Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, Fun & Well-Written
"The Order of Ascalon" is the kind of fun, engaging and well-written novel that sparks with imagination and takes you on an entertaining adventure from start to finish. Daniel J Franks does a wonderful job of drawing the reader into Peter Butler's suddenly fantastical life as he finds himself swept up in a world of magic, intrigue, centuries-old enemies, a...
Published 5 months ago by PipLou

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read
Good read. Mixed up some Arthurian legends with the present. Sometimes odd "boys own" writing style... Would recommend under prime membership.
Published 5 months ago by Cheshirecat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, Fun & Well-Written, 1 April 2014
This review is from: The Order of Ascalon (The Order of Ascalon Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
"The Order of Ascalon" is the kind of fun, engaging and well-written novel that sparks with imagination and takes you on an entertaining adventure from start to finish. Daniel J Franks does a wonderful job of drawing the reader into Peter Butler's suddenly fantastical life as he finds himself swept up in a world of magic, intrigue, centuries-old enemies, a legendary father and a quest to defeat Mallum Mallus before things take a bad turn. The novel is superbly written with a fast-pace, a smooth tone and vivid writing style that just makes you grin in eagerness as you flip from page to page. This is a lighthearted story that has all the elements of a winning novel, from daring adventure to authentic characters that make you love them. Overall, this was a pleasurable read, one that I would definitely recommend to other readers whether they are young or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite must read, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order of Ascalon (The Order of Ascalon Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, I connected with the characters and really felt that I was on the journey with them. I would certainly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, epic story!, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order of Ascalon (The Order of Ascalon Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I've never been one for the era of Merlin myself, yet this story gives it a new spin, a modern tale that's fresh and gripping!
Tapping into all emotions, this story makes you part of the journey! I can't wait to sink into the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First of a Trilogy. Cant wait for the second book., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order of Ascalon (The Order of Ascalon Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An amazing book. The story and characters were very engaging. Read the whole book in one go. Once i'd started it i was unable to put it down until it was finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, Recommended!, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order of Ascalon (The Order of Ascalon Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I literally just finished reading this book today (after not being able to put it down since I bought it) and have to say it's one of the best books I have read in a long time. I felt like I got to know each of the individual characters throughout the book as it went along and found myself totally immersed in the story from the start, the only bad thing was when it ended! I would definitely recommend this book to anyone whether young or old! Thanks Daniel J Franks, you rock!
I Rated this book 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pace, great style, great plot, 5 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order of Ascalon (The Order of Ascalon Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was in the mood for a light, fun read and Mr Franks certainly did not disappoint. There is great pace, great style, great plot and I raced through the story thoroughly enjoying myself every moment. The historical and fantastical elements work so well together with rich mythological themes very skillfully incorporated. Peter and the other terrific characters are well written, engaging and funny. I will definitely return to this story and look forward to more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order of Ascalon (The Order of Ascalon Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A very well written book from start to finish. Great detail and development of characters. The only drawback I have, as with all good trilogy's, have to wait for the next one shame, on the plus side means I get to rad this nearer the time to refresh. Great book and I wish the author all the success he deserves. It would also be nice to see on the big screen with any luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order of Ascalon (The Order of Ascalon Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read! Can't wait until the next one... Brilliant read and time passed so quickly reading this.. A true page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dan Brown meets Harry Potter meets Sword in the Stone., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order of Ascalon (The Order of Ascalon Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book this morning and have just finished it. I have to say I really enjoyed it. Its just my sort of thing- secret societies, mysterious beginnings, a chase across the globe to hunt down long lost artifacts- its got it all. Not as heavy as Dan Brown, who can sometimes baffle you with details enough to suggest an English/history assignment, but a really nice paced adventure.Looking forward to the next two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book!, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order of Ascalon (The Order of Ascalon Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book was actually recommended to me and although it didn't seem to be a genre I would generally choose to read I was so pleasantly surprised by this book, as some debut novels can be a little disappointing, however, this was brilliantly written. I loved this book and I can't recommend it enough. It is an ambitious debut novel but the writer writes so fantastically I was quickly swept away in to the writers world.

Just like the product description says...The Order of Ascalon takes you on a magical mystery adventure through time and around the world... and the author doesn't disappoint to deliver on magic, mystery and adventure. Enter a world of darkness, good and evil and secret organisations who all want the protagonist Peter for their own agenda.

Because this book seems to cross many genres it is very appealing and I look forward to the next instalment by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews