must by his own efforts, develop the strength which he admires in another. None but himself can alter his condition.

The above paragraph sums it up pretty well, if you want anything in life, good or bad, it all starts with the intention, if intentions are good, then good will surely come your way and vice versa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dynamite, 21 Oct 2003
By 
Larry Hehn "Christian in the Rough" (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: As A Man Thinketh (Pamphlet)
James Allen proves that it is possible to pack dozens of valuable nuggets in a small package. The language is often lofty and dated, which in other works detracts from the material. In this case it reads like the writings of a wise old scholar, enhancing the content and its weight.
If you enjoy highlighting key points, keep the cap off your highlighter while reading this. More than just an essay on positive thinking, Allen walks the reader through applications for personal growth, putting thought into action, using personal gifts to achieve right purposes, persevering to develop character, sacrificing and putting forth your full effort.
Powerful nuggets in a tiny package. Dynamite.
Larry Hehn, Author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exellent short book on the power of the mind., 14 July 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: As a Man Thinketh (Hardcover)
This book can serve as a turning point in any individuals life. Once one has mastered the control of the mind, they can determine the outcome of their life. The greatest testimony of this book comes from a 15yr old who read the book and has transformed his life. I have recommended this book and bought this book for many. I encourage the buying of this book for all who want to achieve their ultimate potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Sep 2001
By A Customer
You are what you think. You are literally the sum of your thoughts. Action only comes once the seeds of thought have been planted and sowed. James Allen leads listeners to self-improvement through his inspiring and simple message: you are what you think. I also highly recommend "Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom" by Taro Gold - which is written in much the same spirit as James Allen's work. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As A Man Thnketh., 31 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As A Man Thinketh (Paperback)
Sincere comments given herein by me for anyone who cares to read them.

Frankly, in this materialistic and cynical world we tend to hang our heads in despair when wading through hundreds of false and silly comments about books, films, and TV programmes. Like me, you probally disagree with most of these.

Bless this author for leading humanity into more light for his wisdom is so very needed.

I have read many spiritual and philosophical books yet this one ranks as one of the very best. It is a priceless Tome-of-Wisdom that everyone should have - quite magnificent!

Makes one think...and think... and sort oneself out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a Man Readeth, so He becomes Free!, 16 Mar 2009
This review is from: As A Man Thinketh (Paperback)
Ever wondered about cause and effect? Ever pondered upon that gnawing problem in your life that you feel sure you have the power to resolve, you just can't quite get a hold of it? Problems losing your temper, feeling low self-esteem? Do you feel positive, but are not being able to convert those thoughts into action? Read this book!

At 60 odd small pages of large print this can probably be read in an hour. But do not let quantity be confused with quality - for this book could be read and re-read thousands of times in a life without decrease in profit to the reader.

Quite simply, Mr Allen explains how our thoughts shape us. Us as characters, us as personalities. Us as our personal appearance, us as our neatness and tidiness, or lack thereof. Us as our temper and anger, or us as serene and self-possessed. Us as thinkers and poets, or us as degenerates and slobs. We are what we think!

This book does not transform you in and of itself. What it does do is provide an eloquent and inspiring reminder to yourself - you are who you want to be. No excuses, no pretending, no whining. Allen lays down a challenge; experiment with the prinicples of clean, virtuous, wholesome, uplifting, kind, polite and generous thought, and see what happens in your life. Conversely, if you wish to be honest with yourself; ask and experiment at what results have only ever come through selfishness, laziness, slobbery, vanity, perversion, and the grovelling thoughts and feelings associated therewith.

Upon the discovery that, as Mr Allen states, the law of thought is governed by the law of the harvest, i.e., you reap what you sow, it will become evident to any reader that the task in front of them is to first get rid of the dry, dusty, barren land of their mind, laying fresh, fertile new soil in its stead. Then, to plant the most nutritious and delicious seeds of thought, goals and high and glorious desires. Next, to cultivate and tend the same with care, and then, in the fulness of season, to reap with joy the abundant rewards and fruitage of such labours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tiny Book with the Great Ideas, 21 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: As A Man Thinketh (Pamphlet)
This is a very small but really and truly very insperational book. Author wanted to show how most people use their thinking ability, and how to improve it for the better.
If you like the book--and I think you do--it became an instant classic for you. This tiny book can serve as a turning point in anyone's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 3 Jun 2008
This review is from: As A Man Thinketh (Paperback)
This is the most wonderful little book you could ever possess!!! It is right up there with Wallace Wattles' "The Science of Getting Rich". It is a deserved classic and after only two days back at work having read it I am putting it into practice and seeing very positive results. Here's a taste: "man has but to put right himself to find that the universe is right; and during the process of putting himself right, he will find that as he alters his thoughts towards things, and other people, things and other people will alter toward him". Law of Attraction written olde worlde style basically, it takes a few readings to understand it but he has lots of little pearls of wisdom to offer and it is deceptively complex given the length of the book. You'll read it in an hour or two!! A wonderful gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book should be read by all young people, 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: As a Man Thinketh (Paperback)
I read this wonderful book on my way to work on a daily basis.It sets me up for the day. Everyone should have a copy i'm always giving one away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Message, 14 May 2009
This review is from: As a Man Thinketh (Paperback)
I love this book. Allen tells you that you are what you think. He really goes into detail as to tell you what different types of thoughts will produce. This is a great read. I will encourage anyone to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews