Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars It's not a resurrection, she didn't take a break!
I don't know why almost everyone seams to be referring to this album as a comeback, it's not, she made a brilliant album in 2012 called 'It's a man's world', although it did seam to pass most of her British fans by, as it didn't chart here. And also why all the hype on a return to her original sound, I thought 'Heavy Rotation' was her best album! This album sort of falls...
Published 5 days ago by dutch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
bit disiappointed with this album, found it depressing!!!
Published 3 days ago by Donna


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars It's not a resurrection, she didn't take a break!, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
I don't know why almost everyone seams to be referring to this album as a comeback, it's not, she made a brilliant album in 2012 called 'It's a man's world', although it did seam to pass most of her British fans by, as it didn't chart here. And also why all the hype on a return to her original sound, I thought 'Heavy Rotation' was her best album! This album sort of falls in-between, it's sort of a little rock, a little pop and a little AC.

The lead single (Stupid little things) was in my opinion a mistake, it's not the strongest of songs, and it failed to chart almost everywhere except Italy and Germany (don't believe Wikipedia, it went top 10 there!). The opening 'Staring at the sun' is a much better track. But that said, it's the ballads that really make this album: 'I don't want to be the one' is brilliant and 'Apology' is lovely.

I've written about deluxe editions many times in my reviews as they drive me crazy. Not so many years ago artists would be releasing 17 track albums, now it's a regular 10 track album and you generally have to pay extra for the rest of the tracks. It's a music industry rip-off! And that said this is one of the worst deluxe editions, only 4 extra tracks in a terrible gatefold booklet that doesn't hold the book and the bonus tracks on a separate EP. Bad marketing! And why is the title track to the album a bonus title (weird). The redo of 'Left outside alone' isn't really that strong. Keep evolving Anastacia and stop trying to retread old ground from the huge years, the music industry won't be giving anyone those kind of sales anymore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album; a must!, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Another great álbum from a great singer (I have all her albums and she never disappointed me)! Wonderful slows and rock songs that transmit Anastacia's strenght. Wonderful, powerful voice! Personnally, her songs give me strenght and energy. This is a must for anyone who loves previous Anastacia songs. You will not be disappointed. I can only recommend this álbum and hope to find places to see her live in Lisbon in October!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Transcendent Return, 5 May 2014
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Only one word will suffice here. Knockout. (I've been a fan since the
beginning so expect extreme bias here...!) 'Resurrection' is easily the
finest release of Anastacia's career so-far. There's a raw emotion
in the voice which time and again really does make the hair stand up
on the back of your neck. Always a great instrument, here it reaches
for another level entirely. These are World-class performances.

There are ten tracks in the standard edition and every one's a gem.
There are few singers who can deliver a big, full-bodied rock
anthem with the energy and conviction of this lady and there are
some real corkers here! The dramatic opening song 'Staring At
The Sun' has Ms Newkirk ripping into it as though her life depended
on it (the power of her lower register had grown remarkably since we
last heard her on her 2012 album of covers 'It's A Man's World');
the tenderness and regret articulated in 'I Don't Want To Be The One'
clearly digs deep into something intensely personal but delivers a
universal punchline which anyone who has loved-and-lost will easily
connect with (have a box of Kleenex to hand!); so too the sublime
'Stay', arguably one of the finest vocal performances of her career
and a song which encapsulates her bravery and instinct for survival.

'Resurrection' is a transcendent display of strength, recovery and self-belief.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the only artist that stirs me on a deeper level, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
The album is for the fans, to share in her journey, to feel the ups and downs and to connect to her emotinally. She feeds you her energy in through her lyrics and the raw vocals in all her albums and this is an enjoyable medium of her energy that so many of us feed of. Im convinced theres something almost magical walking this earth. I just hope and pray more of this comes in more albums. Thats all I care to see in my christmas stockin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anastacia has returned with a stunning album., 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
This is her best album for me personally. Initially I was a disappointed by the snippets because it sounded too ballad heavy but once I heard the whole album (deluxe edition is a must) my feelings changed. After a couple of listens, I understood that this album was her most personal and reflective album, some stunning lyrics and of course her one of a kind voice. The album has a number of uptempo's too which we all know she does so damn well, but this album has given her an opportunity to show off a different side of her talent. Highly recommended.

Oh and my favourite songs are: Stupid Little Things (great single), Lifeline, Evolution, Pendulum, Apology, Oncoming Train & Resurrection, although there is not one bad song on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The resurrection of Anastacia, 5 May 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Resurrection is Anastacia's first album of original material since 2008's Heavy Rotation. Written and recorded during her second battle with breast cancer, it's natural that this, and also her recent divorce, has informed much of the writing. But overall Resurrection is a hopeful record which sets out to prove that her life, and career, are far from over.

'Staring at the Sun' is a strong album opener and leads into 'Lifeline'. Despite the fact that she doesn't share writing credits on either songs, both tracks feel like personal statements about her life in recent years. Third song, 'Stupid Little Things' is a definite move upbeat, and showcases her vocal talents to the full.

'I Don't Want to be the One' is another heart-breaking ballad, which is followed by 'Evolution' which is a nice change of pace as again it's another upbeat song, as is track six, 'Pendulum'. 'Stay', one of seven tracks co-written by Anastacia, could be a reference to her cancer battle - witness the lines "I'm not ready to go just yet/So I'm gonna stay".

'Dark White Girl' is another solid song which leads into the penultimate track, 'Apology', another classy ballad. The album closes with 'Broken Wings' which sees the singer vow to continue, no matter what obstacles life throws at her.

The deluxe edition of the album contains an additional four songs - 'Other Side Of Crazy', 'Oncoming Train', 'Resurrection' and 'Left Outside Alone (Part 2)'.

Although the album is a little ballad-heavy, Resurrection is still a very strong return from Anastacia, with plenty of good material. A welcome return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a Phoenix rising from the ashes, Anastacia's back!, 6 May 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
"Resurrection" is the sixth studio album by American singer-songwriter Anastacia, her first new studio record since "Heavy Rotation" (2008), but following chronically on her 2012 covers-album "It's A Man's World." The title of this new album refers to Anastacia's courageous reappearance after a period of physical and emotional pain, when she overcame breast cancer for a second time.

The power ballad "Staring At The Sun" is a great track to open this album, a hook-laden song propelled by her powerful and unique voice, followed by the slower, emotion-laden "Lifeline," before switching to the intense "Stupid Little Things," a very catchy pop anthem that is a true showcase for her immense vocal range and in which she belts in classic Anastacia style: "Now I know what love is worth in a broken world, But I can't get past the hurt, 'Til I give up on these stupid little things!"

Next is the tugging-at-the-heartstrings piano-ballad "I Don't Want To Be The One." The upbeat pop track "Evolution" is another album highlight, and you truly believe her when she sings: "It took everything to have to come this far." The somewhat bombastic "Pendulum" is another upbeat power-pop track. This is followed by the raw power ballad "Stay," in which she sings: "I'm not ready to go just yet, So I'm gonna stay," letting us know that she hopes for a bright future.

"I can see the light of day, Even through the rainy haze," she sings in "Dark White Girl," another upbeat pop song. This is followed by the beautiful piano-ballad "Apology," which is in turn ensued by regular album closer "Broken Wings," another album highlight and showcase for her fighting spirit. "Anyone would give up, but not me, not now," sings Anastacia in this ballad. "Even with broken wings I can do anything."

The deluxe version features 4 more outstanding songs: the rocker "Other Side Of Crazy," followed by the soulful piano-ballad "Oncoming Train" in which she sings: "Is it the light at the end of the tunnel, Is it the end of all my troubles... Or the light of another oncoming train." Next song "Resurrection" is another powerful and heart-wrenching piano-ballad in which she sings about "There's a new sun rising." And then there's "Left Outside Alone, Pt. 2," a bare-bones, piano-driven version of one of her most successful singles to date.

With "Resurrection," Anastacia not only makes a statement about her past battle with cancer, but also announces what should be her triumphant return to the radio and the charts in a big way, as there's not a weak track on this incredibly powerful, emotional and personal album. And although the album is a bit ballad-heavy, this is a triumphant return to her signature "sprock" sound (a hybrid of soul, pop and rock), with songs as only she can belt them out. It's great to have her back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
As a massive Anastacia fan, I was very excited to here that despite her second battle with breast cancer, Anastacia was recording a new album. I will admit I was concerned at the previews, I thought there were way too many ballads. However since buying the album I've realised its an amazing album. My favourites include: Pendulum, Stupid Little Things, Underdog, Resurrection, Evolution, Staring At the Sun, Lifeline, Dark White Girl and Oncoming Train. The other songs are all growing on me as well. Only song I'm not sure about is Left Outside Alone Part 2.... not a fan of the arrangement, but it also has grown on me.

Overall, I love this album and I'm addicted already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She's back in top form!, 15 Aug 2014
By 
P. S. Knight (CHELTENHAM,ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
A welcome return from "the voice",so powerfull & emotional.Only a short album,but all songs are excellent,well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suz, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
What can i say... its Anastacia... truly amazing with a lot of new material! Certainly the album i will be listening to a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resurrection
Resurrection by Anastacia
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews